TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Page 7 of 8 FirstFirst ... 2345678 LastLast
Results 151 to 175 of 176

Thread: Thief Series FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (Technical / Purchasing / Etc.) - 2012

  1. #151
    Dˇttirin klŠ­ist oft mˇ­ur m÷ttli
    Registered: Apr 2015
    Put 7z.dll into the T1/TG root folder. It's in the NewDark zip, Bullet DromEd, Tafferpatcher, Tfix, 7z or free download.

  2. #152
    Member
    Registered: Feb 2009
    Location: some ancient Cycladian island
    Quote Originally Posted by Unna Oertdottir View Post
    Put 7z.dll into the T1/TG root folder. It's in the NewDark zip, Bullet DromEd, Tafferpatcher, Tfix, 7z or free download.
    just did that, same problem... I will try re-dl 7z in case I have an older version

    no... I d/loaded 7zip again, put all 3 7z.dll's in the root folder of Tgold but still FMselector finds them missing.
    Last edited by nightchild; 9th Jan 2019 at 09:42.

  3. #153
    Dˇttirin klŠ­ist oft mˇ­ur m÷ttli
    Registered: Apr 2015
    Please post thief.log. It's in the root folder.

  4. #154
    Member
    Registered: Feb 2009
    Location: some ancient Cycladian island
    this is the log:
    : PID: 2952
    : CPU: arch=x86-64 , fam=586 , cpus=8
    : SIMD: SSE=3 , 3DNow=0 , MMX=1
    : OS Version: 4.10.67766446
    : Desktop resolution: 1366 x 768
    : Virtual desktop resolution: 1366 x 768
    : -----------------------------------------------------------
    : Command line: C:\Users\CHRISA~1\THIEFG~1\THIEF.EXE -fm
    : -----------------------------------------------------------

    but in the meanwhile I tried to make it run with NewDarkloader which didn't work. But maybe using the 7z.dll from that package did the job cause now that I opened the FMsel again the pop up about the 7zip libraries didn't ...ahem... pop up. So looks like I will be able to play all those missions we waited for a year now!

    Thank you Unna! (again )
    Last edited by nightchild; 9th Jan 2019 at 10:25. Reason: to thank Unna

  5. #155
    Dˇttirin klŠ­ist oft mˇ­ur m÷ttli
    Registered: Apr 2015
    Did you install the game in a protected folder? Also Thief.exe is set in Win 98 compatibility. That won't work.

  6. #156
    Member
    Registered: Feb 2009
    Location: some ancient Cycladian island
    Quote Originally Posted by Unna Oertdottir View Post
    Did you install the game in a protected folder? Also Thief.exe is set in Win 98 compatibility. That won't work.
    no, is not in progr.data folders, and is not in '98 compatibility. Is at users/my name/Thief and is in auto-detected compatibility ...and as far I can see, it works now ...I just loaded one of the 20ys anniversary missions

  7. #157
    Dˇttirin klŠ­ist oft mˇ­ur m÷ttli
    Registered: Apr 2015
    Whatever auto-detected compatibility means, NewDark shows it as Win 98 this time. You better set compatibility to your OS version (or Win 7, this will work for sure)

  8. #158
    Member
    Registered: Feb 2009
    Location: some ancient Cycladian island
    Quote Originally Posted by Unna Oertdottir View Post
    Whatever auto-detected compatibility means, NewDark shows it as Win 98 this time. You better set compatibility to your OS version (or Win 7, this will work for sure)
    it means that I didn't manually changed the compatibility. But since you mentioned it, I changed it now to win 7. Although I can't see any differences from before and after, thanks for taking the time!

  9. #159
    Moderator
    Registered: Apr 2003
    Location: Wales
    This thread is now unstuck.

  10. #160
    Member
    Registered: Nov 2003
    Location: Thief fan since ca. 1999
    aw.. no longer stuck? I guess because there is something better now?

  11. #161
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    woah - yes, a lot of unpinning going on. perhaps a bit too much even - I see nothing wrong with the three patchers being pinned in the Thief General subforum (basically, what you want to avoid is stuff from 2007 being pinned, and having 10+ pins per subforum. four up to date pins are perfectly fine).

  12. #162
    Dˇttirin klŠ­ist oft mˇ­ur m÷ttli
    Registered: Apr 2015
    Links to the threads are still pinned.
    https://www.ttlg.com/forums/showthread.php?t=149919

  13. #163
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2001
    Location: Dromed Detention Room
    Windows 10. Thief install has always frozen about 10 seconds into game. I thought I'd uninstall everything and give it another shot with a fresh install using TFix 1.27. The problem is I don't see how to uninstall. It's in Acer(C):>Games>Thief2, but when I go into Uninstall programs, it's not there in the list. How can I uninstall?

  14. #164
    Dˇttirin klŠ­ist oft mˇ­ur m÷ttli
    Registered: Apr 2015
    Just delete the install folder.

  15. #165
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2001
    Location: Dromed Detention Room
    That crossed my mind, but I feel better about it now that you've said it Unna...

  16. #166
    Moderator
    Registered: Apr 2003
    Location: Wales
    Quote Originally Posted by sNeaksieGarrett View Post
    aw.. no longer stuck? I guess because there is something better now?
    Apologies. The one in ThiefGen was linked to or a copy of this one and for some reason I wasn't able to unstick the ThiefGen one without unsticking this one. Al_B sorted it out. It should still be stickied in this forum and I'll try and do that without the ThiefGen one reappearing. If not, I'll yell for Al again.

    Edit. Seems to have worked.

  17. #167
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2001
    Location: Dromed Detention Room
    Just finished "Running Interference" on this comp. First time it ever didn't seize up like a rusty wheel. Played a short FM through FM Selector for good measure.
    Now I just hope for the best doing a second install for Dromeding.

  18. #168
    Dˇttirin klŠ­ist oft mˇ­ur m÷ttli
    Registered: Apr 2015
    Just copy the existing installation, remove custom resources to have a clean install and download this
    https://www.ttlg.com/forums/showthread.php?t=149404

  19. #169
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2001
    Location: Dromed Detention Room
    I had already done a second install before reading that. I use TFix1.27 for both Dromed install and FM playing install. I put FM playing install in C:\Thief 2 The Metal Age, and I put the Dromed install in C:\Games\Thief 2 The Metal Age. I did this for both my windows 7 and windows 10 machines. What should I remove from the Dromed installs before using BulletDromed, specifically?

  20. #170
    Dˇttirin klŠ­ist oft mˇ­ur m÷ttli
    Registered: Apr 2015
    You mean T2fix. Did you apply custom resources as you installed T2fix? Get rid of it. For DromEd, you want a clean install. Did you install DromEd with T2fix? Then you have the choice
    1. Install DromEd Toolkit only
    2. Install Bullet DromEd
    If you are not sure, then install the bullet version, it has everything you need for a basic working installation. But download DromEd toolkit, too and keep it on your HDD. It has advanced tools which are not included in Bullet (schemas, tools, dlls for. etc).

  21. #171
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2001
    Location: Dromed Detention Room
    I just ran T2Fix again in the same location, but unchecked the custom resources. That gets rid of them, right?

  22. #172
    Dˇttirin klŠ­ist oft mˇ­ur m÷ttli
    Registered: Apr 2015
    Yes, that's correct.
    Note that T2fix will load "gamesys.dml" (located in osm/gamesys.dml) which is loading some improved stuff. If you don't this, just rename the dml to get the default settings of dark,gam. Otherwise the settings will be saved in your gamesys when you save it.

  23. #173
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2001
    Location: Dromed Detention Room
    Thanks Unna. I think I've got it set up now. This is the first attempt with TafferPatcher or T2Fix or anything else that actually runs without freezing the whole Windows 10 computer. It's kind of exciting.

  24. #174
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2001
    Location: The Rogues Den
    Reinstalled Thief 3 to play it again, and installed SneakyTweaker after that. The thing that's driving me crazy though is the idle animation. When standing or crouching and not moving, the camera (and Garrett) constantly move forward and backwards like he's on a boat. I tried changing the values in T3PlayerAnims.ini to no avail. I also can't figure out where SneakyTweaker is keeping it's values saved (for example: Changing head bobbing factor). When my tweaks weren't working, I thought maybe SneakyTweaker was loading a different file other than T3PlayerAnims.ini. Any help would be much appreciated! I just want Garrett to stand still and not give me motion sickness.

    Edit: I hope the info isn't saved in the saved game and I have to start over for it to take effect...
    Last edited by Targa; 21st Sep 2019 at 00:10.

  25. #175
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007
    Your changes probably don't take effect because you have a mod enabled, which includes its own T3PlayerAnims.ini file - this is the case for MP Gameplay and the Garrett animations, with the latter taking priority when both are enabled. You can find the root folder for the installed mods through the start menu (look for "Thief 3 Sneaky Upgrade") and search for the files from there.

    It's actually the plan to add a 'disable idle breathing' tweak in the next version, but for now you'll have to change the settings manually. To remove the motion, set the value of Speed to 0 in these sections: MainIdle, MainIdleCrouching, MainIdle_PS, Wall_Flatten_Idle, BodyCarry, BodyCarryIdle - and maybe also these: BowArmIdle, BodyCarryIdleCrouching.

    I don't think I've tested if those settings are stored in saves. I'd think not but if you find that they are, please post again.

    Edit: Previous post about headbobbing.

Page 7 of 8 FirstFirst ... 2345678 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •