TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Page 41 of 114 FirstFirst ... 611162126313637383940414243444546515661667176818691 ... LastLast
Results 1,001 to 1,025 of 2835

Thread: TFix: unofficial patch for Thief1/Gold

  1. #1001
    Quote Originally Posted by simonjr View Post
    Hey guys,

    I have a problem with this patch, when I pick up loot, I can't see what I picked up so I always have to scroll through my inventory to figure out what I got from a chest. Anyone familiar with the problem?
    options -> game -> auto-equip on

  2. #1002
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    1.18h is up. didn't have time to work on missions, so it's just one fix really - managed to solve the issue with the steam build overwriting essential files. now everything should work right out of the box, no need to disable steam or anything.

  3. #1003
    New Member
    Registered: Sep 2013
    Hey everyone. Last night I was looking at the file structure of the optional items added by TFix 1.18h and I noticed a few things when combining it with the HD Texture mod by Bentraxx.

    1. Bentraxx includes the T2 Skies and Daemonite's Meshes in his mod, so installing them with TFix is unnecessary. And because the latest version of his mod includes it's own water mod, T2 Water is also not needed. oRGy's Texture pack also appears incompatable because many of the same textures are present at a higher resolution in the HD Texture mod. Finally, the Thief Enhancement Pack included with TFix is v1, which has been superceeded by Thief Enhancement Pack v2. Perhaps a warning could be added to the TFix installer that suggests turning the optional items off if the player intends to use the HD Texture mod with Thief Enhancement Pack v2? I see no point in adding unnecessary and/or redundant files to the Thief Gold installation that aren't going to be used.

    2. Not sure if this is TFix's fault or something within the NewDark engine itself, but I can't activate Daemonite's Meshes because there doesn't appear to be a Character Detail setting in the in-game options menu anymore for me to set to High. The guards still look blocky with blurry low-res textures rather than the crisp textures you can find in mesh/txt

  4. #1004
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    1) correct. I believe this is already mentioned in the hdmod FAQ/readme. anyway, they are not going to cause any harm (as hdmod deactivates them), and having 150MB of redundant files shouldn't be a problem on today's hdds.

    2) as long as the meshes are in a mod folder that is getting loaded by the engine, they will be used ingame. the character detail setting is not used or needed anymore.

  5. #1005
    New Member
    Registered: Sep 2013
    True enough. It's probably just a sure sign I've spent WAY too much time modding Fallout 3 and Skyrim that I worry about incompatabilities like this. I made a video showing newbies how to set up TFix, ep2, SFX, and HD Textures, and I wasn't exactly sure if the TFix options were needed or incompatable. I've read over the HD Mod faq and couldn't find anything about it disabling the TFix options. I now stand corrected.

    I also think I was expecting much higher polycount models in Daemonite's mesh pack, rather than retooled T2 meshes. It appears that the textures are correctly being used, but the UV unwrapping was poorly done on the original model, causing the texture to be skewed, especially around the arms and legs of the guards. This is why they look blurry to me. Maybe someday we'll see guards with higher polycounts and more rounded looking features.

  6. #1006
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    yes, while the better AI meshes have more polys, they are not hipoly by any means. they are still much better than the orig models which don't even have necks though (and their texture mapping is really awful). anyway, you can get better textures for them, if you want. they are not included in TFix, as they are a bit too hires, and would look out of place with the rest of TFix assets.

  7. #1007
    I've noticed that the textures in the hd texture mod will be overrided by the ones in tfix, even if I install hd texture mod last. Is there a way to change the order of priority of the mods, or is the only option to not install those mods? I was hoping to gain the benefit of the improved meshes without the textures.

    *EDIT even if the answer is to reinstall, i'm still curious as to how some textures have priority over others...

  8. #1008
    Member
    Registered: Nov 2003
    Location: Thief fan since ca. 1999
    Look for a file called cam_mod.ini in your thief root directory. Open this up in notepad or notepad++ and scroll to the bottom. There's a "mod_path" line that shows the order of where thief looks for mods. I just checked mine and HDMOD is first. You should post what yours says so we can see what order yours is set at.

  9. #1009
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by auricgoldfinger View Post
    I've noticed that the textures in the hd texture mod will be overrided by the ones in tfix
    impossibru. TFix's base install does not contain any updated fam textures (and hdmod disables all mods, as far as I'm aware, by removing the paths from cam_mod.ini). post your cam_mod.ini just to be sure.

  10. #1010
    Member
    Registered: Apr 2013
    I noticed one blue texture in TFix 1.18h in mission "Undercover"; this is map bug or something other about engine?

  11. #1011
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    if you are using hdmod, then it's a hdmod map issue, if it's happening with the TFix map as well, post a screenshot of the place so I'll be able to find it and check it.

  12. #1012
    Member
    Registered: May 2009
    The installer for this really needs screenshots of each install component. It assumes you already know what all of this stuff looks like.

  13. #1013
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    yeeah if you can send me a proper nsis code snippet, then I'm adding them first thing tomorrow. right now, I'm assuming that people that don't really care and "just want to play nicely" will install everything (as that is the default), and those who want to be as close to vanilla as possible will deselect all anyway. besides, you can't really go wrong with any combination.

  14. #1014
    Member
    Registered: Apr 2013
    Quote from TFix's readme: "burrick's little toe now bends in a 45 angle instead of 40" - what it is (glitch)?

  15. #1015
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    that's a pun.

  16. #1016
    Member
    Registered: Apr 2013
    Maybe more specifically about this definition (don't understand it)?

  17. #1017
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    it's just a bit funny way of expressing that NewDarked T1/TG will never work exactly like it worked with oldDark. no burrick little toes were harmed in the update process.

  18. #1018
    Member
    Registered: Apr 2013
    A lot of anomalies in TFix's mission (and original) "Strange Bedfellows" - sadly Especially with torch/torches.
    Last edited by Xmodule999; 12th Mar 2014 at 13:44.

  19. #1019
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    yes. remember, if the mission is not mentioned in the readme as "overhauled", the amount of fixes will be quite low. Bedfellows is one of those that haven't received a good tuneup just yet.

  20. #1020
    Member
    Registered: Apr 2011
    Location: Montpellier, France
    I'm sorry if this was asked before but I recently upgraded my computer and now I get this with Thief Gold and Thief 2:


    My non-ND versions of both games don't have that and none of my other games have that so I assume this is related to NewDark. Even DromEd is affected.

  21. #1021
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    NewDark itself is not going to make the levels red, if that's what you are asking. however, reprocessing them under NewDark can do that, if you set something incorrectly.

  22. #1022
    Member
    Registered: Apr 2011
    Location: Montpellier, France
    Thing is, I didn't do anything except upgrade to Win 8.1. I didn't change any option, didn't tweak any ini file. I went in game-mode with my mission and the screen became red-tinted, so I tried with my second ND Thief Gold and with Thief 2 and they're both like that as well, and now DromEd also has this red tint.

  23. #1023
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    so, is this a dromed problem, or does it also happen when you run the game normally?

  24. #1024
    Member
    Registered: Apr 2011
    Location: Montpellier, France
    It also happens when I run the game normally.

  25. #1025
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    so, you take the unmodified game, patch it up with TFix, run it, and it looks like that?

Page 41 of 114 FirstFirst ... 611162126313637383940414243444546515661667176818691 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •