TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Thief Font Tool

  1. #1
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2001
    Location: Virginia, USA

    Thief Font Tool

    Thief Font Tool 1.2

    NewDark 8-bit grayscale format.
    24-bit images
    Reads BMP, GIF, PNG, PCX
    Use image files as a source for palettes. Also standalone palettes from Microsoft, Adobe, PSP, and GIMP.
    Drag-and-drop shortcuts.

  2. #2
    ZylonBane
    Registered: Sep 2000
    Location: ZylonBane
    Has the issue with very large individual characters being partially filled with random garbage already been fixed?

  3. #3
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2001
    Location: Virginia, USA
    Quote Originally Posted by ZylonBane View Post
    Has the issue with very large individual characters being partially filled with random garbage already been fixed?
    This is the first time I've heard of it so.... Maybe not?

  4. #4

  5. #5
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2012
    Location: Seattle
    For the specific case of drawing custom HUDs, at least, there's now an DarkOverlay script service (and, for Shock, ShockOverlay) in NewDark that looks even more featureful than the original Shock facilities. Custom scripting is required, but there's a working demo in new_dark.zip.

    Edit: Got a chance to test the new version, and it's working great on my existing font images.
    Last edited by kdau; 20th Apr 2013 at 17:51.

  6. #6
    ZylonBane
    Registered: Sep 2000
    Location: ZylonBane
    Rise from your grave!

    I just noticed that when I convert any of the original SS2 fonts to a BMP, then back to a FON file, the resulting file is slightly smaller than the original. Converting the new FON back to a BMP revealed that the last row of glyphs had been dropped.



    Anyone else had this issue?

  7. #7
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    apart from the process of editing and converting being generally horrible and prone to corruption, forcing me to copy and paste parts of the edited bmp that wouldn't convert properly into those that would, no, I don't think I had this.

    my (CZ translation) final, ready to convert mainfont.bmp looks quite different though (no empty fields that could get cropped off at the end);



    the base file I've used was downloaded from here.


    anyway, if I never have to work with this ever again, it'll still be too soon.
    Last edited by voodoo47; 21st Jun 2020 at 05:39.

  8. #8
    Member
    Registered: Nov 2013
    Vodoo47 are you from Czech republik?

  9. #9
    ZylonBane
    Registered: Sep 2000
    Location: ZylonBane
    I think I've figured it out. In the original Thief Font Converter, the character code for the first glyph defaulted to 0. But in versions 1.1 onward, this default was changed to 32. I assume this option controls the glyph indexes assigned internally in FON files, but apparently the Dark Engine doesn't even use them, because fonts converted with 1.1 onward still work fine even when they start with 32 blank glyphs, as all Thief/SS2 fonts do. I have no explanation for why this option would strip off glyphs from the end of the font though. Anyway, adding "-f 0" when creating a FON file seems to fix the issue.

  10. #10
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    I should have documented all I had found out when it was still fresh in my memory, but been so happy everything was done that I forgot. ah well, I'm pretty sure life will find a way of making me chew on this particular handful of broken glass sooner orlater..

    Quote Originally Posted by szmotsu View Post
    are you from Czech republik?
    no, but I understand the language well enough to take care of the technical side of things (two other people were involved, one of them very skilled/pro with CZ grammar).

  11. #11
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2001
    Location: Virginia, USA
    Quote Originally Posted by ZylonBane View Post
    I have no explanation for why this option would strip off glyphs from the end of the font though.
    Because there can't be more than 256 glyphs. If you start counting at 32 the would be numbered 257. The -f option was added so you could draw bitmaps without 32 blank spaces at the beginning.

  12. #12
    ZylonBane
    Registered: Sep 2000
    Location: ZylonBane
    Makes sense, thanks. It defaulting to 32 makes it a minor nuisance to work with the vanilla fonts though.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •