TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Page 7 of 13 FirstFirst ... 23456789101112 ... LastLast
Results 151 to 175 of 301

Thread: Thief 3 Gold - Public beta test (TDS Spoilers ahead, obviously!)

  1. #151
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007
    Let's hope it's that simple. I'll have a look at adding an install integrity checking function to the tweaker, it could be handy some times.

    Do you have an ETA on the next T3G update?

  2. #152
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2006
    Location: Deutschland
    I've fixed all reported bugs as far as possible, so unless I tackle the Inn mission now, things are done. Oh, and the briefing videos, which isn't hard, it just makes sense only when the material is there. I'll try fiddling with the triggering of the Inn briefing video first.

  3. #153
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007
    OK, thanks. Sounds like I should be dusting off the tweaker and the 'fat' installer, then...

  4. #154
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2002
    Location: College Place, WA
    Awesome! I can't wait to get a hold of it. =) I've been holding off doing more testing until the next build is released.

  5. #155
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2006
    Location: Deutschland
    Apparently using scripts in the Entry map doesn't work, so that option's out for squeezing in a pre-Inn mission briefing video. I'll see if there is anything else I can do, if not it's the workaround for us. I'll try some work on the Inn afterwards while snobel's busy with the tweaker.

    Edit: Messing with the info actors in the Inn map didn't help, either. In fact even a script that was supposed to fire the bik file at start-up didn't work. I'm still convinced that I can have it play at the start of the map but that wouldn't be the ideal solution either. I'm not sure if it's worth adding a fake map before the Inn mission whose sole purpose is to play the briefing video. It could probably be done but I cannot predict if this causes some havoc regarding the game day progression or something else.
    Last edited by Beleg Cúthalion; 9th Oct 2014 at 15:50.

  6. #156
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2006
    Location: Deutschland
    Small update: snobel has now all updated maps for testing. I fear I won't manage to fix the Inn map before the next Sneaky Upgrade version is out (just too much to do at work), but it's right there on my list.

  7. #157
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2002
    Location: College Place, WA
    Are you testing the maps internally, or is there a link you could provide so I could have a look?

  8. #158
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007
    A 'fat' beta containing T3G 1.1, MP, John P and the tweak tool will be available soon - Sunday most likely.

  9. #159
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2006
    Location: Deutschland
    Sounds great. Now there was this thing about adding briefing videos... oops, it might be that either the Pagan or Hammerite intro mission trigger a bik video once you frob the glyph leading to the missions. I'm afraid I didn't take this out again.

  10. #160
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007
    If the corresponding video file is not found, then it's just silently ignored, isn't it? If so, then there's no harm in leaving it in.

  11. #161
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2006
    Location: Deutschland
    It's one of the video files which are present in TDS anyway, so it will show up. I might take it out unless we get a bunch of brand new briefing videos before late.

  12. #162
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007
    Ah, OK. Would probably be better to use the intended final names in the maps and make copies of stock videos under those names for testing. That way the videos could be added in later.

  13. #163
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007
    The fat beta is here, including T3G 1.1 alpha prepared for briefing videos... Note that by default all three mods will be installed but not activated - you can activate them either in the installer or in the SneakyTweaker tool afterwards. As stated elsewhere the installer will verify the integrity of the T3G map files after filling in the stock resources - if you get an error about this you'll probably need to reinstall the game.

    More systematic testing is needed, but for the purpose of further T3G testing it should be OK. Enabling John P's textures and/or the Minimalist Project should not influence T3G testing, but if you find bugs it's better to check that they can be reproduced with the other two mods switched off, just to be sure.

    Apart from the inclusion of mods and the SneakyTweaker tool there's not much new stuff here - the SU has gained an IntroMovie tweak, which was needed for T3G, and T3 specific FM preparation has moved from FMSel to the game, which is why you'll see a "Preparing FM..." message on the loading screen sometimes. Some options have been removed from the installer, now that the tweaker can be used to set them up. The SU readme file hasn't been updated yet.

    Having T3G set up as a mod by the installer instead of playing it as an FM means there's some minor changes: You enable it in SneakyTweaker and launch it using the normal (yellow) icon. Savegames go into a "SaveGames-Gold" folder next to the normal "SaveGames" for the original game - i.e. not into a subfolder of the mod, as is the case for FMs.

    If you try this out and find weirdness, please report it. If you try this out and don't find weirdness, please report that too...
    Last edited by snobel; 28th Nov 2014 at 09:06. Reason: Changed T3G to 'alpha' to avoid confusion with the final fat SU 1.1.4

  14. #164
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2006
    Location: Berghem Haven
    Quote Originally Posted by snobel View Post
    If you try this out and find weirdness, please report it. If you try this out and don't find weirdness, please report that too...
    Aye aye, sir!

  15. #165
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007

  16. #166
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2006
    Location: Berghem Haven
    Question!

    Can you explain in detail how your mouse fixes work? Thanks!
    Why not simply expose the "MouseSensitivity" entry in default.ini?
    Last edited by lowenz; 28th Oct 2014 at 12:30.

  17. #167
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2006
    Location: Berghem Haven
    Ah, good news!

    Thief DS + Sneaky Upgrade FAT is perfectly working with NVidia DSR @3840x2160 resolution
    And the HUD correctly scales too!


  18. #168
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007
    Quote Originally Posted by lowenz View Post
    Can you explain in detail how your mouse fixes work? Thanks!
    Why not simply expose the "MouseSensitivity" entry in default.ini?
    It's not for sensivity but responsiveness. It's equivalent to sticking this...

    Code:
    [Flesh]
    DynVPScale=3000
    DynVPMinRotationRate=3000
    MouseLagThreshold=0
    ...in user.ini. I think it came from the tweaks thread, or maybe it's one of the MP features I made into a general tweak.

    Quote Originally Posted by lowenz View Post
    Thief DS + Sneaky Upgrade FAT is perfectly working with NVidia DSR @3840x2160 resolution
    And the HUD correctly scales too!
    That's good to know. If you can run it smoothly at that resolution, then I envy you your graphics card.

  19. #169
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2006
    Location: Berghem Haven
    Quote Originally Posted by snobel View Post
    then I envy you your graphics card.
    It's a simple GeForce 750ti!

  20. #170
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007
    I'm laptop-only these days - and apparently out of touch with what desktop cards can do.

  21. #171
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2006
    Location: Berghem Haven
    Found 2 little problems!

    *Can't set to "0" the frame rate limiter (minimum is 10), to disable it.
    *In-game V-Sync option no more working :| (neither forcing it in NVCP!)

    EDIT: on a Window 8.1 PC, I'll try on a Windows 7 PC.
    Last edited by lowenz; 29th Oct 2014 at 08:47.

  22. #172
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2006
    Location: Berghem Haven
    Quote Originally Posted by lowenz View Post
    *In-game V-Sync option no more working :| (neither forcing it in NVCP!)

    EDIT: on a Window 8.1 PC, I'll try on a Windows 7 PC.
    Confirmed, the problem is Win8.1 related.
    Damn.

  23. #173
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007
    Quote Originally Posted by lowenz View Post
    *Can't set to "0" the frame rate limiter (minimum is 10), to disable it.
    Oops - fixed, thanks!

    *In-game V-Sync option no more working :| (neither forcing it in NVCP!)
    EDIT: on a Window 8.1 PC, I'll try on a Windows 7 PC.
    It's working for me, on both the Intel and Nvidia side of my laptop - running Win8.1. But I've had a similar issue at one point, I think it was with the GOG version, which set the game to run as administrator or similar. Are you sure you're not running in a compatibility mode, or as administrator?

  24. #174
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2006
    Location: Berghem Haven
    Quote Originally Posted by snobel View Post
    Oops - fixed, thanks!


    It's working for me, on both the Intel and Nvidia side of my laptop - running Win8.1. But I've had a similar issue at one point, I think it was with the GOG version, which set the game to run as administrator or similar. Are you sure you're not running in a compatibility mode, or as administrator?
    Oh my Garrett.
    It's really the WinXP SP2 compatibility option the cause.....WHY? :|
    Last edited by lowenz; 29th Oct 2014 at 14:53.

  25. #175
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007
    No idea, but it's fascinating how much trouble those 'compatibility' modes are on Win8.x - brightness not working, spurious windowed mode, broken vsync...

Page 7 of 13 FirstFirst ... 23456789101112 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •