TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Page 25 of 61 FirstFirst ... 510152021222324252627282930354045505560 ... LastLast
Results 601 to 625 of 1520

Thread: Sneaky Upgrade: Unofficial patch for Thief 3

  1. #601
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2006
    Location: Berghem Haven
    Quote Originally Posted by snobel View Post
    Thanks - those are for T3 Gold?
    Yes.
    lowenz, have you tried running T3 with ReShade (or another DX8-to-9 layer) in fullscreen on Windows 10? If so, are brightness and vsync working? (If it's working then fixing T3 for ReShade may turn out to be the easiest/only solution for Win10. )
    I'll try soon!

  2. #602
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2006
    Location: Berghem Haven
    It's not even working now, LOL!

    ReShade 1.0 tracelog:

    07/10/2015 22:01:16:483 [02940] | INFO | > Found 7 match(es). Installing ...
    07/10/2015 22:01:16:483 [02940] | TRACE | Installing hook for '0x7307DA80' with '0x71843E50' using method 1 ...
    07/10/2015 22:01:16:487 [02940] | TRACE | > Succeeded.
    07/10/2015 22:01:16:488 [02940] | TRACE | Installing hook for '0x7307DF70' with '0x718440D0' using method 1 ...
    07/10/2015 22:01:16:492 [02940] | TRACE | > Succeeded.
    07/10/2015 22:01:16:492 [02940] | TRACE | Installing hook for '0x7307CF10' with '0x71844350' using method 1 ...
    07/10/2015 22:01:16:497 [02940] | TRACE | > Succeeded.
    07/10/2015 22:01:16:497 [02940] | TRACE | Installing hook for '0x730B3680' with '0x71843E10' using method 1 ...
    07/10/2015 22:01:16:502 [02940] | TRACE | > Succeeded.
    07/10/2015 22:01:16:502 [02940] | TRACE | Installing hook for '0x73094020' with '0x71843E20' using method 1 ...
    07/10/2015 22:01:16:506 [02940] | TRACE | > Succeeded.
    07/10/2015 22:01:16:506 [02940] | TRACE | Installing hook for '0x73094690' with '0x71843E10' using method 1 ...
    07/10/2015 22:01:16:511 [02940] | TRACE | > Succeeded.
    07/10/2015 22:01:16:511 [02940] | TRACE | Installing hook for '0x73094690' with '0x71843E10' using method 1 ...
    07/10/2015 22:01:16:511 [02940] | ERROR | Failed to install hook for '0x73094690' with status code 3.
    07/10/2015 22:01:16:511 [02940] | INFO | > Installed 6 hook(s).
    07/10/2015 22:01:17:487 [02940] | INFO | Redirecting 'RegisterClassExA(0019F330)' ...
    07/10/2015 22:01:17:487 [02940] | INFO | > Adding 'CS_OWNDC' window class style flag to 'FLTimer'.
    07/10/2015 22:01:19:944 [02940] | INFO | Redirecting 'Direct3DCreate8(220)' ...
    07/10/2015 22:01:19:944 [02940] | INFO | > Passing on to 'Direct3DCreate9':
    07/10/2015 22:01:19:945 [02940] | INFO | Installing delayed hooks for "C:\WINDOWS\system32\d3d9.dll" (Just loaded via 'LoadLibraryA("d3d9.dll")') ...
    07/10/2015 22:01:19:945 [02940] | TRACE | > Analyzing export table:

  3. #603
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2006
    Location: Berghem Haven
    There's some problems with Win 7 too now (using reshade 1.0, but also 0.19.2)

    Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
    Application Name: T3Main.EXE
    Application Version: 1.1.5.341
    Application Timestamp: 419badb1
    Fault Module Name: KERNELBASE.dll
    Fault Module Version: 6.1.7601.18869
    Fault Module Timestamp: 556363bc
    Exception Code: 80000003
    Exception Offset: 0001322c
    OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.48
    Locale ID: 1040
    Additional Information 1: 3179
    Additional Information 2: 31795f6fe526d26a59172c62c38bb299
    Additional Information 3: 12c9
    Additional Information 4: 12c9017f0a21ea2f74628d2b52350b58



    Have you changed something?

  4. #604
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2006
    Location: Berghem Haven
    Original game (NO SneakyUpgrade) + ReShade 1.0 crashes as well on Win7.

    Contacted the ReShade author

  5. #605
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007
    Thanks!

    I don't think that the SU and ReShade would conflict anywhere but testing with the original game initially is probably a good idea.

  6. #606
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2006
    Location: Berghem Haven
    Quote Originally Posted by snobel View Post
    Thanks!

    I don't think that the SU and ReShade would conflict anywhere but testing with the original game initially is probably a good idea.
    It's something in the new ReShade releases, DXIW crashes too.

  7. #607
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2006
    Location: Deutschland
    Quote Originally Posted by lowenz View Post
    Little misplament in Hammerite Cathedral wall:
    Fixed. That is, as soon as a new version is out.
    Unquenchable candle in Stonemarket "false Garrett" dialogue room:
    I believe I once tackled this problem (or tried to) but I cannot remember the result. Maybe replacing all affected candles does the trick, hoping that there is nothing wrong with the archetypes and their setup. I just checked all of them and they're the same. Is it only this one?

  8. #608
    Member
    Registered: Mar 2012
    Location: Terra Prime
    Thank you for v1.1.5.2.
    Man, I just bought a 4K resolution monitor. Resolution 3840x2160 at 60Hz (using DisplayPort 1.2 cable). Great picture quality, very bad for PC gaming when it comes to new games. For old games, playing at 4K resolution is sick!
    I will reinstall Win7 and will probably make a dual boot with Win10. I haven't tried this game yet on the new monitor as I have things to backup and need to install the game.

    Samsung U28D590DS (28 inches), 10-bit color.
    http://www.samsung.com/us/computer/m.../LU28D590DS/ZA

    I wonder what is a good FOV for 3840x2160 resolution (16:9) ?
    Will the game pick the correct FOV automatically ?

  9. #609
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007
    Quote Originally Posted by CiroConsentino View Post
    Samsung U28D590DS (28 inches), 10-bit color.
    Very nice. Now I want one too...

    I wonder what is a good FOV for 3840x2160 resolution (16:9) ?
    Will the game pick the correct FOV automatically ?
    The FOV is adjusted automatically for the aspect ratio by extending the picture horizontally (see screenshots in the first post) but not for the monitor size. It shouldn't depend on the resolution. FOV in games is not very realistic and really more of a personal preference, but with a bigger monitor at the same viewing distance the default FOV will at least be more realistic - so maybe just start there, and experiment if it doesn't suit you?

  10. #610
    New Member
    Registered: Oct 2015

    Windows 10 crash

    Hi, I'm experiencing crash with Windows 10, right after installing the sneaky upgrade. Without it there is no crash. I've recorded a video of it
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B5fl...ature=youtu.be

  11. #611
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007
    I hate Windows 10. I'll have a look at the video later. In the mean time, if there's a log file (look for "Current" in the SU section of Win10's stupid start menu), post the contents here (in code tags, please).

  12. #612
    New Member
    Registered: Oct 2015
    Quote Originally Posted by snobel View Post
    I hate Windows 10. I'll have a look at the video later. In the mean time, if there's a log file (look for "Current" in the SU section of Win10's stupid start menu), post the contents here (in code tags, please).
    Code:
    ////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
    // Session Start: 10/12/15 11:05:10 ////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
    ////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
    
    [Inf] File search path: "E:\Thief - Deadly Shadows"
    [Inf] Display mode: 640 x 480, 60 Hz
    [Inf] Display mode: 800 x 600, 100 Hz
    [Inf] Display mode: 1024 x 768, 100 Hz
    [Inf] Display mode: 1152 x 864, 100 Hz
    [Inf] Display mode: 1280 x 720, 100 Hz
    [Inf] Display mode: 1280 x 768, 100 Hz
    [Inf] Display mode: 1280 x 800, 100 Hz
    [Inf] Display mode: 1280 x 960, 100 Hz
    [Inf] Display mode: 1280 x 1024, 100 Hz
    [Inf] Display mode: 1360 x 768, 100 Hz
    [Inf] Display mode: 1366 x 768, 100 Hz
    [Inf] Display mode: 1600 x 900, 100 Hz
    [Inf] Display mode: 1600 x 1024, 100 Hz
    [Inf] Display mode: 1680 x 1050, 100 Hz
    [Inf] Current mode: 1680 x 1050, 100 Hz
    [Inf] Windows version: 5.1.2600 (SP 2.0) (64-bit)
    [Inf] SU version: 1.1.5.2
    [Inf] Sneaky.dll version: 1.1.5.734
    [Inf] T3Main.exe version: 1.1.5.341
    [Inf] T3.exe size: 69632
    [Inf] Options dir: C:\Users\Public\Documents\Thief - Deadly Shadows\Options
    [Inf] Saves dir: C:\Users\Public\Documents\Thief - Deadly Shadows\SaveGames
    [Inf] Full command line: "E:\Thief - Deadly Shadows\System\T3Main.EXE" 
    [Wrn] Compatibility modes on T3Main.exe: WINXPSP2
    [Wrn] Running as administrator
    [Inf] Registry: ION_ROOT: E:\Thief - Deadly Shadows
    [Inf] Registry: SaveGamePath: C:\Users\Public\Documents\Thief - Deadly Shadows
    [Inf] Game installation path: E:\Thief - Deadly Shadows
    [Inf] Game locale: English
    [Inf] Desktop resolution: 1680 x 1050
    [Inf] Running in fullscreen mode
    Here you go

  13. #613
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2006
    Location: Berghem Haven
    There's NO need of:

    *[Wrn] Compatibility modes on T3Main.exe: WINXPSP2
    *[Wrn] Running as administrator

    Remove those properties and maybe you'll solve all problems.

  14. #614
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007
    Yes, that would be my first suggestion too...

    If that's not it - those 100 Hz display modes stand out a bit. What kind of display is that, a laptop screen or an external monitor?

    Greetings to a fellow Dane, btw.

    Edit: The reported Windows version is quite weird, but apparently you can't trust it on upgraded machines. Which Windows version did you upgrade from?
    Last edited by snobel; 12th Oct 2015 at 11:16.

  15. #615
    New Member
    Registered: Oct 2015
    Hi again I removed the compatibility setting and the "run as admin" option, but was sadly without any luck. I just got a new monitor today that I decided to try instead of my old one (old Samsung 2233RZ, new Dell U2715H). I uninstalled Sneaky upgrade and re-installed it but it behaves the same with a crash. New log file if it's of any use is below And hello fellow Dane!

    Code:
    ////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
    // Session Start: 10/12/15 17:22:38 ////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
    ////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
    
    [Inf] File search path: "E:\Thief - Deadly Shadows"
    [Inf] Display mode: 640 x 480, 60 Hz
    [Inf] Display mode: 800 x 600, 60 Hz
    [Inf] Display mode: 1024 x 768, 60 Hz
    [Inf] Display mode: 1176 x 664, 60 Hz
    [Inf] Display mode: 1200 x 960, 60 Hz
    [Inf] Display mode: 1280 x 720, 60 Hz
    [Inf] Display mode: 1280 x 768, 60 Hz
    [Inf] Display mode: 1280 x 800, 60 Hz
    [Inf] Display mode: 1280 x 960, 60 Hz
    [Inf] Display mode: 1280 x 1024, 60 Hz
    [Inf] Display mode: 1360 x 768, 60 Hz
    [Inf] Display mode: 1366 x 768, 60 Hz
    [Inf] Display mode: 1600 x 900, 60 Hz
    [Inf] Display mode: 1600 x 1024, 60 Hz
    [Inf] Display mode: 1600 x 1200, 60 Hz
    [Inf] Display mode: 1680 x 1050, 60 Hz
    [Inf] Display mode: 1768 x 992, 60 Hz
    [Inf] Display mode: 1920 x 1080, 60 Hz
    [Inf] Display mode: 1920 x 1200, 60 Hz
    [Inf] Display mode: 1920 x 1440, 60 Hz
    [Inf] Display mode: 2048 x 1152, 60 Hz
    [Inf] Display mode: 2560 x 1440, 60 Hz
    [Inf] Current mode: 1600 x 1024, 60 Hz
    [Inf] Windows version: 10.0.10240 (64-bit)
    [Inf] SU version: 1.1.5.2
    [Inf] Sneaky.dll version: 1.1.5.734
    [Inf] T3Main.exe version: 1.1.5.341
    [Inf] T3.exe size: 69632
    [Inf] Options dir: C:\Users\Public\Documents\Thief - Deadly Shadows\Options
    [Inf] Saves dir: C:\Users\Public\Documents\Thief - Deadly Shadows\SaveGames
    [Inf] Full command line: "E:\Thief - Deadly Shadows\System\T3Main.EXE" 
    [Inf] Registry: ION_ROOT: E:\Thief - Deadly Shadows
    [Inf] Registry: SaveGamePath: C:\Users\Public\Documents\Thief - Deadly Shadows
    [Inf] Game installation path: E:\Thief - Deadly Shadows
    [Inf] Game locale: English
    [Inf] Desktop resolution: 2560 x 1440 (4240 x 1440)
    [Inf] Running in fullscreen mode
    I upgraded from Windows 7 64 bit.

    (edit: I see what you mean, funny that it reported 5.1.2600 (SP 2.0) (64-bit) the first time.)
    Last edited by Maruchin; 12th Oct 2015 at 11:44.

  16. #616
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007
    OK, so the 100 Hz values were legit.

    Quote Originally Posted by Maruchin View Post
    Code:
    [Inf] Desktop resolution: 2560 x 1440 (4240 x 1440)
    You're running in extended desktop mode? That ought to be perfectly OK but could you try running with only one display enabled, just to see if it makes a difference?

    (edit: I see what you mean, funny that it reported 5.1.2600 (SP 2.0) (64-bit) the first time.)
    Actually it's no mystery: When you're running in WinXP SP2 compatibility mode it'll report WinXP SP2.

  17. #617
    New Member
    Registered: Oct 2015
    No luck I'm wondering whether I've installed it correctly, because when I set the resolution to 2560 x 1440 in Sneaky Upgrade, it doesn't seem to register it. Just right now I tried to use 1280x720 and when it crashed, it still said "[Inf] Current mode: 1600 x 1024, 60 Hz". Log file below is before this attempt though.
    https://www.dropbox.com/s/3j7ol487bb...16.29.png?dl=0

    Edit: I just uninstalled SU and re-installed it with admin rights, just for kicks. I noticed that it kept my old settings of 1280x720. Is this supposed to happen? I assumed this is because it reads an altered DEFAULT.ini file in the thief 3 folder, but .ini file reports 640x480 (see below), so it must be some other file.
    Code:
    WindowedViewportX=640
    WindowedViewportY=480
    WindowedColorBits=32
    FullscreenViewportX=640
    FullscreenViewportY=480

    Code:
    [Inf] File search path: "E:\Thief - Deadly Shadows"
    [Inf] Display mode: 640 x 480, 60 Hz
    [Inf] Display mode: 800 x 600, 60 Hz
    [Inf] Display mode: 1024 x 768, 60 Hz
    [Inf] Display mode: 1176 x 664, 60 Hz
    [Inf] Display mode: 1200 x 960, 60 Hz
    [Inf] Display mode: 1280 x 720, 60 Hz
    [Inf] Display mode: 1280 x 768, 60 Hz
    [Inf] Display mode: 1280 x 800, 60 Hz
    [Inf] Display mode: 1280 x 960, 60 Hz
    [Inf] Display mode: 1280 x 1024, 60 Hz
    [Inf] Display mode: 1360 x 768, 60 Hz
    [Inf] Display mode: 1366 x 768, 60 Hz
    [Inf] Display mode: 1600 x 900, 60 Hz
    [Inf] Display mode: 1600 x 1024, 60 Hz
    [Inf] Display mode: 1600 x 1200, 60 Hz
    [Inf] Display mode: 1680 x 1050, 60 Hz
    [Inf] Display mode: 1768 x 992, 60 Hz
    [Inf] Display mode: 1920 x 1080, 60 Hz
    [Inf] Display mode: 1920 x 1200, 60 Hz
    [Inf] Display mode: 1920 x 1440, 60 Hz
    [Inf] Display mode: 2048 x 1152, 60 Hz
    [Inf] Display mode: 2560 x 1440, 60 Hz
    [Inf] Current mode: 1600 x 1024, 60 Hz
    [Inf] Windows version: 10.0.10240 (64-bit)
    [Inf] SU version: 1.1.5.2
    [Inf] Sneaky.dll version: 1.1.5.734
    [Inf] T3Main.exe version: 1.1.5.341
    [Inf] T3.exe size: 69632
    [Inf] Options dir: C:\Users\Public\Documents\Thief - Deadly Shadows\Options
    [Inf] Saves dir: C:\Users\Public\Documents\Thief - Deadly Shadows\SaveGames
    [Inf] Full command line: "E:\Thief - Deadly Shadows\System\T3Main.EXE" 
    [Inf] Registry: ION_ROOT: E:\Thief - Deadly Shadows
    [Inf] Registry: SaveGamePath: C:\Users\Public\Documents\Thief - Deadly Shadows
    [Inf] Game installation path: E:\Thief - Deadly Shadows
    [Inf] Game locale: English
    [Inf] Desktop resolution: 2560 x 1440
    [Inf] Running in fullscreen mode
    Last edited by Maruchin; 12th Oct 2015 at 15:29.

  18. #618
    New Member
    Registered: Oct 2015
    I've noticed that the Thief 3 folder is write protected, and despite all attempts to remove it, it keeps reporting back as write protected, after I've unticked the write protection option. When I rightclick and look at the properties again, it keeps saying that it's write protected. I recall having an issue with this after upgrading to Windows 10, so right now I'm in the process of moving everything to another drive, then I'll format my SSD and move the data back. Hope that'll fix it.

    By the way, what's the answer to "what company inspired this site?" I thought the answer was TLG but it's not

    edit: I don't think it's the cause. I noticed that the Thief 3 folder I moved to the other drive, would also remain file protected, after I unticked it. So I decided to reinstall Thief 3 on my gaming SSD drive (I deleted the partition and created a new one instead of just formating it). The new Thief 3 install is file protected too from the get go. But I think I'm closer to the problem. I uninstalled SU and Thief 3 - then install Thief 3 again with the patch. The game works just fine. Then I tried to increase the resolution and the game crashed. I had taken a backup of the DEFAULT.uni beforehand, but restoring the .ini file didn't work. The game keeps crashing now, so I guess what command that specifies the resolution isn't written to DEFAULT.ini.
    Last edited by Maruchin; 12th Oct 2015 at 17:08.

  19. #619
    Member
    Registered: May 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by Maruchin View Post
    By the way, what's the answer to "what company inspired this site?" I thought the answer was TLG but it's not
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Looking_Glass_Studios

  20. #620
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007
    TLG as in The Lego Group, perhaps?

    Quote Originally Posted by Maruchin View Post
    I noticed that it kept my old settings of 1280x720. Is this supposed to happen? I assumed this is because it reads an altered DEFAULT.ini file in the thief 3 folder, but .ini file reports 640x480 (see below), so it must be some other file.
    Yes, the resolution doesn't come from Default.ini. The resolutions on your system are enumerated and an index into that table is stored (for the patched game) in the SneakyOptions.ini file. That file, and the Options.ini file for the game's original user options, are preserved when you uninstall the SU.

    I've noticed that the Thief 3 folder is write protected, and despite all attempts to remove it, it keeps reporting back as write protected, after I've unticked the write protection option.
    That's weird, but shouldn't matter. The game is meant to be installed in Program Files, nothing is written there as long as you keep savegames, options, FMs etc. elsewhere - and according to your log, you are using the default paths:

    Code:
    [Inf] Options dir: C:\Users\Public\Documents\Thief - Deadly Shadows\Options
    [Inf] Saves dir: C:\Users\Public\Documents\Thief - Deadly Shadows\SaveGames
    As long as those folders are user-writable it's fine.

    I think I'm closer to the problem. I uninstalled SU and Thief 3 - then install Thief 3 again with the patch. The game works just fine. Then I tried to increase the resolution and the game crashed.
    Try running the SneakyTweaker, on the Display page set Max Refresh Rate to 0. If that doesn't help, rename or delete C:\Users\Public\Documents\Thief - Deadly Shadows\Options\SneakyOptions.ini. That should make the game start in the default 800 x 600. Then try stepping up the resolution slowly.

    Btw. make sure the in-game multisampling option is at 1. (Also, don't enforce any filtering or other graphics options through the driver.)

  21. #621
    Member
    Registered: Mar 2012
    Location: Terra Prime
    Quote Originally Posted by snobel View Post
    Very nice. Now I want one too...
    This monitor is being great so far, but from my research, the ASUS PB287Q is a better buy (if you have the extra money).
    https://www.asus.com/Monitors/PB287Q/

    It has a lot more features, including a pivot and complete control over height and panel positioning.
    You can watch this video for details.

    Not that the Samsung U28D590D is not good, the ASUS model just has more useful features to offer.

    One thing you really need to consider is the size of the Windows desktop. Everything looks so tiny, forcing you to use DPI scale. DPI scale can mess up with some games, including Thief3 making them unstable... or so I read.

  22. #622
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007
    Quote Originally Posted by CiroConsentino View Post
    This monitor is being great so far, but from my research, the ASUS PB287Q is a better buy (if you have the extra money).
    Thanks, I'll keep that in mind. I'm going to wait about six months, hopefully the price will come down a bit in the mean time.

    DPI scale can mess up with some games, including Thief3 making them unstable... or so I read.
    There's a per-app compatibility setting to take care of that? It seems to be enabled by default for T3 - probably the only compatibility setting that does this game any good...

  23. #623
    Member
    Registered: Mar 2012
    Location: Terra Prime
    There's a per-app compatibility setting to take care of that?
    Yes there is, but it doesn't work for all games and applications. I tried DPI scale 125% and when running games I enabled the "Disable DPI scaling..." setting in the .exe properties. It seems to work for Thief4, Hitman Absolution and GTA5. (I'm on Win7 SP1 64-bits). I'll see what happens with Thief3 after the Windows 7 reinstall...
    It seems to be enabled by default for T3 - probably the only compatibility setting that does this game any good...
    Doesn't the sneaky installer have a ignore DPI scale option somewhere ? I'm not asking to add one, please don't see this as a request.

  24. #624
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007
    Quote Originally Posted by CiroConsentino View Post
    I'll see what happens with Thief3 after the Windows 7 reinstall...
    Appreciated.

    Doesn't the sneaky installer have a ignore DPI scale option somewhere ?
    No, you're probably thinking of the mouse cursor fix that kicks in depending on the system DPI setting. There's an option for that in the tweaker.

  25. #625
    New Member
    Registered: Oct 2015
    That did the trick! Yay, thanks a lot Snobel!

Page 25 of 61 FirstFirst ... 510152021222324252627282930354045505560 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •