TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 26 to 50 of 117

Thread: Technical Difficulties

  1. #26
    Member
    Registered: Aug 1999
    Location: Bath, England.
    The "V" is one of the forums I hang around. Mentioned just now on the private forum.

    KG

  2. #27
    Member
    Registered: Jul 2003
    Location: Denmark
    Well, I definitely have Deus Ex installed, I have the 1.112fm patch, and I'm pretty sure this is a PC I'm currently using

    Problem: I still get an error message. I use the shortcut in the start menu, but when I click it, I get an error message saying (translated freely from Danish ):

    The Cassandra Project: Cassandra.exe - The component wasn't found
    This program couldn't start, because glide2x.dll wasn't found. The problem could possibly be solved by installing the program again.

    And then it opens the mod in a window, the full screen toggle button in the options menu doesn't do anything, and if I increase the resolution from 640x480 to 600x800, it switches back when I restart the game. What could I have done wrong?
    Jonas Wver
    The Nameless Mod
    Logic Artists

    Current project: Clandestine - 90's spy thriller with asymmetric co-op

  3. #28
    Member
    Registered: May 2002
    Location: Between dreams and shadows...
    Sounds like it is trying to load glide, failing and dropping back to the default windowed driver. In the display options, see if you can change the display driver to Direct 3D, or start in safe mode and change the display driver that way. Avoid the OpenGL driver unless you like headaches. Which version of Direct X do you have installed, and do you have the latest drivers for your graphics card?
    Last edited by The Watcher; 2nd Jul 2003 at 10:45.

  4. #29
    New Member
    Registered: Apr 2003

    More crashing problems

    I think there may be a problem with the menus. I've started crashing fairly regularly now, mostly when I either try to quick-load after a death or whenever I try to bring up the main menu. Every time it gives the direct-draw error.

  5. #30
    Member
    Registered: Feb 2001
    Location: Cumbria, England
    General Production Fault!

    History Tarray<< <- UModegl::serialize <- SaveExports <-FArchiveFileWriter::~FArchiveFileWriter
    UlinkerSave:estroy <-UObject::ConditionalDestroy <-(LinkerSave Transient.LinkerSave0)<-UObject::SavePackage <-LoadURL <-UGameEngine::Browse <-ClientTravel <-UGameEngine::Tick <->XGameEngine::Tick <-Undpade World <-Mainloop

    The game crashes to the desktop and produces that error message during the pan over Charlotte's sholder outside the bar during the cutschene. My computer is an 1500 Mhz Intel Pentium 4, 256 Meg of Ram with Geforce 2. The moon is currently a waxing cresent.

  6. #31
    Member
    Registered: Jul 2003
    Location: Denmark
    It's already set to Direct 3D. I'm pretty sure I have 8.1 and yeah, I have the latest drivers. I got a Radeon 9500 Pro.

  7. #32
    Member
    Registered: Feb 2001
    Location: Cumbria, England
    I resolved itself the second time I ran it.

  8. #33
    Member
    Registered: Jan 2003
    Location: Leeds, UK
    Originally posted by Always_Black
    I'm also certain that the point of re-using media in a mod is that the end-user has already supposed to have bought that media with the original game. That's why taking advantage of someone else's commercial engine can be allowed out of the usual restraints of copyright.

    If you just include all of the CS media with a HL mod, you're giving away the hard work of the guys that did CS to people who haven't paid for the privelige. Kind of makes you a pirate.
    We /did/ include a Special Thanks in the credits. There was never any reply to our email, though. So we just went ahead.

  9. #34
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2001
    Location: Sat at my desk.
    "There was never any reply to our email, though. So we just went ahead, your Honour."

  10. #35
    Member
    Registered: Jan 2001
    Location: Lost in transit.
    Managed to get this when I got out of last challenge in the danger room. It happened when I got on to the elevator and an enemy below spotted me and sounded the alarm.

    Critical Error

    TCPDoor 69_tcp_DangerRoom. TCPDoo15 moved without proper hashing

    History: FCollisionHash::RemoveActor <- ULevel::FarMoveActor <- UObjec::ProcessEvent <- TCPEnemyDummy 69_tcp_DangerRoom.TCPEnemyDummy11,Function DeusEx.ScriptedPawn.Wandering.HitWall) <- AActor::moveSmooth <- ULevel::CheckEncroachment <- ULevel::MOveActor <- physMovingBrush <- AActor:erformPhysics <- AActor::Tick <- TickAllActors <- ULevel::Tick <- (netMode=0) <- TickLevel <- UGameEngine::Tick <- XGameEngineExt::Tick <- UpdateWorld <- MainLoop

  11. #36
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2001
    Location: Sat at my desk.
    I love the way DX error messages throw up random Smilies in the middle. It's so very... appropriate.

  12. #37
    Member
    Registered: Jan 2001
    Location: Lost in transit.
    They mock us, they do. The bastards.

  13. #38
    New Member
    Registered: Jun 2003
    Location: Germany
    i got a strange problem with the modell textures and modells it self... viewing from distance it seems just like i can see the troopers without armor wearing some blue shirt... getting closer they slowly get their uniform.. other characters just look colorfull from distance ...
    i got no problem with models from dx as the beggar in the bar..
    Ive got a Radeon 9700 with Catalysts 3.5 driver problem?

  14. #39
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2001
    Location: Sat at my desk.
    Can you get a screenshot of that?

  15. #40

  16. #41
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2001
    Location: Sat at my desk.
    Weird. Never seen anything like that before.

    Do you get that in the original DX or any other games?

  17. #42
    New Member
    Registered: Jun 2003
    Location: Germany
    no just in the cassandra mod... maybe a catalysts problem...

  18. #43
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2001
    Location: Sat at my desk.
    The thing is, I can't see how we've done anything that'd affect video like that. We rely pretty much on DX staying just as it was in that respect.

    Unless it's to do with the number and size of textures that are visible at any one time, because I have to admit, I wasn't too concerned about limiting them considering how far videocards have come along in the last few years.

  19. #44
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2001
    Location: Sat at my desk.

    Maybe Help

    Nomj on State has discovered that his problems went away when he did a full-install of DX with all media before patching and installing Cassandra.

    Maybe this will help.

  20. #45
    New Member
    Registered: Jul 2003
    Location: Bury

    freezes?

    Hi.
    Just downloaded CP ,went through danger rooms no problems until, at the bottom of room 6 (skyscraper simulation) as I jumped through a gap in the floor it froze. I couldn't quit in anyway. ctrl+alt+dlt didn't work and alt-tabbing didn't either. So I did what any computer expert would do in a situation like this: swore and turned the damn thing off and on again . I tried it again, 2 more times in fact and the same thing happened, then I tried the stairs, that worked I opened the blast doors and if was away, until I reached the lift 10m on when, it froze again, to another round of swearing I rebooted again, got past the lift and it froze in the corridor just beyond I've tried again but got stuck at the door again) can any1 help me out?
    P.S. On my save games in CP i have |-cheats enabled-| over the picture, is this something i've done by accident or something that happens due to the mod?

    1.6 ghz p4
    Voodoo 3 (had some difficulties with this and it can mess up sometimes and won't accept new updates :S)
    Win XP
    512 DDR RAM
    120gig hard drive
    Last edited by Ducky7; 4th Jul 2003 at 13:16.
    God grant me the courage to pester women who will never like me,
    The serenity to reject women who are desperate enough to be interested in me,
    And the density to ignore the inference.

  21. #46
    New Member
    Registered: Jul 2003
    For your reference, here is another mirror for the DXMP 1112fm patch.

    http://download1.deusex-online.com/d...atch1112fm.exe

  22. #47
    New Member
    Registered: Jun 2003
    Location: Germany
    thanks hmm but a friend of mine has the cd :-/
    *slaps*

    Illuminati IIS .. there are many mirrors on this world
    http://www.deusexzone.info/downloads.php?file_id=5

  23. #48
    New Member
    Registered: Jun 2003
    Location: Germany
    but what is this:
    http://www.deusexzone.info/upload/dx/mods/cas4.jpg
    some kinda trigger?

  24. #49
    Member
    Registered: Sep 2001
    Location: Sat at my desk.
    It's a prawn.

  25. #50
    Member
    Registered: Jan 2003
    Location: Leeds, UK
    Arf. I assume that misspelling was intentional.

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •