TTLG|Jukebox|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Modem not detected by Windows

  1. #1
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2009
    Location: thiefgold.com

    Modem not detected by Windows

    So since I reinstalled Windows about a year back, my modem (Thomson DCM475) is no longer detected. I plug it in, but it always says there's no connection, despite ipconfig showing a valid IPV4 address.

    I called my internet provider, and they had me reboot, flushed DNS, repushed the connection remotely, but nothing happens. I suspect it's a driver issue, as it seems from Device manager, but I was under the impression that Windows automatically detects the driver? I downloaded a supposed driver for this model, the only site I found it in, but Windows still says it can't find it. I'm using wifi with a USB stick, but would rather have the modem plugged into the computer directly. Any ideas?




  2. #2
    Member
    Registered: Jun 2002
    Location: Grand Rapids
    Quote Originally Posted by Azaran View Post
    So since I reinstalled Windows about a year back, my modem (Thomson DCM475) is no longer detected. I plug it in, but it always says there's no connection, despite ipconfig showing a valid IPV4 address.
    What is the IP address? Does it start with 169 or 192? If it's 169.x.x.x it's not valid.

    I called my internet provider, and they had me reboot, flushed DNS, repushed the connection remotely, but nothing happens.
    I doubt the ISP can help here.

    I suspect it's a driver issue, as it seems from Device manager, but I was under the impression that Windows automatically detects the driver? I downloaded a supposed driver for this model, the only site I found it in, but Windows still says it can't find it.
    You don't need a driver for an external modem. If anything you need a driver for your onboard NIC. Do you know what your onboard network adapter is? If not, can you tell us the PC or motherboard (brand and model) you are using? Do you have the driver disk that came with your PC or motherboard?

    I'm using wifi with a USB stick, but would rather have the modem plugged into the computer directly. Any ideas?
    That can't be connected to the same modem since that modem has no WiFi, so what router/modem is that connected to?

  3. #3
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2009
    Location: thiefgold.com
    Quote Originally Posted by LeatherMan View Post
    What is the IP address? Does it start with 169 or 192? If it's 169.x.x.x it's not valid.
    192





    Quote Originally Posted by LeatherMan View Post
    You don't need a driver for an external modem. If anything you need a driver for your onboard NIC. Do you know what your onboard network adapter is? If not, can you tell us the PC or motherboard (brand and model) you are using? Do you have the driver disk that came with your PC or motherboard?
    So the motherboard is an ASUS P8Z77-V LX (LGA1155), I don't remember getting a disk with it but I'll look


    Quote Originally Posted by LeatherMan View Post
    That can't be connected to the same modem since that modem has no WiFi, so what router/modem is that connected to?
    I have a wireless router too, connected to the modem, so at least I get wifi, and I use a USB adapter on the PC so it picks it up

  4. #4
    Member
    Registered: Jun 2002
    Location: Grand Rapids
    Quote Originally Posted by Azaran View Post
    192

    Is that supposed to be a VirtualBox network? If you have VB installed and setup, you should have at least three network adapters; VB virtual adapter, motherboard wired network adapter, wireless adapter.


    So the motherboard is an ASUS P8Z77-V LX (LGA1155), I don't remember getting a disk with it but I'll look
    Go here, choose your OS, and download the LAN driver.


    I have a wireless router too, connected to the modem, so at least I get wifi, and I use a USB adapter on the PC so it picks it up
    From what I can find, that modem only has one RJ45 connector, so you can only have the router or the PC connected at once.

  5. #5
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2009
    Location: thiefgold.com
    Quote Originally Posted by LeatherMan View Post
    Is that supposed to be a VirtualBox network? If you have VB installed and setup, you should have at least three network adapters; VB virtual adapter, motherboard wired network adapter, wireless adapter.
    I don't think I have VB installed


    Quote Originally Posted by LeatherMan View Post
    Go here, choose your OS, and download the LAN driver.

    Thanks, I'll try installing the driver and see

    Quote Originally Posted by LeatherMan View Post
    From what I can find, that modem only has one RJ45 connector, so you can only have the router or the PC connected at once.
    The way I had it back in the day is, I had the modem connected to the router, and the router to the PC. I'd get wired lan directly into the PC, and wifi at the same time

  6. #6
    Member
    Registered: Jun 2002
    Location: Grand Rapids
    Quote Originally Posted by Azaran View Post
    I don't think I have VB installed
    That's very odd then. Nevertheless, you should see multiple adapters when using ipconfig. Here's mine, and I do have Oracle's VirtualBox installed:



    The way I had it back in the day is, I had the modem connected to the router, and the router to the PC. I'd get wired lan directly into the PC, and wifi at the same time
    Yes, that's how it should be. Is that how you have it now? If so, then your issue is with the router, cable, or PC.

    On the back of the router, you should have one RJ45 jack that is a different color than the others. The cable from the modem needs to go there. The cable to your PC can use any of the others.

    Why you have the "Modems > Communications cable..." in Device Manager is beyond me, but may be solved with the LAN driver installation.
    Last edited by LeatherMan; 2nd Apr 2022 at 11:03.

  7. #7
    Member
    Registered: Aug 2009
    Location: thiefgold.com
    Alright, everything's fixed after I installed the lan driver, thanks a lot!

  8. #8
    Member
    Registered: Jun 2002
    Location: Grand Rapids
    Awesome!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •