TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile

Thread: Dromed newbie -- looking at classic fms in editor

hinndog

Dromed newbie -- looking at classic fms in editor

Hi there, total newb question, and sorry if this has been posted elsewhere, but have not come across it yet.

My 11 year old daughter is pretty artistic and also likes video games.

Was toying around with the idea of learning the basics of dromed so she could get a taste of video game creation.

I was happy to see a recent post mentioning a most important thing is to view other author fms in dromed to see how they've done it.

This strikes me as a very good idea, being a developer myself.

One question I had was, if I'm viewing, say, Rocksbourg in dromed, does that mean by default I would have access to all the textures and objects -- custom or otherwise -- that DrK himself used to make that fm?

If the answer is yes, which I hope, obviously I'm aware that if we ever actually made real progress and wanted to put something out there, we would contact the author about using their textures/objects and include credit in the readme, etc.

Also, how would one know which textures/objects in Rocksbourg are DrK's, and therefore need crediting/permission, versus stock or commonly used items that don't require credit?

Thank you!

ZylonBane
    Quote Originally Posted by hinndog View Post
    One question I had was, if I'm viewing, say, Rocksbourg in dromed, does that mean by default I would have access to all the textures and objects -- custom or otherwise -- that DrK himself used to make that fm?
    How could you NOT have access to them? To run the FM, they have to be on your computer. If they're on your computer... you have access to them.

I believe that was my post you are alluding to. Yes, looking at well-made FMs is a fabulous way to learn about DromEding.