TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 51 to 75 of 103

Thread: Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice

  1. #51
    Chakat sex pillow
    Registered: Sep 2006
    Location: not here
    Lady Butterfly's a proper boss, which means you get a memory after you deal with her. It makes life easier.

  2. #52
    Level 10,000 achieved
    Registered: Mar 2001
    Location: Finland

  3. #53
    Chakat sex pillow
    Registered: Sep 2006
    Location: not here
    Congratulations! She's a tough old bird isn't she. Nothing as satisfying as those Shinobi deathblows (and especially the executions).

    Now for the bad news: you've got your first actual challenge waiting for you back at Ashina Castle, at the top of a tower. I've yet to really work out that fight, and it'll be a workout, but seeing you progress is providing me some motivation to get back.

  4. #54
    Member
    Registered: May 2004
    The kick at 00:05 and 00:10 is the one I used to dodge and punish her. Good use of shuriken at 00:16. When she does that sweeping attack at 1:16, it's a good opportunity to jump on her head and do some posture damage. If you fight her enough, you'll develop a sense of her rhythm so you can start deflecting a lot of her attacks to finish the fight faster.

    When I fought her, it took me a long time also. I was completely stuck at the blazing bull and thought this was the only way to progress. But it was a cool fight, so I didn't mind.

  5. #55
    Level 10,000 achieved
    Registered: Mar 2001
    Location: Finland
    Quote Originally Posted by Sulphur View Post
    Now for the bad news: you've got your first actual challenge waiting for you back at Ashina Castle, at the top of a tower.
    Yeah I was afraid of that. I dunno man, I think I'm done with Sekiro. TLOU2 comes out today, I'm knee-deep in Hardspace:Shipbreaker, and I also gotta play Desperados 3 at some point.

    RE: bull boss. Took me a few tries as well. What worked for me against him was firecrackers and jumping out of the way when he charges. Also just trying to stay behind him and attack as much as possible. Thank god he doesn't have a backwards kick attack.

  6. #56
    Member
    Registered: May 2004
    I must have tried it a hundred of times and nothing worked. When the bull was out of the view, everything was fine, but as soon as he came close, it became an unmanageable slide show. I tried turning off all the settings, setting the resolution to the minimum, etc. At first I thought it was the graphics card that was a bit below the minimum recommendations, but then I put in a card that should have definitely been able to handle it and it didn't make a difference. I suspect it was either my old 2-core CPU or some rare bug with my hardware and software setup.

  7. #57
    Member
    Registered: Jul 2002
    Location: Edmonton
    Trying to play Sekiro now, but I'm having weird performance problems. At max settings on 1080p I'm getting a solid 60 fps except every couple minutes or so it hangs for five or six seconds. I'm using an old Core i5 760, which may be the problem, but it's weird that the game runs flawlessly otherwise. I tried playing offline, adjusting graphics settings, running the Special K mod, but nothing seems to work. I may end up returning it if I can't figure it out although I only have about 15 more minutes of playtime before my return period expires.

  8. #58
    Member
    Registered: May 2004
    You might want to set up MSI Afterburner or a similar program to show GPU, CPU, and RAM usage in real time to see what exactly gets taxed.

    Have you tried disabling all the background programs for the playsession -- antivirus, file sharing, etc?

  9. #59
    Chakat sex pillow
    Registered: Sep 2006
    Location: not here
    ^^ good idea. Aja, unless there's heavy disk or CPU usage from a background program, it's most probably the CPU getting maxed out, unfortunately. I don't think that CPU hits the minimum requirements, right? I dimly recall something similar happening to me a long time ago when the CPU utilisation kept spiking to 99% at regular intervals.

  10. #60
    Member
    Registered: Jul 2002
    Location: Edmonton
    The Special K mod actually has all that stuff, so I had GPU temps and CPU utilization on, but when the game froze, so did the readings, so I couldn't tell for sure. The CPU did occasionally hit 100 percent, but it didn't seem to correspond with the pauses. It was usually around 70 to 80 percent. But no, it doesn't meet the minimum specs (it's like 10 years old). It's just never been a problem till now, and I've played lots of games that are more graphically intensive with no issues. I'll try disabling more services and see if it fixes it. I don't exactly want to upgrade my CPU, though. I'd rather just wait and get a PS5.

  11. #61
    Member
    Registered: May 2004
    Graphical intensity doesn't always matter all that much, if the game is well optimised. Doom runs pretty well on fairly old systems, for example. Not so sure about Sekiro.

    I had a 2 core 4 thread CPU for quite a while, because there was something of a lull in the advancement of CPUs and I didn't really have a pressing need to upgrade. When I finally upgraded to a 6 core 12 thread CPU, though, the computer felt much more responsive and the experience was much improved in games as well. Also, newer games are more and more taking advantage of multiple threads and the new consoles already have 8 cores and 16 threads, so it seems like that's going to be the norm for AAA games going forwards.

    Personally, I'm kind of interested in the Zen 3 launch at the end of the year. I just might sell my CPU and make the upgrade, if it's a good deal and seems like it will hold up for a while.

  12. #62
    Member
    Registered: Jul 2002
    Location: Edmonton
    Maybe I will upgrade, and I can always sell it later to get a playstation. Any recommendations for a cheap motherboard/CPU combo to go with a Geforce 1060? I haven’t done any computer research since I bought my current PC, so I’m totally out of the loop.

  13. #63
    Member
    Registered: May 2004
    Depends on what you consider cheap, but for example B450 Tomahawk Max or B450 Mortar Max combined with R5 3600 can be ridiculously good value, if you can get them at around, say, 280 USD or so. The availability of motherboards has been kind of crappy, though, so might be tough to find a good one at a 100-120$ range.

  14. #64
    Member
    Registered: Jul 2002
    Location: Edmonton
    Yeah, the 3600 sounds reasonable, though I'd probably pair it with whatever $110 Gigabyte motherboard I could find. I don't overclock, and my good old HM55-USB3 has served me well for the last decade.

  15. #65
    Member
    Registered: May 2004
    The reason I'm partial to MSI is because right now they are the most likely and eager to offer upgrade paths to Zen 3 (since they have actually promised it in their marketing materials and could potentially be held liable if they don't) and the Max boards are likely to have less issues with that, since they have a larger BIOS chip. Good VRM doesn't hurt either, but it's probably overkill for the regular consumer and definitely for a R5 3600. Seems like the manufacturers are having a bit of a dick waving contest in this regard. Personally, I like to keep my options a bit open for future upgrades, though, even if I'm pretty sure I won't do it.

    Overclocking is not really worth it these days, unless you do it as a hobby or something. Spending all that money and time and effort to squeeze out a few more FPS, it's just jumping over dollars to pick up pennies.

  16. #66
    Member
    Registered: Jul 2002
    Location: Edmonton
    Given that my last mid-range processor/low-end motherboard combo lasted me 10 years (and in all but this game is still totally fine), I'm not too worried about future upgrades. I haven't PC-gamed in months, actually, and getting back into it has made me realize that I prefer the simplicity of a console anyway.

  17. #67
    Member
    Registered: May 2004
    It all depends on the games you play, but I don't think things are going to be quite that calm now that AMD has Ryzen and things are competitive again. The last decade's calm has in large part been due to Intel's complacency as AMD nearly dug itself into bankruptcy.

  18. #68
    Chakat sex pillow
    Registered: Sep 2006
    Location: not here
    I know I'm probably doing a console next and then whatever 8- or 12-core CPU is competitive when the time is right. The next generation has a (at this current moment) complicated upgrade path with the SSD speeds becoming something to factor in when you upgrade your PC. No doubt we'll have better SSDs by the time the consoles launch, but I'm not betting on early next-gen multiplatform games being particularly well-optimised for PC.

    RE: CPU upgrades, you can't go wrong with a current-gen Ryzen though I'd push for at least an 8-core if you foresee playing next-gen games with the same CPU in the next five years. (The upcoming consoles use Zen 2 chips, so that's the baseline.) The mobo shouldn't be a problem if you don't want/need an upgrade path for the CPU, so I'd say go with the features you want and a brand you trust. Performance differentials are minor between most motherboards anyway.

  19. #69
    Member
    Registered: Jul 2002
    Location: Edmonton
    All I wanted was to spend a few bucks to get Sekiro working After pricing out some different options, it looks like I can't get away with less than $500 for anything that's remotely future-proof and more if I go the eight-core route. It doesn't feel worth it to me right now.

    I'm a terrible PC gamer anyway; I've got it hooked up to my TV, and I play using a Switch pro controller through Big Picture, and that sort of works. The UI in most games is too small to read comfortably from the couch, even at 1080p. I'm loving the Switch console itself more and more, but it'd be nice to have the option to dip into the occasional big-budget game without having to sit through a year of Windows updates. A nice new console built for the experience is sounding better and better, and hopefully by then Sekiro will be backward compatible.

  20. #70
    Chakat sex pillow
    Registered: Sep 2006
    Location: not here
    I was going to suggest that if you wanted a decent compromise between future proofing and spending more money. If you're willing to wait, you can get a PS5 or Xbox and make use of that backwards compatibility for Sekiro when it's eventually on sale. Obviously that locks you out of the newer PC games ecosystem, but it's not like we've got time to play every game out there, eh?


    *side note: the early signs are the next consoles will likely cost a fuckton anyway except the Series S, so this may be moot

  21. #71
    Member
    Registered: Jul 2002
    Location: Edmonton
    True, I could probably build a great new PC from the ground up for what the PS5 will cost, but I still wouldn't want to have to sit on the couch with a keyboard and mouse.

  22. #72
    Chakat sex pillow
    Registered: Sep 2006
    Location: not here
    Yeah, and anyway there'll be that PS4 back catalogue to sort through. It'll be set for gaming either way.

  23. #73
    Member
    Registered: Jul 2002
    Location: Edmonton
    Sitting at work the other day I thought, “No, dammit, I want to play Sekiro now!” so I ordered a new CPU and motherboard to pick up tomorrow (went with the 3600, thanks). I’m almost certain the CPU is the issue because if I increase the resolution to 4k, the GPU maxes out instead and it doesn’t hitch as much. I also had a different hardware monitor app that confirmed the CPU hitting 100 percent immediately after a pause.

    I’m curious about how much of a difference it’ll make in other games. Until now I’ve never had a compelling reason to upgrade.

  24. #74
    Chakat sex pillow
    Registered: Sep 2006
    Location: not here
    That's great! For other games, it really depends on what you've been playing. I can tell you that most of the new Ubisoft games definitely chug as much CPU juice you can give them, so you'll find solid improvements in the newer Assassin Creed games and Watchdogs, for instance. Or for something like The Witcher 3 as well. Essentially if you've got a large, detailed open world game with a lot of NPCs/assets loading in seamlessly, that tends to give your CPU a bigger workout. That doesn't mean that Sekiro is an edge case, I think it's more that the other games you've played have probably not been asking too much of the CPU so far.

  25. #75
    Member
    Registered: Jul 2002
    Location: Edmonton
    New hardware is in. The framerate in Sekiro was always good, but it feels a lot more stable overall, and not just because it isn't freezing anymore. Now I can even play it at 4K if I want to although with the TV's upscaling from 1080 it doesn't actually look dramatically different for the performance cost. And I've been trying to get into the Witcher 3 for, like, a year now, so maybe it's finally the time.

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •