TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Pathfinding broken on Pathable Objects in NewDark?

  1. #1
    Dˇttirin klŠ­ist oft mˇ­ur m÷ttli
    Registered: Apr 2015

    Pathfinding broken on Pathable Objects in NewDark?

    We stumbled upon an issue in These Enlightened Times. A bat (113) is supposed to walk/fly over a invisible bridge (60). But it doesn't work in ND 1.27.
    After compiling Pathfinding Database, it's working again.
    I checked this in OldDark. It worked, the bat is walking on the object. I checked it in OldDark DromEd for Pathfinding Cells.
    It looks like this


    NewDark 1.27 (same in 1.25 and 1,26): No pathfinding cells on the object. The AI can't walk there any more.



    This doesn't look good.

    Note that I used object 27 as a reference, same position, but z=518. If anyone wants to try it.
    Last edited by Unna Oertdottir; 20th Aug 2019 at 16:30.

  2. #2
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    yes, there are pathfinding differences when converting from oldDark to NewDark, all you can do is fix any problems up manually afaik.

  3. #3
    Dˇttirin klŠ­ist oft mˇ­ur m÷ttli
    Registered: Apr 2015
    The FM wasn't converted. What are you talking about?

  4. #4
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    it's an oldDark mission, I was assuming you are converting it to NewDark. one way or another, pathfinding is something you need to be keeping your eyes on unless the mission has been built under ND from scratch.

  5. #5
    Member
    Registered: Jan 2006
    Location: On the tip of your tongue.
    Yeah but what's concerning here is that the pathfinding was broken without touching the mission. So you need to rerun pathfinding to get it working as it should in ND.

  6. #6
    Dˇttirin klŠ­ist oft mˇ­ur m÷ttli
    Registered: Apr 2015
    Exactly. After running Pathfinding again, it's working. This can't be fixed in a dml.

  7. #7
    Dˇttirin klŠ­ist oft mˇ­ur m÷ttli
    Registered: Apr 2015
    I made a demo mis in OldDark DromEd 1.18 (DromEd only).
    Tried to do the same thing as in In These Enlightened Times.
    -Some AIs are walking on the ground over bridges and invisible objects.
    -Another AI is walking on a big invisible object in the air. All is well, the AI are following the patrol routes.

    I opened the mis file in DromEd ND 1.27.
    -The AIs on the ground are still walking over the bridges
    -The AI on the big invisible air bridge doesn't do anything at all. Exactly the same thing happens as in In These Enlightened Times: No more pathfinding cells can be seen. The AI which is starting on an object can't walk any more.

    I assume that OldDark FMs with AIs starting on objects have broken Pathfinding Database in NewDark. This can only be fixed after compiling pathfinding database in NewDark again.


    http://www.mediafire.com/file/wc44xq...dark3.mis/file

  8. #8
    Member
    Registered: May 2002
    Location: Texas
    I've had issues with pathfinding at double doors as I posted in another thread. What's odd is that even when pathfinding is completely broken at the doors, a guard can still chase me through the doorway if the pathfinding extecds at least to the doors, but can't follow me back the other way through the doorway.

  9. #9
    Dˇttirin klŠ­ist oft mˇ­ur m÷ttli
    Registered: Apr 2015
    In the meantime i realized that my analysis of the pathfinding links wasn't correct.
    The AI on the object follows the lines on the ground but not on the object above.
    Looks like NewDark changed the distance limitations on AI pathfinding cells. They are "shortended". My demo mission shows this. Which is even worse. In theory, pathfinding in every OldDark FM can be broken since an FM author did whatever worked in OldDark at that time.
    I was wondering whether there is any documentation. I couldn't find anything.

    @John: Try to remove the blockable property on double doors.
    Last edited by Unna Oertdottir; 22nd Aug 2019 at 01:49.

  10. #10
    Member
    Registered: May 2002
    Location: Texas
    Thanks Unna I'll try that. My work around is to either place s marker the depth of the doorway in between both doors or change the height of the doorway by 0.5, pathfind, and tjen change the height back to 8 units just before releasing my mission.

    Your comment about AI following lines on the ground is similar to my issue with the balcony. AI that chase me follow me on the ground floor deck path as I climb up to the balcony and traverse a similar path above the deck. There is also a guard on the balcony that initially acts like he can't get to me, but after a minute the AI eventually find a path to me. The AI are having a hard time finding a path to the correct level or more accurately not being able to ignore the path that actually won't lead them to me.

  11. #11
    Member
    Registered: May 2002
    Location: Texas
    I decided to post this here in case this issue is related, but I have a row of railings & posts that blocks pathfinding as can be seen in the first picture, but AI still are able to pass through those railings.



    The second picture shows the pathfinding cells. How do pathfinding links relate to pathfinding cells?


  12. #12
    Dˇttirin klŠ­ist oft mˇ­ur m÷ttli
    Registered: Apr 2015
    Try to set AI Collides with: true on the object itself. The dimensions of the blocking objects have to be adjusted.

  13. #13
    Member
    Registered: May 2002
    Location: Texas
    Thanks for the suggestion Unna. The railings I'm using are rather short so I might have to make them taller as you said. I solved it by adding an invisible fence. To save objects I might combine railings/posts on long runs and that might help with pathfinding by having single long objects as opposed to a bunch of small consecutive objects.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •