TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Page 11 of 114 FirstFirst ... 678910111213141516212631364146515661111 ... LastLast
Results 251 to 275 of 2844

Thread: TFix: unofficial patch for Thief1/Gold

  1. #251
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2002
    Location: Germany
    Strange that the maps won't show up as I installed TFix over a clean Thief Gold installation.

    I will try renaming those mesh files, thank you! Ah and I don't want to go back, I am just confused how Thief Gold will handle this. If I have colored lights in DromEd they won't show up when I play the mission in Thief Gold, right?

  2. #252
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    did you use fmsel?

    as for dromed, it's running in the T1 compatibility mode. advice: less thinking, more trying out.

  3. #253
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2002
    Location: Germany
    Nope, I used Garrettloader but I switched back to Darkloader because Garrettloader gave me some nasty problems with a few fms.

    As I said I mostly forgot everything regarding DromEd and the DarkEngine so I will mess around with DromEd a bit more.

  4. #254
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    well, as fmsel apparently works without issues, I suggest you just use that. refer to the NewDark documentation.

  5. #255
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2002
    Location: Germany
    Thank you, the FM selector is indeed fancy stuff. The map in "Shadow Politics" shows well now, however, in "Returning a Favor" the maps I get from the priest are not visible in the maps menu even after I frobbed them in the inventory.

  6. #256
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    at this point, some dromeder (or the author) will have to check out things and provide an explanation.

  7. #257
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2002
    Location: Germany
    Well, thank you anyways, I hoped that 1.19 or TFix caused this. Well, back to work with DromEd!

  8. #258
    New Member
    Registered: Dec 2009
    Why are zombies changed?
    Is there a way to restore the original?

  9. #259
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    yes. do not use the mesh pack.

  10. #260
    New Member
    Registered: Dec 2009
    I guess that would work. But could I "rescue" the zombies from the disc installation and put them back after installing tfix? I try to coax a couple of my friends to play Thief so I'd like to show it to them at its best.

  11. #261
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    delete the "MODS" folder, run TFix again, and select only the mods you want. select none if you want to be as close to the original as possible.

    the next version of TFix will do this automatically (MODS folder will be deleted at each run of the installer so a new combination can be selected and installed).

  12. #262
    New Member
    Registered: Dec 2009
    Yeah I know that. I was wondering if I could replace the tfix zombie mesh with the original, so I could still use the mesh pack.

  13. #263
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2007
    Location: LosAngeles: Between Amusements
    Of course you could.

  14. #264
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    indeed. just delete the correct model and texture from the mods folder, and you will get the original zombie back.

  15. #265
    New Member
    Registered: Dec 2009
    Thanks. The TDP zombies have always been my favorite. Their bare lumbar vertebrae makes them look so dead, clumsy and vulnerable: it signals that they aren't a real threat.

  16. #266
    Guys, I'm experiencing a weird glitch. I can't seem to hit anything with my sword (Constantine's), be it an enemy, a wall, or posters. It's making secret passages inaccessible. It's like my sword doesn't exist, wtf?

  17. #267
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    did you install TFix in some strange way (manually extracting, for exampe), deleted some files or folders after installing, or perhaps replaced the gamesys (dark.gam) with some custom one? if not, share a (quick)save.

  18. #268
    Not that I'm aware of. My first sword worked fine; it's only Constantine's Sword that's been acting strange. But I'm up to Song of the Caverns and it hasn't bothered me up until now since I only use the Blackjack anyway. However, I've noticed a number of wall posters that I can cut down in the opera house but haven't been able to because of the glitch. I don't want to miss out on loot or not be able to complete my objectives because of it.

  19. #269
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    ah I see. this is a game feature, not a bug. sword going through objects that are not designed to take damage is normal (in the thief universe, anyway).

  20. #270
    Wait, what? I'm saying I can't do jack squat with Constantine's Sword. I can't kill anything with it because it doesn't make contact with guards or spiders or anything. It literally just goes through them. And I can't even access secret passages hidden by wall posters because, once again, my sword just goes through them.

  21. #271
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    ok, then this is a problem - I have just tried the mission and it has worked fine for me (although the sword does go through some theater props, like I said, this is normal). try sharing that save. a couple of standard questions;

    -did you use TFix on a fresh, unmodified Thief Gold install?
    -did you use some old save to load the mission?
    -did you install the game into a protected location (program files)?
    -is your thief folder read only?

  22. #272
    Quote Originally Posted by voodoo47 View Post
    ok, then this is a problem - I have just tried the mission and it has worked fine for me (although the sword does go through some theater props, like I said, this is normal). try sharing that save. a couple of standard questions;

    -did you use TFix on a fresh, unmodified Thief Gold install?
    -did you use some old save to load the mission?
    -did you install the game into a protected location (program files)?
    -is your thief folder read only?
    Thankfully I managed to get through the mission without using the sword.

    As for your questions:

    1. Yes.
    2. No.
    3. Yes (Steam).
    4. Yes.

  23. #273
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    those last two are a problem - fix that and there is a good chance your issue will be solved. I would;

    unistall the game and delete the remains in the folder (if any)
    install the game again
    copy the thief folder to some simple location (c:\games)
    make sure it's not read only
    use TFix on that copy

  24. #274
    I'd do that if I could save my current progress thus far. I kinda wanna keep my cumulative stats. :P

  25. #275
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    back up the "saves" folder. it's in the thief folder.

Page 11 of 114 FirstFirst ... 678910111213141516212631364146515661111 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •