TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567 LastLast
Results 51 to 75 of 161

Thread: Thief II FM : The Overlord's Ending by FireMage -- For the Reload Contest #2

  1. #51
    DromEd Archmage
    Registered: Nov 2010
    Location: Between a bed and a machine
    What? You get trouble? Captain is near the water, close to the wall, near rowboats.

    To find Magrin, jsut come back to Donal's Manor, you shall find him.

    Don't worry about Defeat Bluecoats, when you have leaved the place, you'll win. For leave th area, you have to go to reuben's Mansion, has they say in the conversation.

    Quote Originally Posted by Brethren
    More confusion - now I'm standing outside, with a large group of people near an Auldale street sign, with an obvious invisible barrier between us and some Bluecoats standing nearby. Nobody is attacking anyone - seems like maybe a scripted event here is broken? My current objective is to "Leave the Place."
    Just wait taffer! It is normal, something will happen later. Listen to the ambiant sound and wait!


    The objective about Neutral Quarter mean, at least one Neutral Thief Shall survive.

    You can gas cop. 2 Gas arrow are hidden in the mission. Don't forget your flashbomb (5 hidden).

    And the door's ambush with a blackjack.


    @WinterCat: For getting the read-me, open the ZIP, and delete these files:

    SND/Th1/speech.txt
    SND/Th2/speech.txt
    SND/Th3/speech.txt
    SND/Th4/speech.txt
    SND/Th5/speech.txt

    In this thread, page one, you can get the readme in a post.
    About the loading bug. I think that is just because, my map is huge, full, and complexe.
    You have to quit the game, and reopen it to load without problem. Annoying, But I can't do anything against that.
    Last edited by FireMage; 19th Apr 2012 at 09:01.

  2. #52
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2003
    Location: Nampa, Idaho
    Unless I'm missing something, I've looked at your map in Dromed and it's not that large. However, Dromed consistently crashes. Plus, on the bottom left corner of the Dromed window, it says, CLIP.mis, not miss25.mis.

  3. #53
    What? You get trouble? Captain is near the water, close to the wall, near rowboats.
    In the room with 1 boat that has the padlocked gate? I walked up to that guy and nothing. There is another room with a few rowboats but its blocked off.

  4. #54
    Member
    Registered: Jan 2007
    Location: Germany
    Wow, that was a short mission
    I finished in less than 30 seconds playing as Thief:

    As soon as the guy starts yelling about the intruders, I ran down the stairs where one cop was already standing. I rushed past him into the room with the moneybox on the table and the locked door. Somehow that door opened itself, I went down the stairs and the mission was complete, with all objectives checked.

    I think it is not intended to end like this


    EDIT

    FireMage: do you plan to release a new version of this mission?
    The game is crashing each time I try to load a savegame (normal or quick doesn't matter). Also, I can't pick AI's pockets unless they are dead. Seems like you've used MeshAttach here since all the keys float in the air, near the original positions of the AIs when they are either dead or unconsciousness.
    I'm sorry, but I won't play any further as I don't feel like restarting Thief each time I have to reload
    Last edited by intruder; 20th Apr 2012 at 07:18.

  5. #55
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2006
    FireMage, the mission needs updating. For example having met the bluecoat captain I got a goal to report to him my actions. And this is while playing for thieves! Yet ambient light is turquoise.

  6. #56
    Member
    Registered: May 2005
    Second that. In fact this mission is very good, but unfortunately it's unplayable for me too because of the reloads. Finally, as Intruder mentioned above, I finished in a few minutes by that way, but I hope it's a bug and not an "easter egg". I wait for a fixed version of it...

  7. #57
    DromEd Archmage
    Registered: Nov 2010
    Location: Between a bed and a machine
    So, intruder, If you have won in 30 second, it is just because, you was lucky, you have interrupt the converse which change your objectives by a fight. Then you was objectives less. I think that you have that you shouldn't do. Normally, you have to wait then fell by a grate to the casino, and not rush to the cops.

    About loading, I can do all version as you wish, I can't do anything against that, expect destroying a huge part of my mission, then, it would be uninteresting.

    Other thing, there are two mission in one, so it is normal if there are problems.

    About bags, this is a container in a belt, which destroy itself when you frob it. It isn't a big problem, the bag isn't solid at all, so, we can imagine that they are not strongly attach to the belt.
    And Floating Key, hum... I don't know how to correct this problem...
    I'll try do something, but before making a new version, I have to know if some players have won the two versions.

    EDIT: I don't really like, about making a new version. But because, two new players ask for it, Ok, I give up! You win you players! I'll try to do an update!

    @Ricebug:Clip.miss is the mission which normaly shall be the cinematics, but I was timeless to finish it, so, I have kept it, just because I know that few curious dromeder, would like to see it. Just a present!

  8. #58
    Member
    Registered: Jan 2007
    Location: Germany
    Quote Originally Posted by FireMage View Post
    So, intruder, If you have won in 30 second, it is just because, you was lucky, you have interrupt the converse which change your objectives by a fight. Then you was objectives less. I think that you have that you shouldn't do. Normally, you have to wait then fell by a grate to the casino, and not rush to the cops.
    It's not meant as a offence but:
    you can't expect the player to think the same way you did. You *know* that you should not interrupt the sequence - I didn't before that. You *know* which way you want the player to take - I don't. So investigating the other rooms seemed perfectly valid to me.

    As for the update:
    I doubt that Brethren would mind if you fix those bugs. He fixed a bug in his own mission after the release too
    I'm not asking you to redo the mission or change its gameplay, just do whatever possible to get rid of this loading-issue.

  9. #59
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2003
    Location: Nampa, Idaho
    I would also recommend that you try and get a couple of beta-testers who are familiar with Dromed. Sensut and ffox helped me a lot with my last FM during testing. They probably will never test another mission.

    I'll volinteer tu do yor Engleesh texts, tu mak shur theyre corect.

  10. #60
    Member
    Registered: May 2005
    Quote Originally Posted by FireMage View Post

    About loading, I can do all version as you wish, I can't do anything against that, expect destroying a huge part of my mission, then, it would be uninteresting.

    Other thing, there are two mission in one, so it is normal if there are problems.
    Don't get me wrong, but it's not normal. There are many huge, overburdened missions around without any crashes at reloading, and joied missions into one as well. Sorry to say that, but this is the first mission for me which crashing at a quickload, and I don't think that the dimension is the problem. There must be something else that causes crash, but needs to find it and test it before a release. Last time I had a strange crash in my beta and was caused by a wrong AI model. Who would have believed it?

  11. #61
    DromEd Archmage
    Registered: Nov 2010
    Location: Between a bed and a machine
    I know Ricebug, I know it, but when times are too short, you have just few betatesters.

    Sorry intruder, I was just hungry and nervous, I'm making a new fun mission with dwarves, and I don't know why, Dromed refuse to set a lightcastobject suddenly. now, it's going better, and your infromation help. Now, in thief mod, you can't go downstair because of an invisible wall which could be crossed by Ais only.
    No floating key now, I have seen properties and correct it.
    You can load, quickload without any bugs. I have try it and no more crashes. hope that thing would be the same for you. No crash with mines.

    Sergeant's conv shall be good now. i have to test it.

    Hum, in thieves mod, you can win, isn't it?

    I'll add more hint in the objectives and Readme.

    EDIT: Ok, players, do you want to give me another chance? Update this evening. Download boys! My apologies for these bugs!
    Last edited by FireMage; 20th Apr 2012 at 10:35.

  12. #62
    DromEd Archmage
    Registered: Nov 2010
    Location: Between a bed and a machine
    So, people, tell me now if you get some probleme in thief version. If not, I can publish the version 2 right now.

  13. #63
    Member
    Registered: Jan 2007
    Location: Germany
    How about having the 2nd version thoroughly tested by some other people before rushing it out?

  14. #64
    DromEd Archmage
    Registered: Nov 2010
    Location: Between a bed and a machine
    Because we are in a contest, and the best thing will be to get the most perfect mission in a little time. But, now, I'm asking if somebodies have problem into the thie version, because for all is right but if for some it isn't I'll forced to make a version 3 and not a final version 2.

    Don't worry, I'm a scavenger when I test the missions. So I get all bugs of the world and try to correct it. The problem is that i know everything in the mission, so... But, now, it would be more simple for somebody who know nothing about the mission. My hugest problem is that I'm a perfect Absent-Minded so I forget a lot of problem. But know, I test and retest, it shall be good now. trust me, don't worry!

  15. #65
    Member
    Registered: May 2009
    Location: Germany
    Quote Originally Posted by FireMage View Post
    @WinterCat: For getting the read-me, open the ZIP, and delete these files:

    SND/Th1/speech.txt
    SND/Th2/speech.txt
    SND/Th3/speech.txt
    SND/Th4/speech.txt
    SND/Th5/speech.txt
    Just a note:
    renaming the READ-ME--LISEZ-MOI.txt to README.txt will make the readme appear properly as well and you can safely keep any text-file in the ZIP as is.
    The problem is that DarkLoader does not know which file is supposed to be the readme - and takes the first text file it can find.
    But it will always prefer README.txt if it can find one.

  16. #66
    Summer Vacation Contest Winner 2010
    Registered: Sep 2003
    Location: PacificNorthWest...Near Forks
    Quote Originally Posted by intruder View Post
    How about having the 2nd version thoroughly tested by some other people before rushing it out?

    You can Register here for a beta testing forum where you are the moderator:http://shalebridgecradle.co.uk/testing/

    I am registered there, and I will be more than happy to help you test your new version. You can also request for beta testers in the Fan Mission Forum. I use Windows xp pro, Intel 4 @2ghz, 256mb Nvidia 6600 video card, 512mb ram.

    It would be a good idea to test with as many different operating systems as possible.

    Good luck with your new version !
    Last edited by darthsLair; 20th Apr 2012 at 15:07. Reason: typo

  17. #67
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2006
    Location: Great. Now I can't get back in
    Are the notices & scrolls in this mission supposed to be unfrobable? Three hours in-game time & I've found nothing to read - just wandering around the tunnels with no idea what to do....

    Some bugs:-
    • Door at top of stairs leading down to the casino locks itself on shutting - picks & 2 keys don't open it, only the sword.
    • Just past the bottom of those stairs, about half-way along the corridor, sword-blows simply didn't register on the AI - had to get them away from that spot.
    • Sound dropped out here & there in the 1st building. Seems ok in the tunnels.
    • Bluecoat reactions varied a lot. Examples: sometimes the same AI's awareness of me seems to come & go - at first they spot me easily, then they ignore me no matter how well lit I am. One needed 7 broadheads to kill (although unalerted), whilst 2 others stood very close but had no response at all (maybe they just didn't like her? )
    Last edited by Sticky Fingers; 20th Apr 2012 at 16:02.

  18. #68
    Member
    Registered: May 2002
    Location: The Netherlands
    I'm using Windows Vista and I'm on Shalebridge too. So if you need me to help you testing your Fm, it's OK.

    There're angels who playThief and angels who don't ........ both go to heaven ............
    Dare to join .............

  19. #69
    DromEd Archmage
    Registered: Nov 2010
    Location: Between a bed and a machine
    The link version 2 is on page one

    @Sticky Fingers:
    It is too late, I have finished the new version and published it.
    But, it isn't trajic! Some bugs are not very important. You can play and win without problem.
    I have forgotten some, but now:

    -DarkLoader, shall show you the Readme.
    -You can save and load, quicksave and quickload (I can do it, so I hope that you can too).
    -You have few hints in the readme if you don't really now the mission, it is important.
    -You have more indication to find your path.
    -I have delete useless thing for a better game and playability.
    -The Zip is lighter.
    -You can't go downstair in thief version
    -In thief version, the fleeing go better.
    -In cop version, you can win without trouble.
    -Mines have no problem now.
    -Ennemies cannot attack the captain.
    -Reuben can't be stuck on the double double in his mansion.
    -Objectives are with more indications.

    I can't fix the floating keys'bug, the AI's foolness and the cop's paralysis bug. Sorry about it.
    But Main characters have no problem... Normally.

    Forgotten the invincible AI, but it is without importance, because, you are not supposed to come back to the casino and defeat cops.

    Note to stickyfingers: You are not supposed to bash/open this door. But it isn't a trouble.
    About sound, I don't understand what are you mean. Sounds position are odd? Perhaps, but it is not important for me and playability.

    Have fun buddies!

  20. #70
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2006
    Location: Great. Now I can't get back in
    And the readables?

  21. #71
    DromEd Archmage
    Registered: Nov 2010
    Location: Between a bed and a machine
    What the readables?
    I don't understand what you are saying.

  22. #72
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2006
    Crashes from quick save. I'm running Vista.

  23. #73
    Moderator
    Registered: Apr 2003
    Location: Wales
    Are you playing the updated version or the original version?

    For the record, I'm no longer getting crashes playing the updated mission.
    Last edited by nickie; 21st Apr 2012 at 10:13.

  24. #74
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2006
    Quote Originally Posted by nickie View Post
    Are you playing the updated version or the original version?

    For the record, I'm no longer getting crashes playing the updated mission.
    Nickie - I was using the original version and didn't realize that version two was added to FireMage's initial post. Thanks for the help!

  25. #75
    Member
    Registered: May 2009
    Location: Germany
    Playing the updated version from scratch as Thief. I can't get down the stairs.
    There is an invisible barrier that prevents me from going down, so I am trapped in the highest floor - where the mission starts as Thief.
    This did not happen in the first version.
    Do I have to jump/rope down the chute ?
    Last edited by gnartsch; 21st Apr 2012 at 14:33.

Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •