TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Level Skipping

  1. #1
    New Member
    Registered: Nov 2003

    Level Skipping

    Can anyone help me to get ctrl+alt+shift+end to work in win 10

  2. #2
    Dóttirin klęšist oft móšur möttli
    Registered: Apr 2015
    Which game and version?

  3. #3
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2008
    Location: Deutschland/Germany

    Level Skipping

    What a coincidence! I actually have the same problem with the T1 FM "Golden Book", I'm stuck without those taffing keys and want to skip into the 2nd mission.

    For me ctrl+alt+shift+end works fine in T2 but not in T1.
    My FM campaigns Garrett's Young Years XTra, Reunion With Basso
    Want your upcoming FM translated in foreign languages?

  4. #4
    Dóttirin klęšist oft móšur möttli
    Registered: Apr 2015
    Level skip was introduced in T1/1.33 Patch/TG.
    But it doesn't work without the bindings

    put this line
    bind end+alt+ctrl+shift win_mission
    in dark.bnd or user/default.bnd

  5. #5
    New Member
    Registered: Oct 2002
    Location: NC, USA
    Weirdly, regardless of the binding string (which must be present as per above), I found that ctrl+alt+shift+end works for me in T1/TG, but for some reason, it works only with one of the alt keys but not the other (both keys are functional on my keyboard). Don't know if that would apply or help you at all, but it's an idiosyncrasy that solved the level skip issue for me.

  6. #6
    New Member
    Registered: Nov 2003

    Level Skipping

    Hi Thanks for your comments I have checked the key bindings are present in both dark bnd and user bnd. i then played a mission in both T1 and T2. in neither case did c.a.s.e. work. It also did not work in using either alt keys.
    I have no idea why this is happening, it used to work in both win 7 and then 10.It just stopped working sometime ago. I am using a laptop with win 10,also a desktop with win7.c.s.s.e. will not work on either. Is the problem with Windows or taffer patch TFix or has my 82 year old brain finally given up?.
    I hope someone can help me because i rely on this feature to get through some the modern multi-mission Fm's.

  7. #7
    Dóttirin klęšist oft móšur möttli
    Registered: Apr 2015
    You already have a thread for this

    If your laptop doesn't recognize the bindings for some reason, then insert some unused key bindings

    bind p win_mission
    in user.cfg also works.

  8. #8
    Desperately Dodgy Moderator
    Registered: Nov 2001
    Location: Fields of bluegrass
    I merged the two threads, please don't create duplicate threads. Have you tried the binding suggestion Unna made above?

    Quote Originally Posted by Unna Oertdottir View Post
    Level skip was introduced in T1/1.33 Patch/TG.
    But it doesn't work without the bindings

    put this line
    bind end+alt+ctrl+shift win_mission
    in dark.bnd or user/default.bnd

  9. #9
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2001
    Location: 0x0x0
    On a related note you can configure Thief to launch to a specific mission right away and hand you as much coin as you want to spend in the load out store. Copy the text below to your user.cfg file. Then remove the hash mark from the starting_mission line of the mission you want. For cash do the same for your bonus. Save file and start game. Same principle works for Thief 2


    mission_map 1,2,3,4,5,15,6,7,16,9,17,10,11,12,13,14,18

    skip_starting_checks


    /cash_bonus 2000
    /cash_bonus 1000
    /cash_bonus 3000

    /starting_mission 0
    /A Keeper's Training

    /starting_mission 1
    /Lord Bafford's Manor

    /starting_mission 2
    /Break from Cragscleft Prison

    /starting_mission 3
    /Down in the Bonehoard

    /starting_mission 4
    /Assassins

    /starting_mission 5
    /The Downwind Thieves Guild

    /starting_mission 6
    /The Sword

    /starting_mission 7
    /The Haunted Cathedral

    /starting_mission 8
    /The Mage's Towers

    /starting_mission 9
    /The Lost City

    /starting_mission 10
    /Song of the Caverns

    /starting_mission 11
    /Undercover

    /starting_mission 12
    /Return to the Cathedral

    /starting_mission 13
    /Escape!

    /starting_mission 14
    /Strange Bedfellows

    /starting_mission 15
    /Into the Maw of Chaos

    /starting_mission 16
    /Blooper Reel

  10. #10
    New Member
    Registered: Nov 2003

    Level skipping

    Hi
    thank you,c.a.s.e. now working. followed advice bind p win_mission in both user and dark bnd's. also removed existig bindings eg.ctrl+alt+shift+end these were already installed by tafferpatch i assume.
    Again many thanks to all paticularly Unna who solved it.

  11. #11
    ZylonBane
    Registered: Sep 2000
    Location: ZylonBane
    So you DIDN'T solve Ctrl-Alt-Shift-End not working, you ended up binding it to something else.

  12. #12
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2008
    Location: Deutschland/Germany

    Quote Originally Posted by Unna Oertdottir View Post
    put this line
    bind end+alt+ctrl+shift win_mission
    in dark.bnd or user/default.bnd
    This line already was in my dark.bin, it obviously had no effect in my T1 installation. But adding it to user.bin was finally successful, thanx a bunch!
    My FM campaigns Garrett's Young Years XTra, Reunion With Basso
    Want your upcoming FM translated in foreign languages?

  13. #13
    Member
    Registered: May 2002
    Location: Texas
    I was going to ask if the keyboard had bad keys. Do all of those keys work on other programs?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •