TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Page 114 of 114 FirstFirst ... 146469747984899499104109110111112113114
Results 2,826 to 2,844 of 2844

Thread: TFix: unofficial patch for Thief1/Gold

  1. #2826
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    it's impossible to make everything exploit-proof. but I can take a look - videos would be helpful, as I have never been too much into exploits, and sometimes have a hard time replicating.

  2. #2827
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2011
    Location: Ferrol - Spain

  3. #2828
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    check your cam_mod.ini and see whether it has the uber_mod_path OSM line (mantling the lamp in that way shouldn't be possible). or even better, add dbmod_log 10 to your cam_ext, run the game, and post the freshly created dbmod.log file.

    I'll probably try to do something about that bridge (I'm not a big fan of adding blocking objects, but this just might be the situation).
    Last edited by voodoo47; 3rd Jul 2019 at 04:54.

  4. #2829
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2011
    Location: Ferrol - Spain
    https://drive.google.com/file/d/1CK-...ew?usp=sharing

    Not long ago I reported having a problem with a door (custom HD door) which vanished when being opened in Song of the Caverns mission.
    And you gave me a solution which worked:

    ObjProp 671 "RotDoor"
    {
    "Open Angle" 275
    }

    Now in new miss17.dml for TFix 1.27 the line is:

    ObjProp 671 "RotDoor"
    {
    "Open Angle" 272.00
    }

    Should I stay with Angle 275 in my case?


    Also in new miss9.dml I dont see this option:

    //the bridge should have sounds (different setup needed for T1 vs TG!!)

    Is it now hardcoded into miss9.miss?

  5. #2830
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    272 should be enough. the logs look ok, I see no reason why those lamps should be mantleable - will investigate. //nope, unable to replicate (lights in Undercover not mantleable as soon as gamesys.dml is in the OSM folder).

    yeah, the miss9 bridge fix has been simplified, unified and applied to the missions directly.
    Last edited by voodoo47; 3rd Jul 2019 at 12:46.

  6. #2831
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2011
    Location: Ferrol - Spain
    Mantleing there in Lost City and not lava sound in that area in Dark Project in particular

    https://drive.google.com/file/d/113O...ew?usp=sharing

    I have gamesys.dml in the OSM folder and only there (about Undercover)
    Or you mean miss10.mis.dml ?!

  7. #2832
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    ok, figured Undercover out - it's actually the geometry that can be mantled, not the lights. maybe I'll add some blockers.

    no sound = room brushes. uck.

  8. #2833
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2011
    Location: Ferrol - Spain
    https://drive.google.com/file/d/1dtV...ew?usp=sharing

    There are many different objects that are manteable and Ive been happy with that.

  9. #2834
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    those haven't been dml'd yet. I think.

    anyway, as mentioned before, there is no way I'm exploit-proofing the entire game, so unless it's causing real problems..

  10. #2835
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2011
    Location: Ferrol - Spain
    Is this something "expectable"?
    Under Tfix 1.27

    https://drive.google.com/file/d/1atW...ew?usp=sharing

  11. #2836
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2012
    Voodoo which convict.osm have you got in the latest TFix ND1.27?

    I have been testing a mission and discovered my TG install (patched with TFix 1.27) had the old T1 convict.osm (1069 MB) in it causing a problem with a secret door. I d/l TFix ND1.27 this morning and re-patched my TG install and my convict.osm was still (1069 MB). Found the newer convict in an old 1.26 install, pasted it into my TG install and the secret door worked correctly. So re-installed TFix ND1.27 again and bingo my convict.osm went back to the old 1069 MB size, suggesting to me you've included the old convict.osm in the latest TFix.

    If you have the bigger sized convict.osm in TFix why on earth would my TG install contain the smaller convict.osm after patching with TFix 1.27?
    Last edited by fortuni; 30th Oct 2019 at 09:46.

  12. #2837
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    no idea, but there is zero chance of TFix installing the old convict by mistake (double checked, the newer convict is always force-installed into the root. old convict should be present as oldconvict.osm in FMdml). must have been manual tweaking some time after patching up (maybe adding old convict into the OSM folder by mistake).

  13. #2838
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2012
    Certainly wasn't manually tweaking, all I did was patch with TFix 1.27 and hey presto my TG install had the old convict in place. All rather strange

  14. #2839
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    well, it's physically impossible, so universe broken, I suppose?

    anyway, try repatching and see whether it happens again.

  15. #2840
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2012
    Why do you always have to sign off with a dismissive and sarcastic remark?

    I've patched 4 different TG installs with TFix 1.27 including TFix lite and on every occasion old convict.osm was installed, so no it's not physically impossible it's happened 4 times, so maybe as TFix dev you should fully investigate the matter as it is possible for old convict to be installed by error and it may also happening with other players, even if it's a rare occurrence it's a potentially game breaking issue.

    In the mean time I advise all players to check their main TG installs to make sure they have the right convict.osm in place.

    If you have a convict file in your main TG folder, size 1069 KB or 1.04 MB, then you have the old convict file you need to replace it with the good convict (1167MB or 1.13KB) available here
    https://drive.google.com/open?id=1Q_...T_oVlh39RppAU7
    Last edited by fortuni; 31st Oct 2019 at 06:32.

  16. #2841
    Member
    Registered: Nov 2001
    Location: Lille, France
    I have checked my Thief 1 folder (French version) patched with TFix.

    I've got in the main folder a CONVICT.OSM (1.13MB) (1167 KB, exactly 1 194 364 Bytes).

    I've got in the FMdml folder located inside the main folder, an oldconvict.osm (1.04MB) (1069 KB, exactly 1 094 508 Bytes).
    For a true and 1st quality work, I translate FMs in french without using Google Translate!! No cheat, just brain.

  17. #2842
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    that is correct.

    it wasn't my intention to sound sarcastic and/or dismissive, but the (old convict) file just isn't there (I've actually took apart the installer to make triple sure, you can do the same, opening the exe with 7zip as an archive), so the patcher can't install it. also, lite doesn't install ANY kind of convict - the only idea I have is that you already have the old convict in the install you are trying to patch, and something (security?) is preventing the patcher from overwriting the file (having whatever convict file you have there set to read only is not enough, the patcher will still overwrite it with the proper file, I've checked).


    //about the zombie issue I keep forgetting to address - looks like the zombie (238) is pseudo-dead for some reason (M-ZombiePossum is set). unless this can be replicated at will, there isn't much I can do (the entire zombie resurrection is one giant can of worms that barely works). after snooping around a bit, I think this is related to efficiency (AIs being frozen when the player is too far away), and basically is an edge case scenario that needs to be tolerated, as the alternative is zombie resurrection not working at all.
    Last edited by voodoo47; 1st Nov 2019 at 09:33.

  18. #2843
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2012
    Voodoo, I have just re-installed TFix again in order to check a query from LaughingMan here and this time the good convict installed, so just haven't a bleeding scoobie why the old convict keep installing a few days ago, but hopefully from now on all will be good.

  19. #2844
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    yeah. would perhaps check whatever source install you were patching earlier, just to see what kind of convict is there (maybe win10 was being dumb again and seeing the new file as suspicious, restored the previous version without asking), but one way or another, I don't think I can do anything to make this more bulletproof - the patcher already is force-installing the larger convict even if your TG install has the file set to read only, as mentioned.

Page 114 of 114 FirstFirst ... 146469747984899499104109110111112113114

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •