TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: Adding items via .dml

  1. #1
    Member
    Registered: Jan 2001
    Location: Lisbon Or Oslo (or Hell)

    Adding items via .dml

    Hey all!

    Is it possible to add items via dml? For instance, would it be possible to add 2 health potions via dml to a specific coordinate?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    yes, three ways come to mind - the very low tech approach of tweq spawning them from nearby junk objects, then you can use NVCreateAndLink if NVscript is your thing, and you can also spawn them directly I believe, see NewDark docs.

  3. #3
    Member
    Registered: Jan 2001
    Location: Lisbon Or Oslo (or Hell)
    Quote Originally Posted by voodoo47 View Post
    yes, three ways come to mind - the very low tech approach of tweq spawning them from nearby junk objects, then you can use NVCreateAndLink if NVscript is your thing, and you can also spawn them directly I believe, see NewDark docs.
    Thanks! The newdark docs are a bit criptic on that regard... do you have a concrete example?

  4. #4
    Member
    Registered: May 2008
    Location: Southern,California
    i would love a script to have shadowjack in any mission i want,a file i could just drop into a folder and it works would be amazing

  5. #5
    Member
    Registered: Jan 2001
    Location: Lisbon Or Oslo (or Hell)
    Quote Originally Posted by downwinder View Post
    i would love a script to have shadowjack in any mission i want,a file i could just drop into a folder and it works would be amazing
    Something like that would also be lovely!

  6. #6
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    yes.. sounds lovely indeed.



    anyway;
    Quote Originally Posted by dbmod-sample.dml
    // Create a concrete object
    Create "Marker"
    {
    +ObjProp "Position"
    {
    "Location" 10.0, 20.1, -10.5
    "Heading" 0
    "Pitch" 0
    "Bank" 0
    }
    +ObjProp "Scripts"
    {
    "Script 0" "MyScript"
    }
    }

    // Clone a concrete object
    Create 35
    {
    +ObjProp "Position"
    {
    "Location" 30.9, 85.4, -4.8
    "Heading" 4000
    "Pitch" 0
    "Bank" 0
    }
    }

  7. #7
    Member
    Registered: Jan 2001
    Location: Lisbon Or Oslo (or Hell)
    Quote Originally Posted by voodoo47 View Post
    yes.. sounds lovely indeed.



    anyway;
    Thanks mate! Will test it later on!

    Tested - It works fine!
    Last edited by Chaos; 25th Nov 2020 at 06:29. Reason: tested

  8. #8
    Member
    Registered: May 2008
    Location: Southern,California
    how does it works i dont see anything in file that would be a item?

    also how would one use it do i put in into a folder? named? and place it where?

    i got no idea how to use a dml

  9. #9
    Member
    Registered: Jan 2001
    Location: Lisbon Or Oslo (or Hell)
    you name it missname.mis.dml

    this is an example of a full file

    DML1


    Create "FireCrystal"
    {
    +ObjProp "Position"
    {
    "Location" -124.724, 257.264, 169.324
    "Heading" 0
    "Pitch" 0
    "Bank" 0
    }
    +ObjProp "Scripts"
    {
    "Script 0" "MyScript"
    }
    +ObjProp "StackCount"
    {
    "" 10
    }
    }

  10. #10
    Member
    Registered: May 2008
    Location: Southern,California
    ^way beyond my skill level,here is a idea have it already made ,people download and are told where to drop it in what folder


    but thank you for effort

  11. #11
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    well yes, to create dmls, you will have to have at least some basic Dromed knowledge - you need to know the name of the object and where to place it, if nothing else.

  12. #12
    Member
    Registered: Mar 2018
    This is a bit different question, but relates to changing stuff via dml. Some missions have these pitch black shadows that aren't affected by Gamma Setting (I call it eternal darkness). Most of the missions are short, but I'm thinking about huge mission called Heartcliff Islands. Eternal darkness make it very frustrating to play, because 75% of it is pitch black and lantern has super small range, so it's not very helpful. Is it possible to create one dml fix that would work for every mission using this kind of darkness?

  13. #13
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    dmls only work with objects, so that'd be a no. however, it would be possible to create a lantern mod that would add a player-carried lantern to any mission, I reckon.

  14. #14
    Member
    Registered: Mar 2018
    Is it at least possible to increase range of lantern, so I will see bigger area? Or if it's not possible, then maybe add lots of flares.

  15. #15
    Member
    Registered: May 2008
    Location: Southern,California
    this is a great post,makes me wish for a premade list of dml's that people can drop into fan missions to add to experience of a mission,like shadowjack,lanterns,dewdrop ofcourse as he should be in every single mission :P

    and ofcourse grappling hook ,that sticks in to anything so we can climb everything in a mission to get amazing views

  16. #16
    Member
    Registered: Jan 2001
    Location: Lisbon Or Oslo (or Hell)
    After A few experiments, something is amiss with, for instance, our friendly Flashbombs.

    Why on earth does is drop down (activate) when the game is started? if I load the dml via dromed, all is well!

    I added PhysAttr and PhysControl but it still drops down!

    Create "Flashbomb"
    {
    +ObjProp "Position"
    {
    "Location" 137.998, 113.434, 97.2635
    "Heading" 0.00
    "Pitch" 0.00
    "Bank" 0.00
    }
    +ObjProp "StackCount"
    {
    "" 2
    }
    +ObjProp "PhysAttr"
    {
    "Gravity %" 0.00
    "Mass" 0.00
    "Density" 0.00
    }
    +ObjProp "PhysControl"
    {
    "Controls Active" Location, Rotation
    }
    }

  17. #17
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    yes, assigning physics attributes via dml may, or may not work, this is a known limitation.

  18. #18
    Member
    Registered: Jan 2001
    Location: Lisbon Or Oslo (or Hell)
    Quote Originally Posted by voodoo47 View Post
    yes, assigning physics attributes via dml may, or may not work, this is a known limitation.
    Thanks Voodoo47.

    Fixed it by removing PhysType (and two other just to make sure)

    Create "Flashbomb"
    {
    -ObjProp "PhysAttr"
    -ObjProp "PhysControl"
    -ObjProp "PhysType"
    +ObjProp "Position"
    {
    "Location" 615.82, 423.759, 469.031
    "Heading" 0.00
    "Pitch" 0.00
    "Bank" 0.00
    }
    +ObjProp "StackCount"
    {
    "" 2
    }
    }

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •