TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Page 61 of 61 FirstFirst ... 111621263136414651565758596061
Results 1,501 to 1,519 of 1519

Thread: Sneaky Upgrade: Unofficial patch for Thief 3

  1. #1501
    New Member
    Registered: Aug 2006
    Quote Originally Posted by lowenz View Post
    It's impossible

    You can use RayTracing-like shaders to achieve a Global Illumination (Ambient Occlusion+Indirect Lighting+Ambient Lighting) appearance with ReShade BUT Thief DS and Deus Ex IW have some issues with the depth buffer reconstruction process which ReShade does.....and all these shaders ( https://github.com/martymcmodding/qUINT ) are Depth Buffer dependent.
    'cause first thing first you must wrap them in D3D9 (-> https://github.com/crosire/d3d8to9/releases ), being TDS and DEIW D3D8 based (Unreal Engine 1.5 / fabled Unreal Warfare)

  2. #1502
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2006
    Location: Berghem Haven
    ?

    Actually there's a (paid) BETA implementation for ReShade of a RayTracing-like ScreenSpace Global Illumination (it's -like cause it is limited to the screenspace) sahder BUT it can't be used in Deadly Shadows nor Invisible War.

    Here's the thing applied to Crysis: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NkGvESObKxE

    You can use it (when ready) with every D3D9/D3D10/D3D11 game engine of which ReShade can access and handle the depth buffer.
    TDS and DXIW are D3D8 games and actually no D3D8->9 wrapper can preserve the depth buffer.
    Last edited by lowenz; 11th Jun 2019 at 07:05.

  3. #1503
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007
    1.1.10 is out. Below is a repeat of the Mod DB release article, which is basically an updated version of the beta post.
    __________

    1.1.10 is out. The core Sneaky Upgrade has the following changes:

    • New tweak to disable health bar auto-hiding (with a tweak override in the MP)
    • New tweak to improve formatting of the loading quote text (with an override in T3G)
    • New tweak to use a bright mouse cursor
    • The SneakyTweaker tool will now show a message box on start-up, warning about a few things that seem to confuse people the most
    • SneakyTweaker is now aware of AngelLoader use
    • Added an option to install the d3d8to9 wrapper DLL from ReShade
    • 'Direct load' is disabled in fullscreen when a D3D wrapper DLL is in use. (Would cause crashes)
    • Press Shift+Ctrl+Alt+End to end the current mission. (Can be disabled in the tweaker)
    • The game should now start in the desktop resolution for first-time installers (or if you chose to delete the options files while installing)
    • FMSel updated to version 1.1.2, now including Russian translation

    A couple of people have installed the SU and then wondered why their existing saves appeared to be missing - and it really wasn't obvious... So the tweak tool will now show a dialogue explaining this, plus a couple of other non-obvious things. The dialogue can be easily disabled.

    To improve compatibility with Windows 10, the installer now provides a wrapper DLL to make the game run on Direct3D 9, in the form of the d3d8to9 DLL from ReShade. If you have dgVoodoo or something else installed already, the installer will respect that and not install d3d8to9 by default.

    It has often been suggested to copy the skip-the-current-mission function from Thief 1-2. This is now in place, with a couple of limitations: City sections can't be skipped but must be played through normally. This is the only caveat for Thief 3 Gold. The original (non-T3G) missions can only be ended from one of the half-maps and, worse, ending the Pagan and Kurshok missions will not cause the objectives to be ticked off, so it may not be possible to continue. (This has been fixed in Thief 3 Gold.)

    New stuff in the mods:

    Minimalist Project:

    • Fixed a bug where picking up loot would trigger a video if loot glint was disabled
    • Restored speed settings from the original MP, creep is now non-silent again
    • Optional arrow trails. (Gameplay part)
    • The classic health bar and classic-ish lightgem/compass are now optional. (GUI part)
    • Fixes for original bugs causing extra playstyle objectives and restrictions to not show up
    • Removed redundant 'do not kill non-combatants' restriction on Ghost
    • Smaller and more evenly sized text on maps, especially with the Fonts mod enabled
    • Various fixes, mostly to make the separation of the gameplay and GUI parts more consistent

    Here's an example of the new map text compared to the original MP - notice the partially missing text on the upper left in the original. (GIF, should animate.)


    Note that because of gamesys changes the savegame version for Minimalist has been bumped - so anybody wanting to use MP savegames from previous stable releases should not update.

    The Fonts mod:

    • Added 'gold' symbol to all fonts (replacing yen)
    • Fixed an issue with disappearing map text - in English, at least. In other locales there may still be a few cases

    Here's an example of the currency symbol in use:


    Thief 3 Gold:

    • Removed overriding .sch files to better accommodate unofficial translations
    • Changed a couple of scripts to make it possible to skip through the Pagan and Kurshok missions

    One of the removed .sch files was there to improve the formatting of loading quotes - that's now done by overriding a general tweak setting. The other one would slightly rename savegames so that original and T3G saves could be told apart - an artifact from early T3G versions, really. For a long time T3G saves have been kept separate and they contain a file specifying which version of T3G they're for, so the .sch file has been removed.

    Here's a video showing some of the above: Bright cursor, custom resolution set to follow the desktop, nicer loading screen quotes, skipping missions. Minimalist playstyle restrictions shown in the briefing, non-silent creep, classic HUD with original health bar / lightgem, arrow trails:

    Thanks to everyone who tested the betas, especially Estel Randir for lots of MP feedback and suggestions. Also thanks to Glypher and DonSleza4e for the Russian FMSel translation.

    There are no changes to the mod content, so the Update Edition can be used for 1.1.9.508 beta installs. If upgrading from 1.1.9.1 use the Full Edition and make sure to install the new versions of the MP, T3G and Fonts mods.

    Get it from the first post.
    Last edited by snobel; 16th Jun 2019 at 06:35.

  4. #1504
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007
    Previous post updated...

  5. #1505
    New Member
    Registered: Dec 2017
    This has been bothering me for a while... Everytime there's a loading screen (or close the game), my NVIDIA color profile resets. This is the only game that does this, and it doesn't matter if I set it at windowed, borderless or fullscreen.

  6. #1506
    Congrats on another full release! Lots of good stuff in this release. It was fun playing around with the betas and helping in any way I was able. I am back for a few days after a much needed break. I just finished a fresh install with the new version & played around with it for a while.

    In the past, before running the SU thief executable, you had to make sure to run the original thief executable & change your settings & then run the SU executable or things got really strange. Has this changed? I am not sure that I can repeat this bug, but somehow on the options screen, the input screen was completely blank no matter if I ran the game using the original or the SU thief executable. Then after about an hr of messing around, the screen text suddenly appeared and was normal.

  7. #1507
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007
    Quote Originally Posted by Taffingtaffer View Post
    This has been bothering me for a while... Everytime there's a loading screen (or close the game), my NVIDIA color profile resets. This is the only game that does this, and it doesn't matter if I set it at windowed, borderless or fullscreen.
    Try running the unpatched exe (from the Thief 3 Sneaky Upgrade start menu group) to check if it's an original issue or if it's caused by the SU.

    If this is new in 1.1.10 (and probably the 1.1.9.50x beta releases) then the most likely culprit is the bundled D3D9 wrapper - try opening the System folder in the game install and rename or move d3d8.dll (if present).

    Quote Originally Posted by Estel Randir View Post
    Congrats on another full release!
    Thanks - it was about time...

    In the past, before running the SU thief executable, you had to make sure to run the original thief executable & change your settings & then run the SU executable or things got really strange. Has this changed? I am not sure that I can repeat this bug, but somehow on the options screen, the input screen was completely blank no matter if I ran the game using the original or the SU thief executable. Then after about an hr of messing around, the screen text suddenly appeared and was normal.
    I don't remember hearing about something like this before. The keybinds are in Options.ini, so my first thought was that maybe something like an editor or virus checker holding an exclusive file lock on that file or its containing folder could cause it. But the original exe will load Options.ini from SaveGames\User Options, while the SU exe will load it from the Options folder on the same level as SaveGames. So either something has been locking both files, both containing folders, or it's been locking a higher-level folder, preventing access to any content. Not sure how likely that is. If it happens again, see if you can open Options.ini in a text editor while the game is showing the blank input table. (This will normally be possible.)

  8. #1508
    New Member
    Registered: Dec 2017
    Quote Originally Posted by snobel View Post
    Try running the unpatched exe (from the Thief 3 Sneaky Upgrade start menu group) to check if it's an original issue or if it's caused by the SU.

    If this is new in 1.1.10 (and probably the 1.1.9.50x beta releases) then the most likely culprit is the bundled D3D9 wrapper - try opening the System folder in the game install and rename or move d3d8.dll (if present).
    Happens with the original game, it's definitely Thief 3's problem. It isn't something new, it already happened in the stable version before 1.1.10, but I forgot about it. Tried removing the DLL file either way, and it didn't make a difference.

  9. #1509
    Quote Originally Posted by snobel View Post
    I don't remember hearing about something like this before. The keybinds are in Options.ini, so my first thought was that maybe something like an editor or virus checker holding an exclusive file lock on that file or its containing folder could cause it. But the original exe will load Options.ini from SaveGames\User Options, while the SU exe will load it from the Options folder on the same level as SaveGames. So either something has been locking both files, both containing folders, or it's been locking a higher-level folder, preventing access to any content. Not sure how likely that is. If it happens again, see if you can open Options.ini in a text editor while the game is showing the blank input table. (This will normally be possible.)
    I did a clean install of the new full version on my gaming computer. I did not have the issue again that I had on my virtual machine. It must have been a fluke. I installed theif, installed SU 1.1.10, ran the sneaky tweaker, then ran the SU executable. No issues. I never ran the original game executable.

    I guess it is no longer necessary to run the original thief executable & change the settings before running the SU exectuable.
    Last edited by Estel Randir; 23rd Jun 2019 at 16:27.

  10. #1510
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007
    Quote Originally Posted by Taffingtaffer View Post
    Happens with the original game, it's definitely Thief 3's problem.
    I'll make a note of the issue, but it's probably not likely that I can fix it.

  11. #1511
    New Member
    Registered: Mar 2010
    Location: Germany
    Hm, I recently installed Thief3 and immediately SU on a win7-PC, worked perfectly, no issues.

    Though now, on my own win8.1-system, I canīt start the game with our without SU

    https://www.ttlg.com/forums/showthre...st#post2424680

  12. #1512
    New Member
    Registered: Mar 2010
    Location: Germany
    Ah sorry, totally forgot! I too had the blank controls screen, it was related to Minimalist-GUI-mod. When deactivated you could set controls again.

  13. #1513
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007
    Quote Originally Posted by LEGION669 View Post
    Hm, I recently installed Thief3 and immediately SU on a win7-PC, worked perfectly, no issues.
    Though now, on my own win8.1-system, I canīt start the game with our without SU
    https://www.ttlg.com/forums/showthre...st#post2424680
    Sounds like the game is provoking some graphics driver issue. The SU you installed was 1.1.10, right? But since the game won't run without it either, I guess whether or not the D3D9 wrapper DLL is active doesn't make a difference?

    All I can suggest is to try dgVoodoo instead. You can also check if something useful is in Sneaky.log, but I doubt it in this case.

    Quote Originally Posted by LEGION669 View Post
    Ah sorry, totally forgot! I too had the blank controls screen, it was related to Minimalist-GUI-mod. When deactivated you could set controls again.
    Thanks, I'll see if I can reproduce it. Which resolution was this at?

  14. #1514
    New Member
    Registered: Mar 2010
    Location: Germany
    Quote Originally Posted by snobel View Post
    Thanks, I'll see if I can reproduce it. Which resolution was this at?
    It was 1600x1200

  15. #1515
    New Member
    Registered: Mar 2010
    Location: Germany
    Quote Originally Posted by snobel View Post
    Sounds like the game is provoking some graphics driver issue. The SU you installed was 1.1.10, right? But since the game won't run without it either, I guess whether or not the D3D9 wrapper DLL is active doesn't make a difference?

    All I can suggest is to try dgVoodoo instead. You can also check if something useful is in Sneaky.log, but I doubt it in this case.

    Thx, but didnīt help. And NOW I know whatīs causing trouble, EAX! I have Creative Alchemy installed and fixed it with unified EAX, worked perfectly on the win7-System, but here I get Bluescreen. Thief 1&2 with EAX are working fine.

  16. #1516
    New Member
    Registered: Jul 2018
    just wanted to pop in and let you (snobel) know that i was able to finally play through the full game! rather quickly, too... i was excited, lol. anyway this is my last post so again; thank you very much for all of your help!

  17. #1517
    Member
    Registered: May 2001
    Location: UK
    Longtime lurker, just wanted to say THANKS, Snobel. Have now properly started my replay of T3DS for the first time since, oooh, 2006? Appreciate your hard work on this mod.

  18. #1518
    New Member
    Registered: Mar 2018

    New Archlinux package adaptations

    @snobel

    Hi, how are you?

    I just completed the game (T: DS - SU 1.1.9.508) on Archlinux flawlessly. The last time I've played it was 2004 and I was 17. There are big gameplay changes in this patch. I love it. Thanks!.

    Now I'm going to write the Archlinux package build script for SU 1.1.10.
    I need to know:
    1- Are there any structural differences between v1.1.9.508 and v1.1.10?. I mean, the directory structure within the install shield organization, new files, etc.
    2- Are there other necessary procedures to acomplish besides block files rebuild?
    3- Are there any other things I should know?
    4- Is the D3D wrapper indentical in both versions?

    And last:
    I've tried the D3D wrapper included in SU 1.1.9.508. The game runs perfect with it, but I get no evidence of the D3D8 to D3D9 translations. In fact, when I move the wrapper .dll to another location, I get no difference in the in-game graphics (not even small differences).
    5- Is it possibile?. Is there a way to test the wrapper is working?.
    6- Is there another D3D8 to D3D9 wrapper I could try? will it make the Sneaky Tweaker explode?.
    Please, answer this questions as if I was using windows, I'll take care of the rest.

    Thanks!

  19. #1519
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007
    Quote Originally Posted by aerosq View Post
    I just completed the game (T: DS - SU 1.1.9.508) on Archlinux flawlessly. The last time I've played it was 2004 and I was 17. There are big gameplay changes in this patch. I love it. Thanks!.
    Well, thanks for giving it a spin.

    1- Are there any structural differences between v1.1.9.508 and v1.1.10?. I mean, the directory structure within the install shield organization, new files, etc.
    2- Are there other necessary procedures to acomplish besides block files rebuild?
    3- Are there any other things I should know?
    1.1.10 is for the most part 1.1.9.508 with some polish, so no, not that I can think of.

    4- Is the D3D wrapper indentical in both versions?
    No, it's a newer version in 1.1.10.

    I've tried the D3D wrapper included in SU 1.1.9.508. The game runs perfect with it, but I get no evidence of the D3D8 to D3D9 translations. In fact, when I move the wrapper .dll to another location, I get no difference in the in-game graphics (not even small differences).
    5- Is it possibile?. Is there a way to test the wrapper is working?.
    6- Is there another D3D8 to D3D9 wrapper I could try? will it make the Sneaky Tweaker explode?.
    I'd be very surprised if Wine didn't pick up local DLLs, but testing it can't hurt. The easiest way is probably to use dgVoodoo instead. If you just replace d3d8.dll with the one from that zip (in MS\x86) and run the game, you should see a dgVoodoo watermark in the image.

Page 61 of 61 FirstFirst ... 111621263136414651565758596061

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •