TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 26

Thread: how is changing the launadge done in a mission?

  1. #1
    Member
    Registered: May 2008
    Location: Southern,California

    how is changing the launadge done in a mission?

    ok let me explain a bit sometime i load a mission and it will play in German,not sure why

    but i wanted to make English ,i noticed in darkloader config the language there is a number assigned to it and guessing is english?

    and one to be seemsgerman please let me know cause there are some good missions i got no idea how to complete do to language issues in mission it self


    and yes in mission i pick english but that dont fix it


    just need to know if i got to change 2 sets of numbers in darkloader config file for speech and

    [MixedMessages.41233303]
    type=2
    misdate=37925
    books=66
    movies=1
    objects=7
    sounds=63
    title="Mixed Messages"
    date=42712

    ^ this mission is doing all objectives and voice in german,need to make english what numbers do i change? then i will never have to ask agian


    thank you in advance to the person that knows

  2. #2
    Desperately Dodgy Moderator
    Registered: Nov 2001
    Location: Fields of bluegrass
    I've never changed anything in the Darkloader config file to change language. When I need to test my missions in German or French, I change the language in the darkinst.cfg file (the one where you set the paths to your resource files). In there is a line that says "language english", change it to "language german" and that should do it. If you're on T1 or TG the config file is install.cfg instead.

  3. #3
    Member
    Registered: May 2008
    Location: Southern,California
    ok ty i will try that,sounds like i can do it as long as the file is there


    ok i am in the file but not sure where to change what as i see areas with all launagdes


    if i delete all the german stuff would that work?

  4. #4
    Member
    Registered: May 2008
    Location: Southern,California
    yeah it was wrong file,sorry
    Last edited by downwinder; 10th Dec 2016 at 16:46.

  5. #5
    Member
    Registered: May 2008
    Location: Southern,California
    if possible copy the area i need to change and paste it with changes so i can copy it ,thank you

  6. #6
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2003
    Location: Cambridgeshire UK
    That file is dark.cfg, not darkinst.cfg!

    My darkinst.cfg:

    install_path .
    language english
    resname_base .\patchedres+.\RES
    load_path .
    script_module_path .
    movie_path .\MOVIES

  7. #7
    Desperately Dodgy Moderator
    Registered: Nov 2001
    Location: Fields of bluegrass
    As ffox said, you are in the wrong file.

  8. #8
    Member
    Registered: May 2008
    Location: Southern,California
    ok i found correct file the only different was there was some kind of thief 2 thing added to the ends of some of those code lines i removed them so will see if that help,thank you all for help just hope i did not mess anything up


    weird thing was it says english

  9. #9
    Desperately Dodgy Moderator
    Registered: Nov 2001
    Location: Fields of bluegrass
    If your installation was working already, you shouldn't have changed ANYTHING in the file except for the language. Just change the line
    language english
    to
    language german

  10. #10
    Member
    Registered: May 2008
    Location: Southern,California
    but i want english lol

    the issue was it says its english but alot of the fan missions play in german

    so i made my file look like yours now,so i hope i dont have the issue of german objectives/conversations in game

    i hope that make sense

  11. #11
    Member
    Registered: May 2008
    Location: Southern,California
    so i am playing "lost souls" nomatter what i try its in german so i think my thief 2 is messed up/patches that go with it

  12. #12
    ZylonBane
    Registered: Sep 2000
    Location: ZylonBane
    Quote Originally Posted by downwinder View Post
    and one to be seemsgerman please let me know cause there are some good missions i got no idea how to complete do to language issues in mission it self
    Wait, so English is actually your native language?




    Huh.

  13. #13
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2012
    Location: Detox clinic
    Quote Originally Posted by ZylonBane View Post
    Wait, so English is actually your native language?
    Surely that should be spelt 'launadge'

  14. #14
    Southquarter.com/fms
    Registered: Apr 2000
    Location: The Akkala Highlands
    Maybe if there were more commas and fewer capital letters, he might recognize it as English.

  15. #15
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2008
    Location: Deutschland/Germany

    Quote Originally Posted by downwinder View Post
    so i am playing "lost souls" nomatter what i try its in german so i think my thief 2 is messed up/patches that go with it
    And how about the OMs?

    So ... if you play a FM I presume that the AIs speek english (since you are supposted to have an english CD with an EN RES folder) and the texts appears in german? Right?

    Could then be a matter with DarkLoader oder whatever you use for FM installations ... how is that language configuration?
    My FM campaigns Garrett's Young Years XTra, Reunion With Basso
    Want your upcoming FM translated in foreign languages?

  16. #16
    Member
    Registered: May 2008
    Location: Southern,California
    i am giving up on fixing it ,it the game wants to act german i wont stop it


    oms work in english,only some fan missions are german

    language configuration is english on darkloader

    so i got no idea why its doing german

    also thief files are english

    so i am done trying ,it can wolfenstein me

  17. #17
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2008
    Location: Deutschland/Germany

    That can't be so difficult to solve. Your Thief installation seems to be correct so far.

    All you could do is to copy all english STRs over the german files, seems they have been installed in the basic folders \books, \strings and \intrface by DarkLoader. Check the DarkLoader config file or the language choice of the FM installation menue.
    My FM campaigns Garrett's Young Years XTra, Reunion With Basso
    Want your upcoming FM translated in foreign languages?

  18. #18
    Member
    Registered: May 2008
    Location: Southern,California
    since i got no idea what fan mission will do it ,i am going to pass on trying to fix it,wish thief options had a language option it it,seems like it done in a way the codes do it,but if people want to pick with out having to go into codes they cant=makes no sense to me


    i am done with this post,thank you all for trying to help

    anything more i say will just make me sound bitter and mad

  19. #19
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2004
    Location: Germany

    Wait a minute. You wrote that the game works in English, only FMs are in German. Are you perhaps using Darkloader with a NewDark installation? If so, then you should really try FM-Selector instead. Darkloader's way of handling languages does not work reliably with NewDark.
    Last edited by baeuchlein; 11th Dec 2016 at 20:48. Reason: On second thought...

  20. #20
    ZylonBane
    Registered: Sep 2000
    Location: ZylonBane
    Quote Originally Posted by downwinder View Post
    so i got no idea why its doing german
    Is it going on the roof?

  21. #21
    Member
    Registered: May 2008
    Location: Southern,California
    Quote Originally Posted by baeuchlein View Post
    Wait a minute. You wrote that the game works in English, only FMs are in German. Are you perhaps using Darkloader with a NewDark installation? If so, then you should really try FM-Selector instead. Darkloader's way of handling languages does not work reliably with NewDark.
    you probaly right but i will just deal with it,only downside is objectives and readable and any voice converstions,other wise missions work great i will try fm select forgot about that agian after fixing the mission 1/2 on another thing i did recently

  22. #22
    Moderator
    Registered: Apr 2003
    Location: Wales
    Quote Originally Posted by ZylonBane View Post
    Is it going on the roof?

  23. #23
    Member
    Registered: May 2008
    Location: Southern,California
    Quote Originally Posted by ZylonBane View Post
    Is it going on the roof?
    no its going in a Zeppelin right to your house and dropping it there.

  24. #24
    Member
    Registered: May 2008
    Location: Southern,California
    some one send me the fmsel file from t2 i deleted mine by accident and darkloader is running it in german=some error i think


    otherwise i got to just try to figure it out,and i cant copy and paste into a translator

  25. #25
    Southquarter.com/fms
    Registered: Apr 2000
    Location: The Akkala Highlands
    Just run Tafferpatcher again. It will reinstall New Dark, FMsel, etc.

    And before you use FMSel, make sure you don't have an old FM still installed via Darkloader.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •