TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Page 4 of 13 FirstFirst 123456789 ... LastLast
Results 76 to 100 of 301

Thread: Thief 3 Gold - Public beta test (TDS Spoilers ahead, obviously!)

  1. #76
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007
    No worries... As far as my own testing goes it's turned out OK - hopefully the first beta won't prove me wrong.

  2. #77
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2006
    Location: Deutschland
    As a side note: If the developer comments on the trigger script elements are correct, the vintage vine loot reward when being nice to the widow would only appear if you brought her all three bottles from the kitchen. The reason is that the script which takes note of the player bringing her wine should only fire if all linked objects (i.e. the three bottles from the kitchen) are in her rotunda at the end of the mission. I don't know if this was the reason for the reward not appearing in my latest tests, but I've changed the script to work differently and hopefully it works when I do another test tonight.

    Edit: Aaaand it's on its way!
    Last edited by Beleg Cúthalion; 26th Jul 2014 at 17:24.

  3. #78
    Member
    Registered: Jan 2004
    Location: Prince Edward Island, Canada
    Quote Originally Posted by snobel View Post
    No worries... As far as my own testing goes it's turned out OK - hopefully the first beta won't prove me wrong.
    Let me know. I'll gladly test it out.

  4. #79
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2006
    Location: Berghem Haven
    Quote Originally Posted by New Horizon View Post
    Lovely
    Me
    Want
    That
    NOW!


  5. #80
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2006
    Location: Deutschland
    Version 1.0 is ready. Grab it here: http://www.ttlg.com/forums/showthread.php?t=143659

  6. #81
    Member
    Registered: Jan 2004
    Location: Prince Edward Island, Canada
    Quote Originally Posted by Beleg Cúthalion View Post
    Version 1.0 is ready. Grab it here: http://www.ttlg.com/forums/showthread.php?t=143659
    I'm confused. We were just talking about the tweaker that snobel posted, does this link contain the tweaker or just the missions by themselves?

  7. #82
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007
    There's no tweaker with this FM version. The upcoming 'fat' version of the SU will contain both T3G (possibly v1.1) and the tweaker.

  8. #83
    bikerdude
    Guest

    T3G rev 1.0

    Has anyone else been experiencing the jump/glide/freeze bug? so many time I will go to jump on something to mantle up but then Garret will then go into glide mode. I dont remember the vanilla game doing it as much.

  9. #84
    bikerdude
    Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by bikerdude View Post
    Has anyone else been experiencing the jump/glide/freeze bug? so many time I will go to jump on something to mantle up but then Garret will then go into glide mode. I dont remember the vanilla game doing it as much.
    Ok, it has been long time since I played this mission and forgot about turning of vsync, problem solved.

  10. #85
    Member
    Registered: Mar 2005
    Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA

    getting a t3 crash

    Well I was greatly hoping I could play this, but for some reason I get a t3main.exe appcrash duing the first lever (after the training mission).

    Basically I did this:

    installed t3 from my 3 cds
    installed v1.1 patch
    installed SneaksyUpgrade (Which I now realize i didn't need to install v1.1. patch)
    Replaced t3.exe with t3.exe from T3Ed pack
    extracted t3gold into "Installed FMs"

    Run t3 Fan-mission. playing game. After training mission - crash.

    Anyone else have this issue, and Know what I can do for this?

    EDIT: if it helps I am running W7 64bit, with an AMD Radeon R9 200 series GPU
    Last edited by z-vap; 9th Aug 2014 at 19:22. Reason: added specs

  11. #86
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007
    Quote Originally Posted by z-vap View Post
    extracted t3gold into "Installed FMs"
    That won't work. You have to use the FMSel loader frontend, which will restore a lot of resources from the original maps:

    • Delete everything in the Installed FMs folder
    • Start FMSel through the cyan desktop icon
    • A dialog will ask for the FM archive path. Browse to the t3gold_1.0.7z file and select it
    • The FMSel window should now show T3 Gold in the list
    • To start the mission, select it in the list and click Play FM
    • On the first launch it will show "Preparing FM..." for a long time, that is normal

    @Beleg: Maybe these instructions should be added to the first post of the release thread? Someone on the TDM forum had similar problems.
    Last edited by snobel; 10th Aug 2014 at 02:12.

  12. #87
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2006
    Location: Deutschland
    I can add that to the release thread, but I feel a bit clueless when the note to run it as a normal FM via FMSel doesn't bring people to use FMSel (which, even without reading the documentation, should be pretty much self-explanatory) to play it.

  13. #88
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007
    Yeah - but I guess you're reaching an audience which has no prior experience with fanmissions.

    If you're going to add the instructions, better replace the "delete everything" line with a "DO NOT extract the archive manually!" warning.

  14. #89
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2006
    Location: Deutschland
    Alright now? I hope this helps for the time being, the big version of SU hopefully makes thing more user-friendly.

  15. #90
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007
    That should do it, hopefully.

  16. #91
    Member
    Registered: Mar 2005
    Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA
    thanks guys. One of these solutions should work for me (this or the SneakyOptions.ini edit).

  17. #92
    Member
    Registered: Jun 2003
    Found a conversation bug. At the Seaside Mansion, there is a female servant in the downstairs dining room next to the kitchen. She quipped the following speech, which is also spoken by the Widow Moira, and presumably only intended for the widow:

    You'll never believe it, Robert, the servants have had the impertinence to refuse me a glass of wine. No, not even my Ginny! (Hushed, conspiratorially) Robert, could you get a glass for yourself, and then I'll have a sip. Then, you see, I might sleep. I am so weary, my darling....
    Also, I have a question about the Widow Moira fix for Expert difficulty. Before starting the mission on Expert (That is, having saved in the docks after the Abysmal Gale), I quit the game and applied the loot fix to the Inst.txt, modifying the 3rd line to look like this:

    SEA_T3G_LootFix 0 1 1 20
    But I still could not finish the mission, loot counter only got to 88% (100% if I loot her inheritance, so I didn't miss any loot). Does this fix need to be applied before starting a new game in order to work?

  18. #93
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2006
    Location: Deutschland
    Thanks for the hint about the servant doing the speech, this finally made me find the bug that other people had reported before: Two bark points from the widow (outdated ones even since her idle speeches are now done with scripts) were linked to her patrol path because they looked so close in the top down view window. I've deleted the links, this should do the trick.

    I have to test the loot fix later myself. The script reads the integer value on the first start of the map (even by loading a savegame, theoretically), so it might work even after starting the mission. It isn't triggered twice, though. You changed the value in ...\ProgramData\Thief 3 Sneaky Upgrade\Installed FMs\T3Gold_1_0\CONTENT\T3\Flags, I presume?

  19. #94
    Member
    Registered: Jun 2003
    Quote Originally Posted by Beleg Cúthalion View Post
    You changed the value in ...\ProgramData\Thief 3 Sneaky Upgrade\Installed FMs\T3Gold_1_0\CONTENT\T3\Flags, I presume?
    On my system the path is G:\Thief 3 - Deadly Shadows\FMs\Thief_3_Gold_(v1_0)\CONTENT\T3\Flags but that's where I changed the value, yeah.

    It's been a lot of fun playing the game again, rediscovering all the loot and listening to the conversations. Gonna continue the playthrough later tonight

  20. #95
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2006
    Location: Deutschland
    Just to make sure: When you have the mission installed via FMSel, the actual extracted FM files should be in the ProgramData (not programs!)\T3SneakyUpgrade-something\... folder if I'm not mistaken. It probably won't work if you change the file in the archive itself (your path looks like a directory where you store the FM zip/7z files, that's why I mention it). Maybe snobel knows what's up.

    But in any case: Have fun with the game!

  21. #96
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007
    The path in ProgramData is the default, but the SU installer has an option to select a custom path for FM installation. That's probably the case here.

    Beleg, what about the enforcers? I guess you have to set those ints before going into Old Quarter for the first time but can they be changed later?

  22. #97
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2006
    Location: Deutschland
    The invisibility script fires every second if all requirements are met, the telepathy script only upon player contact. Both can and will fire more than once. I'm trying the Mansion out now, stay tuned...

  23. #98
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007
    I did some experiments with the enforcers just now - apparently it's the first value on the line that should be changed, not the third?!

  24. #99
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2006
    Location: Deutschland
    Yep, that seems to be the case. Well, still less embarrassing than the scripts themselves not working at all, that's what I feared last night. I am going to prepare a hotfix for the Seaside Mansion, though, there was a shadow casting thing at the entrance and I've re-written the lootfix script, too. I've also changed the instructions in the first post in ThiefGen, could you please add them in the proper read-me file once you have the altered files?

  25. #100
    Member
    Registered: Jun 1999
    Location: Procrastination, Australia
    I've been tearing through this fairly quick as a bit of a refresher. It's amazing how much better everything feels because of this change.

    I did see a couple of bugs or oddities. They might be known or fairly common in the normal game too, but here goes.

    -In Rutherford Castle, Lord Ember didn't come out and have that conversation about shifts with the guard on the walkway before going back to his room. I don't know if it happened earlier before I got there or never triggered, or only happens when you approach a certain direction.

    - Heartless Perry still greeted me with warnings and talk of being worked over by Lady Elizabeth on day 2 after I had finished one of the keeper missions and all that was long over.

Page 4 of 13 FirstFirst 123456789 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •