TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 41

Thread: Editing prices in T3

  1. #1

    Editing prices in T3

    snobel: regarding merging the MP folder with the editor folder, I did that last night but that caused the editor to keep crashing. It was related to replacing the Gamesys of the T3 editor. I didn’t merge the GUI folder though, maybe that was the problem?

    Also: "I mean copy all the contents of the MP mod folders (GUI/sounds and gameplay) installed with the SU into the T3Ed install - be sure to get the structure correct, so that the Content folders are merged etc... (You need to set up an MP-specific editor environment to avoid the crashes. When that's done, it's the same procedure as editing the orig gamesys.)"

    Does that include the System folder too? Because that's how the editor started crashing, as I said above.

    There has to be a way where I can keep the MP gameplay aspect and tweak the prices too. There has to be. I have to have the MP gameplay tweaks, but I also need the price tweaks... could I trouble you to write what I should do step by step?

    EDIT: I tried just copying the Contents folders in GUI/Sounds and Gameplay to the T3Ed install, then tried to edit the gamesys in the Gameplay folder of MP. Edited the prices of something, saved package, saved over the gamesys in the Gameplay folder, and it still crashes my game. I'm sure I'm doing something wrong.
    Last edited by Gordon Frohman; 20th Feb 2019 at 12:02.

  2. #2
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007
    You have to copy the contents of the System folder into the editor install as well, and edit the gamesys in that location - that is, keep everything inside the editor install, then copy out the changed gamesys file later. I'll see if I can find time tomorrow to try it out myself, to see if it'll actually work or not.

  3. #3
    Okay, I copy and pasted everything from the MP folder into the editor installation and the editor loaded up this time. I made the change to the gamesys but it still crashes my game. I am about to have a tantrum.

    You know what bothers me? Clearly, at some point, the author of the MP must have edited that gamesys, and would've been able to avoid crashing his game. I just don't understand why changing the price of items makes the game crash on startup.

    EDIT: Also, saw this when using the editor: "How much this item costs at the store it is a part of. Make sure _StoreWindowNumber_ is set." Does the underscored part have anything to do with this?

    EDIT 2: I just had a thought. Might it be easier to add in the stuff that the MP gameplay addition adds in rather than go through all of this? The only things the gameplay addon includes is edible food and weapon exposure, right? Maybe it'd be easier just to add that to the main T3 gamesys?
    Last edited by Gordon Frohman; 20th Feb 2019 at 21:59.

  4. #4
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007
    I edited it too when I made playstyles optional. So it's definitely possible. As for starting from scratch and implementing edible food etc, I think you'll be facing quite a learning curve with the editor if you want to do more than simply changing various values. If you're up for that, go ahead!

  5. #5
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007
    OK, I did a test like this:

    1. Set up a fresh T3Ed install following the video
    2. Disable MP playstyles in SneakyTweaker
    3. Copy the contents of C:\ProgramData\Thief 3 Sneaky Upgrade\Installed Mods\Minimalist Project\Gameplay into the new install. (Note: The GUI part is not necessary)
    4. Launch the editor without loading a map
    5. In the actor class browser, change the price of noise arrows to 10000
    6. Quit the editor - click Yes on saving the gamesys, save over T3Gamesys.t3u in the editor's System folder. Click No on exporting changed scripts
    7. In C:\ProgramData\Thief 3 Sneaky Upgrade\Installed Mods\Minimalist Project\Gameplay\System, rename T3Gamesys.t3u, then copy in the new T3Gamesys.t3u
    8. Launch the SouthQuarter1 map using a changed shortcut. Go to the store and check. Price is 10000

    So it's working as expected. I guess something must be messed up in your editor install - better start over.
    Last edited by snobel; 21st Feb 2019 at 04:11.

  6. #6
    The problems never end.

    I was able to save my changes to the editor gamesys last night, then suddenly later last night I kept getting this message whenever I tried to save it, and still get it now even with a new editor install - "Save failed! See log for details."

    EDIT: After sitting in contemplative silence for a few minutes having given up, I decided to exit the editor and was greeted with the "Do you want to save the gamesys" message. I tried to save over the editor one but I got this message: "Something attempted to save the gamesys without going through UEngine::SaveGamesys(). You need to quit the editor immediately after you finish this save, or hit cancel to abort this save."

    EDIT 2: Somehow it still worked even after my previous messages. I forgot to disable the MP gameplay in the SU tweaker though.

    EDIT 3: Just edited everything I wanted and so far (knock on wood) it all works.

    EDIT 4: Just kidding! Now it crashes when I deselect the playstyles from the MP gameplay section. I suppose that's why your second step was to disable it. Thanks, memory!

    EDIT 5: Okay, SO FAR everything seems to work (knock on wood). Thanks for everything, snobel. I appreciate it so much - you are the best.
    Last edited by Gordon Frohman; 21st Feb 2019 at 11:10.

  7. #7
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007
    Quote Originally Posted by Gordon Frohman View Post
    I tried to save over the editor one but I got this message: "Something attempted to save the gamesys without going through UEngine::SaveGamesys(). You need to quit the editor immediately after you finish this save, or hit cancel to abort this save."
    That's normal. It's telling you that since you just overwrote the gamesys you must quit immediately, or there could be trouble. But you're already quitting, so just click OK.

    Just kidding! Now it crashes when I deselect the playstyles from the MP gameplay section. I suppose that's why your second step was to disable it. Thanks, memory!
    I disabled it so that the MP gamesys without playstyles would be the one copied into the editor's System folder, as a starting point for the changes.

    But good to hear it's working out.

  8. #8
    Hey, so I found something weird. I edited all the prices for everything yesterday, and the ones I have access to all have their prices changed, EXCEPT for the Iron practice lock. Not that I buy those, but I like things to be consistent. Why would all the other items show the tweaked prices but not this one?
    Last edited by Gordon Frohman; 22nd Feb 2019 at 20:39.

  9. #9
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007
    No idea, sorry... I guess it could be set by a script but that doesn't seem very likely.

  10. #10
    Yeah, it doesn't make any sense. Fire arrows and climbing gloves can't be changed seemingly, either, but everything else can. So frustrating.

  11. #11
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007
    I had a look at the fire arrow and can't find a way either. But the hex editing post lists an offset for it, so it must be possible to modify the price as a gamesys change. (Unfortunately the offset listed is only valid for the original gamesys file.)

    Edit: I don't think that would work. The price in the original gamesys, as seen in a hex editor, is 250. But if I load the Docks map and go to the store, the price is 225?!

    Edit 2: It's overridden when the crystals are instantiated in the maps:



    (There was some stuff on top of the crystal in the map, so I overlooked it the first time.)
    Last edited by snobel; 24th Feb 2019 at 11:16.

  12. #12
    What does this mean? Further, I don't have the StoreWindowNumber like you do in the picture. Whatever you found, does that go for the climbing gloves too?

  13. #13
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007
    It's a different window. In the actor class browser, which you've used to change the gamesys, you change the default values that objects get in the maps unless you specify otherwise in the map. Here, I've selected the fire crystal in the shop in the Docks2 map (light blue higlight), and the window is showing the values for that particular object. The two values you see were added to this particular fire crystal in the map. So there's no way to change the price without changing the maps, as far as I know.

    I haven't checked the gloves but if the gamesys price does not show up, then probably.

    Btw. I've managed to fix the classic speed / MP thing, so MP now has the original speed settings and classic speed still works (and it should work for any value of WalkMultiplier). Thanks for nagging me enough to do something about it.
    Last edited by snobel; 24th Feb 2019 at 15:33.

  14. #14
    How can I edit the Docks2 map to change fire arrow and glove prices, then? I saw the Map files in the Content folder of T3 main directory but T3Ed only opens .unr files apparently.

    Oh, and you're welcome.
    Last edited by Gordon Frohman; 24th Feb 2019 at 16:36.

  15. #15
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007
    All the .unr files for the original maps come with the editor. The T3 Gold maps are available too somewhere 'round here.

    Even if all you want to do is edit values, better consult a tutorial. (Start at section II and forget about 'Thief 3 Launcher' because the SU editor patch takes care of that.)

    After editing, you need to build (probably) and export the map as an IBT file. The SU-patched editor lets you do that through a menu item, so no need for the procedure in the tutorial section XXIV. Just generate the .ibt file and have it replace the original. As you're customizing MP, make a Maps folder in the Gamesys mod structure and copy your changed .ibt files there - it's cleaner that way. You can even set the editor up to export directly to that location.

  16. #16
    Holy god this is something else. I'm so impressed by people who know how to use these editors.

    So I loaded Docks2.unr and was able to move around and get to the shop where the gloves and fire arrows are, but not only are these icons everywhere, but they're also over the arrows - on top of that, I don't know how to actually edit the properties of the items I DO see; I see the gloves, I see a gas bomb, explosive mine, so on, but I'm unsure of how to edit their properties like you were able to in that picture.

  17. #17
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007
    Right-clicking and selecting Properties will get you the window shown in the screenshot. You can move things by clicking and dragging an object while holding one of the modifier keys - Shift, maybe? Better move them back when you're done.

  18. #18
    Right, but what I mean is how do I select the fire arrow? Every time I right-click the Noisemaker is selected.

    EDIT: Also, can you elaborate on this? " As you're customizing MP, make a Maps folder in the Gamesys mod structure"
    Last edited by Gordon Frohman; 25th Feb 2019 at 14:20.

  19. #19
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007
    I see I actually deleted the firecrystal emitter to make the crystal more visible. But you don't have to do that, just zoom in a lot and click on it - it's right in the middle of the emiitter.

    You've probably noticed that both the game and the editor has a System folder, and a Contents\T3 folder with a bunch of subfolders, containing game assets of various types. Each mod bundled with the SU follows the same structure. There's no changed maps in the MP so there's no Maps folder - but you can make one, at C:\ProgramData\Thief 3 Sneaky Upgrade\Installed Mods\Minimalist Project\Gameplay\Content\T3\Maps. If you put a Docks2.ibt file in there, it'll be launched instead of the original one when the MP gameplay mod is active.

  20. #20
    I still donít follow how to get the properties of the arrow. I canít select any items via right clicking to get the properties. Well, I can, but it never selects what I want.

    This is what happens when I right-click on the fire arrow. https://imgur.com/a/IxoBk8a
    Last edited by Gordon Frohman; 25th Feb 2019 at 19:17.

  21. #21
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007
    You're clicking in the 3D view. Try the top view, like in the screenshot.

  22. #22
    Even in the Top view, right-clicking on the objects I can see still does nothing. This is the correct place, right? https://imgur.com/a/H2gUfE8

    Clearly, there's something I'm doing wrong. I'm only able to right-click on something in the 3D viewer. Top, side and front give no response to my right-clicks.

    Even if I could click on the items I see, the fire arrow is still obscured by that big eye icon. No idea how to delete like you did.
    Last edited by Gordon Frohman; 26th Feb 2019 at 09:29.

  23. #23
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007
    From those black areas in all your viewports it looks like you have a local wrapper DLL (System\d3d8.dll) in the editor install - they don't work well with the editor for unknown reasons. Get rid of it and try again.

    You don't have to delete the emitter thing, just zoom in close enough. Then you can see the crystal and it will be selected when you right-click.

  24. #24
    Well, I'm now able to edit them how I want, only, hitting "Export IBT and GMP" brings up a command window and launches the game, where it freezes and doesn't save the .ibt. Even if it did save the .ibt, I wouldn't even know where the saved file is located.

    EDIT: These are the options I have available - https://imgur.com/a/5pBMMru

    What am I doing wrong?

  25. #25
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007
    It's the correct menu item - the editor needs to run the game in order to produce the .ibt file, but the game will shut down automatically as soon as that's done. You can find the IBT in a folder named ExportedMaps in the root of the editor install. (It's the same structure as mentioned before and there's stuff you don't need as you're not making a fan mission. So dive into the Maps folder for the IBT.)

    The readme that comes with the SU editor patch describes this process but admittedly not in too much detail.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •