TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Page 23 of 115 FirstFirst ... 38131819202122232425262728333843485358636873 ... LastLast
Results 551 to 575 of 2855

Thread: TFix: unofficial patch for Thief1/Gold

  1. #551
    ZylonBane
    Registered: Sep 2000
    Location: ZylonBane
    Quote Originally Posted by d3bug View Post
    Isn't there a way to fix AI detection on newdark? AI is able to see you in pitch black with nothing in your hands, and crouched in a corner.
    The AI has always been able to do that, IF they're chasing you.

  2. #552
    New Member
    Registered: Mar 2013
    Quote Originally Posted by ZylonBane View Post
    The AI has always been able to do that, IF they're chasing you.
    nope. sorry, you are wrong on that. i have a habit of doing exactly that (i have since i started playing back when it was first released)... running like hell into a dark room dropping all weapons and items, so they are not equipped, and ducking into a corner... AI NEVER gets me on the original Dark, but on newdark, it gets me every single time.

  3. #553
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    well, all I can do is refer you to the last part of the first post again. there are differences. accept them. or not. the choice is yours.

  4. #554
    Member
    Registered: Nov 2002
    Location: Central Texas
    Quote Originally Posted by d3bug View Post
    nope. sorry, you are wrong on that. i have a habit of doing exactly that (i have since i started playing back when it was first released)... running like hell into a dark room dropping all weapons and items, so they are not equipped, and ducking into a corner... AI NEVER gets me on the original Dark, but on newdark, it gets me every single time.
    Actually, that depends. As long as you leave their direct line of sight for a period of time that works (the period might be longer than it used to be, originally, it only had to be a couple of seconds.) But if you never left their direct line of sight, they would still run right to you (it happened to me several times on vanilla T1 & TG (T2 as well, but we are talking about T1G.) It actually worked wonderfully, if you flash bombed them, then ran into a shadow and hid before they recovered. Never tried that with NewDark, though.

  5. #555
    ZylonBane
    Registered: Sep 2000
    Location: ZylonBane
    Quote Originally Posted by d3bug View Post
    ...dropping all weapons and items...
    WTF?

  6. #556
    Member
    Registered: Nov 2002
    Location: Central Texas
    ZylonBane:

    I think he meant "Un-Equip" all items.

  7. #557
    New Member
    Registered: Mar 2013
    Quote Originally Posted by Pheonix View Post
    Actually, that depends. As long as you leave their direct line of sight for a period of time that works (the period might be longer than it used to be, originally, it only had to be a couple of seconds.) But if you never left their direct line of sight, they would still run right to you (it happened to me several times on vanilla T1 & TG (T2 as well, but we are talking about T1G.) It actually worked wonderfully, if you flash bombed them, then ran into a shadow and hid before they recovered. Never tried that with NewDark, though.
    I know this is going to sound way out in left field, but is it possible that the AI's sight is modified by gamma on the newdark engine? I only ask such a weird question because it seems like they see me, not just bump into me, & I have to play with a high gamma setting due to lighting in the room i play in.

    *NOTE: I don't seem to have this problem in T2... also, no flashbombs yet - Cragscleft prison (miss2)

  8. #558
    Member
    Registered: May 2002
    Location: Between dreams and shadows...
    Quote Originally Posted by d3bug View Post
    but is it possible that the AI's sight is modified by gamma on the newdark engine?
    No: gamma correction is a rendering feature entirely separate from the visibility mechanics. You're just dealing with AI whose behaviours are implemented differently, but certainly not beyond the realms of manageable once you get used to them.

  9. #559
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2002
    Location: London / London / London
    re-posted from tech forum re: the refresh rate thing, if anyone is interested:

    OK - so, problem fixed. I can now run things at 100 fps with v-sync on, or in another way of saying, I can actually get any FPS above 60 to look right. Looks absolutely amazing. I'm not sure exactly where my cut-off for perception of flicker is, other than somewhere above 60Hz, but games definitely have a more 'real' look to them now. I had to dick around overriding the EDID (electronic monitor signature thing that tells you system what your monitor is capable of), following this guide: http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials...esh-rates.html

    It's a little more involved than they make out - in addition to changing the standard timings, I also had to go into the detailed timings and substitut the 'pixel clk' value in block#1 and block #2 timings for the value I got from the EVGA pixel clock tool, and raise the Max. Pxl Clk (MHz) in block#3 and 4's 'monitor range limits' fields to a rounding of the EVGA tool value.

  10. #560
    New Member
    Registered: Mar 2013
    Quote Originally Posted by The Watcher View Post
    No: gamma correction is a rendering feature entirely separate from the visibility mechanics. You're just dealing with AI whose behaviours are implemented differently, but certainly not beyond the realms of manageable once you get used to them.
    Not being able to hide from them (at all) changes the entire dynamic of the game for me. If there is no longer any stealth element, then what's the point? I mind as well just kill em all and make my life easier. A great deal of what I enjoy about Thief is being able to hide right under their noses. I used to be able to hide in the middle of a room with nothing but a sliver of a shadow, but now they see me as though i was not hidden at all... that is no fun, it's just frustrating.

  11. #561
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by voodoo47 View Post
    well, all I can do is refer you to the last part of the first post again. there are differences. accept them. or not. the choice is yours.
    the link to TFix 1.10 is there as well (last DDFix version).

    and, just make it perfectly clear, I'm not aware of any way how to make the AIs react exactly like they did in Old Dark.
    Last edited by Al_B; 25th Mar 2013 at 05:36. Reason: Not the ZB: unofficial patch thread

  12. #562
    Speaking of which I installed steam thief gold using latest tfix. Worked
    perfectly.

  13. #563
    New Member
    Registered: Mar 2013
    Quote Originally Posted by voodoo47 View Post
    yes.

    the link to TFix 1.10 is there as well (last DDFix version).

    and, just make it perfectly clear, I'm not aware of any way how to make the AIs react exactly like they did in Old Dark.
    Thank you. That is all I needed to know from the beginning. I guess I will just have to install it inside a vm because using the older tfix doesn't seem to work for me on Windows7 x64... just crashes.

  14. #564
    Member
    Registered: Jun 2002
    Location: Girl with the Patreon Tattoo
    I'm worried and slightly disgusted by the increasing amount of moderation that goes into these threads.
    ZB's ranting on new posters' errors, hyperbole or general behavior was a staple of this place, including the "safe" Thief Forums.
    Unless requested by the thread starter, there was just no reason to do that.

  15. #565
    Wow yeah it's all gone.

  16. #566
    Administrator
    Registered: Oct 2000
    Location: Athens of the North
    This thread is primarily about the TFix patch and helping new people get it working on their installations. People coming to this thread looking for assistance don't need to wade through arguments about whether someone is being over the top and about ZB's innermost thought processes. Those posts are certainly part of the TTLG culture, but they don't belong in this particular thread.

  17. #567
    ZylonBane
    Registered: Sep 2000
    Location: ZylonBane
    I have no problem with that.

  18. #568
    Member
    Registered: Jun 2009
    Location: The Spiraling Sea
    Yes, I agree...Normally, I would take issue with a mass deletion of this nature, yet, as is usual, Al provides us with insightful reasoning for his constructive actions.

  19. #569
    Administrator
    Registered: Oct 2000
    Location: Athens of the North
    Quote Originally Posted by Vae View Post
    yet, as is usual, Al provides us with insightful reasoning for his constructive actions.
    Thanks, mother, but I told you to be less obvious about posting here.

  20. #570
    Member
    Registered: Jun 2009
    Location: The Spiraling Sea
    Sorry son, I thought that was only on Wednesdays...

  21. #571
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    1.15 is out.

  22. #572
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    yeah, 1.16 hopefully.

  23. #573
    Member
    Registered: May 2009
    Location: Germany
    Thanks for the update !
    Just installed it and it worked like a charme.
    However I was about to do some cleanup and scanned what old stuff (like ddfix) might be still around and wondered why there is a folder called 'PATCHES' in the main directory.
    I deleted it and figured out that at least the AUDIO menu is broken.
    Restored it and it works fine again.
    So, since this is obviously related to TFix/NewDark, could you add a text file into that directory which explains what it is needed for?
    I did not find it documented in any readme either.

    Thanks!

  24. #574
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    to be honest, I have better things to do than write documentation right now. don't screw with any files after installing TFix - you know, the all-in-one patches are meant for people that don't want to mess with anything.

    basically, the only thing that is not important is the mods folder, if you mess with patches, executables and dmls, things will go haywire really fast.

  25. #575
    Member
    Registered: Feb 2008
    Location: Near My Head
    Noob question;

    My in-game start menu and movie clips are playing at 1024x720. I have a 27 inch monitor at 1920x1080. Where do I fix this? Never was a issue with older/previous versions of TFix.

Page 23 of 115 FirstFirst ... 38131819202122232425262728333843485358636873 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •