TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Missing Mission Titles

  1. #1
    Member
    Registered: Nov 2004
    Location: Twinsburg OH

    Missing Mission Titles

    Currently playing on v1.26 HD mod

    For some reason and this only happens while playing the Original Thief 2, the mission titles are just missing, blank. So if i'm playing "Running Interference" the save won't read "Interference 2:07" (2 minutes into the level). it will just read "2:07"

    This is kinda deal breaker as i cannot identify what level i'm loading from the list in the game menu.

    I'm hoping to avoid a lengthy re install so any information would help if theres a known simple fix.

    Thanks for reading!

  2. #2
    Member
    Registered: Nov 2003
    Location: ┴W 'ɐlnossᴉW
    Check the files DARKINST.CFG and install.cfg with notepad to see if it's all okay.

    Also, check to see if you have a strings.crf file in the RES folder.

    If things look good in there, then try creating a folder called strings in the game's root directory.

  3. #3
    Member
    Registered: Nov 2004
    Location: Twinsburg OH
    Darkinist.cfg is there and reads:

    install_path .\
    language english
    resname_base .\RES\RESPATCH+.\RES
    load_path .\
    script_module_path .\
    movie_path .\MOVIES

    Install.cfg is NOT there.

    There is a strings.crf in the RES folder and its contents is unreadable

    Finally there is already a folder called "strings" which contains

    missflag.str
    newgame.str
    objdescs.str
    OBJNAMES.str
    titles.str

    there is no Instasll.cfg in the main directory or anywhere else though

  4. #4
    Member
    Registered: Apr 2011
    Don't worry about no install.cfg - some versions called it "install.cfg", some called it "darkinst.cfg", they're the same thing.

    Quote Originally Posted by Tobias View Post
    Finally there is already a folder called "strings" which contains

    missflag.str
    newgame.str
    objdescs.str
    OBJNAMES.str
    titles.str

    there is no Instasll.cfg in the main directory or anywhere else though
    There's your problem! I don't know why this strings folder is there at all, it shouldn't beódetritus from DarkLoader maybe? But because it is there, the game is using the files in there instead of the stock files within strings.crf, and clearly that titles.str (which has the mission titles) in your strings folder is incorrect.

    I recommend deleting that entire strings folder. (If you're unsure, just move it somewhere else first to confirm that getting rid of it fixes the problem, and then delete it).

  5. #5
    Member
    Registered: Nov 2004
    Location: Twinsburg OH
    That fixed it. THANK YOU!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •