TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 51 to 59 of 59

Thread: NOW you tell me!

  1. #51
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2002
    Location: College Place, WA
    All the DromEd basic menu options are explained in the .\docs\DromEd Basic Menus Explained.rtf. You might find something useful or interesting in there you might want to add to your own menus.

  2. #52
    Member
    Registered: May 2002
    Location: Toronto
    load_group_ex is a new dark thing though right? . . . I haven't been roughing it all these years with load_group for no reason have I?

  3. #53
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2002
    Location: College Place, WA
    Yeah, it's Newdark only.

  4. #54
    Member
    Registered: Apr 2011
    Quote Originally Posted by qolelis View Post
    There's a new view mode in the 3D view called "solid + all wireframe". Apart from the obvious, it will also show any drawn links in the 3D view - which the old wireframe mode also does, but the new mode has the advantage of being able to view only the wireframes for the visible terrain by you issuing the command toggle_wire_zbuffer 1 (without it, the new mode won't be as useful, so I added it to my start up file to make it always on).
    Well, you've made my day. This is pretty handy for doing architecture! Portalised geometry is all visible, and I can see in wireframe the brushes I'm working on that I haven't yet portalised. But without all the wireframe clutter from stuff behind walls. Just brilliant.


  5. #55
    Member
    Registered: Feb 2003
    I'm glad to be of service, and good luck with your mission!

    As for me, I haven't touched DromEd in three years now.

  6. #56
    Member
    Registered: Apr 2011
    I have at last (many months after starting to use Dromed) got the grid and Dromed Basic's numpad move/scale tamed! It'd been bugging me for a long time that the numpad commands (which I use most of the time) used a different scale than the grid (which applies when I move/scale brushes in the 2d views), and that I had to use the mouse to change the grid, but < and > to change the numpad scale, which also zoomed annoyingly. But I'd just kept working around their quirks as best as I can. Now I have them under control!

    Effectively there's only one scale now, which adjusts the grid and the numpad scale in sync. I press < to reduce the scale, and > to increase the scale. Neither key affects the zoom of the 2d views at all. As long as I don't touch the grid size in the GFH, they remain in sync, and I have the same grid scale applied whether I shift/ctrl+drag in the 2d views or use the numpad/ctrl+numpad to nudge my brushes.

    I did this with two new .cmd files:

    Code:
    ; ./Cmds/GridUp.cmd
    global_scale 1
    zoom_all 0.5
    grid_scale 2.0
    Code:
    ; ./Cmds/GridDown.cmd
    global_scale 0
    zoom_all 2.0
    grid_scale 0.5
    And corresponding binds:

    Code:
    edit bind < "run .\cmds\GridDown.cmd"
    edit bind > "run .\cmds\GridUp.cmd"
    To make sure that both scales start in sync, I added this to ./Cmds/StartUp.cmd:
    Code:
    ; start with grid scale 13
    grid_abs_scale 0.5
    And finally, I had for a while had "translate_by_grid" set in Dromed.cfg so that numpad translation (but sadly not scale) respected the visible grid, but with these new settings it's probably redundant, so I've turned it off again.

    I am now a much happier builder!

  7. #57
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2018
    Location: Melbourne, Australia
    Instead of manually finding and correcting Joint Positions for locked doorhandles on unlocked door, the command fix_my_locks does it automatically.
    EDIT: sadly, this command is actually much less reliable than it first appears, and depends on the status of a few other properties that are harder to track down. It is usually better just to manually adjust Joint Position degrees.
    Last edited by DirkBogan; 10th Dec 2019 at 00:56.

  8. #58
    Desperately Dodgy Moderator
    Registered: Nov 2001
    Location: Dragonsreach
    Great find, DB! I am so happy to learn of that command!

  9. #59
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2018
    Location: Melbourne, Australia
    "show_sounds"
    this toggles blue circles at the source of all sounds audible to the player.
    Very useful for visually identifying how far the radius of an ambient actually extends in-game, and tracking down bad sound propagation through walls.

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •