TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: DromEd Question

  1. #1
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2002
    Location: Deep inside mediocrity

    DromEd Question

    I'm using AngelLoader for T1 and T2, and I'm using New Dark FM Selector for TG. I want to install DromEd to edit/build a T2 mission again and I tried installing DromEd Basic 1.14 (Beta2) but I think it's for NewDark and won't work with AngelLoader. Any help would be appreciated.

  2. #2
    Member
    Registered: May 2017
    Location: USA
    DromEd is a totally different thing from a fan mission loader. They’re not supposed to be used together. I’d recommend just using the vanilla dromed rather than dromed basic.

    What exactly is the issue you’re experiencing?

    PS it could be worth having your thread renamed, since the title doesn’t convey any info about your issue, so people won’t have any idea what you’re asking about unless they click in. (“dromed question” applies to all of the threads in the editors guild.)

  3. #3
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2002
    Location: Deep inside mediocrity
    Thanks, I figured it out. I'm not sure how I figured it out but Dromed is working.

  4. #4
    Member
    Registered: Jan 2001
    Location: Constantly losing tug o'war
    You should say what you figured out because using a modern FM loader with Dromed makes it easy to manage multiple installed FMs (i.e. for reference or testing new content etc).

  5. #5
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by trefoilknot View Post
    They’re not supposed to be used together. I’d recommend just using the vanilla dromed rather than dromed basic.
    what? that is the best way as far as I'm aware, install Dromed Basic, and use it with FMsel if you want to work on a fan mission.

  6. #6
    Member
    Registered: May 2017
    Location: USA
    Oh, wow, I didn’t know that. I thought it was just for playing. I figured integration with DromEd died with the original Darkloader (RIP).

    I’ll have to look into this. Perhaps I can streamline my workflow.

  7. #7
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    T2Fix can install everything.

  8. #8
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2002
    Location: Deep inside mediocrity
    Quote Originally Posted by R Soul View Post
    You should say what you figured out because using a modern FM loader with Dromed makes it easy to manage multiple installed FMs (i.e. for reference or testing new content etc).
    I'm not sure how I got Dromed to work. I downloaded DromEd Basic 1.14 (Beta 4) and installed it into the T2 directory. I'm not sure this was what I should have done. I am starting dromed from the install using the Dromed shortcut instead of using a FM selector/loader.

    I currently have NewDarkloader 1.5.8 installed to play TG and TG FM's and AngelLoader 1.4.4 installed to play T1/T2 and T1/T2 FM's.

    My goal is to edit one of my old missions and start a new mission for T2.

  9. #9
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2002
    Location: Deep inside mediocrity
    Soooo after getting Dromed to work now when I try to play FMs with Angel Loader the screen width defaults to the non-widescreen width. Not sure if I overwrote a file or something.

  10. #10
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    you mean you are using one install to both play the game AND edit the missions? duuude.

  11. #11
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2002
    Location: Deep inside mediocrity
    **Edit - Screen resolution settings in game solved the issue.**

    It might have been a mistake.... Everything worked great until I tried to install dromed in the T2 file. The game still plays but is now back to the original width.

  12. #12
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2002
    Location: Deep inside mediocrity
    Quote Originally Posted by voodoo47 View Post
    you mean you are using one install to both play the game AND edit the missions? duuude.
    What exactly is the best way to edit an old mission or make a new one in DROMED these days? I'm running an older laptop with Windows 7 and use Angerloader 1.4.7 for T1 and T2 FMs and NewDarkLoader 1.5.8 for TG FMs so I can have all three games installed and playable.

  13. #13
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2004
    Location: netherlands
    Quote Originally Posted by voodoo47 View Post
    you mean you are using one install to both play the game AND edit the missions? duuude.
    IMHO that is by far the most effecient way. one install for both playing and editing/using dromed.
    I use fmsel and when building a new mission in dromed i set up a folder for that mission in thief/fm/new mission.
    when starting dromed, fm sel opens and I choose the folder (mission) that I want to work in. (I have several missions in the work)

    when the mission is done, just zip up the content of that folder and done...

  14. #14
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    keeping one clean install for just playing the game or fan missions and another one for editing is the Dromed safety rule number one as far as I'm aware, even in NewDark times. the extra hdd space shouldn't be a problem nowadays.

    as far as my editing is concerned, I keep an extra install for each mod/fm I edit to make sure I don't have resource, script and other conflicts, so basically one (SS2) install for SCP, one for Secmod, one for RttUNN etc. I learned the hard way it's better to be safe than sorry.

  15. #15
    Member
    Registered: May 2001
    Location: Boston MA
    Voodoo:

    Great advice. I have made the mistake of using the same install for Dromed and playing fm’s I too have learned a lesson and now have a clean install I never touch, a Dromed install for building and another install for playing FM’s.

    On my last mission, I made the mistake of installing NewDark and checked all the boxes (installed everything) and did not think about it when I issued my mission. So, players with a basic NewDark install, had texture errors. Better idea - have a clean install and add in any textures, etc. to the Dromed install so it is easy to package the mission and include any custom stuff.

    Live and learn.

    bbb

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •