TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 26 to 50 of 78

Thread: FMEditor Project (Update: Devlog #2 - Polygons, Cells and WorldRep)

  1. #26
    ZylonBane
    Registered: Sep 2000
    Location: ZylonBane
    Quote Originally Posted by Marzec View Post
    How do you align heights of your brushes? Do you type them by hand?
    I just use the 3D view in outline mode, and grid snapping and manual tweaking in the GFH as needed.

  2. #27
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2004
    Location: Ireland/Poland
    Hard-core style. We're the soft people...

    Also, combined with area brushes, the side views can be as efficient and useful as top views, as you can focus on whatever part you need.

  3. #28
    ZylonBane
    Registered: Sep 2000
    Location: ZylonBane
    The problem with the side views is that they (potentially) look sideways through the entire level, which makes the view incomprehensible. Top view doesn't have this problem since most levels are laid out horizontally.

  4. #29
    Member
    Registered: Jan 2006
    Location: On the tip of your tongue.
    That's where Area brushes come in handy!

  5. #30
    New Member
    Registered: Feb 2019
    Location: London, UK
    This is very, very cool. Procedurally generating missions sounds like an awesome Python project, too.

  6. #31
    New Member
    Registered: Sep 2006
    This is super exciting and unexpected! The brush editing shown in the video seems quite strong, modern and flexible in ways that the two big-money engines don't seem to care about nowadays.

    Opening up the source once the major architecture is out of the way sounds like a good move, hopefully yall can get to that point soon. Also exciting that much of it is written in Python. These are all the same decisions I would make if I had the time and resources to make a new editor (I'd probably use imgui but no matter).

  7. #32
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2013
    Have you considered adding visibility layers?

  8. #33
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2004
    Location: Ireland/Poland
    Also exciting that much of it is written in Python. These are all the same decisions I would make if I had the time and resources to make a new editor (I'd probably use imgui but no matter).
    Hey, glad you like the work done so far. I've never heard before of Imgui, to be honest, but Qt is a mature and powerful framework, which we both are familiar with. And it comes with Qt3D module, so that makes it super handy, as we don't need to deal with low level OpenGL stuff. There's still a learning curve involved with it, but it looks very promising so far.

    Have you considered adding visibility layers?
    Yes, definitely. Plus visibility for each individual brush/object or a group of brushes.

  9. #34
    Member
    Registered: Jun 2009
    Request: Customizable hotkeys with several presets

    1. A preset designed for people who are used to classic DromEd

    2. A preset for people more familiar with modern standards such as Unreal Engine 4 or perhaps Unity, so the editor is inviting to new blood.
    Last edited by Ascobol; 28th Dec 2020 at 15:02. Reason: spelling

  10. #35
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2004
    Location: Ireland/Poland
    Yes, hotkeys will be customizable, through FMEditor's UI.

    As for the presets - we might come up with some, or they could be created by people and distributed/shared as preset files.

  11. #36
    Member
    Registered: Jun 2009
    Quote Originally Posted by PinkDot View Post
    Yes, hotkeys will be customizable, through FMEditor's UI.

    As for the presets - we might come up with some, or they could be created by people and distributed/shared as preset files.
    All three are great features, I would say implementing all of those is the ideal path. Personally, I would be using the UnrealEd presets because I already use it for work, it would make my FMEd experience an extension of my workflow.

    Also I just realized I will really miss saying 'DromEd'. Can we informally call this DromEd 2.0? I don't want to stop saying DromEd.

  12. #37
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2009
    Location: Cracow, Poland
    Quote Originally Posted by Ascobol View Post
    Also I just realized I will really miss saying 'DromEd'. Can we informally call this DromEd 2.0? I don't want to stop saying DromEd.
    Nobody wants to stop mentioning DromEd

    As I wrote in the first post of this topic, FMEditor aims to replace DromEd, but until we reach the full replacement point, we will have to go through a "long way up". In its first version, FMEditor will be just a nice and handy addition to DromEd. Personally, I would like to avoid calling it DromEd 2.0 (at least officially) but we can always mention the entire environment as DromEd Stack or something

  13. #38
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2004
    Location: Ireland/Poland
    Quote Originally Posted by Ascobol View Post
    Also I just realized I will really miss saying 'DromEd'. Can we informally call this DromEd 2.0? I don't want to stop saying DromEd.
    You won't miss this word, I promise, as DromEd won't be out of equation. It will be used in the background for game testing and initially for scene processing as well. Calling FMEditor Dromed 2.0 would be incorrect, I believe, for a number of reasons, such as potential legal rights, misleading information (no line of code would be re-used) plus... the version number would be highly debatable, with DromEd shipped with TMA, being referred to as DromEd 2 - in opposition to DromEd 1 for TDP/TG. And I don't even know what the version number of New Dark DromEd is...

    Having said that, we'd like to keep as much familiarity, as it makes sense. For example you can see on the teaser video, that we maintain the colour coding for different brush types. If DromEd did certain things right, we don't intend to replace it with something else, just for the sake of it.

    EDIT: @Marzec - posted at the same time as you - glad to hear we're kinda on the same page on this one...

  14. #39
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2009
    Location: Cracow, Poland
    Quote Originally Posted by PinkDot View Post
    EDIT: @Marzec - posted at the same time as you - glad to hear we're kinda on the same page on this one...
    This bodes well for future of our project

  15. #40
    New Member
    Registered: Aug 2018
    Extraordinary! I'd love to see System Shock 2 support.
    Python? I remembered nice python plugins for 3D Studio Max 2009
    Last edited by Godlike; 3rd Jan 2021 at 18:13.

  16. #41
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2004
    Location: Ireland/Poland
    Python? I remembered nice python plugins for 3D Studio Max 2009
    Did you mean MaxScript plugins? Unless you're talking about some early proprietary implementation of Python API by Blur Studios from UK, Python officially appeared in 3dsmax much later - I think 3dsmax 2014. But that's just a geeky note. The fact is, Python nowadays IS a scripting language for the whole VFX industry.

  17. #42
    New Member
    Registered: Aug 2018
    Quote Originally Posted by PinkDot View Post
    Did you mean MaxScript plugins? Unless you're talking about some early proprietary implementation of Python API by Blur Studios from UK, Python officially appeared in 3dsmax much later - I think 3dsmax 2014. But that's just a geeky note. The fact is, Python nowadays IS a scripting language for the whole VFX industry.
    Yes, I used MaxScripts plugins later than 2009, but with 2009 version of 3Ds Max. Such a great eviroment for 3D modelling and animation. Version 09 is outdated, but still capable vray/mental, fumeFX, raytraced water etc. I have an interest in FM Editor as it looks much accessible compared to original DromEd/ShockEd the Dark Engine level editor. Nice work so far

  18. #43
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2009
    Location: Cracow, Poland
    Glad to hear that! This really motivates me more to push the development forward

  19. #44
    Member
    Registered: Feb 2000
    Location: Paris, France
    Whoa. I'm impressed!

  20. #45
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2004
    Location: Ireland/Poland
    Thanks Sperry! But... are you sure? FMEditor won't support Old Dark...

  21. #46
    Member
    Registered: Feb 2000
    Location: Paris, France
    Haha. Well, I might not use it right away, but it does look great! I will eventually be able to import OldDark BSP or Multibrushes, right?

  22. #47
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2004
    Location: Ireland/Poland
    I will eventually be able to import OldDark BSP or Multibrushes, right?
    Yes, OldDark files will be supported in read-only mode - once re-saved, the output will always be in NewDark format.
    Multibrushes (*.vbr files) are planned to be supported too.

  23. #48
    Member
    Registered: Dec 2015
    Location: Germany


    These are absolutely fantastic news! I tried using DromEd once, but in the end I gave it up in frustration. Thank you for you good work! I will definitevely give it a try if this editor is released.

  24. #49
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2004
    Location: Ireland/Poland
    Thanks for the positive feedback. This keeps us motivated!

  25. #50
    Member
    Registered: Apr 2008
    It's looking good - can't wait to try it out.

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •