TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 26 to 50 of 56

Thread: Arx Libertatis 1.1.2 released

  1. #26
    Member
    Registered: Nov 2003
    Location: The Plateaux Of Mirror
    Does this fix the speed-up-with-system-uptime bug?

  2. #27
    New Member
    Registered: Jul 2011
    Quote Originally Posted by Jason Moyer View Post
    Does this fix the speed-up-with-system-uptime bug?
    Yes, it should. There is still a speedup bug if the game is running too slow, but that one is rare for most people and unrelated to system uptime.

  3. #28
    Member
    Registered: Jan 2001
    Location: Vienna

    How to delete key assignments

    Is there a method to delete key assignments in the options section?

  4. #29
    New Member
    Registered: Jul 2011
    Quote Originally Posted by Black Rat View Post
    Is there a method to delete key assignments in the options section?
    Hm, there doesn't seem to be any way to do this with the gui - I wonder if vanilla AF had a function there that we broke? This is definitely something we should look into for a future release.

    In the meantime you can manually edit your cfg.ini to remove the assignments. It's located in
    • <profile>\My Documents\My Games\Arx Libertatis for Windows XP
    • <profile>\Saved Games\Arx Libertatis for Vista and newer
    • ~/Library/Application Support/ArxLibertatis/ for OS X
    • ~/.config/arx/ for Linux, FreeBSD, ...
    Last edited by dscharrer; 30th Sep 2019 at 19:05.

  5. #30
    Member
    Registered: Jan 2001
    Location: Vienna
    Thanks for the info!

    BTW, if possible could there be added an automatically save after char creation, because I died in the first fight and had to go thru char creation all over again.

  6. #31
    New Member
    Registered: Jul 2011
    Good idea, I've added it to Feature request #115 - Autosave.

    Btw: feel free to vote on the wishlist on our bug tracker (you'll need to log in with a bugs.arx-libertatis.org or OpenID account, then use the + or - icons in the top right corner of the feature requests). That goes for everyone else too.
    Last edited by dscharrer; 15th Oct 2012 at 22:30.

  7. #32
    Member
    Registered: May 2003
    @dscharrer:

    which AL version would you recommend for running in Win7 64-bit - 32-bit or 64-bit one? Are there any performance differences between them (or stability/compatibility ones)?

  8. #33
    New Member
    Registered: Jul 2011
    Quote Originally Posted by Hiatus View Post
    @dscharrer:

    which AL version would you recommend for running in Win7 64-bit - 32-bit or 64-bit one? Are there any performance differences between them (or stability/compatibility ones)?
    It'd go with the 64-bit one so it can fully use the capabilities of your CPU, but I doubt it makes a big difference. I'm not aware of any issues specific to either variant, but if you run into problems you can always try the other one - save files are compatible.

  9. #34
    Member
    Registered: May 2003
    ok, so I'm running 64-bit version ATM (1.0.3) and I've seen an issue with the renderer (D3D 9) when (when looking) at certain angles at some textures (very early in the game - 1st and 2nd room on 1st level), the screen goes solid dark/black (only at tiny angle range). Is this an known issue?

    For Win7 64-bit, which renderer is preferred/better: D3D 9 or OpenGL (and which OpenGL lib version is required - 4.x or lower)?

    ps also do you have plans to reimplement bump mapping, more precise AA/AF controls in menu, gamma/contrast/brightness controls in-menu and so on? If yes, any probable ETA on some of these features? (Can some of them make it in next version - 1.1 (?) whenever it ships)?

    ps2 another feature idea/wish would be able to make in-game screenshots without any external app like Fraps etc (game would be able to do it by itself, say F12 => screenshot), and option to disable prompt "are you sure?" when exiting the game (as well as disabling animation when invoking option groups in game menu - it's slow and annoying).
    Last edited by Hiatus; 13th Dec 2012 at 10:38.

  10. #35
    New Member
    Registered: Dec 2012
    I'm on Win7 64bit myself and still seem to get the weird speed up / teleporting glitch kind o frequently. Huh...

  11. #36
    New Member
    Registered: Jul 2011
    Hey all, we are still alive!

    1.1: Fixes player movement issues, minimap scaling, and a bunch of crashes and other bugs. We also continued our work on restructuring the engine, to facilitate new features in the future. Further, there is an improved installer for the data files on *nix systems as well as minor graphics and sound tweaks. See the changelog for full details. While we haven't managed to include everything originally planned for 1.1, we felt it was high time for another release after nearly a year of development since 1.0.3. (announcement)
    Last edited by dscharrer; 30th Sep 2019 at 19:06.

  12. #37
    Moderator
    Registered: Sep 2000
    Location: Hong Kong
    Thank you for announcing this update here. It's probably a good idea to update the title to 1.1 so that people know that there is new content.

  13. #38
    New Member
    Registered: Jul 2011
    Quote Originally Posted by twisty View Post
    It's probably a good idea to update the title to 1.1 so that people know that there is new content.
    Ah thanks, I didn't know I could do that here. Had to switch to the advanced editor.

  14. #39
    Thanks dscharrer; you guys rock!

    Fixed Am Shaegar accelerating too much during slow frames (bug #185)
    Now <em>that</em> is excellent news!

  15. #40
    New Member
    Registered: Jul 2011

    Hey all, I messed up a merge for the 1.1 release

    1.1.1: This release is a hotfix addressing a regression introcuded in 1.1, that caused map markers to not be saved correctly and then removed when such a save is loaded. We encourage all users of Arx Libertatis 1.1 to upgrade to 1.1.1 as soon as possible. (announcement)

    Quote Originally Posted by Shadowcat View Post
    Now <em>that</em> is excellent news!
    I was quite happy about getting that fixed too - credits go to BobJelly.
    Last edited by dscharrer; 30th Sep 2019 at 19:06.

  16. #41
    New Member
    Registered: Jan 2008
    Location: Budapest, Hungary

    Oliver's Quest Bugged

    Is it just me, or is there no longer a method to trigger the shovel at the end of Olver's Quest? All guides say, to "right-click" the shovel, Libertatis assigned that to swithcing to mouse-look... what am I supposed to do here?

    EDIT: encountered another error on Level 8, the pressing machine won't accept the "shiny orb".
    Last edited by Flaser; 1st Sep 2013 at 00:28.

  17. #42
    New Member
    Registered: Jul 2011
    Another one:

    1.1.2: This is another small hotfix, this time to fix a crash when hovering over map markers after the window size or resolution has changed. (announcement)

    Quote Originally Posted by Flaser View Post
    Is it just me, or is there no longer a method to trigger the shovel at the end of Olver's Quest? All guides say, to "right-click" the shovel, Libertatis assigned that to swithcing to mouse-look... what am I supposed to do here?

    EDIT: encountered another error on Level 8, the pressing machine won't accept the "shiny orb".
    If you still encounter these, please open a bug report on our bug tracker - ideally with a save file included.
    Last edited by dscharrer; 30th Sep 2019 at 19:06.

  18. #43
    Member
    Registered: Feb 2003
    Location: Germany
    After installing AL I got the message : steam.dll not found ...... where can I find this steam.dll

    And by the way I playing on Windos 7 and can not find the AF saves .......... can anyone help me please ?

  19. #44
    New Member
    Registered: Jul 2011
    Hi, we finally managed to get a new release out: Arx Libertatis 1.2 "Mega Mega Mega"

    This release brings improved rune recognition when casting spells, as well as a new bow aim mode. Support for high resolutions and wide monitors is enhanced with configurable HUD and player book scaling. The text and audio language can now be changed in the menu. Further, item physics have been fixed and item dragging has been refined. On top of that, this release adds a console to execute arbitrary script commands.

    Announcement with more details: https://arx-libertatis.org/releases/1.2

  20. #45
    Moderator
    Registered: Sep 2000
    Location: Hong Kong
    Your dedication is inspiring. Thank you for sticking with this for so long. Looking forward to trying it when I get some time.

  21. #46
    Member
    Registered: May 2005
    I was on https://arx-libertatis.org/download. Chrome and Firefox both flag the main download https://arx-libertatis.org/files/arx....2-windows.exe as well as the mirror https://github.com/arx/ArxLibertatis....2-windows.exe as malware. Why is that?

  22. #47
    Member
    Registered: Nov 1999
    Location: Deck 4 Cargo Bays
    It could be some sort of false positive. I tore apart the arx.exe in the root folder of the zip with a hex editor and ghidra, and I can't see anything obviously nefarious. All it seems to do is launch the x86 or x64 version of arx.exe in the \bin\ folder based on machine architecture. The only other things in the file besides the simple program code are icons and a program manifest.

    I'm not the most astute malware analyst, but I can't seem to see anything actually bad about the launch stub app. If it makes you feel any better, the arx.exe's in the \bin\x86\ and \bin\x64\ test clean on VirusTotal, so maybe just run those direct?

  23. #48
    Member
    Registered: May 2005
    Thanks for checking! I will wait a while for further reports or perhaps a change of the malware assessment by the browsers before I execute the installer. I have other games I can complete first.

  24. #49
    Member
    Registered: Jul 2007
    Location: free koki
    Quote Originally Posted by <Username> View Post
    I was on https://arx-libertatis.org/download. Chrome and Firefox both flag the main download https://arx-libertatis.org/files/arx....2-windows.exe as well as the mirror https://github.com/arx/ArxLibertatis....2-windows.exe as malware. Why is that?
    Still the case. I also had Firefox (i.e. Google) flag the download as a virus but I went ahead anyway and then scanned it locally. Windows Defender didn't complain, but MalwareBytes identified it as a Trojan.Crypt. There's a couple of complaints on GOG about this too, and it seems to be a long-running issue judging by this bug report from 2020.

    Quote Originally Posted by Microwave Oven View Post
    I'm not the most astute malware analyst, but I can't seem to see anything actually bad about the launch stub app. If it makes you feel any better, the arx.exe's in the \bin\x86\ and \bin\x64\ test clean on VirusTotal, so maybe just run those direct?
    I'm no expert either, but an .exe launching another .exe seems like prime material for AV solutions to spaz over even assuming stuff's code-signed. In any case, wouldn't it be better to dump the stub launcher and split the packages into 32 and 64-bit builds? It doesn't seem like too much to ask of a user to download the appropriate version for their OS and it should reduce the likelihood of false positives going forward.

  25. #50
    an .exe launching another .exe seems like prime material for AV solutions to spaz over
    I'm also not an expert, but to me that sounds incredibly common. For starters, that describes about 99% of shell scripts :) but I'm sure a large proportion of the PC games I've played over the years had some kind of launcher program.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •