TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 51 to 67 of 67

Thread: GoldToDark - takes your gold away !

  1. #51
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2013
    Well that's disappointing. There is a Brning Man in Haunted Cathedral. The whole point of the exercise is to play Thief Dark Project and 'take the gold away'. Will start a new thread to see if there is a solution.
    Last edited by Cigam; 5th Jan 2019 at 14:57.

  2. #52
    New Member
    Registered: Jan 2019
    Interesting mod. Personally I prefer Gold just because it's the official polished version of the game, but I do agree with the other posters who prefer Craymen in The Lost City. It doesn't feel quite so lost when a bunch of mages found it before you did, and I thought that the Craymen were sadly underused. They're brilliantly creepy enemies and perfect for The Lost City, but having said that, sacrificing Song of the Caverns, The Mage Towers, and that brilliant bit in The Downwind Thieves Guild where the trip-hop kicks in as you creep into the bar, is just not worth it.

    One thing I'm curious about is whether the levels added to Gold were cut from Dark Project due to time constraints, or whether they really were just bonus levels made for the re-release. They don't feel out of place at all to me, which is one of the common complaints I'm seeing on that Eidos Forums thread linked to a few posts ago.
    Last edited by Helegad; 10th Jan 2019 at 19:38.

  3. #53
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    so yeah, if you want ding-dongs with Lite, grab the sq_scripts folder from full and drop it to your Lite root, edit gamesys.dml and add;
    Code:
    #script "squirrel"
    at the beginning right under #script "script-t1", and
    Code:
    //enable goal completion notification globally
    ObjProp -2099 "Scripts"
    {
    	"Script 3" VictoryCheckAux
    }
    at the bottom. note that FMs, especially the older ones, might not like this too much, if their goals are set up in nonstandard ways.
    Last edited by voodoo47; 14th Jan 2019 at 18:01.

  4. #54
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2013
    Thanks voodoo but unfortunately I could not get it to work.

    I copied the sq_scripts folder into the root (it contains 1 file named victory.nut)
    I edited gamesys.dml and put the code at the very bottom of the file
    But no ding dongs or onscreen messages in Bafford

    Just in case this was a G2D thing I installed a fresh copy of GoG TG and did the above but still nothing.

    Also placed the sq folder in an OSM dir to replicate its original path in TG, and on another try tried just putting the code into a single script in dbmods (not forgetting the DML1) but still nothing.

    I did notice that the code does not appear to be in the gamesys file in the TG folder.

    Any suggestions? Thanks.

  5. #55
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2011
    Location: Ferrol - Spain
    Quote Originally Posted by Cigam View Post
    Thanks voodoo but unfortunately I could not get it to work.

    I copied the sq_scripts folder into the root (it contains 1 file named victory.nut)
    I edited gamesys.dml and put the code at the very bottom of the file
    But no ding dongs or onscreen messages in Bafford

    Just in case this was a G2D thing I installed a fresh copy of GoG TG and did the above but still nothing.

    Also placed the sq folder in an OSM dir to replicate its original path in TG, and on another try tried just putting the code into a single script in dbmods (not forgetting the DML1) but still nothing.

    I did notice that the code does not appear to be in the gamesys file in the TG folder.

    Any suggestions? Thanks.
    https://drive.google.com/file/d/1eie...ew?usp=sharing

  6. #56
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    ah yes, the script needs to be loaded as well, edited my previous post.

  7. #57
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2017
    @Cigam Don't install tfix at all. Voodoo once again decided he knows best and just used the Gold map files as the base for all installs, even TDP.

    Just use tfix lite or a base Newdark zip.

  8. #58
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    he already is doing that, for about one page or so - you should at least pretend to read other people's posts.

  9. #59
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2017
    Quote Originally Posted by voodoo47 View Post
    he already is doing that, for about one page or so - you should at least pretend to read other people's posts.
    You're actually wrong, once again thinking you know what you're talking about.



    @Cgam I can PM you the map files for TDP directly if doing G2D -> TFixLite/Newdark zip still doesnt work for some reason

    EDIT: It seems you guys... randomly brought the conversation from the other thread over to here for... reasons? Ok then. Ding-dongs should still work with tfix lite though, btw
    Last edited by Nightwalker; 16th Jan 2019 at 13:23. Reason: Don't post personal remarks, please!

  10. #60
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2013
    bassoferrol, that link leads to an oops! page so not sure what was intended?

    Psych0sis, yes installing GoG TG then G2D does the trick and gets you full DP.

    voodoo, brilliant, that works. Actually went a slightly different route of creating a DingDong.dml in a dbmods folder with the following code:

    DML1

    #script "squirrel"

    //enable goal completion notification globally
    ObjProp -2099 "Scripts"
    {

    "Script 3" VictoryCheckAux
    }




    as it will be easier to install this into other installs in the future. Just drop the scripts in without need for editing of existing files. Hope there isn't some hidden bad consequence of doing it this way

    But anyway thanks for helping me get the ding dongs back. Once again your help is appreciated.

  11. #61
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    sure thing - dbmods folder has different load priorities (see the docs for details), but is fine for this purpose.
    Last edited by voodoo47; 21st Jan 2019 at 14:12. Reason: right, wrong, who cares, in the end, I'm the guy fixing things.

  12. #62
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2001
    Location: Inside at last...
    Wouldn't it be possible to update the Gold version of the Lost city by removing the mages and adding back the craymen? I would gladly play Thief again just to see it...

  13. #63
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    so you want the gold map, just with craymen instead of mages? add this to your miss9.mis.dml:
    Code:
    //change mages into craymen
    
    +Link 1490 -2100 "Corpse"
    {
    }
    +ObjProp 1490 "CfgTweqDelete"
    {
    	"Halt" Slay Obj
    	"AnimC" Sim
    }
    +ObjProp 1490 "StTweqDelete"
    {
    	"AnimS" On
    }
    
    +Link 1442 -2100 "Corpse"
    {
    }
    +ObjProp 1442 "CfgTweqDelete"
    {
    	"Halt" Slay Obj
    	"AnimC" Sim
    }
    +ObjProp 1442 "StTweqDelete"
    {
    	"AnimS" On
    }
    
    +Link 1454 -2100 "Corpse"
    {
    }
    +ObjProp 1454 "CfgTweqDelete"
    {
    	"Halt" Slay Obj
    	"AnimC" Sim
    }
    +ObjProp 1454 "StTweqDelete"
    {
    	"AnimS" On
    }
    
    +Link 1471 -2100 "Corpse"
    {
    }
    +ObjProp 1471 "CfgTweqDelete"
    {
    	"Halt" Slay Obj
    	"AnimC" Sim
    }
    +ObjProp 1471 "StTweqDelete"
    {
    	"AnimS" On
    }
    
    +Link 1533 -2100 "Corpse"
    {
    }
    +ObjProp 1533 "CfgTweqDelete"
    {
    	"Halt" Slay Obj
    	"AnimC" Sim
    }
    +ObjProp 1533 "StTweqDelete"
    {
    	"AnimS" On
    }
    
    +Link 1458 -2100 "Corpse"
    {
    }
    +ObjProp 1458 "CfgTweqDelete"
    {
    	"Halt" Slay Obj
    	"AnimC" Sim
    }
    +ObjProp 1458 "StTweqDelete"
    {
    	"AnimS" On
    }
    
    +Link 1446 -2100 "Corpse"
    {
    }
    +ObjProp 1446 "CfgTweqDelete"
    {
    	"Halt" Slay Obj
    	"AnimC" Sim
    }
    +ObjProp 1446 "StTweqDelete"
    {
    	"AnimS" On
    }
    
    +Link 1552 -2100 "Corpse"
    {
    }
    +ObjProp 1552 "CfgTweqDelete"
    {
    	"Halt" Slay Obj
    	"AnimC" Sim
    }
    +ObjProp 1552 "StTweqDelete"
    {
    	"AnimS" On
    }
    
    +Link 1361 -2100 "Corpse"
    {
    }
    +ObjProp 1361 "CfgTweqDelete"
    {
    	"Halt" Slay Obj
    	"AnimC" Sim
    }
    +ObjProp 1361 "StTweqDelete"
    {
    	"AnimS" On
    }
    
    +Link 1546 -2100 "Corpse"
    {
    }
    +ObjProp 1546 "CfgTweqDelete"
    {
    	"Halt" Slay Obj
    	"AnimC" Sim
    }
    +ObjProp 1546 "StTweqDelete"
    {
    	"AnimS" On
    }
    
    +Link 1542 -2100 "Corpse"
    {
    }
    +ObjProp 1542 "CfgTweqDelete"
    {
    	"Halt" Slay Obj
    	"AnimC" Sim
    }
    +ObjProp 1542 "StTweqDelete"
    {
    	"AnimS" On
    }
    
    +Link 1525 -2100 "Corpse"
    {
    }
    +ObjProp 1525 "CfgTweqDelete"
    {
    	"Halt" Slay Obj
    	"AnimC" Sim
    }
    +ObjProp 1525 "StTweqDelete"
    {
    	"AnimS" On
    }
    and this to the gamesys.dml if you also want them to patrol:
    Code:
    //make craymen patrol upon spawn
    
    +ObjProp -2100 "AI_Patrol"
    {
    	"" true
    }
    Last edited by voodoo47; 20th Jan 2019 at 15:10.

  14. #64
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2001
    Location: Inside at last...
    you're taffin with me! I really can replace Mages with Craymen just like that without breaking anything and without making look stupid?

    I'm going to try!

  15. #65
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    no mage is important for any quest afaik, so yeah, should work, but remember, the level needs to be restarted for the dml to load.

  16. #66
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2001
    Location: Inside at last...
    Yeah, it replaced them alright but they do not patrol and there is a corpse of a mage lying on the floor in a temple.

    Plus all the lit up candles do not make sense without an expedition being there, so maybe just replacing mages with craymen didn't bring the original magic back

  17. #67
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    the dml replaces (living) mages with craymen, it doesn't restore the T1 setup.

    patrol works in the editor, but doesn't seem to work ingame, hmm.. //works after fully restarting the level.
    Last edited by voodoo47; 22nd Jan 2019 at 14:28.

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •