TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: V-V-V-VOTrap, V-V-V-VOTrap, VOTrap, VOTrap

  1. #1
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2001
    Location: OldDark Detox Clinic

    V-V-V-VOTrap, V-V-V-VOTrap, VOTrap, VOTrap

    I don't know what the deal is. VOTrap was playing more than once.

    Took an object, put StdBook script on it to display text when frobbed (no book art, just on screen) and TrigWorldFrob so I could link it to a VOTrap to play a Garrett phrase.

    Every time I frobbed, the text came up. That's fine.

    But the VOTrap plays when I frob it over again too.

    I had to put a RelayTrap between the obj and VOTrap with TrapControlFlags "Once" in order to make it only play once.

    What did I screw up so that the VOTrap's TrigSchemaDone script didn't work?


  2. #2
    Member
    Registered: Apr 2011
    OnSchemaDone just broadcasts a TurnOn through the VOTraps outgoing CD links. It doesn't intrinsically do anything to prevent the VOTrap firing again.

    I believe the usual thing is link the VOTrap to a DestroyTrap to destroy them both after the first play.

  3. #3
    DromEd Archmage
    Registered: Nov 2010
    Location: Between a bed and a machine
    This or having "play_once" option in the schema

  4. #4
    Desperately Dodgy Moderator
    Registered: Nov 2001
    Location: Dragonsreach
    That property is generally inherited by any VO schema if it's assigned the proper archetype in the schema definition.

  5. #5
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2001
    Location: OldDark Detox Clinic
    Yeah, VO's are made to only play once. I just created a regular VO from the regular Trap Trig Archetype>SoundTrap>VOTrap. Never run into this situation in building 10 missions. It's jerry rigged with the Relay for now. I was just curious if anyone could think of why.

  6. #6
    ZylonBane
    Registered: Sep 2000
    Location: ZylonBane
    Well, is the schema you're playing not under PLYR_SCRIPTED in the hierarchy?

  7. #7
    Member
    Registered: Nov 2003
    Location: ┴W 'ɐlnossᴉW
    Yeah, I had this problem in TROTB 2. It will keep using the VOTrap. I'm thinking that it might be from what version the gen.osm you have. I didn't have this problem in TROTB 1. I had a book that had StdButton added to it and it only triggered it once. So, what I did in TROTB 2 is to have a DestoryTrap get rid of the VOTrap after it played.

    I could be wrong about the gen.osm file. It also might be a script conflict.

  8. #8
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2001
    Location: OldDark Detox Clinic
    Quote Originally Posted by GORT View Post
    . It also might be a script conflict.
    This possibility crossed my mind too. Relay Trap with Trap Control Flag "Once" is working, so I'm not gonna dick with it.

    When I have the chance though, I'm going to do the exact same setup in cow with one room and see if it happens again, maybe dick around with it to see if I can work it out.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •