TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile

Thread: Win 7 vs. Win 10 movement

Win 7 vs. Win 10 movement

I recently started playing Thief on a new laptop running Win 10 64-bit, and I have noticed something peculiar. I can no longer do small crouch-walk/run steps without making noise on metal/marble/tile. In Win 7 I was able to hold run while crouching for about 0.5 second without making any noise, and could repeat this to travel fairly quickly along loud stretches without getting noticed. In Win 10 the instant I press run/walk while crouching, Garrett makes a clunk. All my settings between the two installs are identical. I know this because I simply copied the entire folder directly over to Win 10. Has anyone else experienced this? The effect is the same in Thief 1 and Thief 2 for both operating systems.

I've been playing Thief on Win 10 for a while now and never experienced this.

So, if I understand correctly - the instant noise makes you easily detectable by guards? If so, then I'd say it's the improved security measures in Windows 10 compared to Win 7. It's not that easy to simply break in and steal stuff now, which makes sense.

(sorry, if that's not the answer you were looking for... )

Quote Originally Posted by PinkDot View Post
    I'd say it's the improved security measures in Windows 10 compared to Win 7.
    I knew Win10's version of Windows Defender was superior to Win7's, but didn't know it was that good.

klatremus, although I have not experienced the problem you have so far, maybe you can use a workaround, at least in Thief 2. If you want to sneak over metal floors, draw your sword and crouch, then use the sneak key to move forward. You should make no noise then even if you press and hold that key. Not a fast way to go, but a secure one, AFAIK.

I had the same issue using the laptop keyboard on my MSI laptop. I never had the problem on my old dell.

my solution was to use an external keyboard on the new hardware.