TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Page 20 of 115 FirstFirst ... 5101516171819202122232425303540455055606570 ... LastLast
Results 476 to 500 of 2855

Thread: TFix: unofficial patch for Thief1/Gold

  1. #476
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    yes. you can't screw it up, the patcher won't let you continue unless it properly sees thief.exe.

    //added some extra info for purists and a link to TFix 1.10 into the first post. hope this will clear any potential confusion.
    Last edited by voodoo47; 27th Jan 2013 at 09:30.

  2. #477
    New Member
    Registered: Aug 2012

    Curser Freeze

    Hi Guys,

    I recently installed all 3 games (all on one disc) onto an older spec PC I was given (running WXP).
    I had to get a new graphics card (one that I thought would be common to all 3 games), and had no issues with the set up of each game using the various methods to get T2 (texture mapping) and TG running (DDFix).

    Anyways - all was fine for about 6 weeks - then the MOBO went on the PC (twas ancient).

    Managed to get hold of another old spec pc, fit new graphics card, re installed the games in same way as before (I'm reasonably certain), T2 - great - no probs.
    T3 - no issues anyways apart from mouse sensitivity
    TG - game play - no issues at all
    menu screen - oops - curser freezes!

    Specs are as follows ...

    Grahics Nvidia 6200a 512mb
    Desktop Res 1360 x 768
    Thief Res 1360 x 768

    DDfix 1.3.11 installed.

    As I say, I have used the same methods for installing the series on both machines. When I play TG and finish a level, I cannot proceed and have to Ctrl Alt Del.

    Any advice please?

    Thanx

    Rek

  3. #478
    Moderator
    Registered: Apr 2003
    Location: Wales
    I'm sorry if I'm being dense but you mention DDFix. Does this mean that you didn't use TFix to install your TG?

  4. #479
    Yeah, building on what nickie said above - you don't need DDfix anymore. Use the Tfix program with T1, which will install the new unofficial 1.19 patch, and it will likely fix all your problems. Use Tafferpatcher to install the same patch for T2 and you should be good to go.

    Btw, the cursor freezing sounds like a multicore cpu issue (which the patches mentioned above will fix).

  5. #480
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    indeed. I would also recommend uninstalling the game(s), deleting any leftover files, and making a new, clean install(s) before using the patcher(s).

  6. #481
    New Member
    Registered: Aug 2012
    Hey Guys what can I say?

    I will get right on it

  7. #482
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    the steam version requires an extra step, see the first post of this topic if you have that.

  8. #483
    New Member
    Registered: Aug 2012
    I dont think its the Steam version.

    It does say thoughthe application configuration is incorrect, so it will not start.

  9. #484
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    Make sure you install the latest DX9 and VC++, no matter what OS or updates you (think you) have:
    Visual Studio 2008 SP1 C++ runtimes
    DirectX End-User Runtimes (June 2010)

  10. #485
    New Member
    Registered: Aug 2012
    Thank you for the links.

    Where do I need to extract Direct X to, as I'm being told now that TG is "unable to locate or load d3dx9_43.dll"

  11. #486
    Administrator
    Registered: Oct 2000
    Location: Athens of the North
    Once you've downloaded the dirextx_June2010_redist.exe file from voodoo's link run it and choose a new empty folder for it to put the files (c:\dxinst will be fine or create a new folder off your desktop). Open that folder, find the DXSETUP application and run it. That will install the necessary DirectX runtime files centrally so you don't have to install anything from it into your Thief folder.

    Once done you can remove the DirectX installation files (i.e. remove the c:\dxinst folder if you used the above example) and you should be good to go.

  12. #487
    New Member
    Registered: Aug 2012
    Ok great - thank you!

    Thief Gold now works absolutely perfectly

    I have re installed T2 - installed Tafferpatch - BUT - I only have sound in Cut-scenes NOT in Menu or in-game.

    Any ideas on that please?

  13. #488
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    probably missing resources. check your RES folder, you should have 14 crf files there.

  14. #489
    New Member
    Registered: Aug 2012
    I have all 14 .crf files in the RES folder.

  15. #490
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    check the options, maybe the sounds are just muted. or try to select a different audio device.

  16. #491
    New Member
    Registered: Aug 2012
    I've taken a look at the sound device (Realtek ac 97 - yeah I did say it was an old system ) and that does not seem to have any obvious issues.

    I still had T2 on the HDD from the other pc - that has no sound now either when I try that, but was working perfectly on the other pc.

    TG works 100% though, which is great.

    And I have to say, I've been playing Thief since the demo of the Dark Project came out and I really like the look of it now, with all the enhancements that you guys have been doing over the years (I used to be a member here many moons ago - user name Jasee) and its great to see that its all still very much alive!

    Thanks to you all

    Rek

  17. #492
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    I've meant the ingame options.

  18. #493
    New Member
    Registered: Aug 2012
    yeah I know - volume settings in-game are fine.

    When I perform a speaker test I get nothing. No sound at all.

    Sound is only in cutscenes/movies.

    Sound in TG is fine.

  19. #494
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    ok, check snd.crf (in RES), it should have over 300MB.

  20. #495
    Member
    Registered: Jun 2004
    Hi

    Thanks for doing this great utility for Thief gold.It works fine apart from one thing for me.When i bind the key for Walk forward and play a level,garret walks forward slowly(creeping?).Going sideways left & right and backwards are at the proper speed.Is there a way to fix this small problem.Apologies if this has come up before.Thanks for looking.

    Colin

  21. #496
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    yeah, this is a known feature, remember, we are running T2 engine in T1 compatibility mode. try loading the "classic" control set (options/customize controls/load).

  22. #497
    New Member
    Registered: Aug 2012
    Yeah it has 316mb.

    I've updated the drivers for my sound device.

    Perhaps I should try reinstalling.

  23. #498
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    as I said, try changing the sound devices in the ingame menu (by clicking on hardware acceleration multiple times. make sure openal is installed before doing this).

    reinstalling might help as well - it's always recommended to start from a fresh install when using Tafferpatcher or TFix.

  24. #499
    New Member
    Registered: Aug 2012
    Ok - did as you suggested, but still no joy.

    But - and this is a big BUT - I have a Sold Out copy of T2 - re installed this, and just de ; the safe texture manager in order to check the sound - and it all works as it should.

    Still, would have been good to get to the bottom of that little problem with the other installation.

    Either way, I really appreciate your help

  25. #500
    Member
    Registered: Mar 2002
    Location: Louisiana
    Issue: I have no sound for 'objective complete', despite it being turned to 'on' in options.

    I have a fresh install of Thief Gold (haven't been able to find my TDP discs, so picked up TG from a recent Steam sale). I copied the TG install to another non-Steam directory and patched it with TFix. (That is the ONLY thing I have done with this install- copy directory, run TFix.) I then happily dove into the FM 'Between These Dark Walls' and was enjoying myself, until I picked up an item I thought was an objective. When I opened my objective list, I saw that it was... I tested things by toggling the objective notification on and off, reloading, and picking up the item to trigger the objective, but I never got any notification. I have NO idea if this is TFix or some other issue, but I thought my best chance at figuring out what the problem was would start here. Any clue?

Page 20 of 115 FirstFirst ... 5101516171819202122232425303540455055606570 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •