TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: FU 3 graphics problem

  1. #1
    New Member
    Registered: Sep 2007

    FU 3 graphics problem

    Hi,

    I don't know whether anybody still reads threads on this forum, but here goes.

    I am asking if the 'ddfix' patch will work with Flight Unlimited 3, a new graphics card [ Nvidia 8400 GS ] has screwed up the cockpit graphics on my planes in this sim.

    Regards...........stuart

  2. #2
    Not that I've tried, but to the best of my knowledge DDFix provides fixes that are highly specific to the Dark Engine games (Thief 1/2, System Shock 2), and would have no relevance at all to any of the Flight Unlimited sims.

  3. #3
    New Member
    Registered: Sep 2006
    If you keep having trouble, you could try and run it on a virtual mashine like VMware. When sofwtare is installed on VM's they see another standard windwos graphics driver and it gives a different result than on your host.

    I am having my FU1 installation running on an VMware image. It makes it easy to move between computers and ensures working-success on every hardware update I got.

    Just an idear....

    /Aero

  4. #4
    Member
    Registered: Nov 2001
    Location: Virginia, USA

    Yes DDFix will work on Flight Unlimited III

    Yes DDFix will work on Flight Unlimited III,

    There's a fairly new thread-tut at the Avsim Flight Unlimited forum.

    Also, your cockpit graphics issue may be due to "rectangles". There is a new thread on that as well.

    See posts from Hans and Agtim.

    If you've never been to the Avsim Flt Unlimited forum: Select "Forum" from the top at the Avsim home screen. The new window or tab, scroll all the way down just past the "kanji" writing to the "Other Forums" section. 2 entries below that is the "Other Flight Simulation Software" section. Finally select "The Flight Unlimited Series" to get into our Flight Unlimited forum. phew.

    Hope to see you there,

    jimb
    Last edited by juvat; 22nd Oct 2009 at 06:22. Reason: spelling, sentax

  5. #5
    Member
    Registered: Jun 2001
    Location: Moscow
    Quote Originally Posted by juvat View Post
    Yes DDFix will work on Flight Unlimited III
    What? Am I reading this right?

  6. #6
    Member
    Registered: Nov 2001
    Location: Virginia, USA
    It seem's to be working. I don't have a wide screen monitor to see how well that looks in Flt3; but at least there is true 1024x762 res in game now and not just resized 800x600's. The details are there at Avsim.

    It would be interesting if the wise ones there could get Enbseries to work as well.

    jimb

  7. #7
    Member
    Registered: Jun 2001
    Location: Moscow
    And how should one install in then? As with Thief, repalce ddraw.dll with ddfix.dll in the exe file?

  8. #8
    Member
    Registered: Nov 2001
    Location: Virginia, USA
    d'Spair: And how should one install in then? As with Thief, repalce ddraw.dll with ddfix.dll in the exe file?
    Yes, you'll be doing it the "manual way". Do not use ddfixGUI.exe. You will be editing Flt3.exe and ddfix.ini directly.

    Go to Avsim and see thread title, "DDFIX for FU3, A tutorial how to use ddfix.dll for fu3", for more detail and the screen shots.

    Further detail and screen shots for fixes regarding "rectangles" etc are in another thread, "I found it!, It's the recs", at Avsim. It corrects cockpit graphics errors. Especially useful for folks running AA.

    I would post their quotes or links; but I'm not sure if that will break TTLG forum rules or not.

    jimb

  9. #9
    Thanks juvat, that's awesome. The links are fine and dandy:

    DDFIX for FU3, A tutorial how to use ddfix.dll for fu3

    I found it!, It's the recs

  10. #10
    New Member
    Registered: Sep 2007

    Thanks Shadowcat,

    I read the thread on the forum at Avsim and edited the recs using cockpit designer [ available at Avsim library] and now everything looks great !

    It would seem that ddfix is not required.


    Stuart.

  11. #11
    Good to hear. I'm very glad that you asked about ddfix, though -- without that and juvat's replies, it would never have occurred to me that it was relevant to FU3!

  12. #12
    New Member
    Registered: Jul 2013

    Cockpit distortion w AA.

    Enabling anti-aliasing on the graphics card causes the cockpit in Flight Unlimited 3 to become black (see files "AA off.jpg" vs. "AA on.jpg" at https://skydrive.liv...BC8A1ADE599!210) and some of the instruments (e.g. the inside of the Trainer's attitude indicator) disappear.

    Specifically regarding the affected instruments, these areas only flicker into appearance when they're changing. So e.g. when the Trainer is in flight, the attitude indicator will be showing, but only because it is constantly flickering because it is constantly changing.

    All updated patches for the game are installed. Varying AA from 2X to 16X does not resolve the issue. Geforce drivers tested with the game are v266.58, v285.62, v314.22, v320.00 and v320.18 without success.

    I have used Cockpit Designer to deal with the issue of "rectangles" as mentioned above. It removes the problem, but introduces a new one by changing the 3D region such that it is looking upwards (i.e. at a higher angle than normal).

    Also, using DDfix causes the game to run only in 800*600, even though ddfix.ini is edited to specify a resolution of 1024*768.

    Kindly advise.

    Also, let me know if you need to see additional pictures or videos.

    Regards,
    Omar.

    My current PC configuration is:
    PC: HP Compaq dx7500 Microtower
    RAM: Corsair 4 GB
    Graphics card: Zotac GeForce GTS 250 ZT-20105-10P
    OS: Win Vista SP2
    CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E7600
    Monitor: HP LE1851w
    Sound Card: Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Profession1al Series

  13. #13
    Moderator
    Registered: Apr 2003
    Location: Wales
    The skydrive link you've posted isn't working. Perhaps you could check it?

  14. #14
    I can't help with any of that, I'm afraid. Video card manufacturers sadly have no motivation to retain good support for the likes of FU3. However if no one here can help but you do find any solutions yourself, please do post them here in case they help anyone else?

  15. #15
    New Member
    Registered: Jul 2013

    Correct Skydrive link for distorted cockpit images


  16. #16
    New Member
    Registered: Jul 2013

    Player Shadow Anomaly

    Flight Unlimited 3 comes with publisher unsupported config file settings. Adding the line "EnablePlayerShadow" to the file flt3.cfg in the main game folder enables the player's aircraft's shadow in the game, which not only adds realism but also helps with landing as well (you can gauge your aircraft's height above the runway using the shadow).

    However, the feature randomly produces an anomaly (see file "Flight Unlimited 3 Player Shadow On" at https://skydrive.live.com/redir?resi...C8A1ADE599!210). The anomaly can randomly appear in any direction (i.e. in the front, right, etc. views)

    Could someone kindly advise a solution to this issue?

    My current PC configuration is:
    PC: HP Compaq dx7500 Microtower
    RAM: Corsair 4 GB
    Graphics card: Zotac GeForce GTS 250 ZT-20105-10P
    OS: Win Vista SP2
    CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E7600
    Monitor: HP LE1851w
    Sound Card: Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Profession1al Series

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •