TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 78

Thread: Thief 3 ESRGAN Attemt

  1. #1
    Member
    Registered: Feb 2012
    Location: Russia

    Thief 3 ESRGAN Attemt

    New post for future Thief 3 Upscale Project. Will post screenshots, results and questions.
    For start - this is upscaled Trailer movie from game folder. Used to be BIK format, I converted to MKV.
    Original had a lot of compression errors and was terrible in quality, I even can't improve it much
    1920x816 version:
    https://cloud.mail.ru/public/4vRN/45NH2t9Fo

  2. #2
    New Member
    Registered: Nov 2019
    This looks good man.

  3. #3
    New Member
    Registered: Nov 2009
    Location: Germany
    https://filehorst.de/d/djFkFqbI Thief-test.mkv (43,98MB)

  4. #4
    Ionisator attempt looks better. There are frames where you can see black bands in your version, Akven, like at the 14-15 second mark and 1:12-1:14. You can still see some of it in Ionisator's, but you gotta look at it more closely to notice.

  5. #5
    Member
    Registered: Feb 2012
    Location: Russia
    Blocked artifacts still too visible. And line shaking in motion. I used deinterlace to slightly remove this.

  6. #6
    New Member
    Registered: Nov 2009
    Location: Germany
    I used a trial version of Topaz Gigapixel AI
    some things are better, others worse

  7. #7
    New Member
    Registered: Nov 2017
    I really like all your ESRGAN releases, thanx alot.

    Are you still working or planning on Thief 3?

    Really looking forward to the first ingame screenshot.

  8. #8
    Member
    Registered: Feb 2012
    Location: Russia
    I'm gonna resize Thief 3 videos first. I still don't know what to do with the textures. I guess I just need to start. Just don't have enough time. The most time consuming thing is transparency. And there is a lot of transparency in Thief 3 textures.

  9. #9
    Member
    Registered: Feb 2012
    Location: Russia
    Ok, next question. How to extract textures from .ibt files?
    I can open them in map editor, but when I try to export/extract them - editor crashes.

  10. #10
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007
    Why extract from .ibt? All the textures come with the editor as discrete .dds files, so if you can run T3Ed you probably already have them. Look in Content\T3\PCTextures in your T3Ed install.

  11. #11
    Member
    Registered: Feb 2012
    Location: Russia
    I found them. Next question:why there are two folders, Textures and PCTextures with a lot of identical textures? Which should I use.

  12. #12
    Member
    Registered: Feb 2012
    Location: Russia
    I finally started to upscale movies. And figured a way to upscale textures:

    -convert dds to png
    -script for adding additional pixels to the borders of the pictures for correct tiling
    -DXT1 compression restoration model for ESRGAN
    -ESRGAN upscale magic
    -script for removing additional pixels
    -convert png back to dds

    Also, as I see, not all the textures had normal maps available. I can create this normal maps, but I don't know if it is possible to somehow make the game run them.

  13. #13
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007
    Quote Originally Posted by Akven View Post
    why there are two folders, Textures and PCTextures with a lot of identical textures? Which should I use.
    PCTextures. The Textures folder were for the Xbox, so probably lower quality due to the memory constraint.

    Quote Originally Posted by Akven View Post
    Also, as I see, not all the textures had normal maps available. I can create this normal maps, but I don't know if it is possible to somehow make the game run them.
    Somebody tried previously adding new normal maps as external files, but it didn't work. I'm going to have a look at it to see if there's a way, either using T3Ed or a code patch.

  14. #14
    Member
    Registered: Feb 2012
    Location: Russia
    Done some tests with Community Patch
    For splash and menu screens game supports up to 4096x4096 resolution (didn't tested higher resolutions). I think for other textures too.
    I don't see the point of upscaling menu to such resolutions, 2048x2048 would be enough, but I can do it. As for textures - very few textures had 1024x1024 size, most of them are 512x512 (so after ESRGAN they will be 2048x2048)

    Also I found a good GUI for ESRGAN, with which I can automate alpha channel extraction.
    https://github.com/ptrsuder/IEU.Winforms/

  15. #15
    Member
    Registered: Feb 2012
    Location: Russia
    How many files do you have in PCTextures folder in editor version of the game?

    I found one broken normal map texture:
    InnGuard_U_N.dds

    Does it broken for you too or it is my HDD fault?
    If it broken for everyone, I will regenerate it

  16. #16
    Member
    Registered: Feb 2012
    Location: Russia
    Interesting thing:
    Very view textures had not only normal maps, but also specular map and _b (bump?) map.
    For example:
    GENfloorD_D.dds - Diffuse
    GENfloorD_N.dds - Normal
    GENfloorD_S.dds - Specular
    GENfloorD_B.dds - Bump?

    If we will be able to add normal maps for textures which had none, maybe we could regenerate specular maps too?

  17. #17
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007
    Quote Originally Posted by Akven View Post
    I don't see the point of upscaling menu to such resolutions, 2048x2048 would be enough
    Sure - no need to upscale beyond what's justified by the source material.

    Quote Originally Posted by Akven View Post
    How many files do you have in PCTextures folder in editor version of the game?
    1969 .dds files, including those in subfolders.

    I found one broken normal map texture:
    InnGuard_U_N.dds
    The one I have looks, ahem, normal.

    Quote Originally Posted by Akven View Post
    Interesting thing:
    Very view textures had not only normal maps, but also specular map and _b (bump?) map.
    For example:
    GENfloorD_D.dds - Diffuse
    GENfloorD_N.dds - Normal
    GENfloorD_S.dds - Specular
    GENfloorD_B.dds - Bump?
    That texture is part of the T3_GEN material library. If you load that in the editor, it looks like only the diffuse and normal parts are used. The others could maybe have been copied in by mistake because the texture comes from some third-party library?

    If we will be able to add normal maps for textures which had none, maybe we could regenerate specular maps too?
    If they work, they'd need to be added to the matlibs. Doing a bit of research, it looks like that's one of the things for which you need a particular version of 3DSMax. I'm going to have another look at hacking it in, but due to the complexity of the matlib files, I'm not optimistic.

  18. #18
    Member
    Registered: Feb 2012
    Location: Russia
    If those specular maps are not used/not supported ingame - I will not upscale them.

    I sorted all the textures by compression type (DXT1/DXT3 with BC1 or lossless compression) and sorted out normal maps from diffuse maps.
    So I can now test upscaling on different sources.

    Normal maps needs to be upscaled with special model or by separating RGB channels.
    Diffuse maps needs to be upscaled based on transparency by separation alpha from color and upscaling them separately and merging in the end.
    Also need to preserve tiling in level textures. And somehow test DXT BC restoration model prior to everything.

    Should I generate mipmaps in DDS files? Most of the Thief 3 textures had none.

  19. #19
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007
    Quote Originally Posted by Akven View Post
    If those specular maps are not used/not supported ingame - I will not upscale them.
    I've found an example of a texture (GARbowmetalgriphi) which has a specular map assigned in the matlib (T3_bow). Also, there's a bump map entry in the texture properties, although the ones I've seen until now have all been "None".

    I'll try to extract the names of textures from the matlib files, to hopefully get a list of textures that are actually used.

    Should I generate mipmaps in DDS files? Most of the Thief 3 textures had none.
    Maybe generate mipmaps only when the original texture has them?

  20. #20
    Member
    Registered: Feb 2012
    Location: Russia
    snobel, maybe could you replace specular map for bow with something with a big words TEST on it. And see if it would be visible ingame. If so, engine supports specular maps. (I did it testing 4096x4096 sizes for splash screens, wrote TEST on top of tested T3Calibration)
    I think we could generate those additional maps for any textures with some automate tools.The only question is inserting it back to matlibs.

  21. #21
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007
    I've extracted the texture file names from the matlibs (will upload later), and that one specular map is the only one referenced... So maybe it was added by mistake, or specular maps were originally in, but were removed when they shoe-horned the game into the Xbox. I'll do some experiments to see if that one specular map is actually used.

    Quote Originally Posted by Akven View Post
    The only question is inserting it back to matlibs.
    Unfortunately that's a big question, because most of the people who knew how to do that are no longer around.

  22. #22
    Member
    Registered: Feb 2012
    Location: Russia
    Completed 3 videos and all the small logo videos.

    Keeping searching through the textures. Found interesting things/bugs:
    https://imgsli.com/MTEwOTY

    BRONZEgoodness texture is very different between diffuse map and normal map.
    All the other *goodness textures looks like normal map with different material
    https://imgsli.com/MTEwOTY/2/1

    So I think this is some kind of error in BRONZEgoodness_D. It is a copy of HammerGuard_L_D
    I even don't know what it is ingame, I hadn't run it past first level

    I'll post all the strange things in order. I don't have Thief 3 editor knowledge to see if it is normal. If anyone can do an instruction for me - it would be excellent

    1. A lot of textures don't have normal textures - it is well known
    2. ArmorGoodnessTrim_N.dds don't have diffuse map, only normal map
    3. Gen_velvet_N is flat. But texture is clearly not flat. So will need to regenerate this normal map.
    4. BRONZEgoodness_D/BRONZEgoodness_N/HammerGuard_L_D
    5. There is lootgoodness_N, but no diffuse map.
    6. Normal map for Teeth_Normal_D is flat
    Last edited by Akven; 16th Jan 2020 at 03:09.

  23. #23
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007
    Quote Originally Posted by Akven View Post
    Completed 3 videos and all the small logo videos.
    Sounds good!

    2. ArmorGoodnessTrim_N.dds don't have diffuse map, only normal map
    This one seems to be unused, at least outside of FMs.

    3. Gen_velvet_N is flat. But texture is clearly not flat. So will need to regenerate this normal map.
    6. Normal map for Teeth_Normal_D is flat
    Yes, looks like these could be improved.

    4. BRONZEgoodness_D/BRONZEgoodness_N/HammerGuard_L_D
    I think you're right that the D part is wrong. The texture is apparently used only in the Docks3 map (the zombie ship). I painted some harsh colours over it and ran around the map a bit - it's used on a lamp in the captain's cabin! Replacing it with a more bronze-y version of e.g. GOLDGoodness1_D could work.

    5. There is lootgoodness_N, but no diffuse map.
    No idea about this one, but it appears to be referenced by all the maps.

  24. #24
    Member
    Registered: Feb 2012
    Location: Russia
    Maybe you could tell me. How can I find which texture used with which normal map and how they are looking ingame? In editor.
    There are some textures with one normal map for several almost identical diffuse maps. And several diffuse maps with strange normal maps with different scale/offset factor.

  25. #25
    Sneaky Upgrader
    Registered: May 2007
    I don't know of an easy way to do that. You can load matlib (.mlb) files in the texture browser (the small window that opens on top of the main T3Ed window) but you'd have to find each texture, right-click and select Material Info.

    If you want, I can upload a file listing which texture names are referenced in which matlib file(s). Then it would be doable if you're only after a few problematic items.

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •