TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Page 4 of 8 FirstFirst 12345678 LastLast
Results 76 to 100 of 185

Thread: do you want me to release my last mission? 97% complete

  1. #76
    Desperately Dodgy Moderator
    Registered: Nov 2001
    Location: Fields of bluegrass
    Don, heheh!

  2. #77
    I forgot to answer the original question, so here it is:
    No, I don't want you to release your last mission - I want you to release it as the first in a long series of new, and most probably great, missions Now, I understand I probably can't have that, so I'll go for the second best thing: Yes, I very much want you to release this mission, be it your last or not!

  3. #78
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2001
    Location: Dromed Detention Room
    One of the older rigs is still functional, and I have finally found my original T2 discs, not just the CGW DVD, so one way or another I should be able to get Dromed up and running. Let the proclamation go forth! Let there be rejoicing and merriment throughout the kingdom! Let the rennies ring out Greensleeves on their refurbished lutes and crumhorns!

  4. #79
    Moderator
    Registered: May 2000
    Location: Thunder Bay, On., Canada
    There is definitely some rejoicing going on iin my computer room! I'd hate to see this mission go to waste. You know where to send it when you need more testing.

  5. #80
    Desperately Dodgy Moderator
    Registered: Nov 2001
    Location: Fields of bluegrass




    Quote Originally Posted by uncadonego View Post
    Let the rennies ring out Greensleeves on their refurbished lutes and crumhorns!

  6. #81
    d. Dec 2017
    Registered: May 2002
    Location: Pacific Northwest
    Good News! Dancing in my computer room, for sure! Eagerly awaiting this mission.
    Forgot to mention, I am a good beta-tester, lest you forget.

  7. #82
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2006
    Location: Great. Now I can't get back in
    You got it, Don


  8. #83
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2005
    Location: Not Kansas
    ******** width="480" height="385">

    I am relieved.

    And happy.


    And I have absolutely no idea what the monster-thingy is all about in the above vid.

  9. #84
    Member
    Registered: May 2005
    Quote Originally Posted by uncadonego View Post
    one way or another I should be able to get Dromed up and running.
    Great news!

  10. #85
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2001
    Location: Dromed Detention Room


    Sticky Fingers and Dia,

    THANKS FOR THE LUTES!


  11. #86
    1937-2018
    Gone, but not forgotten

    Registered: Jan 2001
    Location: Seaside, Oregon
    Sound the bugles run and shout. This long awaited effort will soon be out. Beat the drums, sound the bell uncadonego's FM will soon be well.

  12. #87
    jtr7
    Guest
    W00ty whO0Ot woot!

  13. #88
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2001
    Location: Dromed Detention Room

    premature celebration

    I installed T2 without issues on the old rig. It has XP SP2 with an ATI Rage Fury Maxx vid card. It always played before. I tried removing the semi-colon in the cfg file for safe texture manager, still no help. When I put the disc in and click play, it says: "Your video card is not compatible with Thief 2" It ran before. Anyone have any suggestions?

  14. #89
    Member
    Registered: Mar 2006
    Location: Germany
    Have you tried adding "skip_starting_checks" to the user.cfg?

  15. #90
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2001
    Location: Dromed Detention Room
    when I add that line, it keeps telling me to insert the CD, even though it's there. When I add a semi-colon before that line, it goes back to the video card message.

  16. #91
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2001
    Location: Dromed Detention Room
    I don't know if this is a clue for anyone. This is on my newer rig, not the older one we've been discussing. I tried installing and tafferpatching again. It still shows the loadup screen for a second then crashes and gives the "Thief blabla has encountered a problem and blablabla"

    However if I open dromed, and load OM mission 1 and alt+G, the mission plays properly, and objects look right. Then I alt+E and closed dromed, try the regular T2 shortcut, and crash like usual.

  17. #92
    Master Builder 2018
    Registered: Jul 2008
    I'm sorry I haven't read through the whole thread and maybe you already mentioned this but are you running windows vista or windows 7? And if so, did you install Thief in the "Program files" folder? If so, you should install it somewhere else.

  18. #93
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2001
    Location: Dromed Detention Room
    Nope, XP SP3. It used to run fine until I upgraded my vid card. This is an attempt at re-installing.

  19. #94
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2002
    Please post the content of cam.cfg, ddfix.ini and darkinst.cfg after using Tafferpatcher.

  20. #95
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2001
    Location: Dromed Detention Room
    Quote Originally Posted by fibanocci View Post
    Please post the content of cam.cfg, ddfix.ini and darkinst.cfg after using Tafferpatcher.
    the contents of cam.cfg:
    ; hey, which game is this
    game dark

    ; general configs
    include_user_cfg user.cfg
    editor_include_dromed_cfg dromed.cfg

    ; game specific paths/configs
    dark_include_install_cfg darkinst.cfg
    shock_include_install_cfg install.cfg

    ; set trait cache to include concretes
    trait_cache_flags 2

    no_network

    sfx_vol_music -474
    fogging 0
    enhanced_sky 1
    render_weather 1

    game_screen_size 1024 768
    game_screen_flags 13
    game_full_screen 1
    sfx_vol_3d 0
    game_hardware 1
    vmCenterY 0.5
    sfx_vol_2d 0
    game_screen_depth 16
    ambient_volume 0
    vmCenterX 0.5
    sfx_channels 12
    sfx_device 1
    master_volume 0

    the contents of DDFix.ini:
    [Main]
    ;Screen resolution
    ;Must be 800x600 or greater
    gWidth=1024
    gHeight=768

    ;Refresh rate. 0 is default, anything else to override.
    RefreshRate=0

    ;Set to 1 to fix the duel core related crash
    MultiCoreFix=1

    ;Set to 1 to automatically register lgvid.ax each time thief is started up
    VideoFix=0

    ;This can be set to zero to get a more accurate z-buffer
    ;Doesn't usually make a noticable difference to picture quality
    UseCompatibleZBuffer=1

    ;Turns on the 32 bit texture loader and adds support for some unsupported screen resolutions
    ;Will cause a crash if used with an unsupported exe
    ; 0 - Disable
    ; 1 - Determine exe automatically
    ; 2 - Thief 2 v1.18
    Thief2Extensions=1

    ;Set to 1 to disable the windows keys while thief is running
    DisableWindowsKey=0

    ;Set to 1 to enable anisotropic filtering
    AnisotropicFiltering=0

    ;If you want to share overriden textures between thief installations, uncomment the next line
    ;It should contain the absolute path to the equivilent of \res\ddfix, including the trailing \
    ;TexturePath=C:\Games\Thief2\res\ddfix\

    ;XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
    ;XX Compatibility settings XX
    ;XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

    ;Changes the way direct writes to the frontbuffer are handled
    ;SS2 players should set these options to '2' and '0xf81f' respectively
    ;Thief 2 players with corrupted in game text should use '2' and '0x0000'
    ;Players who experience slowdown with UseSysMemOverlay=2 should set both options to 0
    UseSysMemOverlay=2
    OverlayColourKey=0xf81f


    ;XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
    ;XX SIO2: Fog fixes XX
    ;XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

    ;General fix for all Thief2 missions that use fog.
    ;Default value is 1 (enabled) so all mission that use fog can benefit.
    EnableFogFix=1

    ;Special fog fixes for the Thief2 Original Mission "Life Of The Party".
    ;Enabling this for missions other than "Life Of The Party" may break other missions that use fog.
    ;Default value is 0 (disabled) because it breaks other fog missions (broken sky, etc)
    EnableLifeOfThePartyFogFix=0

    As for the contents of darkinst.cfg, do you want the original or the hack? The CGW DVD kept going to its front page (the list of all games on the DVD) rather than acting like a game disc. The original CD game disc kept telling me to insert the disc even though it was inserted, so I used a solution for broken CD's whose name can never be mentioned on these forums.

  21. #96
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2002
    Quote Originally Posted by uncadonego View Post
    As for the contents of darkinst.cfg, do you want the original or the hack? The CGW DVD kept going to its front page (the list of all games on the DVD) rather than acting like a game disc. The original CD game disc kept telling me to insert the disc even though it was inserted, so I used a solution for broken CD's whose name can never be mentioned on these forums.
    No need for a hack, just put ";" in front of the first line in darkinst.cfg or remove the first line. Put skip_starting_checks into user.cfg, that should be fine.

    "1024 768" isn't the (Windows)-desktop resolution? You can get into trouble if you use any other resolution, especially when going into dromed game mode (and back again)

    You can also try
    Thief2Extensions=2

    By the way: You didn't change the thef2.exe? You'll need the one that Tafferpatcher installed or this one http://www.saleck.net/Downloads/Thie...Fix-Thief2.zip

  22. #97
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2001
    Location: Dromed Detention Room
    Quote Originally Posted by fibanocci View Post

    "1024 768" isn't the (Windows)-desktop resolution? You can get into trouble if you use any other resolution, especially when going into dromed game mode (and back again)
    My desktop resolution is 1152 864. What problems are you talking about.

    I made the changes you suggested. At first things worked fine, objects looked normal. Then some tweaking of keybinds, back to game, etc. A couple of crashes, but started again fine. Now the same as ever- vine decals no longer visible, torches and bunks blue objects, loadup screen gets all pixellated when moving the cursor over selections etc.

    Also, trying to load a saved game results in crash.

    EDIT: Ok loading didn't crash this time. The old T1 style paintings render OK, the newer T2 batch are white and blue stripes.
    Last edited by uncadonego; 17th Jan 2011 at 08:00.

  23. #98
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2002
    First of all, you'll need to fix the game first (does it work now?). If not: run Tafferpatcher again. Use that resolution: 1152 864
    (the Widescreen-Patch is already included in Tafferpatcher, so this should work). Check cam.cfg and ddfix.ini, the resolutions should be the same.

  24. #99
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2001
    Location: Dromed Detention Room
    Quote Originally Posted by fibanocci View Post
    First of all, you'll need to fix the game first (does it work now?). If not: run Tafferpatcher again. Use that resolution: 1152 864
    (the Widescreen-Patch is already included in Tafferpatcher, so this should work). Check cam.cfg and ddfix.ini, the resolutions should be the same.
    Yes, it appears to be running, but I did the above anyway. The remaining problem is vine decals aren't showing, and objects like pewter plates, bunkbeds, and torches are blue. That, and the old T1 style paintings show fine, but the T2 style paintings are blue and white stripes. I haven't played so far into the game yet, but unless I post otherwise soon, assume deer legs and flares and such like items are "barred" or striped again.

    EDIT: ughh. wait. trying to load saves crashes again.

    EDIT: just another tidbit of information. I have the game diminished right now while I write this. Starting Thief cold and trying to load a save crashed, but when I started a NEW game and moved around, THEN tried loading the save, it was OK. I can't swear to it, but this was likely the case a couple of posts ago too.
    Last edited by uncadonego; 17th Jan 2011 at 08:34.

  25. #100
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2002
    The remaining problem is vine decals aren't showing, and objects like pewter plates, bunkbeds, and torches are blue.
    Are you talking about the game itself or DromEd?

    Not sure about this, but I think the darkinst.cfg got messed up. Let's see what it looks like (and install.cfg of course)

    btw, play the game as an administrator
    Last edited by fibanocci; 17th Jan 2011 at 09:12.

Page 4 of 8 FirstFirst 12345678 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •