TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: FU1 video

  1. #1
    New Member
    Registered: Sep 2006

    FU1 video

    Hey,
    I made a small video from FU1 showing some lowlevel flight and some gyroscopic manoevres :-)

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gb0GTjh5d6o

    Regards
    /Aero

  2. #2
    It's always great to see interest in this venerable old sim (given that there's still nothing like it out there), but I thought the low-level flight went on for too long -- the terrain popping looks awkward these days, and the sequence showed nothing of the aircraft's aerobatic abilities -- and then when you did switch to aerobatics (and a gut-wrenching display it was, I must add :) I thought you had the opposite problem of being too high up... the terrain areas being as small as they are, the repeating textures were a bit too obvious at that kind of altitude.

    Neat stuff, but not quite in that sweet spot needed to make FU1 look its best in this day and age. But hell, I'm happy to see anyone doing anything with Flight Unlimited :)

    If only there was a way to make the smoke trails last longer, I think some really funky videos could still be made.

  3. #3
    New Member
    Registered: Sep 2006
    Well you are right, nice constructive feedback - I like that

    I don't think I bother do it again though. Fraps don't work - actually no screen grabber I tried worked for this. I had to use the TV out on the computer connected to a camcorder. And getting the TV out to display right on the camcorder was just pure nightmare on my system, crashing the PC with blue-screen-of-death just too many times.

    But you are right, the height was'nt that well chosen..... and the low level flight definetely needed some acro

    Regards
    /Aero

  4. #4
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2001
    Location: Gosford, NSW, Australia
    DosBox 0.65 supports video capture.

  5. #5
    New Member
    Registered: Sep 2006
    Quote Originally Posted by Drat View Post
    DosBox 0.65 supports video capture.
    DosBox.... should this enable me to use the first DOS version of Flight Unlimited? Have you tried it? Right now I am running the Win95 version on my WinXP but would love to be able to run the DOS version too (jelly credits :-).

    Regards
    /Aero

  6. #6
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2001
    Location: Gosford, NSW, Australia
    Yes, it's a DOS emulator. You'll need a decent machine to run it smoothly though.

  7. #7
    New Member
    Registered: Sep 2006
    Quote Originally Posted by Drat View Post
    Yes, it's a DOS emulator. You'll need a decent machine to run it smoothly though.
    Thanks, I'll try playing with that later today.

    Regards
    /Aero

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •