TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Page 36 of 114 FirstFirst ... 6111621263132333435363738394041465156616671768186 ... LastLast
Results 876 to 900 of 2843

Thread: TFix: unofficial patch for Thief1/Gold

  1. #876
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    ok, repatch with TFix and deselect all mods. also disable EP2 if you are using it. lets see whether this will improve things or not.

  2. #877
    New Member
    Registered: Jan 2012
    Keeps on crashing even with all mods disabled. (T2 sky, water, etc.). Note that with previous version of Tfix 1.10, on that same level it worked, no crash.
    I hope I should not get the Steam version dude...

  3. #878
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    ok, looks like I will have to dig into the resources. make a copy of your entire thief folder, delete the movies and mods folders, and snd.crf (in res). zip the rest up (should be around 200MB, so quite manageable), get it over to sendspace, and send me the link.

  4. #879

  5. #880
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    a botched install. I have no idea how you've managed to do that (installed in program files maybe?), but you have leftover files in your root folder even though you have obviously patched up with TFix (that means something has prevented the installer from moving/renaming the files properly). delete all *.crf files, all *.dif files and the intrface folder from your Thief folder and the game will work properly. reinstalling the game into an unprotected folder and patching up with TFix should accomplish the same thing - in fact, I'd like you to try that, and see whether the files get cleaned up properly this time.


    //1.18f is up, it should clear the problem when applied on the botched install.
    Last edited by voodoo47; 2nd Feb 2014 at 13:45.

  6. #881
    New Member
    Registered: Sep 2007
    Alright so I've been playing Thief Gold for the first time and installed this patch along with the mods, but I'm having lighting issues in the missions.

    order of installation:

    (made sure VC++2008 was good, along with using the directx9 redistributable from june 2010)
    1. TFix 1.18e
    2. Sound Mod
    3. HDmod

    I'm using the Steam version. I made sure to turn auto-updates off for Thief Gold and turned steam off before installing everything.

    Bugs:

    In missions lighting is no longer dynamic. In areas where there are torches, sometimes they cast NO light at all, but when standing near said torch my light gem IS lit up completely as if there is light. Using a water arrow on torches also does not REMOVE the light it was casting.

    What is up with this, and how do I fix it? It makes a lot of missions impossible to sneak around, ruining the immersion.

  7. #882
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    restart the mission, and do not use any old saves. also, 1.18f is up.

  8. #883
    New Member
    Registered: Jan 2012
    Thanks voodoo, problem solved. Infact, when I uninstalled Thief, many files remained in \Thief folder, not only \SAVES files. I deleted all the files except saves, then did a clean install on a new folder,installed 1.18f. Worked smoothly and nicely.

    Thank you very much. Just killed the Trickster.

  9. #884
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    he is a (demi)god, so it's quite probable that he was not really killed - only his physical form was destroyed and he was banished back into the Maw dimension (which has then faded out of the Thief realm/dimension).

  10. #885
    New Member
    Registered: May 2013
    Well, Constantine bit the dust at least.

    It's great to see that TFix is still getting updates! It's good that Thief is getting the support it deserves even after all this time.
    A quick question on the mission fixes: the changelog isn't clear on this point, is it still possible to go out of bounds on maps like RttC and Training and generally go places the devs didn't intend for you to go? I'm all for fixing bugs that negatively affect somebody's experience, but I think that pushing the levels to their limits is half the fun of playing them again; it'd be a shame to see all that go away.

  11. #886
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    preventing this completely would require an enormous effort - basically, using invisible walls to seal off all parts of the levels which have sky, and I'm not doing that, but I do plan to fix some of the places where it's way too easy to do this, so in the future, you will have to work harder if you'll want to break the bounds.


    also, the updates are not going to stop anytime soon, there is enough work left to keep me busy for years.

  12. #887
    New Member
    Registered: Sep 2007
    Quote Originally Posted by voodoo47 View Post
    restart the mission, and do not use any old saves. also, 1.18f is up.
    Ok that seemed to solve the problem.

    One issue came up though when installing the new "f" patch. Normally Garret has two sound bites in the very first mission in the vanilla game and "e" patch. One, outside the mansion main entrance he talks to himself about the front gate not being a good option, and when you get to the well with the drunk guard, he again talks out loud jokingly saying "thanks, you sure made that easy" or something when you take the key from the drunk guard.

    I noticed those two sound bites did not even play at all when starting a brand new mission with the "f" patch.

  13. #888
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    there has been no change to the Bafford's mission, so there is no reason why this should be happening, but I will double check.

    //unable to replicate - works fine for me.
    Last edited by voodoo47; 7th Feb 2014 at 13:44.

  14. #889
    Member
    Registered: Nov 2003
    Location: Sheffield, UK
    New mirror see last post
    Last edited by Esme; 12th Feb 2014 at 07:45.

  15. #890
    New Member
    Registered: May 2013
    Those lines from Garrett appear fine for me on 1.18f.

    I also noticed that Garrett's "could you be any more helpful" line will trigger when you try to frob the drunk guard's key, even if it doesn't work (e.g. you try frobbing it from the front).
    Last edited by Solar Prominence; 7th Feb 2014 at 16:07.

  16. #891
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    that is slightly undesirable - will modify it sooner or later so it will be triggered only when the pick succeeds.

  17. #892
    New Member
    Registered: Sep 2007
    Its likely that I do not know how to trigger those sound bites, but just to make sure I did try a couple more times to just to see, but they never did play. I am new to this game too, first time ever but I'm just going through it now and not worrying about too much unless a game stopper bug happens, which hasn't so far.

  18. #893
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    I can imagine two reasons for this happening:

    -the fixed map file hasn't been copied properly (and you are still using the orig map). that would suggest running from a protected folder (program files).
    -the game is not able to find the sound. that would suggest either corrupted snd.crf, or, again, running from a protected location.

    are you running TG or T1? also, here is a link to 1.18e, repatch with that and see what happens (technically, the only difference between e and f are fixed starting areas of lost city and caverns, and an extra check that should make sure no leftover files are ever left in a T1 install). also, have you tried making a new, clean install? maybe you could do the same as spizzo83 and submit your entire (broken) install (movies excluded) for analysis?


    //retested with various setups, again, couldn't replicate the problem. any chance you have deactivated v-sync at some point? remember, with v-sync off, a lot of things that depend on physics collisions won't work properly..
    Last edited by voodoo47; 8th Feb 2014 at 14:35.

  19. #894
    New Member
    Registered: Sep 2007
    I'm not sure how to submit the entire corrupt install.

    Steps taken with a clean install:

    Note - Running Thief Gold (installed in the steamapps/common folder). I have Steam itself running on a hard drive I only use for installing games, so the steam folder itself is an unprotected folder. I also installed all the TFix patch and following mods with Steam shut off and "automatic updates" off for Thief Gold.

    Install Order

    1. Thief Gold
    2. Latest TFix Patch
    3. Extracted/Installed Sound Effects Enhance Mod in USERMODS/SFX/SND folder
    4. Installed EP2.crf in main Thief Gold folder
    5. Installed HDMOD which resides as in its own "HDMOD" folder in the main Thief Gold folder.


    I also just finished Mission 1 on Expert, took an hour, pretty fun. Anyways, I also noticed that the movie files following Mission 1 do not play at all. I went into the Thief Gold folder to actually see if there are more movie files and the game definitely did not play the movie for the second mission (the mines). I made sure I did not click twice or something by starting the mission over.

    However, I resolved it by turning Steam off - so it seems true that when steam is ON and having Thief Gold installed in Steam, steam itself causes issue somehow. I experimented again by turning steam ON and going into the settings to specifically turn off "Enable Steam Community In-Game" which turns off the steam overlay. THAT is what is actually causing the issues. Its the same thing that occurs with older games like Witcher 1.
    Last edited by TaskL; 8th Feb 2014 at 14:47.

  20. #895
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by TaskL View Post
    5. Installed HDMOD which resides as in its own "HDMOD" folder in the main Thief Gold folder.
    if you are using hdmod, you will not get the extra comments - those are exclusive to the TFix maps, which are not used when the hdmod is active. so everything is working properly.

    if your movies don't work, try using the static linked dll file available in the first post of this topic (drop it into your Thief folder). a reboot may be necessary.

  21. #896
    Member
    Registered: May 2009
    Location: Germany
    Interesting... I never noticed that static version of lgvid.dll.
    Sounds like the end for all issues around videos.
    Or is there a caveat, which is why it is not included by default ?
    Or is it still simply under public beta test and therefor considered to be a 'last resort'?

  22. #897
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    there shouldn't be any drawbacks, but as I can't test it properly (none of my testmachines have video playback issues), it's not part of the main package - basically, you should (probably) use it only when you really have to. better safe than sorry.

  23. #898
    Member
    Registered: Apr 2013
    Not sure, if this message was sended, so I decided to write it also here:

    Quote Originally Posted by voodoo47
    I'm making notes for fixes that are going to be implemented, and I remember you have found two holes that allow escaping from the Sword level, one near the moss arrow (found it), and a second one somewhere near the sword. I can't find that one, if you have the location or a video, do post it.

    thanks.
    About mission "The Sword": there is one hole in this mission. At the moment 0:58 there is very narrow passage, that the player barely managed to get through it. There is a "hidden" moss arrow at the moment 1:26, and a hole at the moment 2:35 - video http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-frh8Pmcfc4

    About mission "The Haunted Cathedral": there is rather a more problematic hole - at the moment 1:23 - video http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YAECAK8lrjU

    Would be nice to see these maps without these holes.

    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    About Tfix (from t2_v121 file); quote from readme.txt (in file T1.7z) is:

    "Before running the game in a Thief 1/G install you must add the config var "dark1" (NOT "game dark1") to the
    "cam.cfg" (or "cam_ext.cfg"). Failure to do so will lead to strange things happening and ultimately a crash.

    In order for option menus to look right, the provided "interface.crf" has to be added. Either by putting
    it in a mod dir and adding it to the "mod_path" in "cam_mod.ini" or by placing it in a "patch" dir.

    Note that at heart you're still running Thief 2. Not everything will be exactly like it was in Thief 1/G, and
    some things may not work entirely without some fixing. Take it for what it is, a nice bonus that all in all works
    good, but it's not intended to be 100% authentic and it's not flawless.

    Some occasional mission may have problems with pathfinding, like an AI stopping to patrol, this is usually caused
    by differences in T1 and T2 pathfinding code and/or the pathfinding db. It should be fixable by reportalizing and
    rebuilding the pathfinding db in the latest DromEd.



    Bunnyhop enthusiasts may get problems with the head lagging. To counter that, it requires increasing a max velocity
    for limit for the head. This is done with following two config vars:

    springcap
    max_spring_vel 70

    The max velocity may have to be adjusted empirically if 70 isn't enough. For reference, the default value is 25."

    So, why there is no config:

    springcap
    max_spring_vel 70

    in file cam.cfg (for better bunnyhopping - without leaning to back while getting speed)?

    EDIT: How to fix "elevator bug" in mission "The Mage Towers" like in this video http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G7HNPo90IvA ?
    Last edited by Xmodule999; 11th Feb 2014 at 17:10.

  24. #899
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    because most people are not bunnyhop enthusiasts. those who are, are free to edit the cfg themselves.


    anyway, 1.18g is up:

    fixed up the Sword a bit - the fall through places have been fixed, also it's now possible to get moss arrow 401 from inside one of those big trees without having to nudge through a small crack (made it wider so it's possible to go through normally). also made sure that the trees are made of bark only, not rock (original textures look the same, and the person doing the texturing didn't care enough so they were half wood half rock) - this should make sure the place won't look bad when the next version of EP comes out. fixed the fall through brush in Cathedral and also a couple of some smaller things. fixed a place where the player could get stuck in Bonehoard (Alarus tomb), and adjusted some textures and objects while at it. fixed some sloppy texturing at Cragscleft (mainly the second room with holy H2O fountain).

    if you are playing some of those levels, a mission restart will be required.


    Mage Towers is a can of worms, I'm not planning to dive in too soon.
    Last edited by voodoo47; 12th Feb 2014 at 08:02.

  25. #900
    Member
    Registered: Nov 2003
    Location: Sheffield, UK
    mirror for TFix_1.18g.exe

Page 36 of 114 FirstFirst ... 6111621263132333435363738394041465156616671768186 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •