TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Page 30 of 114 FirstFirst ... 51015202526272829303132333435404550556065707580 ... LastLast
Results 726 to 750 of 2849

Thread: TFix: unofficial patch for Thief1/Gold

  1. #726
    New Member
    Registered: Nov 2012
    Quote Originally Posted by TheDuriel View Post
    just use the borderless window mode and then alt+tab if you want to free your mouse from the game window

    you can find it in the cam_ext.cfg "force_windowed"
    simply remove the ;

    Using alt tab was exactly what I was hoping to avoid.

    I was hoping for a free mouse movement like other games I have in windowed mode.

    Usually when you alt tab you wind up causing the stream to show a black window since you are removing the focus.

  2. #727
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    avoid using windowed mode if possible - just edit cam.cfg, and add this:

    Code:
    user_mode1 5760 1080
    also make sure the game_screen_size line looks like this:

    Code:
    game_screen_size 5760 1080
    that should get it working. if you want to unlock the mouse cursor, check the options in lg.ini.

  3. #728
    Member
    Registered: Nov 2012
    Location: Germany
    Quote Originally Posted by ITPalg View Post
    Using alt tab was exactly what I was hoping to avoid.

    I was hoping for a free mouse movement like other games I have in windowed mode.

    Usually when you alt tab you wind up causing the stream to show a black window since you are removing the focus.
    that is what borderless windows is for
    you either capture the region of your screen where the game is (if you want that your viewers see everything in that area including the game and overlaping windows)

    or you capture the window (if you want ppl to see overlaping windows there will be an extra option for it)
    (software capture in most streaming programms !not! game capture)

    in both cases the game will keep running and you viewers will still be able to see the game if you alt+tab or even minimize the game

    this works great in xsplit and OBS and it should also work in ffsplit

  4. #729
    New Member
    Registered: Nov 2012
    Quote Originally Posted by voodoo47 View Post
    avoid using windowed mode if possible - just edit cam.cfg, and add this:

    Code:
    user_mode1 5760 1080
    also make sure the game_screen_size line looks like this:

    Code:
    game_screen_size 5760 1080
    that should get it working. if you want to unlock the mouse cursor, check the options in lg.ini.

    adding those two lines to cam and putting the noborder=0 and clipcursor=0 led to all 3 monitors flickering for a few seconds then an app crash pop up.

    btw I first tried using the program at Saleck.net to fix TG. I don't know if the cam_ext.cfg was put in there by it as well. I had run Steam's cache checker and re-downloaded 77 files then moved the folder to the new location. The top line says it is loaded before cam.cfg. I tried renaming the file and putting those lines again in cam.cfg and 5760 is not listed as a choice.

    My mouse was not free either this time around. I have NoBorder=0 and ClipCursor=0. It was free before renaming the ext file.
    Last edited by ITPalg; 26th Sep 2013 at 18:33.

  5. #730
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    you should have thief.log and crash.dmp in your Thief folder - zip them up, upload to mediafire or sendspace and post the link.

    also try to use unmodified lg.ini.


    //ok, looking at your edit, it's time for a clean reinstall - delete everything, download a new install from steam, copy it to a location not monitored by steam, patch the copy with TFix. I have no idea about your monitor configuration, but if other games work in eyefinity mode, those two edits should be all that is required. try putting user_mode1 5760 1080 to cam_ext.cfg, and make sure your cam.cfg also has game_screen_size 5760 1080 and see what happens.

    your thief.log (and any potential crash.dmp) would be still useful.
    Last edited by voodoo47; 26th Sep 2013 at 18:43.

  6. #731
    New Member
    Registered: Nov 2012
    I wish I had bought mine from GoG where it is already patched. I already have the original CD but having it on Steam made it convenient. I didn't know about GoG when I got it on Steam.

    Off to redownload...

  7. #732
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    the GOG version has a lite version of TFix, so once the steam version is patched up, they are the same, functionality wise.

  8. #733
    New Member
    Registered: Nov 2012
    Quote Originally Posted by voodoo47 View Post
    you should have thief.log and crash.dmp in your Thief folder - zip them up, upload to mediafire or sendspace and post the link.

    also try to use unmodified lg.ini.


    //ok, looking at your edit, it's time for a clean reinstall - delete everything, download a new install from steam, copy it to a location not monitored by steam, patch the copy with TFix. I have no idea about your monitor configuration, but if other games work in eyefinity mode, those two edits should be all that is required. try putting user_mode1 5760 1080 to cam_ext.cfg, and make sure your cam.cfg also has game_screen_size 5760 1080 and see what happens.

    your thief.log (and any potential crash.dmp) would be still useful.
    I see now that both types of programs have the cam_ext.cfg in them since it is there now after the redo. By default it has 1920x1080 when I start the game and then looking in the cam file it is like that. Replacing it with 5760 in cam as well as having the user mode in ext once again makes them all flicker black and then crash.

    The ext file says this:

    ; up to 8 user defined display modes, if you want some resolution that isn't supported by default
    ; format: [ [ ] ]
    ; NOTE: resolutions exceeding 2048 only work with "use_d3d_display" (because DirectX 6 doesn't support larger)
    ;
    ; 1600x768 32bpp 25:12 (skipping "32 25 12" would also work because default is 32-bit and aspect would be auto)
    ;user_mode1 1600 768 32 25 12
    ; 2880x900 32bpp 16:5
    ;user_mode2 2880 900 32 16 5
    ; 6144x1536 32bpp - three 4:3 monitors at 2048x1536 each, gives an aspect ratio of 4*3:3
    ;user_mode3 6144 1536 32 12 3
    ; 3840x1024 32bpp - three 4:3 monitors at 1280x1024 each gives an aspect ratio of 4*3:3
    ;user_mode4 3840 1536 32 12 3
    ; 32002048 32bpp 25:16 (WQSXGA)
    ;user_mode5 3200 2048 32 25 16
    Should I be putting bits and aspect in there too?
    Last edited by ITPalg; 26th Sep 2013 at 20:46.

  9. #734
    New Member
    Registered: Nov 2012
    : PID: 8900
    : CPU: arch=x86-64 , fam=586 , cpus=6
    : SIMD: SSE=3 , 3DNow=0
    : OS Version: 6.1.7601 Service Pack 1
    : Desktop resolution: 1920 x 1080
    : Virtual desktop resolution: 5760 x 1080
    : -----------------------------------------------------------
    : CWD: G:\Games\thief_gold
    : -----------------------------------------------------------
    : App Version: Thief 2 Final 1.21
    : --------------------- misc config -------------------------
    : resname_base .\mods+.\mods\EP\Thief1+.\mods\EP+.\patches+.\tgpatch+.\res
    : load_path .\
    : script_module_path .\
    : movie_path .\movies
    : mod_path usermods+mods+mods\t2skies
    : install_path .\
    : language english
    : game_screen_size 1920 1080
    : game_screen_depth 32
    : game_screen_flags 45
    : game_full_screen 1
    : game_hardware 1
    : single_display_mode 2
    : ui_scale_mode 2
    : use_d3d_display
    : framerate_cap 100.0
    : SlowFrame 4
    : SlowFrameUI 10
    : force_32bit
    : force_32bit_textures
    : mipmap_mode 2
    : lm_mipmap_mode 0
    : lm_init_texmem 2
    : lm_filter_margin 1
    : disable_lightmap_aniso
    : tex_edge_padding 2
    : alpha_test_as_opaque
    : multisampletype 8
    : d3d_disp_enable_distortionfx
    : sfx_device 1
    : sfx_channels 48
    : sfx_vol_music 0
    : sfx_vol_2d 0
    : sfx_vol_3d 0
    : game dark
    : dark1
    : obj_min -6144
    : obj_max 2048
    : max_refs 8192
    : gui_font intrface\smalfont
    : enhanced_sky 1
    : skip_intro
    : new_mantle
    : z_far 512
    : wr_render_zcomp
    : render_weapon_particles
    : legacy_force_match_unrefs 0
    : dark_zcomp_arm
    : -----------------------------------------------------------
    : Enumerating D3D9 adapters (3)...
    : Adapter 0
    : device name: \\.\DISPLAY1
    : driver : nvd3dum.dll
    : descr : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 670
    : driver ver : 0x00090012-000D0801
    : vendor id : 0x000010DE
    : device id : 0x00001189
    : subsys id : 0x26783842
    : device guid: D7B71E3E-52C9-11CF-F353-75061CC2
    : desktop res: 1920 x 1080
    : Modes
    : 640 x 480 x 16
    : 720 x 480 x 16
    : 720 x 576 x 16
    : 800 x 600 x 16
    : 1024 x 768 x 16
    : 1152 x 864 x 16
    : 1280 x 720 x 16
    : 1280 x 768 x 16
    : 1280 x 800 x 16
    : 1280 x 960 x 16
    : 1280 x 1024 x 16
    : 1360 x 768 x 16
    : 1366 x 768 x 16
    : 1600 x 900 x 16
    : unsupported mode 1600 x 1024 x 16 (not in mode table)
    : unsupported mode 1600 x 1024 x 16 (not in mode table)
    : 1600 x 1200 x 16
    : 1680 x 1050 x 16
    : 1920 x 1080 x 16
    : 1440 x 900 x 16
    : 640 x 480 x 32
    : 720 x 480 x 32
    : 720 x 576 x 32
    : 800 x 600 x 32
    : 1024 x 768 x 32
    : 1152 x 864 x 32
    : 1280 x 720 x 32
    : 1280 x 768 x 32
    : 1280 x 800 x 32
    : 1280 x 960 x 32
    : 1280 x 1024 x 32
    : 1360 x 768 x 32
    : 1366 x 768 x 32
    : 1600 x 900 x 32
    : unsupported mode 1600 x 1024 x 32 (not in mode table)
    : unsupported mode 1600 x 1024 x 32 (not in mode table)
    : 1600 x 1200 x 32
    : 1680 x 1050 x 32
    : 1920 x 1080 x 32
    : 1440 x 900 x 32
    : Device Validation
    : validated ok, device added (0, E390000)
    : Adapter 1
    : device name: \\.\DISPLAY2
    : driver : nvd3dum.dll
    : descr : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 670
    : driver ver : 0x00090012-000D0801
    : vendor id : 0x000010DE
    : device id : 0x00001189
    : subsys id : 0x26783842
    : device guid: D7B71E3E-52C9-11CF-F353-75061CC2
    : desktop res: 1920 x 1080
    : Modes
    : 1920 x 1080 x 16
    : 640 x 480 x 16
    : 720 x 480 x 16
    : 720 x 576 x 16
    : 800 x 600 x 16
    : 1024 x 768 x 16
    : 1152 x 864 x 16
    : 1280 x 720 x 16
    : 1280 x 768 x 16
    : 1280 x 800 x 16
    : 1280 x 960 x 16
    : 1280 x 1024 x 16
    : 1360 x 768 x 16
    : 1366 x 768 x 16
    : 1600 x 900 x 16
    : unsupported mode 1600 x 1024 x 16 (not in mode table)
    : unsupported mode 1600 x 1024 x 16 (not in mode table)
    : 1600 x 1200 x 16
    : 1680 x 1050 x 16
    : 1440 x 900 x 16
    : 1920 x 1080 x 32
    : 640 x 480 x 32
    : 720 x 480 x 32
    : 720 x 576 x 32
    : 800 x 600 x 32
    : 1024 x 768 x 32
    : 1152 x 864 x 32
    : 1280 x 720 x 32
    : 1280 x 768 x 32
    : 1280 x 800 x 32
    : 1280 x 960 x 32
    : 1280 x 1024 x 32
    : 1360 x 768 x 32
    : 1366 x 768 x 32
    : 1600 x 900 x 32
    : unsupported mode 1600 x 1024 x 32 (not in mode table)
    : unsupported mode 1600 x 1024 x 32 (not in mode table)
    : 1600 x 1200 x 32
    : 1680 x 1050 x 32
    : 1440 x 900 x 32
    : Device Validation
    : validated ok, device added (1, E390000)
    : Adapter 2
    : device name: \\.\DISPLAY3
    : driver : nvd3dum.dll
    : descr : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 670
    : driver ver : 0x00090012-000D0801
    : vendor id : 0x000010DE
    : device id : 0x00001189
    : subsys id : 0x26783842
    : device guid: D7B71E3E-52C9-11CF-F353-75061CC2
    : desktop res: 1920 x 1080
    : Modes
    : 1920 x 1080 x 16
    : 640 x 480 x 16
    : 720 x 480 x 16
    : 720 x 576 x 16
    : 800 x 600 x 16
    : 1024 x 768 x 16
    : 1152 x 864 x 16
    : unsupported mode 1176 x 664 x 16 (not in mode table)
    : unsupported mode 1176 x 664 x 16 (not in mode table)
    : unsupported mode 1176 x 664 x 16 (not in mode table)
    : 1280 x 720 x 16
    : 1280 x 768 x 16
    : 1280 x 800 x 16
    : 1280 x 960 x 16
    : 1280 x 1024 x 16
    : 1360 x 768 x 16
    : 1366 x 768 x 16
    : 1600 x 900 x 16
    : unsupported mode 1600 x 1024 x 16 (not in mode table)
    : unsupported mode 1600 x 1024 x 16 (not in mode table)
    : 1600 x 1200 x 16
    : 1680 x 1050 x 16
    : unsupported mode 1768 x 992 x 16 (not in mode table)
    : unsupported mode 1768 x 992 x 16 (not in mode table)
    : unsupported mode 1768 x 992 x 16 (not in mode table)
    : 1440 x 900 x 16
    : 1920 x 1080 x 32
    : 640 x 480 x 32
    : 720 x 480 x 32
    : 720 x 576 x 32
    : 800 x 600 x 32
    : 1024 x 768 x 32
    : 1152 x 864 x 32
    : unsupported mode 1176 x 664 x 32 (not in mode table)
    : unsupported mode 1176 x 664 x 32 (not in mode table)
    : unsupported mode 1176 x 664 x 32 (not in mode table)
    : 1280 x 720 x 32
    : 1280 x 768 x 32
    : 1280 x 800 x 32
    : 1280 x 960 x 32
    : 1280 x 1024 x 32
    : 1360 x 768 x 32
    : 1366 x 768 x 32
    : 1600 x 900 x 32
    : unsupported mode 1600 x 1024 x 32 (not in mode table)
    : unsupported mode 1600 x 1024 x 32 (not in mode table)
    : 1600 x 1200 x 32
    : 1680 x 1050 x 32
    : unsupported mode 1768 x 992 x 32 (not in mode table)
    : unsupported mode 1768 x 992 x 32 (not in mode table)
    : unsupported mode 1768 x 992 x 32 (not in mode table)
    : 1440 x 900 x 32
    : Device Validation
    : validated ok, device added (2, E390000)
    : Enumeration done
    : D3DProvider: Enumerating adapter 0 modes
    : 640 x 480 x 16
    : 720 x 480 x 16
    : 720 x 576 x 16
    : 800 x 600 x 16
    : 1024 x 768 x 16
    : 1152 x 864 x 16
    : 1280 x 720 x 16
    : 1280 x 768 x 16
    : 1280 x 800 x 16
    : 1280 x 960 x 16
    : 1280 x 1024 x 16
    : 1360 x 768 x 16
    : 1366 x 768 x 16
    : 1600 x 900 x 16
    : unsupported mode 1600 x 1024 x 16 (not in mode table)
    : unsupported mode 1600 x 1024 x 16 (not in mode table)
    : 1600 x 1200 x 16
    : 1680 x 1050 x 16
    : 1920 x 1080 x 16
    : 1440 x 900 x 16
    : 640 x 480 x 32
    : 720 x 480 x 32
    : 720 x 576 x 32
    : 800 x 600 x 32
    : 1024 x 768 x 32
    : 1152 x 864 x 32
    : 1280 x 720 x 32
    : 1280 x 768 x 32
    : 1280 x 800 x 32
    : 1280 x 960 x 32
    : 1280 x 1024 x 32
    : 1360 x 768 x 32
    : 1366 x 768 x 32
    : 1600 x 900 x 32
    : unsupported mode 1600 x 1024 x 32 (not in mode table)
    : unsupported mode 1600 x 1024 x 32 (not in mode table)
    : 1600 x 1200 x 32
    : 1680 x 1050 x 32
    : 1920 x 1080 x 32
    : 1440 x 900 x 32
    : D3DProvider: Enumeration done
    : sw framerate cap requested (10000 us)
    : D3DProvider StartMode: smode 1920x1080x32 ; mode 640x480x32 (5 9 0 2D) ; 2d_surf_mode: 0
    : CreateDevice: res = D3D_OK ; 1920x1080 fmt=22 zfmt=75 cnt=1 ms=8 swap=1 fs=1 hz=0 pres=1 flags=2
    I wish this forum had an attachment feature instead of making me sign up for some place I will never use again.

    I am currently uploading the dump to Google Drive....taking forever seems to be not moving much halfway through. I will probably take a nap and check later.... the upload keeps getting stuck at 47% and going no where.
    Last edited by ITPalg; 27th Sep 2013 at 02:08.

  10. #735
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    have you used winrar/winzip/7zip to zip the crashdump? it should be only about 20MB after that.

    what happens if you enable windowed mode (remove ; from the ;force_windowed in cam_ext.cfg)?

  11. #736
    New Member
    Registered: Nov 2012
    zipping did it


    Quote Originally Posted by voodoo47 View Post
    have you used winrar/winzip/7zip to zip the crashdump? it should be only about 20MB after that.

    what happens if you enable windowed mode (remove ; from the ;force_windowed in cam_ext.cfg)?
    Doing so magically made my mouse free and now the 5760 is showing as an option.

    I have an Evga GTX 670 FTW card and all these things in the cam ext file are quite overwhelming. I don't know what to select for a good looking game when they aren't simply in the game menu to select for high quality (although I see a bloom option and I think bloom is stupid where realism is concerned).
    Last edited by ITPalg; 27th Sep 2013 at 04:06.

  12. #737
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    the options in cam_ext.cfg are considered advanced and should not be messed with (you can seriously screw up your game if you set things incorrectly there), unless something does not work properly. the only options that improve the graphics are the bloom/hdr settings, and as you don't care about that, I would suggest you leave cam_ext. cfg alone. these settings are not available in the ingame menus.

  13. #738
    New Member
    Registered: Nov 2012
    I could have sworn I saw an option to have bordered windowed mode but I don't see it now.

    Is there a way to have regular windowed mode?

  14. #739
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    just run in a lower resolution than your desktop and it will become bordered.

  15. #740
    Member
    Registered: Jul 2011
    Quote Originally Posted by voodoo47 View Post
    the GOG version has a lite version of TFix
    I bought TG from GOG with TFix-lite - is it worth running the full TFix patch on it as well?

  16. #741
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    if you don't care about graphics mods and gameplay fixes, then no.

  17. #742
    Member
    Registered: Jul 2011
    Quote Originally Posted by voodoo47 View Post
    if you don't care about graphics mods and gameplay fixes, then no.
    Sounds like I need to apply it then. Do you know if I need to worry about any possible conflicts with TFix-lite, or will the full TFix just add what's missing?

  18. #743
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    no need to worry, just run the patcher, choose your poison, let it do its magic, and play.

  19. #744
    Member
    Registered: Jul 2011
    Quote Originally Posted by voodoo47 View Post
    no need to worry, just run the patcher, choose your poison, let it do its magic, and play.
    Many thanks.

  20. #745
    Member
    Registered: May 2007
    Location: Croatia
    Is it possible to get the enhanced sky in all fan missions? For me, the Autumn in Lampfire Hills is the only one where I get to see it. The others (for example Calendra's Cistern, Bloodstone Prison, The Saint of Redmound, as well as the new ones) only have the original black sky with stars, even though the Sky Detail option is set to High. I'm running Thief Gold with TFix 1.16a. Same issue was with earlier version (1.12). Thank you.

  21. #746
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    sure. just pick the sky you want (miss1.mis.dml - miss17.mis.dml in \MODS\t2skies), make a copy of the file, and rename it to match the name of the FM (so if you have zombieland.mis, the new dml must be named zombieland.mis.dml). make sure the hires skies are enabled, and you should get the new sky in the FM.

    also, this is not an issue, it's just the way things work.
    Last edited by voodoo47; 6th Oct 2013 at 09:32.

  22. #747
    Member
    Registered: May 2007
    Location: Croatia
    Quote Originally Posted by voodoo47 View Post
    sure. just pick the sky you want (miss1.mis.dml - miss17.mis.dml in \MODS\t2skies), make a copy of the file, and rename it to match the name of the FM (so if you have zombieland.mis, the new dml must be named zombieland.mis.dml).

    //actually this won't work. let me see..
    Actually, it's working - I've tried it with Calendra's Cistern, by renaming 'miss2.mis.dml' into 'miss20.mis.dml'. Thank you very much!

  23. #748
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    yes, just a config error on my side - previous post edited.

  24. #749
    Member
    Registered: Nov 2003
    Location: Thief fan since ca. 1999
    I was going to say you can't do it without modifying the FM yourself due to the way those missions were set up, but voodoo beat me to it and his method is better.
    I hadn't thought of using .dml files for the skies, but that makes a lot of sense.

  25. #750
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2013
    Thought I'd point out an oddity that was discussed on the Thief GoG forums.
    Fire Shadows appearing with a different model/texture.
    Link: Thief Gold - I'm pretty sure Fire Shadows aren't supposed to look like this.

    A day after reading this and the wiki entry linked there,
    I ended up catching a glimpse of the "hobo" Fire Shadow in CybeargPlays YouTube Let's Play of Down in the Bonehoard.

    I decided to setup a new Thief Gold install and see for myself.
    I get the "hobo" version of the Fire Shadow when using a clean Thief Gold install with either ddfix or NewDark installed.
    Presumably the "hobo" version would show up in a pure install too.
    When I install TFix, it seems to replace this "hobo" version with a black "wraith" texture with red eyes.

    A check with Dromed suggests the use of expris3 model for Fire Shadows and the texture for that model matches the hobo look.

    I tracked the change to TFix's DARK.GAM file.
    Swapping the TFix DARK.GAM with the original will provide a look at the "hobo" FireShadow.

    I prefer the TFix look myself.

Page 30 of 114 FirstFirst ... 51015202526272829303132333435404550556065707580 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •