TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Page 12 of 14 FirstFirst ... 27891011121314 LastLast
Results 276 to 300 of 340

Thread: AngelLoader 1.4.8 (upd. 2021/01/25)

  1. #276
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2018
    Quote Originally Posted by baeuchlein View Post
    No, you should put it in your missions folder. That's where you placed all the other single missions and campaigns for Thief 2 NewDark. Any FM loader should then detect this campaign as well, and you can play it like any other T2 FM these days.

    Do not use the ancient installer (some file with a name ending with ".exe" instead of ".zip" or ".7z") for NewDark! It would most likely mess up your Thief 2 installation in a way that a repair attempt would be useless - you would have to reinstall Thief 2 NewDark once again.

    By the way, this discussion is not about AngelLoader anymore. If you have more questions about T2X, please ask them in one of the other threads you created during the last days, e.g., in this one.
    I apologize for my mistakes, it's been a while. I should be able to figure it out from here.

  2. #277
    AngelLoader v1.4.5 is out.

    Features:
    - The filter controls can now be individually hidden.
    - Added main menu with some initial options in there, including a "Game versions" window where you can see the versions for all specified games (NewDark version for T1/T2/SS2, Sneaky Upgrade version for T3).

    Other:
    - "Play original game" button image now reflects all four supported games.
    - Greatly reduced file size.
    - Improved performance of startup FM search.
    - Improved performance and memory use when scanning .rtf files, and improved detection of non-ASCII characters from .rtf files.
    - Added more comments to the English.ini language file to help translators.

    Fixes:
    - Fixed a potential crash in the Settings window when a Browse button was clicked and its corresponding textbox contained an invalid path.
    - Fixed a corner-case with the top-right tab dragging, where if you pressed and held and released the mouse buttons weirdly, you might start dragging tabs even though you didn't click specifically on them.
    - Fixed: When selecting a Thief 3 mission which contains readmes in a subfolder and its readmes had not yet been cached, or when clicking "Rescan for readmes" for said mission, the readme chooser dropdown might end up with no selection until the FM was deselected and reselected again.
    - Fixed: When scanning .7z FM archives or installed (uncompressed) FMs, reading the OBJ_MAP chunk didn't take the header into account when calculating the length, so it would read 24 bytes short of the end. (thanks JayRude)
    - Fixed: If there existed two FM archives whose filename differed only by extension (fm.zip and fm.7z for example), an error would occur.
    - Fixed: Web searching for FMs whose titles contained an ampersand (&) was not working correctly and would break the search string. (thanks JohnKingsbury)
    - Fixed: Entries in the "Add tags from list" menu and entries in the FM alternate titles menu would not display ampersands.
    - Fixed: "Remove category"/"Remove tag" alerts weren't supposed to have yellow warning icons.
    - Fixed: In "Add tags from list" menu, if a category was empty, the text "AngelLoader.DataClasses.GlobalCatOrTag:" would sometimes appear in place of the category name.
    - Fixed: Tag functionality was prone to bugs due to me trying to be too clever in the code. The code is now much simpler and more reliable.
    - Fixed flickering when zooming FMs list

  3. #278
    New Member
    Registered: Dec 2016
    Location: Turkey
    Thank you.

    Turkish translation updated for AngelLoader v1.4.5.
    https://drive.google.com/file/d/1oUz...ew?usp=sharing

  4. #279
    And thank you

  5. #280
    Member
    Registered: Jan 2006
    This might have been answered somewhere already (Though I couldn't find it) or might be extremely stupid, but I'm going to ask anyway: Is there a way to switch from FMSel to Angelloader when I open the Thief 2.exe?
    Currently I'm starting my game through Steam, where I also have collected a bunch of screenshots over the years and it's just convenient. I am aware that I could just add the AngelLoader.exe to Steam itself but I'd rather have it stay the way it is and have the game start a different loader. If it isn't possible, would this be possible at some point in the future?

    Thanks for the great work, I really appreciate what you have done with Angelloader up to this point!

  6. #281
    Not possible with the way it's designed. AngelLoader is a standalone app that you run by itself and then you can play your FMs from there (this is how DarkLoader worked). FMSel is sort of the other way round, you start your game and then the game starts FMSel automatically, with the consequence that each game needs its own copy of FMSel with its own settings file, plus the assumption that you'll only ever be working with FMs for that particular game with that particular copy of FMSel.

    AngelLoader is intended to be used as a centralized app where you can play any FM for any game from the same single copy of the app. To make AngelLoader work the same way as FMSel would be to re-architect most of it - it wouldn't make sense to have game tabs or game filters, all multi-game support options both user-facing and internal would have to be disabled, and it would quite possibly have to be split into two separate versions, standalone and FMSel-like.

    Note that AngelLoader does support Steam in its own way, however. If you open the Settings window, go to the Paths tab, and give it a Steam.exe location and check "If Steam exists, use it to launch these games:" and then check all the games you want to use, those games (and FMs for them) will be launched through Steam whenever you play them from AngelLoader. This should give you access to Steam features like total time played etc.

    So really, AL is meant to be thought of in sort of the opposite way as FMSel. It would probably be possible to hack in a "start AngelLoader when the game starts" feature by bundling an optional second .dll that could be set to be started by the game and which would in turn start AngelLoader.exe, but that would be kind of weird given AL is not linked to any one particular game, and it would really just give you the same result as if you had started AngelLoader.exe by itself.

  7. #282
    Member
    Registered: Jan 2006
    Quote Originally Posted by FenPhoenix View Post
    Note that AngelLoader does support Steam in its own way, however. If you open the Settings window, go to the Paths tab, and give it a Steam.exe location and check "If Steam exists, use it to launch these games:" and then check all the games you want to use, those games (and FMs for them) will be launched through Steam whenever you play them from AngelLoader. This should give you access to Steam features like total time played etc.
    This seems to be right what I was looking for. Thank you very much!
    Time played and screenshots would still work when using it the way you described and this is all I want

    Thanks again and keep up the good work. By the way: It's great that you sometimes upload videos about new AngelLoader versions onto your channel, this kept reminding me I wanted to try it out

  8. #283
    My pleasure, and enjoy!

  9. #284
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2004
    Location: Germany
    A while ago I noticed that AngelLoader has the ability to play missions in other languages than the one(s) defined in DARKINST.CFG (Thief 2)/INSTALL.CFG (Thief 1). It even offers more languages than ancient Darkloader did, e.g., Russian and Polish (when the translated files are placed in language-specific folders with these names in the FM archive). It also auto-detects these languages (by their folder names), and offers a drop-down list somewhere. That is more than FMSel, NewDarkloader and Darkloader can offer.

    I did not find a list of languages which AngelLoader "autodetects". Is there such a list somewhere, and does it include the names of the folders one has to use when creating a multi-language FM archive?

  10. #285
    The list of language names it recognizes (case-insensitively) is:

    English
    Czech
    Dutch
    French
    German
    Hungarian
    Italian
    Japanese
    Polish
    Russian
    Spanish

    which is the same as FMSel's internal supported-language list.

    Any of these will show up in the "Play FM in this language:" dropdown if AngelLoader finds one or more folders named after one of these languages inside one of the subfolders in the base directory of the FM archive file (if there is one) or the installed FM folder (if there isn't an archive). This part matches FMSel's behavior.

    Note that all it does is check folder names; it doesn't try to validate whether there's anything "of substance" in the language folders, so a language might be a full translation or it might just be a books\french folder with a one-line placard text "la salle de bain" in it, AL just assumes the author knows what they're doing.

    Hope this helps.

  11. #286
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2004
    Location: Germany
    Yes, the list covers what I wanted to know. The other statements mainly confirm what I already guessed about AngelLoader. But while we're at it - how does AngelLoader override the contents of DARKINST.CFG (for Thief 2) concerning language? Is there a parameter it sends to the thief2.exe requesting another language? (Yes, I can be pretty curious.)

  12. #287
    Quote Originally Posted by baeuchlein View Post
    Yes, the list covers what I wanted to know. The other statements mainly confirm what I already guessed about AngelLoader. But while we're at it - how does AngelLoader override the contents of DARKINST.CFG (for Thief 2) concerning language? Is there a parameter it sends to the thief2.exe requesting another language? (Yes, I can be pretty curious.)
    Basically yes, it sends a parameter to the game telling it what language to use, as a sort of override. It's actually a bit more complicated and quirky than that (for instance, due to this NewDark quirk/bug, it has to clear cam.cfg of language cruft whenever it runs and so on), but that's the idea.

    Note that you can use the "fm_language" and "fm_language_forced" config variables in cam_mod.ini to force your own language manually, for example:

    fm_language french
    fm_language_forced 1

    But then of course the above issue applies and these values will get copied to cam.cfg so they'll be in effect even if you remove them from cam_mod.ini, so you have to remember to remove them from cam.cfg also. AngelLoader handles this for you automatically.

  13. #288
    AngelLoader 1.4.6 is out.

    Fixed one obscure longstanding bug:
    FMs for Thief: Deadly Shadows whose archive names were over 30 characters long would fail to play. FMs for other games were unaffected.

    If you couldn't play On the Trail of a Fence for example, then you'll be able to now.

  14. #289
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2004
    Location: Germany
    Quote Originally Posted by FenPhoenix View Post
    It's actually a bit more complicated and quirky than that (for instance, due to this NewDark quirk/bug, it has to clear cam.cfg of language cruft whenever it runs and so on), but that's the idea.
    Language selection can be so funny...

    Note that you can use the "fm_language" and "fm_language_forced" config variables in cam_mod.ini to force your own language manually
    These were exactly the parameters I read about in some of the NewDark docs, so I suspected this already.

    Well, so far AngelLoader is the most user-friendly FM loader for people who, for whatever reason, change the language frequently. For FMSel and NewDarkLoader, one has to change DARKINST.CFG (T2) or INSTALL.CFG (T1) manually every time. I prefer the AngelLoader technique.

  15. #290
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2002
    Location: Texas
    Well I have an issue with 1.46. Some of my missions for thief gold and thief 2 now are listed twice. Examples include The tower by christine, A smugglers request, the sercret way and hush hush sweet harlott. Just started right after the update. Any ideas how to fix?

    Edit: The only thing different in the listing of the missions twice is the release date is different for each. How is angel loader getting 2 different release dates for one mission zip. It this list the mission twice as 2 seperate missions by release date. Can you fix this?
    Last edited by Stingm; 12th Dec 2020 at 19:56.

  16. #291
    What version did you update from?

    Could you post or link:

    -A screenshot of the main window showing the duplicate listings, making sure to show all the columns especially the Archive column
    -Your FMData.ini file
    -Your Config.ini file
    (located in AngelLoader\Data)

  17. #292
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2002
    Location: Texas
    I upgraded from 1.45. The files are:
    1. https://drive.google.com/file/d/1XvU...ew?usp=sharing
    2. https://drive.google.com/file/d/1XF5...ew?usp=sharing
    3. https://drive.google.com/file/d/1LRG...ew?usp=sharing

    I put them on my google drive as thats the only way I know how. Hope this is okay.

    Edit: I did what the email said and sent it. Hope that works.
    Last edited by Stingm; 13th Dec 2020 at 00:44.

  18. #293
    I can't access them - can you make them public?

  19. #294
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2002
    Location: Texas
    I made you a viewer. If thats not right just tell me what to do to make it public.

    Edit: Just replied to all requests and gave access I think.

  20. #295
    Alright, so first thing, 1.4.6 didn't change anything from 1.4.5 except removing one length check where an FM name gets passed to the game right before it plays it (no changes to the FM finder, scanner, displayer, or anything else), so I'm guessing you either did something besides just upgrade, or maybe the duplication started with 1.4.5 but you didn't notice until 1.4.6?

    Looking at Hush, Hush Sweet Harlot in the data file, I can see there are two entries where they both have the same archive name but one of them has the InstalledDir of "HushHush,SweetHarlot_ENG" and the other "HushHush_SweetHarlot_ENG" (note the first comma is an underscore here). That suggests to me you may have imported data from NewDarkLoader at some point. If that's the case then I guess there's a bug somewhere in the handling of the different InstalledDir values that get imported from different loaders (not surprising, keeping it all sorted out is nightmarish).

    I have a guess as to what may be happening here though. My guess is that this problem started with 1.4.5 because there was a bugfix where it used to be if you had cool_mission.zip and cool_mission.7z in the same folder, it would throw an error, but now it allows it (which is correct), and there were also a couple other performance-related changes in the same code file. That part of the code is supposed to cull out duplicate entries, but apparently something about it broke that my testing didn't catch. Now that I know what to test for, I'll go through it and suss out what the problem is.

  21. #296

  22. #297
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2002
    Location: Texas
    Hey the test worked. The double entries are gone. Thanks a bunch.

    I promise all I did was upgrade. I wouldn't even know what else to do.
    I did import notes etc from newdarkloader a long time ago with your help. As for 1.45 it is possible that I didn't notice it then. I'm just glad you fixed it. Thanks again!

  23. #298
    Cool. Then...

    AngelLoader v1.4.7 is out.

    Fixed:
    In certain situations, there could be multiple copies of a given FM displayed. This fix is really just papering over a more fundamental problem where we're required to ID an FM by its "installed name", but installed names can be different depending on if AL, FMSel, or NDL created the installed name. But it now works as before at least.

  24. #299
    Member
    Registered: Feb 2008
    Location: Santiago / Chile
    Fen,

    Here is the Spanish Translation ini file updated to 1.4.7:
    https://drive.google.com/file/d/1Iqx...ew?usp=sharing

    And I have to report a little bug: Program is not displaying translated data for [MainMenu] and [AboutWindow] sections, it shows on english only, despite the text I change.

  25. #300
    Thanks for the translation.

    The bug is that the "[MainMenu]", "[AboutWindow]", and "[GameVersionsWindow]" headers have a space at the end in your Spanish.ini file (ie. "[MainMenu] ") and AngelLoader is failing to account for that when it reads them. I'll remove the spaces before uploading this new Spanish.ini file and I'll make AngelLoader ignore surrounding spaces on headers for the next version.

    Thanks for the help

Page 12 of 14 FirstFirst ... 27891011121314 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •