TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Page 19 of 114 FirstFirst ... 491415161718192021222324293439444954596469 ... LastLast
Results 451 to 475 of 2835

Thread: TFix: unofficial patch for Thief1/Gold

  1. #451
    Member
    Registered: Jul 2000
    Location: Beaumont, Quebec, Canada
    Well, a clean Thief Gold install seemed to have done the trick. I first re-installed Thief Gold, then applied TFix 1.13 with AV disabled. Then tested the game in English, worked fine. Then I applied the French patch. And it's still working nice.

    I still don't know why the weapons disappeared in the first place, but I'm glad they're now back...
    Back to Thief play now! Very nice to be able to play this on modern machines in 1980x1020. Big thanks to the ones who made the patch and the fixes.

  2. #452
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2004
    Location: Topeka, KS
    Quote Originally Posted by voodoo47 View Post
    ok, try this then;
    voodoo, this worked. One thing I didn't mention is that each time I installed Thief, I did "typical". This last time I did "full". Anyway, I copied your files, grabbed the .crf files from the game CDs. Game started fine, opening movie started, got into 1st mission, weapons appear in hand and I can use them, Mouse_2 (use item) also worked.

    However, the Options menus are messed up:



    Last edited by Neil_McCauley; 7th Jan 2013 at 00:09.

  3. #453
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    not making a full install is definitely a bad idea, but as you have a full install now, let's concentrate on the remaining issue - check the PATCHES folder (right in your thief folder), you should have following files in there (they should not be zero bytes in size):
    fam.crf
    intrface.crf
    mesh.crf
    obj.crf

    open your install.cfg (in notepad, for example), you should see this:
    Code:
    ;cd_path .\
    install_path .\
    language english
    resname_base .\mods+.\mods\EP\Thief1+.\mods\EP+.\patches+.\res
    load_path .\
    script_module_path .\
    movie_path .\movies
    correct?

    edit: one more thing - first, double check that all 12 files with crf extension have been moved to the RES folder (and no crf files are left in your thief folder), then check your thief folder, and see whether there is a folder named intrface. if it is there, delete (or rename) it.
    Last edited by voodoo47; 7th Jan 2013 at 10:38.

  4. #454
    Member
    Registered: May 2010
    Quote Originally Posted by Neil_McCauley View Post
    However, the Options menus are messed up:
    Sounds familiar. ^^

  5. #455
    Member
    Registered: Mar 2009
    Neil_McCauley: I had that same problem with my menus, when I tested the game with TFix on my laptop with Nvidia graphics (8200M) in Windows 7 X64. Has Voodoo's advice worked for you on that problem? Haven't been on this laptop recently because I have no use for such a horrible thing like an HP Laptop.

  6. #456
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    older versions of TFix did not have the check that removes rogue interface folders (basically, intrface.crf file or intrface folder must NOT exist in the root thief folder, as this will mess up resource loading priorities and break the menus as result) - I suggest you just try the latest version.

    the problematic intrface folder is known to exist in T1 (non-gold) mastertronic version, for example.

  7. #457
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2004
    Location: Topeka, KS
    Quote Originally Posted by voodoo47 View Post
    not making a full install is definitely a bad idea, but as you have a full install now, let's concentrate on the remaining issue - check the PATCHES folder (right in your thief folder), you should have following files in there (they should not be zero bytes in size):
    fam.crf
    intrface.crf
    mesh.crf
    obj.crf

    open your install.cfg (in notepad, for example), you should see this:
    Code:
    ;cd_path .\
    install_path .\
    language english
    resname_base .\mods+.\mods\EP\Thief1+.\mods\EP+.\patches+.\res
    load_path .\
    script_module_path .\
    movie_path .\movies
    correct?

    edit: one more thing - first, double check that all 12 files with crf extension have been moved to the RES folder (and no crf files are left in your thief folder), then check your thief folder, and see whether there is a folder named intrface. if it is there, delete (or rename) it.
    voodoo,
    PATCHES folder has those .crf files, install.cfg looks like that (except that I have language english+german+french - I just changed it to english), BUT, I had the same .crf files in the main THIEF directory as well as the RES folder. I deleted those, and now the Options menus are fine!! You are a very good de-bugger! My is off to you.

    So it seems that copying and replacing the necessary changed files worked, but using your installer doesn't. I'm new to Windows 7; I've checked and rechecked the permissions on the directory C:\Games (full control to all Users), but I guess the Read Only thing is causing trouble? Weird that I kept having the same problem even when installing TFix in the Admin account. I'm befuddled..

    So far, the game looks amazing. Nice work!! Now if I only I could sneak a DirectX update on to my work laptop to play it from USB...

  8. #458
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    all I can say is that some security program/feature is probably interfering with the patching process. still, it would be great to know what missing component is causing that sword issue. I'll send you a private message.

    if you can't install dx9 on that laptop, you can try to use just the dll, drop it to the thief folder and the game should run.


    //ok, it seems like all those strange issues were caused by not making a full install of thief (as I do not have the original cd release anymore, just GOG and the dvd Anthology edition, I forgot that you can indeed make just a partial install with the cd). will make a check for that as well.
    Last edited by voodoo47; 8th Jan 2013 at 06:58.

  9. #459
    Member
    Registered: Jul 2006
    First off, congratulations on the terrific work you've done.

    I've got a question. I just installed TFix 1.13, and everything seems to be working fine for the most part. The only problem is that my forward movement speed seems way too slow. It's been a long time since I've played Thief, but I'm pretty sure I should be moving faster. My speed when I strafe left or right is about twice as fast as when I walk forward. I find myself having to sprint all the time just to feel like I'm moving at a normal speed. Any suggestions?

  10. #460
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    you probably want the "classic" set of controls, load them through the customize controls/load menu.

  11. #461
    Member
    Registered: May 2010
    Thanks. I was also wondering why walking is so slow.

  12. #462
    Member
    Registered: Nov 2003
    Location: Thief fan since ca. 1999
    Yeah, it is because in the original controls for thief, you actually walk. If you change your forward movement key to run, then you'll always run. The way I have my game set up is Garrett will run by default, but if you hold shift down then he will walk instead.

  13. #463
    Member
    Registered: Jul 2006
    Thanks guys, that did the trick for me.

    How do you sneak up to someone who's sleeping without waking them up? Even when crouching and creeping I always seem to wake people up when I get too close. I thought I remembered being able to creep up to sleeping people.

    Also, can people who are sleeping be pickpocketed for items?

    Sorry for the dumb questions, but it's been more than a decade since I last played this game.

  14. #464
    Member
    Registered: Jul 2006
    Location: Moscow, Russia
    Quote Originally Posted by sNeaksieGarrett View Post
    Yeah, it is because in the original controls for thief, you actually walk.
    No, It's because T2 interprets TG's "+forward" as "+walkslow", which is about twice slower than T2's normal "+walk", while in TG "+forward" and "+walk" are equal.

  15. #465
    Member
    Registered: May 2010
    @ JDR13: You should be able to sneak up on sleeping persons by crouching + creeping, at least i was able to on the sleeping guy in Lord Bafford's Manor. The problem could be, as described above, that you use run forward and creep. Try using the "Classic Thief" key configuration.

    And yeah, as far as i can remember, you can rob sleeping NPC's.

  16. #466
    Member
    Registered: Nov 2003
    Location: Thief fan since ca. 1999
    @DJ Riff:

    Oh, but I thought thief 1 and 2 by default (not using this patch) had the player walk rather than run? Or are you saying he's walking even slower due to the thief 2 engine being used on thief gold?

  17. #467
    Member
    Registered: Jul 2006
    Location: Moscow, Russia
    Quote Originally Posted by sNeaksieGarrett View Post
    @DJ Riff:

    Oh, but I thought thief 1 and 2 by default (not using this patch) had the player walk rather than run? Or are you saying he's walking even slower due to the thief 2 engine being used on thief gold?
    Somewhat both.

    Thief Gold:
    ; Thief Default Bindings
    bind w +walkfast
    bind keypad_up +walkfast
    bind up +walkfast

    bind s +forward
    bind keypad_center +forward


    Thief 2:
    ; Thief 2 Default
    bind shift +runon
    bind keypad_enter +runon
    bind alt +slideon

    bind w +walk
    bind keypad_up +walk
    bind up +walk

    bind s +backfast


    ; Thief 1 Default Bindings
    bind shift +creepon
    bind alt +slideon

    bind w +walkfast
    bind keypad_up +walkfast
    bind up +walkfast

    bind s +walk
    bind keypad_center +walk


    So if the bindings are retained in Gold when installing NewDark, then W will still be running, but S will become very slow walking. If the player loads Thief 2 default buildings, then W will become walking.

  18. #468
    Member
    Registered: Nov 2003
    Location: Thief fan since ca. 1999
    Ah okay, it's been too long since I've played with default binds on Thief Gold I couldn't recall and was basing my post solely on Thief 2 having been playing that recently. Thanks for the explanation!

    Ah, I forgot about Thief Gold having two forward movement keys near each other. I've always used W for forward movement and S for backward movement.

  19. #469
    Member
    Registered: Nov 2003
    Location: Thief fan since ca. 1999
    Dumb question, sorry if it's been asked: Does the new TFix beta force you to install 1.19? Shouldn't it allow you to choose? (It's not in the list of things to check off in the installer, which is why I'm asking.)

  20. #470
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    most of the mods included would not work properly without NewDark, so yes, patch 1.19 is mandatory (and thus, force-installed). should you require the DDFix version for some obscure reason, 1.10 is still floating around - but no support will be provided for the old versions, my hands are full enough.

    if you don't want to use NewDark, you just don't install TFix, as simple as that. the unmodified GOG version should still work on most machines.

  21. #471
    Member
    Registered: Nov 2003
    Location: Thief fan since ca. 1999
    Actually, only the top two need Newdark I thought because they're for T2. The orgy's textures and enhancement pack already worked for Thief Gold. In my personal opinion I think 1.19 should be optional. Yes a person that is wanting to install thief could just not use TFix but then the player has to figure out on their own using the old method of install rather than just using tfix which is certainly more convenient. I just thought it would have been better to make it optional, though that could cause a problem too. In that case you'd need to have a warning message. Or is there a way to make certain things in the installer uncheckable? Like a prerequisite check?

  22. #472
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    the bugfixes are now completely dependent on NewDark (or rather, it was possible to implement them because of NewDark). so if you removed NewDark out of the patch (including all the NewDark dependent stuff), you would essentially end up with a DDFix installer that also allows quick selection of (old) mods. and that's TFix 1.10. I could, in theory, integrate it into the latest version, but that would just make the installer much bigger. no point, as long as the old version can be downloaded.

    to make it short, yeah, I could do it. but it's just not worth the hassle.

  23. #473
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2004
    Location: Pennsylvania
    Quote Originally Posted by sNeaksieGarrett View Post
    Actually, only the top two need Newdark I thought because they're for T2. The orgy's textures and enhancement pack already worked for Thief Gold. In my personal opinion I think 1.19 should be optional. Yes a person that is wanting to install thief could just not use TFix but then the player has to figure out on their own using the old method of install rather than just using tfix which is certainly more convenient. I just thought it would have been better to make it optional, though that could cause a problem too. In that case you'd need to have a warning message. Or is there a way to make certain things in the installer uncheckable? Like a prerequisite check?
    Your asking a lot he has his hands full with the latest version and upgrading it.
    Programmimg is a lot of work to do correctly at least. Everytime you change something there is the potential to break something else.

    Why do you wish to not use 1.19 ? It seems like eveyone else is using it and most authors are requiring it for new FM's so you will be restricting yourself to existing missions for the most part.
    It just seems like a no brainer to use it.

  24. #474
    Member
    Registered: Nov 2003
    Location: Thief fan since ca. 1999
    Yeah, sure I'm asking a lot and I know it, but when you make something you must expect to have people wanting things to be user friendly and being able to make choices on what you install. I'm not saying it's not user friendly, just that it'd make more sense to make 1.19 optional as an additional check in the installer. I don't blame him for not wanting to do it because it's extra work, I'm just disappointed is all and wanted to give my two cents on the matter. However, I realize there are the older versions of TFix so if anyone doesn't want 1.19 installed then we can just download that instead.

    The reason I refuse to use 1.19 with Thief Gold is because of all the problems it's causing and I don't want to deal with it. Plus, my Thief Gold runs just fine as it is on my machine so there's no need to bother with 1.19. Now, I upgraded Thief 2 to 1.19 but that was a different situation.
    Last edited by sNeaksieGarrett; 13th Jan 2013 at 14:38.

  25. #475
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    I don't feel like going through all the technical stuff, so let me make this short - the current version of TFix is completely, entirely and inseparably based on NewDark. there is just no way to make it optional. those who do not wish to use the NewDark version, can either use TFix 1.10 (which would probably be the final DDFix version anyway) or do nothing. the choice is always yours.

    trying to maintain both versions is simply unreasonable, and replicating all the new fixes and improvements in old Dark is outright impossible. I could, in theory, create a multi installer that would allow you to launch either the DDFix or the NewDark version, but that seems just.. stupid. not going to do it.

    as for T1/TG NewDark issues, there are just two major bugs on my list - the hotplates in Mage Towers (not lighting properly, forcing you to use water arrows, considered major), and the Maw portal (broken almost completely, this one is critical as it seriously affects the number of creatures spawned and therefore gameplay as well). both should be fixed in the next version(s). the rest of the problems are very minor - NewDark definitely fixes (much) more than it breaks (especially for those who can't run DDfix reliably).

Page 19 of 114 FirstFirst ... 491415161718192021222324293439444954596469 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •