TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 31

Thread: Dromed V1.19 & Sunlight Shadows

  1. #1
    Member
    Registered: May 2002
    Location: Toronto

    Dromed V1.19 & Sunlight Shadows

    I can't seem to get the sunlight system in V1.19 to cast object shadows Regular lights cast object shadows no problem. Am I missing something?

  2. #2
    Member
    Registered: May 2005
    With the usual settings for me don't in 1.19. The same example was good in 1.18. The brushes are OK but the objects are not cast shadow .



    But there is a lot of news in these settings, perhaps only is turned off by default somewhere. I try to find it .

  3. #3
    I just tried it and it seems broken here too.

    I played around with a few other settings, just in case, but still couldn't get it to work.

  4. #4
    Member
    Registered: May 2005
    Unfortunatelly I don't find anything useful to enable it. Tried light zones, shadow tweaking settings, but nothing .If it's really so, it's a pretty big disadvantage can be.

  5. #5
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2007
    Location: LosAngeles: Between Amusements
    I wonder .... could this be DromEd only? Does it work properly in Thief2?

  6. #6
    Member
    Registered: May 2005
    I have to make a fast demo for regular game and let's see what's going on.

  7. #7
    Member
    Registered: Jan 2001
    Location: Formby, NW England
    I just did a quick check and it doesn't work through thief2.exe either. I didn't think it would. Dromed's the program that makes the lightmap.

  8. #8
    Member
    Registered: May 2005
    In this case for the outdoor decorations a separate light will be required to cast sunlight shadows.

  9. #9
    Desperately Dodgy Moderator
    Registered: Nov 2001
    Location: Fields of bluegrass
    Sounds like this may be a legit bug then, we'll have to hope it can get fixed if there's another update to new Dark.

  10. #10
    Member
    Registered: May 2002
    Location: Toronto
    At least lights can now shine on more surfaces (if I understand the change log documentation correctly). Using regular lights to create the object shadows would've been near impossible in 1.18.

    Still, such a bummer we just received so much more power, but lost a pretty important feature (imo). Guess I'll focus on my indoor missions for now

  11. #11
    Member
    Registered: May 2005
    So true! At least now the scaled objects casts real, corresponding shadows.

  12. #12
    ZylonBane
    Registered: Sep 2000
    Location: ZylonBane
    Honestly, it's not surprising that a major bug (or two... or three...) snuck into a release that made so many changes. Considering the scope of the modifications, I'm amazed that it's as stable as it is.

    Well, fingers crossed that mystery devs aren't done with this.

  13. #13
    Member
    Registered: Mar 2007
    Location: Krull Island, in the pub
    Well, as a big fan of daytime settings, I truly hope that this change won't put an end to the production of daylight fan missions and strong fullmoon outdoor light scenes!

    Anyway, this patch is a real good thing.

    I didn't install this patch yet. Can someone post a screenshot of Ashen Age, Lost Crusade or any daytime level? Thanks!

  14. #14
    L'architecte de Rocksbourg
    Registered: Nov 2005
    Location: Narbonne, France
    Looks like it's been fixed !
    http://www.ttlg.com/forums/showthrea...=1#post2144469

    From Le Corbeau :

    The Raven is the messenger. From his perch, he watches the regained shadows.

    DromEd.exe @ 0x14A701 change 02 to 01
    ShockEd.exe @ 0x18EC11 change 02 to 01

  15. #15
    Member
    Registered: Jun 2009
    Location: The Spiraling Sea
    Well, that effectively eliminates the only major bug found so far...

    /thread

  16. #16
    Member
    Registered: Jan 2001
    Location: Formby, NW England
    I must be doing something wrong. I've made the change to my copy of dromed, relit my test mission, but my object (with Object System > Immobile: True) isn't casting any shadows.

    I've set 'use sunlight' to True. Terrain is casting shadows so I must be missing something simple. Can someone say what objects they've tested with (and any properties changed) and their sunlight settings?

  17. #17
    Desperately Dodgy Moderator
    Registered: Nov 2001
    Location: Fields of bluegrass
    http://www.ttlg.com/forums/showthrea...=1#post2144506

    Robin, you have to tick Quad Sunlight or it doesn't work. I'm pretty sure 1.18 was the same way, but I'm about to go check that to make sure my memory is correct.

    Dromed v1.19 with Sunlight Fix
    Last edited by Yandros; 28th Sep 2012 at 23:39.

  18. #18
    Member
    Registered: May 2002
    Location: Toronto
    Oh that is excellent news!

    So much amazing work on this patch - it just blows my mind. I hope our mystery modder(s) know how truly grateful we are!

  19. #19
    Member
    Registered: Mar 2009
    I'm sure he does -- And he's quite the poet too, from what few words he has spoken.

  20. #20
    Member
    Registered: May 2005
    Damn it, is working! With quad light ticked!


  21. #21
    Member
    Registered: Mar 2007
    Location: Krull Island, in the pub
    Maybe I have an amateur question, since I was busy IRL. Is Thief 1.19 required for Dromed 1.19?

  22. #22
    Member
    Registered: May 2005
    Quote Originally Posted by ticky View Post
    Maybe I have an amateur question, since I was busy IRL. Is Thief 1.19 required for Dromed 1.19?
    Yes.

  23. #23
    Member
    Registered: Mar 2007
    Location: Krull Island, in the pub
    Ah, thanks, Sensut! But don't Thief 1.19 mess up the ddfix-ed 1.18 install? Also, I really like quad light on your screenshot.

  24. #24
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    it should work, but a new, clean install is highly recommended.

  25. #25
    Member
    Registered: May 2005
    I had a DDFX + widescreen Thief with Dromed 1.18+toolkit before and just copied the new patch files and there was no problem. Only when I entered first time in game mode I had to change the screen resolution, but this can be done directly from dromed game mode if you hit ESC in game mode entering the game options. But a clean install is safer, I have to do one as well. Also is a good option if you keep both Thief versions, one 1.18 and install an another for 1.19.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •