TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 47

Thread: AM16's Thief1 Fixed - Bugfixed Original Missions - Released 2020-09-20

  1. #1
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2002
    Location: College Place, WA

    AM16's Thief1 Fixed - Bugfixed Original Missions - Released 2020-09-20

    Hello everyone!

    I'm proud to present bugfixed versions of the Thief Gold Original Missions. Each mission has been painstakingly playtested to find and fix any bugs. I've probably spent over a thousand hours fixing and improving the missions. Similar to Thief2 Fixed, the improvements include adjusting texture alignments, fixings room brushes, optimizing terrain, and providing minor visual enhancements. Some broken content and conversations were fixed, but only if they were already set up in the level. (I did not arbitrarily add content back in.) Many of the Thief1 and Gold levels have "optimizations" meant to reduce polygon and cell counts - namely just filling and area of the level with a solid brush so the player can't see any of that stuff. They also built many of the levels in a way to prevent areas from being viewed, by essentially making city streets "tunnels." I've removed these limitations by essentially reconstructing large segments of the level, allowing buildings in the city to be viewed from areas they couldn't have been previously, and the effect I must say is "Quite Spectacular!" As always, the intention is not to enhance, but to adhere to the original vision of each level. Gameplay changes are avoided as strictly as possible, but it's possible in optimizing terrain or setting lights against the wall some changes have been introduced. I did not keep a changelog, as it would be tens of thousands of items long, and would have just substantially slowed down progress.

    You might be wondering, "Wait, isn't there already the HDMod maps by Gecko, and Voodoo47's fixed maps?" Yes there are. Thief1 Fixed is designed to supersede Voodoo's missions as fixed vanilla maps, as the fixes go more in depth than Voodoo's. Gecko's missions (and textures) aren't exactly a vanilla experience in terms of gameplay, Thief1 Fixed aims to strictly avoid gameplay changes, though it's possible there are some slight variations. Unintentional alterations to gameplay can be requested to be changed to original behavior.

    Here is an album of 72 comparison screenshots on Imgur

    The missions can be played like any FM, using your favorite loader.

    Downloads:
    Version 1.00d - Mediafire

    Here is a video of flying around Mission 5 - Assassins. The main city area was painstakingly rebuilt so that the road and paths were all part of one large area, allowing terrain and details to be seen that were previously hidden.


    There will be future releases, so please report any problems or requests here.

  2. #2
    Member
    Registered: Jan 2006
    Location: On the tip of your tongue.
    Great work! Sounds like a good reason to replay Thief 1!

  3. #3
    New Member
    Registered: Mar 2020
    Quote Originally Posted by nicked View Post
    Great work! Sounds like a good reason to replay Thief 1!
    +1

  4. #4
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2011
    Location: Ferrol - Spain
    I copied files over voodoo47īs mission files.
    Do I still need his dml files or you have included his fixes?
    I guess I still need to use his OSM.
    Script-t1.osm: can I use the one used by voodoo47 (newer and bigger)
    Tried Lord Baffordīs. Thereīs some wood floating turning around very slowly in the sewers which is a very beautiful effect and I canīt frob guardīs key by the well. Is that correct?

  5. #5
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2002
    Location: College Place, WA
    Quote Originally Posted by bassoferrol View Post
    I copied files over voodoo47īs mission files.
    Do I still need his dml files or you have included his fixes?
    I guess I still need to use his OSM.
    Script-t1.osm: can I use the one used by voodoo47 (newer and bigger)
    Tried Lord Baffordīs. Thereīs some wood floating turning around very slowly in the sewers which is a very beautiful effect and I canīt frob guardīs key by the well. Is that correct?
    You don't need his DML files. I haven't quite completed mod compatibility with some of his mods, namely the Candle Mod, so they might even cause problems. I'll be working with voodoo to ensure compatibility.

    As far as not being able to frob the guard's key, do you mean that you couldn't pickpocket it? Or it doesn't highlight when centered on screen? If it highlights, it's probably because the guard is aware of you. You can't pickpocket him if he's seen you - you have to knock him out if he has.
    [Edit] I just tested, and it works as intended for me.

    I only use Script-T1 for a bugfix to prevent guards being alerted by blackjacking, so I'm pretty sure either works.

  6. #6
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2011
    Location: Ferrol - Spain
    At the end of the water passage after plunging down in the well thereīs a window where water goes to or comes from, idk, that should be some kind of grate instead.
    This was suugested by me a long time ago and voodoo47 changed the texture accordingly.

  7. #7
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2002
    Location: College Place, WA
    Typically, I take a "if it ain't broke, don't fix it" approach to changing textures, but with texture replacement mods, I can see how this would be out of place. I've changed it to a metal grate texture, and it should be fixed in the next release. Thanks for the suggestion!

  8. #8
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2011
    Location: Ferrol - Spain
    This has always been present:
    In Lord Baffordīs ground floor if you hug to the wall on the far right side of the manor as you enter through the main entrance you can here the wind blowing and youīll still hear it in different rooms (the room with the paintings for example). That doesnīt happen if you do it on the left side.

  9. #9
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2002
    Location: College Place, WA
    I can't seem to reproduce any wind blowing sounds by entering through the front gate, and hugging the right wall. Could you send a screen shot of where the wind sound is triggered?

  10. #10
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2011
    Location: Ferrol - Spain

  11. #11
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by AntiMatter_16 View Post
    with texture replacement mods, I can see how this would be out of place.
    hate to say it, but yeah, you will have do a second pass of the levels with some texture pack enabled - there are quite a few places that are incorrectly textured, but this only is noticeable once a texture pack is loaded (the vanilla textures are too lowres to see it).

    ex. some Cragscleft walls use ground textures (gravel and stone. fine with vanilla as they are both just a dark grey smear, but with a texture pack, you can see the individual pebbles of the gravel, which doesn't look good on a wall).

  12. #12
    Seems like once I installed and tried this out, the drain cover in Assassins (near Home Turf) is now a door that slides away when frobbed. If I recall correctly, the drain cover didn't exist at all in Assassins but did in The Lost City.

  13. #13
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2002
    Location: College Place, WA
    Thanks for the screenshot, Bassoferrol. I've found the problem, and corrected it. There was an audio transition from the sewer right outside the wall. I adjusted it, so you can't hear wind there anymore.

    I also fixed the frobable sewer grate, TriangleTooth. Thanks for the reports!

  14. #14
    Well that was unexpected I found the Hammer Temple in Assassins!

  15. #15
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2011
    Location: Ferrol - Spain
    Also, I see that in some roofs in mission Assassins you swapped texure roof - ramirez for edge - basement and it looks real weird.

  16. #16
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2011
    Location: Ferrol - Spain
    Lost city.
    A lot of lighting bugs.
    Rooms that should light themselves donīt and some rooms are lit when they should be dark.
    In the first building with burricks, in the main entrance there are three torches but the rooms is dark, etc.

  17. #17
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2002
    Location: College Place, WA
    @bassoferrol
    I tested The Lost City mission and everything is working perfectly fine. You are probably using an old save. Old saves are not compatible with the new levels. Load your old save, and restart the mission from the menus and it should work properly.

    I'm not sure what you mean by "swapped texure roof - ramirez for edge - basement". There are some rooms on the 1st floor of Ramirez' mansion that have blue roof tile as their floor, but that's original texturing, I didn't change it.

  18. #18
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2011
    Location: Ferrol - Spain
    Yes you are right. I must have used and old save. My fault there.
    As for the roof texture:


  19. #19
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2002
    Location: College Place, WA
    The original had that stone 'trim' texture on one side, and tile roof on the other. For variety's sake, I decided to use the stone trim, and other roofs already used it. I've reverted it to use the tile roof texture though, and adjusted it to look less offensive.

  20. #20
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2011
    Location: Ferrol - Spain
    I think cobbles here should not be used. Instead the same texture as on the other side on the left (one texture only)

    Iīm momentarily using this texture instead of edge for those roofs


    I think turbines and their sound should be checked completely.
    In Assassins in the factory they are making noise but they do not rotate.
    On the contrary in Undercover the turbine is rotating but there is no noise.
    Voodoo47 fixed them all I think as well as lighting the near area where the alarm is whenever it is set off.

  21. #21
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2011
    Location: Ferrol - Spain
    Lord Baffordīs:

    Lamp floating:



    Thereīs also a street lamp floating but not really important just opposite the well entrance in the background.

    Thereīs a painting you can frob in the room with paintings. It makes no sound when frobbed and you canīt frob it back up once it goes down. Is that intentional?

  22. #22
    Member
    Registered: Mar 2001
    Location: Ireland
    Oh, wow, you actually finished this after all these years.
    Congratulations!

    You're underselling the amount of work that you did with these. Didn't you basically rebuild the brushwork for almost all of the levels almost from scratch?

    The screenshots look great. It's amazing how much of a different properly aligned textures can make, or little details like the small patch of bare stone in the doorway of that Bafford's shot.

  23. #23
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2002
    Location: College Place, WA
    @Bassoferrol
    I've fixed the floating light fixture, and street lamp in Bafford's.
    In Assassins, I've changed the cobble texture. I'm leaving the roofs as is for now. I've also activated to the rotational joint of the turbines in the industrial area.
    In Undercover, I simply deactivated the turbine's rotation. I don't usually add things like ambient sounds if I can help it.

    @Nameless Voice, not Yandros...
    Yeah, I reconstructed a LOT of brush work to make it more optimized in a lot of levels, and to make textures align better, even though the end result is very similar what was there originally. I wanted to make the terrain more 'readable' when looking at the level in DromEd. Here's an example:
    Assassins Original:
    https://i.imgur.com/Udvume6.jpg
    Assassins Fixed:
    https://i.imgur.com/4S1wYM0.jpg

    If you open those images in different tabs and switch between them, it gives a small idea of the brush optimization work done. And the extensive rebuild of that mission to make existing terrain visible from different areas.
    Last edited by AntiMatter_16; 27th Sep 2020 at 00:37.

  24. #24
    Member
    Registered: Mar 2001
    Location: Ireland
    Uhm, haven't seen Yandros in this thread yet.

  25. #25
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2011
    Location: Ferrol - Spain
    I think all fireplaces should have its fire with firewood, not just fire.
    In The Sword in the ground floor by the stairs you have that chandelier that is floating. It should be attached to the dome above.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •