TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Page 5 of 36 FirstFirst 123456789101520253035 ... LastLast
Results 101 to 125 of 891

Thread: NewDark - Thief 2 V1.19 & System Shock 2 V2.4

  1. #101
    Member
    Registered: Jul 2003
    Quote Originally Posted by Albert View Post
    Oh kewl. Good thing you figured that out. So I guess we have all 3 games running now, with no hitches documented yet besides the nitpicking on the item shop sound lag... Who was that again?

    Where's the SS2 love, BTW? That thread is barren, just about.
    I think he actually said the sound lag is now gone (it used to happen in the original version). So another improvement!

  2. #102
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2003
    Location: Phoenix, AZ, USA, Earth
    Upon playing Mission X for a little while I have noticed a few hickups.
    1) Some objects turn invisible or are missing parts of textures in the inventory. One of the loot bracelets was invisible when hanging inside a locker, and continued to be invisible in the inventory. Similarly, the compass is missing parts in the inventory.
    2) The biggest and most reliable bug however was the light gem. If bright red, sometimes the entire gem would turn black. The indicator to the right was still red, but the rest of the gem was pitch black. This has happened in multiple areas and seems to occur more often if crouching. Has anyone else seen this?
    Klatremus' Supreme Thief Site - Walkthroughs, Loot Lists & Ghost Reports
    Let's Supreme Ghost Thief - YouTube Channel with Thief Let's Plays

  3. #103
    Member
    Registered: Apr 2009
    Quote Originally Posted by Albert View Post
    Oh kewl. Good thing you figured that out. So I guess we have all 3 games running now, with no hitches documented yet besides the nitpicking on the item shop sound lag... Who was that again?
    Uhm, that was me.

    Quote Originally Posted by blaydes99 View Post
    I think he actually said the sound lag is now gone (it used to happen in the original version). So another improvement!
    Yes, it is fixed now. Definate improvement for some of us.

  4. #104
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2003
    Location: Jafaville New Zealand
    1.19 notes:
    I'm having issues with the videos not playing. Might be my system.

    For me Darkloader worked fine.

    I decided to try Zontik's King's Story FM since it made modern systems run like a dog and Holy Joe Pesci!

    Steam Overlay Support!


    Shit this thing runs buttery smooth!
    Screenshots of normally sluggish areas.








    Mission 2:
    WOW. After a restart of Thief 2, I'm getting a straight run of 60 fps!!!






    The whole Can Can cutscene never dropped below 35 fps which for me is brilliant.
    With fraps running however it goes to 24.






    Here is the gallery of screenshots I've made.
    http://www.mediafire.com/view/?ae36u...e36u71ldnq759m

  5. #105
    Desperately Dodgy Moderator
    Registered: Nov 2001
    Location: Bohn Museum
    My Olde Castle in 1.19:
    http://www.wearytaffer.com/screens/toc/Castle3k.png

    Managed to break the 3k poly barrier.

  6. #106

  7. #107
    NewDark 64³ Contest Winner
    Registered: Jul 2005
    Location: Locked Inside Dromed
    I posted this in the editor guild, but thought I'd put it here too, just because I can. It's a little something I managed to put together tonight, using high-quality textures. I don't have any of the new lighting effects on it yet though.


  8. #108
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2007
    Location: LosAngeles: Between Amusements
    Quote Originally Posted by klatremus View Post
    Upon playing Mission X for a little while I have noticed a few hickups.
    1) Some objects turn invisible or are missing parts of textures in the inventory. One of the loot bracelets was invisible when hanging inside a locker, and continued to be invisible in the inventory. Similarly, the compass is missing parts in the inventory.
    2) The biggest and most reliable bug however was the light gem. If bright red, sometimes the entire gem would turn black. The indicator to the right was still red, but the rest of the gem was pitch black. This has happened in multiple areas and seems to occur more often if crouching. Has anyone else seen this?
    I thought I remembered something from the troubleshooting doc about invisible object textures ... yep! Do you have an ATI/AMD video card?

    Problem:
    Some object textures are invisible (on some ATI/AMD video cards).
    Cause:
    Adaptive multi-sample anti-aliasing.
    Solutions:
    * Go into Catalyst Control Center and set "Anti-Aliasing Mode" to
    any setting that is NOT "Adaptive Multi-sample AA".
    * Disable multi-sampling ("multisampletype").

  9. #109
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2009
    Location: thiefgold.com
    It worked great for me, but first I got an error message saying I needed the d3dx9_43.dll file (which I downloaded here) It's fine now

  10. #110
    Member
    Registered: Jan 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by Azaran View Post
    It worked great for me, but first I got an error message saying I needed the d3dx9_43.dll file (which I downloaded here) It's fine now
    It's much better to get the DX redist from microsoft's website directly; you shouldn't necessarily trust random DLLs on the internet.

  11. #111
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2003
    Location: UK
    Wow! This has made my month! I'm off to try some Fan Missions, but the screenshots so far look amazing!

  12. #112
    Moderator
    Registered: Jan 2003
    Location: NeoTokyo
    I wasn't expecting anything like this. Thank you, mystery coder.

  13. #113
    Member
    Registered: Nov 2004
    Location: Germany
    Quote Originally Posted by Yandros View Post
    My Olde Castle in 1.19:
    http://www.wearytaffer.com/screens/toc/Castle3k.png

    Managed to break the 3k poly barrier.
    OMG

    This Update is unbelievable!!!

    I will test it!

  14. #114
    Member
    Registered: May 2002
    Location: Toronto
    Quote Originally Posted by Yandros View Post
    My Olde Castle in 1.19:
    http://www.wearytaffer.com/screens/toc/Castle3k.png

    Managed to break the 3k poly barrier.
    Just awesome Yandros

  15. #115
    Member
    Registered: Jun 2005
    Oh my god, this is so sweet.

  16. #116
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2003
    Location: Cambridgeshire UK
    That Yandros screenie shows 3043 polygons and it's still running at an impressive 57 fps. Wow!!

  17. #117
    Archivist
    Registered: Sep 2002
    Location: Museum of the Ancients
    Quote Originally Posted by TTLG
    Most users ever online was 891, 26th Sep 2012 at 12:10
    Quote Originally Posted by TTLG
    Most users ever online was 970, 26th Sep 2012 at 12:16
    Nuff' said What a revival/attention.

    Such a glorious day for the community! I don´t know how this mystery designer did it, but the list of improvements/fixes is incredible !

    Thank you!!

  18. #118
    Member
    Registered: Jun 1999
    Location: Procrastination, Australia
    Apart from general amazement, my first question is "How?"
    I'm behind on all the leaks and reverse engineering going on, but isn't this even far beyond what anyone was hoping to do short of the full annotated source code appearing?
    Or was it finally dug up and I missed it?

  19. #119
    Member
    Registered: Nov 2004
    Location: Australia
    Downloaded this new patch and MAN what a noticable improvement

  20. #120
    ZylonBane
    Registered: Sep 2000
    Location: ZylonBane
    Quote Originally Posted by bob_doe_nz View Post
    1.19 notes:I'm having issues with the videos not playing. Might be my system.
    Someone else in this thread also had this issue. IIRC the problem was that they hadn't extracted the folder containing the ffmpeg DLL.
    Last edited by ZylonBane; 26th Sep 2012 at 08:34.

  21. #121
    Member
    Registered: May 2005
    Quote Originally Posted by klatremus View Post
    Upon playing Mission X for a little while I have noticed a few hickups.
    1) Some objects turn invisible or are missing parts of textures in the inventory. One of the loot bracelets was invisible when hanging inside a locker, and continued to be invisible in the inventory. Similarly, the compass is missing parts in the inventory.
    2) The biggest and most reliable bug however was the light gem. If bright red, sometimes the entire gem would turn black. The indicator to the right was still red, but the rest of the gem was pitch black. This has happened in multiple areas and seems to occur more often if crouching. Has anyone else seen this?
    Maybe this is the solution (from "troubleshooting"):
    Code:
    Problem:
        Some object textures are invisible (on some ATI/AMD video cards).
    Cause:
        Adaptive multi-sample anti-aliasing.
    Solutions:
        * Go into Catalyst Control Center and set "Anti-Aliasing Mode" to
          any setting that is NOT "Adaptive Multi-sample AA".
        * Disable multi-sampling ("multisampletype").

  22. #122
    I'm having a good deal of misfortune getting this patch to work with Thief Gold. I've followed the installation instructions, checked out the readme in the /docs/t1.zip directory, changed the game running to read 'dark1' exclusively (sans apostrophes), and still, no dice. The game boots, and crashes immediately. I've looked for ; enable Thief 1 compatibility in cam_ext.cfg and found no such line. I'm at quite a wall here with no clue what solutions to try.

    Anyone care to treat me like an idiot and give me a step-by-step setup for a fresh install? If it's of any assistance, I am running a GoG copy on WinXP.

  23. #123
    Member
    Registered: Feb 2002
    Quote Originally Posted by Muzman View Post
    Apart from general amazement, my first question is "How?"
    I'm behind on all the leaks and reverse engineering going on, but isn't this even far beyond what anyone was hoping to do short of the full annotated source code appearing?
    Or was it finally dug up and I missed it?
    The source code did appear. It was huge news.

    It wasn't an official release by Eidos/EA, though, it was (IIRC) someone finding a CD containing a half-finished Dreamcast port of Thief 2 (with most of the code for SS2 still intact, since T2 uses a later version of the same engine) in a box of LGS memorabilia. So there was a lot of concern over Eidos/EA handing out cease-and-desist letters or lawsuits if anyone tried to actually do anything with it. I don't recall if they actually did or not in the end.

  24. #124
    Member
    Registered: Jan 2004
    Location: Prince Edward Island, Canada
    Quote Originally Posted by ToxicFrog View Post
    The source code did appear. It was huge news.

    It wasn't an official release by Eidos/EA, though, it was (IIRC) someone finding a CD containing a half-finished Dreamcast port of Thief 2 (with most of the code for SS2 still intact, since T2 uses a later version of the same engine) in a box of LGS memorabilia. So there was a lot of concern over Eidos/EA handing out cease-and-desist letters or lawsuits if anyone tried to actually do anything with it. I don't recall if they actually did or not in the end.

    Yeah, it was some guy who bought a Playstation dev kit off of Ebay years ago and never bothered to look at the discs that came with it.

  25. #125
    Member
    Registered: Feb 2002
    Quote Originally Posted by retractingblinds View Post
    I'm having a good deal of misfortune getting this patch to work with Thief Gold. I've followed the installation instructions, checked out the readme in the /docs/t1.zip directory, changed the game running to read 'dark1' exclusively (sans apostrophes), and still, no dice. The game boots, and crashes immediately. I've looked for ; enable Thief 1 compatibility in cam_ext.cfg and found no such line. I'm at quite a wall here with no clue what solutions to try.

    Anyone care to treat me like an idiot and give me a step-by-step setup for a fresh install? If it's of any assistance, I am running a GoG copy on WinXP.
    There's no "; enable Thief 1 compatibility" line because you can add that yourself...it's just a comment, the game doesn't care. I don't know why you keep changing 'game dark' to 'game dark1', that's not what you're meant to do and people are specifically telling you not to do it.

    Step by step instructions, assuming you're starting with a clean GOG install of TG. Hopefully these are clear enough.

    (1) DO NOT TOUCH YOUR CAM.CFG. DO NOT CHANGE THE 'game' LINE. IT SHOULD CONTAIN 'game dark' WHEN YOU INSTALL IT AND STILL CONTAIN THAT WHEN YOU START IT. DO NOT TOUCH CAM.CFG.
    (2) Unpack the Thief 2 1.19 patch to get the contrib.zip and new_dark.zip files.
    (3) Unpack both of those files into your Thief directory. Overwrite existing files if necessary.
    (4) Create a directory in your Thief directory named "patch", if one does not already exist.
    (5) Open the file doc/T1.7z. Unpack the file INTRFACE.CRF from that archive to the patch/ directory you just created. patch/ should now contain the single file INTRFACE.CRF.
    (6) Open cam_ext.cfg in notepad. On a line by itself, add the single word 'dark1'. DO NOT PUT 'game' IN FRONT OF IT. DO NOT EDIT CAM.CFG. JUST PUT 'dark1' ON A LINE BY ITSELF SOMEWHERE IN cam_ext.cfg. THAT IS ALL.
    (7) Optionally, edit other settings in cam_ext.cfg to enable things like bloom.
    (8) Run Thief2.exe, NOT Thief.exe, to play.

Page 5 of 36 FirstFirst 123456789101520253035 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •