TTLG|Jukebox|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst ... 234567 LastLast
Results 126 to 150 of 165

Thread: NVScript v1.2.7

  1. #126
    Member
    Registered: Jan 2008
    Location: São Paulo
    Hi again.

    I have a problem related to the TrapKillEvents script. The same occurs with NVCameraTrapDisableControls = 1. Let me give you an example. If the player is walking forward when these scripts are triggered, It will continue to move forward even after the scripts are turned off. As if the "w" button was locked in the depressed position. Using TrapFreezePlayer only causes the avatar to stop momentarily. But after switching off, the holding problem continues, being necessary to press the "defective" button again, so that the movement stops.

    Is there any way to solve this?

  2. #127
    Desperately Dodgy Moderator
    Registered: Nov 2001
    Location: Bohn Museum
    I've been having that problem since at least 2007 so I'd like to know if there's a solution as well.

  3. #128
    Member
    Registered: Jan 2008
    Location: São Paulo
    I had to turn off NVCameraTrapDisableControls = 0, then I just used TrapFreezePlayer with TrapKillEvents with event_mask = "1001". This causes only the keyboard to work, which prevents the player from clicking and leaving the CamVator in wrong time. But it has the drawback of allowing the player to jump (which causes unwanted sounds) and that select weapons and inventory items. But at least it does not disturb the sequence of CamVators and solves the problem I've already said.

    It would be cool if NVCameraTrapDisableControls = 1 did all of this, with the advantage of just releasing the ESC key.

  4. #129
    Member
    Registered: Jan 2008
    Location: São Paulo
    Another question. I am trying to use the NVRemovePropertyTrap script without success. The intent is to remove the Team property from a creature and replace it with it`s original value. So, I'm using the script on the creature along with the comment in DesignNotes: NVRemovePropertyTrapProp = "AI_Team"; NVRemovePropertyTrapReAdd = 1; I'm using a switch to send a TurnOn message to the creature. But apparently none of this is working. What am I doing wrong?

  5. #130
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2007
    Location: LosAngeles: Between Amusements
    1. Though the Dromesday Book says the property name is AI_Team, the name might just be Team.
    2. This may be a property which you can't remove. Maybe an AI always has to have a Team value set. In which case, you might need to use a property set approach. That is, you create an archetype under Object > fnord > property sets, say call it AITeamSet, which just has the property AI > AI Core > Team set to the value you wish to copy to your AI. Then you dynamically copy it from that archetype to your concrete AI when you want to. You can do this via A/R or conversations
    3. Or you could try NVSetPropertyTrap. While this takes an integer value, there is also a NVSetPropertyTrapPrefix option which might allow you to set the property to Bad1 through Bad5, but not to Good or Neutral (since there is no integer in the name), assuming that the property value is stored as a string. It might be stored as just an integer code that maps to the strings.

  6. #131
    Member
    Registered: Jan 2008
    Location: São Paulo
    Thank you. I've done something like that. But what I'm trying to understand is how this script works, because I've tried the same procedure with several different properties on different objects, and none worked. Could you give me a simple example, using a switch that sends a TurnOn message and removes some property? I need to at least get it once.

  7. #132
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    I would specify the turnon event just to be sure: NVRemovePropertyTrapOn="MySignal"; or something.

  8. #133
    Member
    Registered: Jan 2008
    Location: São Paulo
    I've tried this, but not in every attempt. If anyone has any setup examples that are working with NewDark 1.25 (NVScript 1.2.6) I would appreciate it.
    Last edited by leconbras; 13th Mar 2018 at 19:25.

  9. #134
    Member
    Registered: Jan 2001
    Location: Constantly losing tug o'war
    AI_Team is the correct name.

    leconbras:
    The cause of your problem is the space before the =
    and the second parameter (...ReAdd) is unnecessary because the property is inherited (look at each of the AI's parent archetypes until you find it).

    Larry:
    3 - For any 'drop down list' property, the value type is 'enum' - A set of integers associated with a limited set of string values. In this case, 0 = Good, 1 = Neutral etc.

  10. #135
    Member
    Registered: Jan 2008
    Location: São Paulo
    [QUOTE=The cause of your problem is the space before the =
    and the second parameter [/QUOTE]


    This space is because I copied and pasted. In fact, it does not exist. As I said, I have tried in many ways, and none of them worked, even without the second command.

  11. #136
    Member
    Registered: Jan 2001
    Location: Constantly losing tug o'war
    Have a look at this simple demo, which works fine for me:
    http://www.mediafire.com/file/x7vy7w...opFighting.zip

    Turn off AI awareness before going in game. Pressing the button will stop the guards from fighting.
    (I gave each one 100 hit points to ensure they both stayed alive long enough to be sure it worked)

  12. #137
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    NVRemovePropertyTrapOn="BeginScript"; NVRemovePropertyTrapProp="Scale"; NVRemovePropertyTrapReAdd=1; NVRemovePropertyTrapCount=1;

    works fine in the obj shrink SS2 mod. the scale prop must be set on the archetype, of course.

  13. #138
    Member
    Registered: Jan 2008
    Location: São Paulo
    Quote Originally Posted by R Soul View Post
    Have a look at this simple demo, which works fine for me:
    http://www.mediafire.com/file/x7vy7w...opFighting.zip

    Turn off AI awareness before going in game. Pressing the button will stop the guards from fighting.
    (I gave each one 100 hit points to ensure they both stayed alive long enough to be sure it worked)
    Not working for me. Using NewDark 1.25 and NVScript 1.2.6. And DEDx....

  14. #139
    Desperately Dodgy Moderator
    Registered: Nov 2001
    Location: Bohn Museum
    Are you sure NVScript s being loaded? (check the monolog)

  15. #140
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2007
    Location: LosAngeles: Between Amusements
    Quote Originally Posted by R Soul View Post
    For any 'drop down list' property, the value type is 'enum' - A set of integers associated with a limited set of string values. In this case, 0 = Good, 1 = Neutral etc.
    I thought that might be the case, hence the "It might be stored as just an integer code that maps to the strings." statement, but I wasn't certain. Nice to know. Is that documented anywhere, say, in The Dromesday Book?

  16. #141
    Member
    Registered: Jan 2012
    Location: Gèrmany
    Quote Originally Posted by LarryG View Post
    Nice to know. Is that documented anywhere?
    Would the ProplistAdv.txt dump help?
    That's what I use as reference.

  17. #142
    Member
    Registered: Jan 2008
    Location: São Paulo
    Quote Originally Posted by Yandros View Post
    Are you sure NVScript s being loaded? (check the monolog)
    I checked this out. By the way, all 3 scripts were uploaded by themselves. How did he do it? But anyway, I dropped all scripts and loaded again .... but nothing ..

  18. #143
    Member
    Registered: Jan 2008
    Location: São Paulo
    MY FOULT... I must have accidentally changed the scripts. I was using an earlier version (1.2.4) thinking it was 1.2.6. When I extracted it out again, it started working.



    ...or maybe it was a problem with Darkloader because I use an older version of it and besides I do not remember downloading 1.2.4 ...
    Last edited by leconbras; 14th Mar 2018 at 13:39.

  19. #144
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by leconbras View Post
    Darkloader

  20. #145
    Dóttirin klæðist oft móður möttli
    Registered: Apr 2015
    So which (new) NVScript version is this? 1.27? Has anybody used it yet? Should we update the script archives?

  21. #146
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    whoever has applied TFix/SS2tool is already using it. bugfixes mostly, if memory serves (the Candle mod requires the latest version to avoid some issues, for example).

  22. #147
    Member
    Registered: Mar 2001
    Location: Ireland
    That's the latest version of NVScript, generally more recent than the latest official build.
    Consider it the equivalent of a "nightly" - my build process automatically uploads a copy there each time I compile it.

  23. #148
    Dóttirin klæðist oft móður möttli
    Registered: Apr 2015
    So it's not a official build, but it's already implemented in patches. Please update the first post if you think it's time to do so.
    The date of the script module is Sept 28/2018, so it's not so nightly any more

  24. #149
    Member
    Registered: Mar 2001
    Location: Ireland
    Released v1.27 - a minor update which fixes the "^" targetting option (to affect the closest object which inherits from a given archetype), which has apparently been broken for some time.

    (Why did no one ever complain? I only noticed because some of the scripting in Broken Triad was broken and I was wondering why.)

  25. #150
    Desperately Dodgy Moderator
    Registered: Nov 2001
    Location: Bohn Museum
    I last used it in 2008 (Off The Record) and it worked fine so I didn't know it was broken either.

    Edit: Updated version number in the thread title.
    Last edited by Yandros; 22nd Jan 2020 at 15:37.

Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst ... 234567 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •