TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Let's talk Unity

Let's talk Unity

I wasn't sure whether I should post this under the "What are you making?" thread or not, but I know that there are some Unity wizards here on TTLG who might want to share their experiences and tips, so a dedicated thread might not be a terrible idea.

So I wanted to ask you guys for some useful tips for a beginner! You see, I've got a bunch of very vague game ideas - nothing concrete at all - but making a game has always been a bit of a dream of mine. I thought that Unity might be a good choice to start with, but the problem is that I don't really even know where to start. I have a little experience with Java from years ago, and I'm really not an expert programmer or anything, but I've figured that with Unity I could still be able to create something, and with a little encouragement I might even get interested in coding again.

I've seen a bunch of guides on the internet - I even got myself something called "The Ultimate Guide to Game Development with Unity 2019" as it had got some good reviews and it promised to cover the basics. However, I also read that some parts of that guide were originally written with Unity 2018 in mind, and even some of the updated parts aren't totally up to date with the newest version (2020?) of Unity. Are the differences between the different versions really that big? Obviously I don't want to spend my time and energy on learning some wrong or outdated techniques.