TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: ShockEd: How to trigger AI spawn?

  1. #1
    SShock2.com
    Member

    Registered: Apr 2001
    Location: The land of ever sideways rain

    ShockEd: How to trigger AI spawn?

    I apologise in advance if this has been extensively covered, but I read the tutorials and searched the forums, and I could not find the answer, hence this thread. But I suck at searching, perhaps it's obvious. Sorry.

    In the last 3-4 days, I got back in to ShockEd after not touching it for about 15-odd years, so I had to relearn everything, and some things might have changed. I'm certainly a lot dumber, that's for sure. Apparently there's a thing called Newdark now.

    My issue is this: I am attempting to trigger a spawn of an AI, literally at the touch of a button. Not one AI once, that can be teleported from elsewhere, but to repeatedly spawn an AI of the exact same type in the same marker location every time I click a button, or whatever other trigger I choose. It seems so simple, perhaps this is so obvious that it's only briefly mentioned in the tutorials and I overlooked it, so, please, if you can spare the time, talk to me like I'm a complete moron here. You might be right.

    I've put down the marker. I've made the button. I'm going through the Link options, but I'm too thick to figure out how I can do this.
    Boing. Peng. Boom-Tschak. Peng.

    System Shock 2 Walkthrough

  2. #2
    ZylonBane
    Registered: Sep 2000
    Location: ZylonBane
    Just send a TurnOn to a DirectMonsterGen object. How to set them up (scroll down to "Monster Generator").

  3. #3
    SShock2.com
    Member

    Registered: Apr 2001
    Location: The land of ever sideways rain
    Thanks, that's set me on the path of discovery. I haven't solved the problem yet, it's too late and I'm tired, but I got about halfway, thanks. I'll report back if I can get it working.

  4. #4
    SShock2.com
    Member

    Registered: Apr 2001
    Location: The land of ever sideways rain
    Worked like a charm, thanks. It was indeed very simple.

    All I did was I created a button and a DirectMonsterGenerator, and set up a SwitchLink from the button to the generator. I added Script/EcoType and left it at 0, and added Script/Spawn, OG-Pipe, 100 and left the other three Types blank. PopLimit and SelfMarker on, all other flags off. Supply 0.

    Now I can spawn a pipe hybrid at the touch of a button. Or as it happens, I'll probably change that to a tripwire but a button will do for testing purposes.
    Boing. Peng. Boom-Tschak. Peng.

    System Shock 2 Walkthrough

  5. #5
    Zombified
    Registered: Sep 2004
    you probably want raycast, unless you are ok with the player witnessing the AIs spawning sometimes - only very rarely you want the AI to spawn no matter what (in that case raycast=off).

  6. #6
    SShock2.com
    Member

    Registered: Apr 2001
    Location: The land of ever sideways rain
    Actually, yes, I do want to see the spawn for testing purposes, but it's good to know I can switch it off, thanks.


    I'm getting deeper into my ShockEd experiments, so far I think I can manage to do all the things I've planned in my head, but I'm sure I'll think up something that'll stump me and I'll have to ask for help again. It only took me a few days to jiggle my memory just enough to get things going again, I'm back on hackable droids again as I first started on over 20 years ago.

    But I'm getting more and more ideas of stuff I'd like to do in Thief 2 DromEd, I never actually tried that before, and my old Thief discs are in a box in a faraway country. I may have to buy it on Steam again or something. The architecture ideas I'm getting seem more suited to Thief than SS2.
    Boing. Peng. Boom-Tschak. Peng.

    System Shock 2 Walkthrough

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •