TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Page 7 of 17 FirstFirst ... 23456789101112 ... LastLast
Results 151 to 175 of 425

Thread: T2 Campaign - Keeper of Infinity 2: Mission 1 - Bad Venture (6 Jan 2016)

  1. #151
    Member
    Registered: Apr 2013
    Location: Ten, USA
    csamba for your 'deal with that Mage objective look at posts #114 and #123

  2. #152
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2005
    Location: Planet Earth, mostly Hungary
    Quote Originally Posted by llanita View Post
    csamba for your 'deal with that Mage objective look at posts #114 and #123
    Thank you llanita - I was in that room a long time ago, grabbed the notes out of the bottom of His Majesty the Floating Stone, read them (otherwise I could not have left the room) - so why the heck didn't that objective check? Another mystery...

  3. #153
    Member
    Registered: Mar 2004
    Location: Cape Breton Nova Scotia Canada
    I have messed with the install of the mission a few times now. I just did a full game install, tafferpatcher & 1.23 and I keep getting running interference on first load with FMsel.
    Am I missing something? Please help

  4. #154
    Member
    Registered: Apr 2013
    Location: Ten, USA
    Ravenus1 have you tried asking in Tech support? I wish I could help but I'm dumb as a box of rocks when it comes to tech savvy,.

  5. #155
    Member
    Registered: Mar 2004
    Location: Cape Breton Nova Scotia Canada
    Quote Originally Posted by llanita View Post
    Ravenus1 have you tried asking in Tech support? I wish I could help but I'm dumb as a box of rocks when it comes to tech savvy,.
    I honestly don't consider myself new to fixing problems like this. But I've tried clean installs, darkloader, fmsel. All other missions load no issue, including the original Bad Venture. I'm dumb founded.

  6. #156
    Member
    Registered: May 2008
    Location: Southern,California
    i need some help after i get wand in first mission,do i go backup if so how,also if i go lower it asks for a pickaxe,where is that in mission 1?

  7. #157
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2004
    Location: Germany
    Quote Originally Posted by Firehawk View Post
    The Inn with the spider only opens if you complete the mission from Jonas to put the crystal in the elemental.
    I think you read the book from Thereon before you get that mission with the crystal. [...]
    Only if you complete this Quest with the crystal and give it to Jonas you can go to Thereons room.
    Confirmed. If you enter Thereon's room before finishing Jonas' job with a crystal, fulfilling the objective to check out the "House of Science", you cannot leave it again until you have read Thereon's notes. If you read his notes, though, Jonas vanishes, and you can never do that crystal job anymore. Unfortunately, this is the only way to trigger opening the way into the "Clean & Cozy Inn", which is needed to finish another objective.

    Thank you for finding it out, Firehawk!


    @downwinder: Yes, you need to get back up after picking up "Farages" (Faraj's?) staff. You will find that pick-axe some time later, I've been told. You need to get into another part of town first. In there, you should find the axe in the "Stumbled Traveler" inn, somewhere around a man who has an eyepatch (covering a lost eye).
    Last edited by baeuchlein; 10th Jan 2016 at 01:52. Reason: About that pick-axe...

  8. #158
    New Member
    Registered: Oct 2010
    I'm stuck, can anyone tell me how to get out from the wine cellar. Can't climb back the ventilation shaft. Thanks!

    PS: One of the best fan mission I ever played.

  9. #159
    Member
    Registered: Jun 2011
    Location: ���&#5671
    Quote Originally Posted by caltus View Post
    I'm stuck, can anyone tell me how to get out from the wine cellar. Can't climb back the ventilation shaft. Thanks!

    PS: One of the best fan mission I ever played.
    Well... The only exit is the ventilation shaft. Maybe you don't have newmantle activated ?

  10. #160
    Member
    Registered: Jun 2001
    Location: Alabama
    In case this happens to anybody else:

    I installed V1.2 using FMSel. My old rig runs T2 FM's flawlessly, usually. What loads is the interface of the new FM but I got "Running Interference," with some re-textured barrels and doors!

    My specs: (Yes, I know this FM calls for

    Intel Core i5-4570 CPU 3.20 GHz, 8,00 Gb RAM, GeForce GTX 660.)

    NVIDIA GeForce 9600 GSO 512MB
    Board: Intel Corporation DG33FB
    3.00 gigahertz Intel Core2 Duo E8400
    64 kilobyte primary memory cache
    6144 kilobyte secondary memory cache
    64-bit ready
    Multi-core (2 total)
    Not hyper-threaded
    Bus Clock: 333 megahertz
    2038 Megabytes Usable Installed Memory
    WDC WD1003FZEX-00MK2A0 [Hard drive] (1000.20 GB)
    Windows XP Professional Service Pack 3

    avast! Antivirus Version 5.0.167970993 (which I left ON)
    Virus Definitions Version Up To Date
    Realtime File Scanning On

    I must also confess that I usually pipe in some streaming radio or some VLC audio, which never poses any problems.

    I tried the Lite version overwrite, same thing. The last FM I replayed was Darkstone Gem chapter 1, which ran perfectly.

    Last edited by Brooklyn; 10th Jan 2016 at 08:22.

  11. #161
    Member
    Registered: Jun 2011
    Location: ���&#5671
    Brooklyn -> Soul_tear forgot to put the missflag in the new version; just create one yourself in the folder "string"

  12. #162
    Moderator
    Registered: Apr 2003
    Location: Wales
    Quote Originally Posted by Squadarofl View Post
    Brooklyn -> Soul_tear forgot to put the missflag in the new version; just create one yourself in the folder "string"
    This got the mission launched for me but as soon as I click on Continue, I get Running Interference again.

  13. #163
    Member
    Registered: Jun 2001
    Location: Alabama
    Quote Originally Posted by Squadarofl View Post
    Brooklyn -> Soul_tear forgot to put the missflag in the new version; just create one yourself in the folder "string"
    In patchedres/strings I have missflag.str but the filedate is the year 2000 - other than that, I don't know what I'm talking about!

  14. #164
    Member
    Registered: Jun 2011
    Location: ���&#5671
    Quote Originally Posted by nickie View Post
    This got the mission launched for me but as soon as I click on Continue, I get Running Interference again.
    You need to enter "Miss(x) : "skip" until Miss21, where you put "No_loadout" and then for Miss22 "no_loadout,end" (It's somewhat a cheat since you'll have pickaxe right at the beginning, but I never managed to make the loadout screen to work )

    Anyway, I'm very curious about how you can successfully ghost the wine cellar without knocking anyone in expert. The only good thing I found is to lock the guards

  15. #165
    New Member
    Registered: Oct 2010
    thank you, Squadarofl.
    Is now time to met raven's nest.

  16. #166
    Member
    Registered: Jun 2001
    Location: Alabama
    Here's mine, but like I said, its in patchedres/strings - I have no string folder...!

    // Valid mission flags
    //
    // skip This mission doesn't exist; it should be skipped.
    // no_briefing Skip the briefing movie
    // no_loadout Skip the loadout
    // cutscene Play a cutscene immediately afterward
    // end End the game when this mission is completed
    //

    miss_1: "no_loadout"
    miss_2: ""
    miss_3: "skip"
    miss_4: ""
    miss_5: "no_loadout,cutscene"
    miss_6: ""
    miss_7: ""
    miss_8: ""
    miss_9: ""
    miss_10: "no_loadout"
    miss_11: ""
    miss_12: ""
    miss_13: ""
    miss_14: ""
    miss_15: "no_loadout"
    miss_16: "cutscene,end"

    //Bank->Blackmail
    miss_7_next: "9"
    //Blackmail->Courier
    miss_9_next: "8"
    //Courier->Viki's Realm
    miss_8_next: "10"
    //Unwelcome Guest -> Precious Cargo
    miss_11_next: "14"
    //Kidnap->Casing
    miss_15_next: "12"
    //Masks->Endgame
    miss_13_next: "16"

    //we will want something like this
    //(see drkmislp.c)
    //please remove this comment when you actually put it in.
    miss_10_endmovie: "cs10"

    WAIT A SEC - THIS IS FOR THIEF GOLD - I don't even have it installed !
    Last edited by Brooklyn; 10th Jan 2016 at 09:07.

  17. #167
    Member
    Registered: Jun 2011
    Location: ���&#5671
    Create the string folder then, where's the problem

  18. #168
    Member
    Registered: Jun 2001
    Location: Alabama
    Quote Originally Posted by Squadarofl View Post
    Create the string folder then, where's the problem
    The only real hacking I do is from cheap cigarettes - do I put the created string folder in the main T2 or in some sub-directory, and is the missflag.str file I posted good to go? It doesn't look it!

  19. #169
    Member
    Registered: Jun 2011
    Location: ���&#5671
    Alright, I mislead you - didn't saw you used FMsel, sorry.

    Go in the directory with all the fan missions you installed with FMsel and search for the folder "string", then put a copy of a missflag.str you modified with the instruction I've given above

  20. #170
    Member
    Registered: Jun 2001
    Location: Alabama
    OK I found it: C:\Thief2\FMs\KeeperOfInfinity2_v1_2ENG\Strings

    Please - it would be a whole lot easier if you posted the contents of your missflag.str

    Thanks in advance!

  21. #171
    Member
    Registered: Jun 2006
    Location: Italy
    I've watched both Fen Phoenix and soul tear videos, in neither there is a no ko guard with lantern in the cellar where you have to crack the safe openWhy???? I'm playing on Garrett and cannot get past that point

  22. #172
    Member
    Registered: Jun 2001
    Location: Alabama
    OK I found it: C:\Thief2\FMs\KeeperOfInfinity2_v1_2ENG\Strings

    I pulled the file from another FM and modified it thus:

    // Valid mission flags
    //
    // skip This mission doesn't exist; it should be skipped.
    // no_briefing Skip the briefing movie
    // no_loadout Skip the loadout
    // cutscene Play a cutscene immediately afterward
    // end End the game when this mission is completed
    //

    miss_1: "skip"
    miss_2: "skip"
    miss_3: "skip"
    miss_4: "skip"
    miss_5: "skip"
    miss_6: "skip"
    miss_7: "skip"
    miss_8: "skip"
    miss_9: "skip"
    miss_10: "skip"
    miss_11: "skip"
    miss_12: "skip"
    miss_13: "skip"
    miss_14: "skip"
    miss_15: "skip"
    miss_16: "skip"
    miss_17: "skip"
    miss_18: "skip"
    miss_19: "skip"
    miss_20: "skip"
    miss_21: "no_loadout"
    miss_22: "no_loadout,end"

    Now, let me see if it works out! Thanks! UPDATE All is Swell...!
    Last edited by Brooklyn; 10th Jan 2016 at 09:23.

  23. #173
    Member
    Registered: Jun 2011
    Location: ���&#5671
    Brooklyn :

    This is pretty basic dromed stuff, but here you go:

    miss_1: "skip"
    miss_2: "skip"
    miss_3: "skip"
    miss_4: "skip"
    miss_5: "skip"
    miss_6: "skip"
    miss_7: "skip"
    miss_8: "skip"
    miss_9: "skip"
    miss_10: "skip"
    miss_11: "skip"
    miss_12: "skip"
    miss_13: "skip"
    miss_14: "skip"
    miss_15: "skip"
    miss_16: "skip"
    miss_17 : "skip"
    miss_18 : "skip"
    miss_19 : "skip"
    miss_20 : "skip"
    miss_21 "no loadout"
    miss_22 "no loadout,end"


    Quote Originally Posted by maga View Post
    I've watched both Fen Phoenix and soul tear videos, in neither there is a no ko guard with lantern in the cellar where you have to crack the safe openWhy???? I'm playing on Garrett and cannot get past that point
    With a little imagination and skills, you can ghost the way into the utility room, grab the key, loot the fine wine aera and lure all guards to lock them up

    I repost my questions here, in case someone found his way to the second mission.

    Quote Originally Posted by Squadarofl View Post
    Ok, I'm stuck again and back for more questions

    How can I access the inn ? So far I've only looted several optional apartments and found the precursor dagger

    How can I have some new tools ? I've broke my crowbar and Garrett said something about new lockpicks, but Flik, Manu or whatever their names doesn't do anything.

    Am I supposed to throw gas arrows at the guards in the "To Rocksbourg" aera ?

    How can I help the poor mage ?

    Is there something to do in the alternate dimension ? Beside avoiding backtracking with the teleport glyph ?

  24. #174
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2008
    Location: UK
    Quote Originally Posted by Squadarofl View Post
    I repost my questions here, in case someone found his way to the second mission......
    I can't help at the moment I am afraid as I am stuck earlier - I can't obtain the hacksaw from Flik. Any ideas?

    Edit: Just try frobbing the hacksaw itself
    Last edited by Sagittal; 10th Jan 2016 at 18:13.

  25. #175
    Member
    Registered: Mar 2012
    Location: Moscow, Russia
    Quote Originally Posted by downwinder View Post
    it crashed both darkloader and fmselect after picking difficulty ,here is what it said Problem signature:
    Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
    Application Name: THIEF2.EXE
    Application Version: 1.9.0.0
    Application Timestamp: 55758279
    Fault Module Name: THIEF2.EXE
    Fault Module Version: 1.9.0.0
    Fault Module Timestamp: 55758279
    Exception Code: c0000005
    Exception Offset: 00042bdc
    OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.768.3
    Locale ID: 1033
    Additional Information 1: 0a9e
    Additional Information 2: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789
    Additional Information 3: 0a9e
    Additional Information 4: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789



    it was the lite version,as i know i wont be able to run other one
    downwinder, I'm not sure, but try to use EnableLAA.exe from NewDark zip.

Page 7 of 17 FirstFirst ... 23456789101112 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •