TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Results 1 to 19 of 19

Thread: [Release] Keyring / Auto-Key-Select (T1/G/2) (OM and universal FM mod)

  1. #1
    Member
    Registered: Nov 1999

    [Release] Keyring / Auto-Key-Select (T1/G/2) (OM and universal FM mod)

    A quality-of-life mod that automatically selects the appropriate key item for doors, chests, gearboxes, etc.

    When this mod is installed, attempting to use a locked item while you have an appropriate key will automatically select that key. You still need to use the key item on the door or other object, but this saves the effort of scrolling through your inventory to find the appropriate key.

    This should work on almost every "lockable" item, including unconventional ones like the elemental ward stones outside the haunted cathedral.

    Latest version and installation instructions are in the Github repo. Mod requires NewDark v1.27 or higher.

    https://github.com/saracoth/newdark-mods

    Changelog:
    • v2.3 (2021-09-03): Now auto-selects lockpicks. Fixed hypothetical issue with auto-select behavior in Thief 1/Gold.
    • v2.8 (2021-11-19): Auto-switch from a useless key or lockpick to a working one. Added alternative version of the mod without lockpick auto-select.
    Last edited by Saracoth; 20th Nov 2021 at 20:11. Reason: New version

  2. #2
    Member
    Registered: Apr 2011
    this sounds really good. not had a chance to try it out yet, but i have looked through the code and it looks solid too! nice work.

  3. #3
    Member
    Registered: Nov 1999
    Thank you! I noticed the other day that you've made some thiefy stuff as well, so it's comforting to get that second opinion

    Sometimes it's hard to know what the best place is to share things like this. Hopefully at least a few people get some value out of it.

  4. #4
    I tried it out... and it is wonderful. I'm going to just go ahead and use this from now on. Thanks for your efforts!

  5. #5
    Seems like the newest version of T2Fix has broken this mod.

    Dunno if the same happened with the others since I only use this one.

  6. #6
    Member
    Registered: Nov 1999
    Looks like a simple explanation, and I think it's good news overall! Starting with T2Fix 1.27e, the UserMods folder isn't automatically added to the mod paths. The great news is that the DMM Dark Mod Manager is packaged with T2Fix now. At least, the "with mods" version of T2Fix.

    DMM is arguably the better way of managing stuff like this. I've packaged the keyring mod for DMM here: https://github.com/saracoth/newdark-...J4F-keyring.7z

    I've updated the instructions on Github as well. Both DMM and non-DMM approaches are covered. I've removed the "simple" UserMods-based instructions. They may still work with TFix for Thief 1/Gold for now, but I assume that'll change in a future TFix version.

    Please let me know if you have further difficulties

  7. #7
    Is this a bug or just a limitation of the mod? If a lock requires lockpick A or B only to open, it works great. But if a lock requires you to switch lockpicks, you have to clear the first lockpick and then try again for it to select the next lockpick. A lot of extra clicking. Ideally, for a lock that requires multiple lockpicks: the first click would pull up the correct first lockpick. When the first lockpick stage is done and you click the door again, it would pull up the next lockpick that is required (which it does not do that now). As it is now it stays on the first lockpick until you clear it and try again.

    If this is not something that can be "fixed", will you please link to the previous version of the mod that does not include lockpicks? It is actually easier to manually do lockpicks for multilockpick doors.

  8. #8
    Member
    Registered: Nov 1999
    I've found multi-stage lockpicking annoying as well. I posted a new release that should help.

    In case anyone's interested, I'll drone on about some background details. Originally, I limited the mod to accommodate weird hypothetical situations. For example, a door you can lockpick, but doing so sets off an alarm. There's a key, but it technically doesn't fit the door. Instead of using basic key-and-lock features, the key is specially scripted to disable the alarm before opening the door.

    As far as any mod can tell, the key is the "wrong" tool for that door. I wouldn't want to auto-select the lockpicks in this example, and I especially wouldn't want to prevent the player from using the "bad" key. I also had concerns about swapping inventory items in the middle of a sequence of events, since I've seen that cause weirdness.

    Now that I understand the engine and the tools available to me a little better, I feel good about this change. Players can use any "incorrect" tool they want, and the mod will only switch to the correct one after the attempt has run its course. The player experience should be fairly smooth and quick, and still avoids the hypothetical problems I tend to fret about.

  9. #9
    Quote Originally Posted by Saracoth View Post
    I've found multi-stage lockpicking annoying as well. I posted a new release that should help.

    In case anyone's interested, I'll drone on about some background details. Originally, I limited the mod to accommodate weird hypothetical situations. For example, a door you can lockpick, but doing so sets off an alarm. There's a key, but it technically doesn't fit the door. Instead of using basic key-and-lock features, the key is specially scripted to disable the alarm before opening the door.

    As far as any mod can tell, the key is the "wrong" tool for that door. I wouldn't want to auto-select the lockpicks in this example, and I especially wouldn't want to prevent the player from using the "bad" key. I also had concerns about swapping inventory items in the middle of a sequence of events, since I've seen that cause weirdness.

    Now that I understand the engine and the tools available to me a little better, I feel good about this change. Players can use any "incorrect" tool they want, and the mod will only switch to the correct one after the attempt has run its course. The player experience should be fairly smooth and quick, and still avoids the hypothetical problems I tend to fret about.
    I have to be honest. When I saw this mod I was very hesitant to try it out. I am not a fan of easy mode for games such as this. I have no issue with autoselect for keys. Having to constantly sort through 3 or more keys adds absolutely nothing to the game experience. I am still a bit uneasy about lockpicks being included. I really wish you would include an option to opt out of lockpick autoselect. To me that is very borederline easy mode. Maybe I am the only one with that opinion. But I do in fact very much like the key autoselect.

  10. #10
    This does now work on at least the 2 stage doors requiring lockpicking. I have not tried on a 3 stage yet. So, good work!

  11. #11
    Member
    Registered: Nov 1999
    Quote Originally Posted by Estel Randir View Post
    I really wish you would include an option to opt out of lockpick autoselect. To me that is very borederline easy mode.
    Ah, I see now! I thought that request stemmed from the lockpick-switching annoyances you mentioned. The option seems reasonable, since selecting lockpicks is usually more straightforward than selecting keys. (There's usually just the two, and those both have hotkeys.)

    I'll add an alternative version of the mod this weekend and update this post. Check back in a day or two if you don't get a thread notification

  12. #12
    Quote Originally Posted by Saracoth View Post
    Ah, I see now! I thought that request stemmed from the lockpick-switching annoyances you mentioned. The option seems reasonable, since selecting lockpicks is usually more straightforward than selecting keys. (There's usually just the two, and those both have hotkeys.)

    I'll add an alternative version of the mod this weekend and update this post. Check back in a day or two if you don't get a thread notification
    Actually my request was both. I like to help modders improve what they already are doing (basically beta testing). And I like to add the occasional request for additional features that give the player options.

    Thank you for considering the request.
    Last edited by Estel Randir; 20th Nov 2021 at 03:18.

  13. #13
    I cannot get this to work with Thief 2. I am using T2Fix 1.27e. For fun, I tried it with the old T2 with tafferpatcher. Neither seem to work with it.

  14. #14
    Member
    Registered: Nov 1999
    Quote Originally Posted by Estel Randir View Post
    And I like to add the occasional request for additional features that give the player options.
    That's fine by me, and the alternative version is now up on the mod's github page.

    Quote Originally Posted by Estel Randir View Post
    I cannot get this to work with Thief 2. I am using T2Fix 1.27e. For fun, I tried it with the old T2 with tafferpatcher. Neither seem to work with it.
    I'm sorry to hear that. I have used it with Thief 2 (including T2Fix v1.27e), so there's hope we can work through this.

    It may be worth doublechecking the installation instructions first, in case there's something obvious there. For example, in Dark Mod Manager, mods have to be activated after they're installed. That two-step process tripped me up at first.

    Note that T2Fix v1.27e added DMM to its list of features, but removed the Usermods directory from the default mod paths. You can try adding that back in, or following the "manual" mod installation instructions if you're comfortable with them.

    I've never tested with tafferpatcher. It's no longer updated, and even the beta version is using NewDark v1.25. These mods use features that require v1.27 or later. The manual installation method should work if you update to NewDark v1.27, but you're on your own for that one

    Either way, the troubleshooting instructions explain how to check your NewDark version through log files.

    Those troubleshooting steps also explain how to enable dbmod logging. That's useful to check whether the mod is installed and broken, or not installed at all. For example, here's my dbmod.log file.

    Code:
    INFO: found file 'gamesys.dml' in path '.\', loading... (40200)
    
    INFO: found file 'just4fun_keyring.dml' in path 'C:\GOG Games\Thief 2 - The Metal Age\MODS\J4F-keyring\dbmods\', loading... (40200)
    
    INFO: found file 'just4fun_keyring_T1.dml' in path 'C:\GOG Games\Thief 2 - The Metal Age\MODS\J4F-keyring\dbmods\', loading... (40200)
    
    INFO: found file 'just4fun_keyring_T2.dml' in path 'C:\GOG Games\Thief 2 - The Metal Age\MODS\J4F-keyring\dbmods\', loading... (40200)
    
    INFO: found file 'gamesys.dml' in path '.\', loading... (40200)
    
    INFO: found file 'just4fun_keyring.dml' in path 'C:\GOG Games\Thief 2 - The Metal Age\MODS\J4F-keyring\dbmods\', loading... (40200)
    
    INFO: found file 'just4fun_keyring_T2.dml' in path 'C:\GOG Games\Thief 2 - The Metal Age\MODS\J4F-keyring\dbmods\', loading... (40200)

  15. #15
    Using T2Fix 1.27e (mods included version):

    I do not use the mod manager (probably never will). I prefer manual installs.

    In Thief 1 I created a folder in \USERMODS called \KeyringMod. I dumped the mod folders \dbmods & \sq_scripts into it. So it looked like this:
    \USERMODS\KeyringMod\dbmods & \USERMODS\KeyringMod\sq_scripts. In the cam_mod.ini file I added +usermods\KeyringMod to the cam_mod path. I.E. cam_mod usermods\KeyringMod, or cam_mod ep2+usermods\KeyringMod, etc. it works great.

    In Thief 2, I created a \USERMODS folder and did the exact same thing that I did in Thief 1. The mod will not work. I even tried using the \MODS folder instead and changed the path to it. Will not work. I have tried a) mod_path usermods\KeyringMod, b)mod_path .\usermods\KeyringMod, & c) mod_path usermods+usermods\KeyringMod. None work.

    I have other mods in the \USERMODS folder and they work using +usermods\<name of mod folder>.


    <<Debugging file>>:


    INFO: found file 'just4fun_keyring.dml' in path 'G:\Games (Installed)\Offline\Thief\Thief 2 - T2Fix 1.27e\usermods\KeyringMod\dbmods\', loading... (40200)

    INFO: found file 'just4fun_keyring_T1.dml' in path 'G:\Games (Installed)\Offline\Thief\Thief 2 - T2Fix 1.27e\usermods\KeyringMod\dbmods\', loading... (40200)

    INFO: found file 'just4fun_keyring_T2.dml' in path 'G:\Games (Installed)\Offline\Thief\Thief 2 - T2Fix 1.27e\usermods\KeyringMod\dbmods\', loading... (40200)

    INFO: found file 'just4fun_keyring.dml' in path 'G:\Games (Installed)\Offline\Thief\Thief 2 - T2Fix 1.27e\usermods\KeyringMod\dbmods\', loading... (40200)
    SYNTAX ERROR: unknown/unexpected token 'CreateArch'
    ERROR: file 'just4fun_keyring.dml' in path 'G:\Games (Installed)\Offline\Thief\Thief 2 - T2Fix 1.27e\usermods\KeyringMod\dbmods\' failed to parse correctly

    INFO: found file 'just4fun_keyring_T2.dml' in path 'G:\Games (Installed)\Offline\Thief\Thief 2 - T2Fix 1.27e\usermods\KeyringMod\dbmods\', loading... (40200)
    WARNING: no object named "J4FKeyringSwapEnabled" was found, skipping

  16. #16
    Member
    Registered: Nov 1999
    Thank you, that's very helpful! You're definitely going through all the right mod installation steps

    Quote Originally Posted by Estel Randir View Post
    Using T2Fix 1.27e (mods included version):
    SYNTAX ERROR: unknown/unexpected token 'CreateArch'
    The CreateArch feature was introduced in NewDark 1.27, and that's the error message I'd expect to see from older game versions. Can you check your thief2.log file to confirm which version of the engine you're running? There should be a line near the top of the file that mentions the "App Version"

    This may be related to the issues you're having with the lantern mod in the other thread, since I believe it also uses CreateArch to define a new entity.

  17. #17
    From the Thief2.log: App Version: Thief 2 Final 1.26.

    I have found what is causing this. And it is not good. HDMOD changes the app version from 1.27 to 1.26. I guess I have to go bring this issue up over in that forum. I really am getting a bit weary of all of these upgrade conflicts.

    Without installing the HDMOD, your mod works.
    Last edited by Estel Randir; 21st Nov 2021 at 14:15.

  18. #18
    Member
    Registered: Nov 1999
    Interesting. Sorry to hear about your troubles, but I hope it works out in the end. If you're feeling adventurous, you could try downloading NewDark v1.27 by itself, replacing your thief2.exe with that one, and leaving everything else alone. There are also some .ini and .cfg files, but I'm pretty sure replacing your existing ini and cfg files is likely to break some of HDMOD's features. If this approach doesn't work out, you could put a NewDark 1.26 exe back instead.

    Thanks for your patience. With or without this mod, I hope you enjoy whatever missions you plan to (re)play next

  19. #19
    If i did not say already, the alternate version of the keyringmod seems to work great. Thanks for putting in the extra effort. This will give us all more options.

    I resolved the whole HDMOD issue with help from Jax64 on the T2Fix thread. So now everything works together. It is quite a chore trying to update both T1 & T2 to the all new patches, etc. It has been 5+yrs since I updated anything.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •