TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Page 13 of 101 FirstFirst ... 389101112131415161718232833384348535863 ... LastLast
Results 301 to 325 of 2506

Thread: What are you making?

  1. #301
    Member
    Registered: Jul 2003
    Location: United Kingdom
    *is amazed at all the talent*

    Awesome work guys!

  2. #302
    Member
    Registered: Mar 2001
    Location: Melbourne, Australia
    Since my last update, moving obstacles are in (the wooden spikes) and after several hours work today I finally fixed all the damn problems I was having with library files not having been compiled in release mode and thus forcing people to install MS Distributable C++ files just to get them to run, which had been a major problem I had with Fishing Time many months ago and was determined to not have that happen again.



    Odd thing is that now with all the libs fixed, if I compile Dragonslair in codeblocks it works perfectly fine on other PCs without any extra files needing to be installed, but if I compile it in Visual Studio then its still required. Odd. Either way, with the moving spikes finally in, the game actually has some proper gameplay in it now beyond just simple jumping from place to place and movement. Health is now in, which if reduced to zero results in the player death animation occurring, and then respawning back to the level start location. I placed in new health powerups using a metaphor/icon that is alot more appropriate than the simple "E" shown for them in the original NES game.

    I'm currently in the process of fixing up alot of the textures even though the difference once fixed up is so miniscule, you'd be hard pressed to notice. But I want this to be as polished as I can get it, with the skills I have. Once that's done I'll be adding in the first of the 2 main enemies present in the 1st level (the randomly appearing ghost enemy I might not add. We'll see).

  3. #303
    Member
    Registered: Jun 2004
    Odd thing is that now with all the libs fixed, if I compile Dragonslair in codeblocks it works perfectly fine on other PCs without any extra files needing to be installed, but if I compile it in Visual Studio then its still required.
    If its referring to the MS redistributables you can just included the needed DLL in the exe folder (you will find it somewhere in program files/whever_you_installed_visual_studio). Or you can go into Project Settings -> C++ -> Code Generation and change Runtime Library to "Multi-threaded" (without the DLL) which should statically link the runtime instead of needing an external DLL (which will make your EXE slightly bigger as well). Personally, I'd just inlcude the DLL with the game.

    Fun fact: if you look through some of your older games, you might actually often find the vs redistributalbe .dlls right in the games exe folders, so "pro devs" have been doing that too. Also, MS officially frowns upon this and actually wants you to include the redist installer and have it run as part of your main game installer.

  4. #304
    Member
    Registered: Mar 2001
    Location: Melbourne, Australia
    Interesting. Wouldn't it cause issues by static linking MS dll's into a program (ie one person using Win7 another using WinXP, or one using 32 bit and another 64)?

  5. #305
    Member
    Registered: Jun 2004
    Keep in mind these are DLLs that come with VS, and which can be installed on any system via the installer, not something that comes from your OS. Meaning, they are the same DLLs no matter if you run it on XP, Win7 etc. etc. So I dont think statically linking them is that much of a difference. However, I know VS keeps a different dll for release and debug, and I think it also has different ones for 64bit vs 32, so that may be a concern.

    That's why I just include the .dll in the exe folder, at least people can swap them out "just in case." Though I haven't mass distributed any of my programs before, so I am not a good person to ask about that tbh.

  6. #306
    Moderator and Priest
    Registered: Mar 2002
    Location: Dinosaur Ladies of the Night
    I'm glad to see you're still working on that, Icemann. Keep it up!

    Oh, and whenever you get to the point where you need to test it out externally, feel free to consider me one of your beta testers.

  7. #307
    Member
    Registered: Mar 2001
    Location: Melbourne, Australia
    Awesome thanks

  8. #308
    Member
    Registered: Jun 2004

  9. #309
    Chakat sex pillow
    Registered: Sep 2006
    Location: not here
    Populous Carpet!

    Well, minus the carpet.

    Man, I always wanted a game that crossed Populous and Magic Carpet. Make my dreams come true, Yak!

  10. #310
    Member
    Registered: Jun 2004
    Thread is awfully quiet. COME ON PEOPLE, MAKE SHIT! Here's how I've been spending the past week.





    |
    |
    |
    |
    |
    |
    |
    |
    |
    |
    |
    |
    |
    |
    |
    V



  11. #311
    Member
    Registered: Mar 2001
    Location: Melbourne, Australia
    Peoples are still making progress. Just not huge news update worthy I'd assume.

    For me, over the time since my last update I've implemented 2 of the 3 enemies into the game (the door ghosts or whatever their called and wall snakes). Both of those enemies aren't named in the manual so that's my name for them .

    Just need to add in the flying bats + the spawn locations for them + treasure and player score, then onto the much easier end of the scale with sound and music. Then be just about demo worthy.

  12. #312
    Member
    Registered: Jun 2004
    So just because it makes a somewhat interesting story, I just stumbled upon a weird glitch. So after loading a level in, everything is all peachy, until about a minute when randomly, the main ambient light starts to flicker and... goes off. Like that. Everything is suddenly covered in darkness. The other small lamp lights and stuff work fine, but the overall sunlight just... it just had an outage. WTF? It's the most bizarre thing ever.

    But then, after another 10 seconds or so, I begin to float up. I push my "fly down" key get back to the ground, and start floating up again. I check my object stats and my velocity is rapdily increasing up. The gravity has randomly switched direction. Wtf?

    And it only happens with this one particular level. Both the ambient and gravity are currently hardcoded in, so there's nothing that can dynamically change them right now.

  13. #313
    Member
    Registered: Mar 2001
    Location: Melbourne, Australia
    I'd say its a logic error quite likely. Just step through each bit, step by step both code wise and maybe jot it down somewhere (that's my method). I'll bet that will turn out something eventually.

    The annoying side to coding is that we often create logic puzzles of our own making in the code, along the way. Which makes finding the source of bugs, quite ANNOYING at times.

    [edit]
    And here's a pic of progress:

    Last edited by icemann; 6th Dec 2011 at 02:44.

  14. #314
    Moderator and Priest
    Registered: Mar 2002
    Location: Dinosaur Ladies of the Night
    I was working on something. Then I made a mistake, and accidentally deleted over 7 hours worth of work.

    I'm gonna go shoot myself in my big dumb ass head now. Kthxbye.

  15. #315
    Member
    Registered: Mar 2001
    Location: Melbourne, Australia
    Just be sure to write down what you had done, so you'll remember how to do it except quicker

  16. #316
    Member
    Registered: Feb 2007
    Location: Sevastapol Station
    I had wanted to start working on my Sci-Fi vignette idea, but school turned out to be far too busy for me to even attempt anything.

    At least I have been working on something interesting. I've been developing a 3D audio engine for headphone listening. I know a lot of companies have marketed "3d sound" in various forms but none of it really hits the mark. So i've been working on a side of it that normally doesn't leave academic circles and traps of proprietary licenses. I'm funding the research myself through a grant I got through my university, and when I'm done I'll be releasing it as open source software so everybody can take a look and maybe even use it. I was hoping to build it for the game engine I was using, but my software design guy didn't want to approach it that way. So we're making a stand alone app. We should be done in April, at least that's the deadline, and it's looking good. I'll share it here and probably even put up a website to show it off when I'm done.

    In related news, however. It turns out that all the worrying that i've wasted my year of free updates to the game engine I licensed was without cause. I bought my license to C4 in april and there's been 3 major updates since then and I haven't been tinkering at all. But last week they changed it and gave lifetime perpetual updates to everybody who owns a license. Even dropped the price of the engine by 100 bucks for "standard" and by 400 bucks for "pro". and they'll even honor the extra hundred bucks I paid for standard over the new price for when I want to upgrade. I'm pretty excited. I can finish my work at school and not feel like I ripped myself off by buying before I was ready to work.

    Now if I could just get the DX SDK to install without an error....

  17. #317
    Member
    Registered: Feb 2001
    Found a really nice lighting engine for XNA called Krypton and I knocked up quick top-down thing to get a feel for it:




    Well, I say quick. Had flashbacks to A-Level maths and eventually got all my camera and projection matrices sorted, and then because I'm a bit of a perfectionist I implemented a proper camera so you can move the camera independently of the player. Currently trying to get a world builder finished so I can enjoy messing around with different tile sets and lights without having to hardcode everything in a very hacky way.

  18. #318
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2007
    Location: Sydney, Australia
    Quote Originally Posted by Ulukai View Post
    quick top-down thing
    Long I have had dreams of a top-down Space Hulk roguelike. You make my dreams come true.



    I'm back to working on the game full-time. But first, some engine development. I had some fun integrating Recast/Detour into Torque, which I am nearly finished with. I just managed to get the navmeshes to build in a separate thread, so even with large navmeshes you can keep playing around in Torque's world editor.

    I also started up an open-source automated planning project for my AI. I couldn't find any good implementations of GOAP that I liked, so I decided to roll my own in library form. It's sort of evolving to become a lot more than the very simple GOAP implementation F.E.A.R. used (to the point where I'm intending to add a PDDL parser ), but I want to make sure I can still scale it down to a very simple, performant domain for use in moment-to-moment AI. So if any of you out there feels like using some form of planning for your AI, well... that's why I started this project! There are more details in the post I linked to above about Recast/Detour, or on the project site.

  19. #319
    Member
    Registered: Mar 2001
    Location: Melbourne, Australia
    Implemented the 3rd and final enemy for the demo version of Dragonslair last night. Now to implement a few extra things, sounds and music, then it should be demo level worthy. Fingers crossed I'll have something ready by Christmas.

  20. #320
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2001
    My ludum dare 48h compo entry, very rushed but playable from start to finish:

    playable here: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum...=rate&uid=3145

    post mortem: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2011/...e-post-mortem/








  21. #321
    Member
    Registered: Mar 2001
    Location: Melbourne, Australia
    Interesting

  22. #322
    Taking the Death Toll
    Registered: Aug 2004
    Location: someplace better than this
    God dammit Eld you never ever answered my PM. That I sent ages ago.

    It was kind of an important one.


  23. #323
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2001
    Quote Originally Posted by dethtoll View Post
    God dammit Eld you never ever answered my PM. That I sent ages ago.

    It was kind of an important one.

    I check that one like once a year, I had forgotten forums even had PM systems :x

  24. #324
    Member
    Registered: Apr 2002
    Location: Third grave from left.
    I have got a mysterious warning/error with c++ ... granted, i am kind of tired and probably messed up something embarrassing, but wtf is going on here:

    int32u *cellData[9][3]; // int32u is just a basic 4byte unsigned integer type
    int32u const **cellDataZ = &cellData[(int32u(-2+16) >> 4) * 3 + (int32u(y+16) >> 4)][0]; // y is int32 type (ie, signed)

    Last line gives:
    warning C4554: '>>' : check operator precedence for possible error; use parentheses to clarify precedence
    error C2440: 'initializing' : cannot convert from 'int32u **' to 'const int32u **' (Conversion loses qualifiers)

    Neither makes any sense to me. Dropping the const takes care of the first and writing "(int32u(-2+16) >> 4)" as "((int32u(-2+16)) >> 4)" takes care of the other - so, not a show stopper, but i would like to know what is going on there.

    PS. instead of conversion constructor function-style cast i can also use "((int32u)(-2+16) >> 4)" and let the operator precedence rules do the deed.

    "(int32u(y+16) >> 4)" is fine without changes => which makes me suspect there is some compiler bug involved. What do you think?

    PS2. This is with VC++ 2010.
    Last edited by zombe; 29th Dec 2011 at 20:12. Reason: Erm, that is not a conversion constructor - more like conversion function / function-style cast.

  25. #325
    Administrator
    Registered: Oct 2000
    Location: Athens of the North
    Ignore original reply - now had a chance to check it in VC++ 2010 myself.

    I think the first warning is simply because the compiler is making sure that you didn't mean to write something like "int32u(-2) + 16 >> 4" when you used two constants together. I assume you're using preprocessor defines for the -2 and 16 magic values as otherwise it would be unusual to hard code them in the line like that. As you say - using the old C-style cast avoids the warning as does simply adding another set of brackets either outside the function cast as you've put above or inside - i.e. (int32u((-2 + 16)) >> 4) also works. In either case, the compiler appears to generate the correct code so it's more informational than anything else.

    For the const problem - do you want the cellDataZ variable itself to be constant? If so, I think you want "int32u ** const cellDataZ = ..." - i.e. with the const just before the variable name? Otherwise you'll need to declare cellData itself as const to work in the manner as you've originally written it.
    Last edited by Al_B; 29th Dec 2011 at 18:33. Reason: Once more with feeling

Page 13 of 101 FirstFirst ... 389101112131415161718232833384348535863 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •