TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 58

Thread: trying to resize a safe object.

  1. #1
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2006
    Location: France (Saint-Gobain)

    trying to resize a safe object.

    Im trying to reduce the size of the safe model, but when doing it so, the door remains bigger than the safe, ive tried to edit the object in blender but then the door animation won't work . Is there an option to reduce this object using the scale settings in Dromed? if so how do i do it?

  2. #2
    Dttirin klist oft mur mttli
    Registered: Apr 2015
    Others have done this very often. No issue - if you care for proportions when reducing the size.

  3. #3
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2006
    Location: France (Saint-Gobain)
    Quote Originally Posted by Unna Oertdottir View Post
    Others have done this very often. No issue - if you care for proportions when reducing the size.
    you mean its a matter of resizing with a special technique? alright, thanks, let's see if i can make it.

  4. #4
    Dttirin klist oft mur mttli
    Registered: Apr 2015
    Resize it in DromEd as usual. But keep the proportions.

  5. #5
    I think as long as you keep the ratio of all x y and z, you're fine.

    If I may ask tho, while resizing levers, how do I adjust the distance a smaller or bigger lever passes?
    Like here

  6. #6
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2006
    Location: France (Saint-Gobain)
    I can't resize properly , i gave up and im using a footlocker instead.

  7. #7
    Dttirin klist oft mur mttli
    Registered: Apr 2015
    @Cardia: Do the maths. It's easy
    @mtk: Adjust Tweq-->Joint1CurveC: Joints-->rate-low-high. Keep the ratio or just try something.

  8. #8
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2004
    Location: Ireland/Poland
    Quote Originally Posted by Cardia View Post
    I can't resize properly , i gave up and im using a footlocker instead.
    You don't have to scale proportionally in the viewport. You should be able to find a Scale property on the object, after you re-scale it. Just type in the same number for each of the axes.

  9. #9
    Desperately Dodgy Moderator
    Registered: Nov 2001
    Location: Fields of bluegrass
    Quote Originally Posted by Unna Oertdottir View Post
    @mtk: Adjust Tweq-->Joint1CurveC: Joints-->rate-low-high. Keep the ratio or just try something.
    This. Usually low is 0, so just adjust rate and high based on the ratio you applied to the size. So if rate and high are, say, 1.0 and 0.7, and you doubled the size of the lever, try 2.0 and 1.4 for them, should be close at least as starting values.

  10. #10
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2006
    Location: France (Saint-Gobain)
    Quote Originally Posted by PinkDot View Post
    You don't have to scale proportionally in the viewport. You should be able to find a Scale property on the object, after you re-scale it. Just type in the same number for each of the axes.
    how to i access the object scale property?

  11. #11
    Member
    Registered: May 2002
    Location: Texas
    On the properties go to Shape -> Scale.

  12. #12
    ZylonBane
    Registered: Sep 2000
    Location: ZylonBane
    I swear to god, every thread it's like Cardia has only been using DromEd for a week. It boggles my mind.

  13. #13
    Member
    Registered: May 2002
    Location: Texas
    Cardia I would recommend going through all of the properties just to see what dromed has to offer. Sometimes I have to look around for some properties I haven't used in a long time, but I learn by looking and using them repeatedly.

  14. #14
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2006
    Location: France (Saint-Gobain)
    Quote Originally Posted by john9818a View Post
    On the properties go to Shape -> Scale.
    Perfect, that's what i was looking for, things work now , Thank you so much John and the others for the help provided.

    ZylonBane, after all these year there's is still many basic things i don't know about dromed.

  15. #15
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2007
    Location: LosAngeles: Between Amusements
    Don't worry Cardia, with ZB nothing and no one is safe.

  16. #16
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2006
    Location: France (Saint-Gobain)
    im used to ZB gentle interventions . John I remember exploring Dromed functions in 2006 but the scale had escaped, i realize know that this option is very useful , i used to resize manually the objects, but the scale options allows you to keep proportions balanced, i can't believe i've spent all these years ignoring this option.

  17. #17
    Member
    Registered: May 2002
    Location: Texas
    Unless this bug has been fixed, its actually better to resize objects in Anim8or because the shadows behind the object are based on the original size. Honestly I use Scale often and I don't worry too much about the size of object shadows.

  18. #18
    Member
    Registered: Jan 2001
    Location: Formby, NW England
    That bug has been fixed.

  19. #19
    Desperately Dodgy Moderator
    Registered: Nov 2001
    Location: Fields of bluegrass
    Yeah, that was fixed in an early version of NewDark, if not the first (1.19).

  20. #20
    Member
    Registered: May 2002
    Location: Texas
    ok cool.

  21. #21
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2017
    also make sure to change the dimensions so the hitbox matches the new size ;p

  22. #22
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2006
    Location: France (Saint-Gobain)
    Quote Originally Posted by Psych0sis View Post
    also make sure to change the dimensions so the hitbox matches the new size ;p
    that i already know for years, it was Sensut who taught me that , and that's also what allows you to have a shadow that corresponds the object dimensions, anyway thank you.

  23. #23
    ZylonBane
    Registered: Sep 2000
    Location: ZylonBane
    Quote Originally Posted by Cardia View Post
    that i already know for years, it was Sensut who taught me that , and that's also what allows you to have a shadow that corresponds the object dimensions,
    No, it is not. Physics dimensions have nothing to do the size of the shadow an object casts.

  24. #24
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2006
    Location: France (Saint-Gobain)
    Quote Originally Posted by ZylonBane View Post
    No, it is not. Physics dimensions have nothing to do the size of the shadow an object casts.
    Yes i know, you need to add the option of run-time shadow object or force static shadow(i use this one), unless the object itself like a statue or a tree for example has already that option activated.
    Last edited by Cardia; 23rd Feb 2019 at 03:19.

  25. #25
    ZylonBane
    Registered: Sep 2000
    Location: ZylonBane
    Wrong and wrong again. Runtime Object Shadows allows moving objects to affect your light gem; it has nothing to do with shadow generation. Force Static Shadow forces a mobile object, like a door, to cast a shadow; it has nothing to do with scaled objects.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •