TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Page 25 of 114 FirstFirst ... 510152021222324252627282930354045505560657075 ... LastLast
Results 601 to 625 of 2835

Thread: TFix: unofficial patch for Thief1/Gold

  1. #601
    Member
    Registered: Apr 2011
    Location: Montpellier, France
    He wasn't playing with NewDark. He also wasn't using NewDark when he made his Ghost playthrough of Thieves' Guild.

  2. #602
    Member
    Registered: Feb 2003
    Location: Germany
    Strange AI's
    Since I updated Thief 1 with TFix 15.1 and change it to New Dark ...... (Darkloader .ini ---> type=2 to type=1) some Thief Gold (I think) AI's look more than strange ....

    I have some sreenshots.





    How can I get back the normal AI's ??

  3. #603
    Member
    Registered: Jun 2003
    Quote Originally Posted by TheDuriel View Post
    didnt travis just "recently" play the "Thieves' Guild" mission without many problems?
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K2wYqJRcTSk
    its hard but not impossible to finish this mission on hard
    ah. nice. having problems with that video. It keeps stopping at 2:50

  4. #604
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    the broken AIs suggest either a botched install (steam? installed to program files?) or use of an incompatible fm loader - use fmselect if you want to play fms with NewDark.

  5. #605
    Member
    Registered: Feb 2003
    Location: Germany
    I got Darkloader 4.3 ..... the latest version I think .....
    and I have installed TFix 15.1 again ome times .....

    And a stupid question: what do you mean with fmselect ???

  6. #606
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    NewDark has an integrated FM selector. edit cam_mod.ini, and remove ; that is before "fm". run thief.exe, and a folder for FMs will be created. there you can just drop your fms and load them effortlessly by double clicking the fm after running thief.exe.

  7. #607
    Member
    Registered: Feb 2003
    Location: Germany
    I solve the problem ......

    I think you were right ..... I had patched my version after TFix 15.1 with the Thief Gold Patch again .... and everything is OK now ...... Thanks for your help :-)

  8. #608
    Member
    Registered: Apr 2005
    After installing tfix I can't beat the taffing training mission,

    he keeps seeing me "i see you there lad" as if the lightgem is too sensitive

  9. #609
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    make sure that miss1.dif file is NOT in your thief folder and restart the mission.

    what Thief version are you running? non-gold french would be an example.

  10. #610
    Member
    Registered: Apr 2005
    i only see miss1.mis in the root folder, i dont see any .dif files

    Thief gold 1.37 patched w/ tfix

  11. #611
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    have you restarted the mission?

  12. #612
    Member
    Registered: Apr 2005
    Quote Originally Posted by voodoo47 View Post
    have you restarted the mission?
    huh, it worked now. maybe it was an unrelated bug

  13. #613
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    this usually happens when you load a save made before updating. it's not really a bug, it's "just the way it works".

  14. #614
    New Member
    Registered: Dec 2005
    I have a simple question for you guys .

    Is there a familiar version of TFix for Thief 2? It is Taffer Pacher?

    Thank you.

  15. #615
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    yes.

  16. #616
    Master Builder 2018
    Registered: Jul 2008
    Need a little help. Trying to install Thief Gold on Windows 7 laptop. Can't get Setup.exe to run, even with -lgntforce. Will TFix install the game itself, in the way that Tafferpatcher can for T2? Or is there some other way to do the initial install of TG?

  17. #617
    Administrator
    Registered: Oct 2000
    Location: Athens of the North
    If you have a THIEF directory on your CD then just copy it to your hard drive (somewhere other than in Program Files) and point TFix to it. TFix won't install the game for you but at should be all you need to do.

  18. #618
    Master Builder 2018
    Registered: Jul 2008
    Doh! Thanks, Al. I'll give it a go.

    EDIT: Yep, that worked fine except for some reason fam.crf wasn't in the Thief folder on the CD so everything was jorge. Went and grabbed it from my TDP folder and all is as it should be. Thanks again.
    Last edited by Tannar; 9th May 2013 at 14:53.

  19. #619
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    so I assume the crf check worked and TFix screamed bloody murder when fam.crf was not found?

  20. #620
    Master Builder 2018
    Registered: Jul 2008
    Yes. Well, I don't if know if it screamed but it did tell me it couldn't find it and to go get the damned thing from the CD (though it isn't on the CD as far as I can see). So yes, it did its job. It also screamed about not being able to set the language so I had to do that manually too but that's it.

  21. #621
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    [Shodan voice]gooood.[/Shodan voice]

  22. #622
    Member
    Registered: Jun 2003
    Quote Originally Posted by FenrisUlf View Post
    kewl thanks. I patched it halway thru assassins then played to the end. THen started thieves den from the beginning using the patch. Down in the basement it was all wonky, like when the overhead light flickers. And the fireplace and such. Even back in those sewer like things.
    Did you have any success with the Thieves' Den level?

    I've been playing it back with the original unpatched program on NORMAL setting for a week now and perhaps it wasn't the patch that did as much as I thought. The level itself is just HARD. The guards see you across rooms even in shadow sometimes and even in crawlspace water tunnels the archers wandering around can see you. Yep they made this hard .

    Granted I do think there were light gem issues. One was right when you rope down into the casino and stand in the corner by the waterarrowed fireplace. The gem never went dark as it should. The other problem seemed to be in the middle of the casino where all the flickering lights are. Gem is all wonky.

    But further into the level like in Donnel's mansion (on normal unpatched) I was completely standing in big triangles of shadow in pretty big rooms and guards were seeing me. So really I think the level itself had wonky places to begin with.



    Another question. Does the patch change the AI at all? Especially the difficulty level of staying hidden or being heard by moving?
    Last edited by FenrisUlf; 15th May 2013 at 13:06.

  23. #623
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    the AIs will use T2 routines, so yes, they will be a bit different.

  24. #624

    Thieves Guild and Mage Towers

    Quote Originally Posted by FenrisUlf View Post
    Did you have any success with the Thieves' Den level?

    ...

    Another question. Does the patch change the AI at all? Especially the difficulty level of staying hidden or being heard by moving?
    I played through the Thieves Guild mission recently (have to redo it again...I lost my video of it ) trying to supreme ghost where possible and it is much harder, and AIs seem much more touchy. Some of the tricks that used to work to get past certain obstacles don't anymore, and at one point I had to flat out resort to AI nudging (which breaks the rules) to get Thom's key and avoid a second alert since it was impossible to get the key otherwise. I wish Twitch didn't delete my video . I lost that mission and The Sword, so I have to go back and redo them.

    Quote Originally Posted by voodoo47 View Post
    the AIs will use T2 routines, so yes, they will be a bit different.
    I wanted to ask about that. Since AIs are so different in their routines, is that the cause of so many problems I've been having where instead of patrolling AIs are now stationary? I've been trying to Supreme Ghost the Mage Towers mission (which used to be possible from videos I've looked at) for about a week now, and every time I try inside the Fire Tower the 3rd mage you encounter (on the floor above the room with the lava) for whatever reason never patrols. He just stands on one of the heating tiles facing the door to the stairs, making it impossible to get past him with anything less than a first alert (and that's just trying to get past him going up, I don't even think it's possible to get back past him again going down with anything less than a second alert). It's driving me mad!

  25. #625
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    supply a save, if you can.

    and yeah, mage towers need a good, thorough sweeping - the disappearing elevator issue is still lurking somewhere.
    Last edited by voodoo47; 28th May 2013 at 14:51.

Page 25 of 114 FirstFirst ... 510152021222324252627282930354045505560657075 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •