TTLG|Jukebox|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Page 12 of 27 FirstFirst ... 2789101112131415161722 ... LastLast
Results 276 to 300 of 673

Thread: Thief 3 Tweaks - Requests and Discussion

  1. #276
    Member
    Registered: May 2001
    Location: .nl
    Quote Originally Posted by Mentalepsy
    That doesn't tell me very much.
    Sorry for not being clear enough. I thought you would understand.

    How?
    Because it stops the creation of this annoying underline when you read the text and you move your cursor over the text which isn't a hyperlink.


    I tried your suggested tags, and nothing changed. The hyperlinks remained underlined, just like every other hyperlink on the board.
    Yes, but I was talking about the hyperlinks that point to each section. The text of each section lights up when I mouseover it.

    You should remove the <a name="foo"></a> and replace, for example; the words "Menu Tweaks" with <h2 id="menu">Menu Tweaks</h2>.

    This should stop the underline effect for text.

  2. #277
    Member
    Registered: Jul 2002
    Location: Helsinki, Finland
    i just realized that the doors in st.edgar's have the locks at their proper places - under the door handles
    then why don't all doors?
    if it's just a door prefabthingy in another file, i wonder if it could just be switched to that for the other levels aswell?



    download this file (right click save): swooshc01.dds
    and place it in ..\CONTENT\T3\PCTextures\DynamicallyLoaded\
    you know.. if it works like that, this whole editing bussiness would be a LOT easier if somebody just made a proggy that extracted the entire contents of the wads to that dynamicallyloaded folder and replace the wad file with a dummy that contains nothing or stuff that can't be loaded from anywhere else
    Last edited by S_Hole; 1st Jun 2004 at 00:24.

  3. #278
    Has anyone tried this? Is this perhaps a "god mode"?
    Yes, check on the last page or two. Doesn't seem to work.
    *boggle?*

    I wrote about this just a few posts up. It's seemingly working for me. Guards are coming after me at more than 20 feet away in dim lighting, where as before, they would only say, "I thought I saw..." and then give up. Make sure you Restart the level (Load screen -> Restart) on the correct setting.

  4. #279
    Member
    Registered: Nov 2003
    Location: Behind you in the shadows
    An absolutely heartfelt thank you to everyone who's done so much work to tweak out TDS! I've used some of these tweaks myself and they've done wonders to improve my experience.
    As a way of thanks, I've done a little tweaking of my own- on the loot glint. I've dulled the effect severely; this is loot glint you're not going to see unless you're a couple of feet away and looking carefully. Perfect for the folks who don't want to give it up completely but don't like the 'beacon in the night' effect either.
    It's simple enough to use, too- just grab my altered 'partlootglint' file here, open up DXTool (thoughtfully linked to by another somewhere in this thread... can't find it right now), and open up the 'Kernel_GFXALL' resource, then scroll down to partlootglint. Click 'Import BMP', select my image, and voila!
    I don't know if Myagi's patch covers this now (wonderful work there, BTW!), but if not- enjoy!

    EDIT: I redid the loot-glint sparkle, since a bit of playtesting showed that it wasn't even visible in decent lighting. I think I've got it to the point where it's visible in light, but not obvious in the dark. I advise that you back up this file before overwriting it with mine (by selecting partlootglint and clicking "Export BMP" in DXTool, then choosing a spot to save it... it'll save both the sparkle and the alpha-map, which you don't really need to back up). I'll try for a screenshot tomorrow showing it off.
    Last edited by The Rogue Wolf; 1st Jun 2004 at 01:59.

  5. #280
    New Member
    Registered: May 2003
    Quote Originally Posted by The Rogue Wolf
    An absolutely heartfelt thank you to everyone who's done so much work to tweak out TDS! I've used some of these tweaks myself and they've done wonders to improve my experience.
    As a way of thanks, I've done a little tweaking of my own- on the loot glint. I've dulled the effect severely; this is loot glint you're not going to see unless you're a couple of feet away and looking carefully. Perfect for the folks who don't want to give it up completely but don't like the 'beacon in the night' effect either.
    It's simple enough to use, too- just grab my altered 'partlootglint' file here, open up DXTool (thoughtfully linked to by another somewhere in this thread... can't find it right now), and open up the 'Kernel_GFXALL' resource, then scroll down to partlootglint. Click 'Import BMP', select my image, and voila! An effect like below (the picture hasn't been altered in any way from the original screen):

    I don't know if Myagi's patch covers this now (wonderful work there, BTW!), but if not- enjoy!
    How do you open up 'Kernel_GFXALL' in dxtool? Thanks.

  6. #281
    Member
    Registered: Nov 2003
    Location: Behind you in the shadows
    Quote Originally Posted by Ghost Shell
    How do you open up 'Kernel_GFXALL' in dxtool? Thanks.
    Like so:

  7. #282
    Member
    Registered: Jul 2003
    PLEASE PLEASEEEEE!!! Fix garrets attack animations, their different for firstperson and thirdperson, and the firstperson shadow of the attackanimation is terrible

  8. #283
    New Member
    Registered: May 2004
    Props to everyone discovering and testing these tweaks.

    I'm hoping someone can tell me if there's a way to make the text for each of your save/load games closer together. Even if you adjust NumVisibleRows, you can still only see one or two save games at a time.

    I've messed around with the aformentioned key, the FontMappings numbers, even inserting YTextSpacing keys to no effect. So, does any know of a working solution to the widely spaced save/load text?

  9. #284
    Member
    Registered: May 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by Springheel
    I made it as far as step 4. How do you search for that name? I tried using Find, and it highlighted a couple boxes with numbers and letters in them. Is that the 's' I should be using in step 5? I don't see anything that would change to 'owooshc01'?

    Here's what it looked like after I did the search:
    [...]
    hi Springheel:
    that is ok, you found it. Now choose tools -> bit manipulation

    check bit 7

    it should look like this now

    save the file

  10. #285
    New Member
    Registered: Jun 2004

    Fonts really in \CONTENT\T3\PCTextures\Fonts\*.dds?

    Using some of the tools mentioned here (DxTex,...) I tried to make a change to the font (VTCGoblinHand_18.dds used in main menu for example). Regardless of what I did, the font always looked the same in the game. Finally I decided to delete (rename) the VTCGoblinHand_18.dds file in Fonts folder. The game works OK and displays everything as nothing happened! After I started to tweak the VTCGoblinHand_18.cel, it had some effect in the game. It looks like the *.dds files are only for information there, the actual font bitmaps are stored somewhere else.

    Any idea where?

  11. #286
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2001
    Location: Inside at last...
    Quote Originally Posted by Mentalepsy
    Are you talking about changing the color of Myagi's frob? You have to do that in the patch program.

    Sorry for being a pain. I don't have much time to read the entire thread. Someone could tell me please, where I can find that patch? Thank you taffers.
    IF YOU DO IT, DO IT WITH STYLE

  12. #287
    Member
    Registered: Apr 2003
    Location: Ormskirk, UK
    Check out the 4 mirrors in the last post of the sticky thread - here

    Mentalespy - some links in that thread to dxtool download locations might come in useful, since development on that front seems to be going quite quickly over at the IS forums.

  13. #288
    New Member
    Registered: May 2004
    Location: Canberra, Australia
    Woot, just worked out how to make the health bar stay up constantly

    Open your T3UI.ini file and go to [HealthMeter] section, change the settings to the following (i also scaled it down so it looks nice )

    Type=T3HealthMeterWindow
    Active=ACTIVE
    Scale_X=0.6
    Scale_Y=0.5
    Scale_Z=0.5

    Pos_X=20
    Pos_Y=-15
    Pos_Z=10
    Placement_Y=BOTTOM
    ClearPos_X=20
    ClearPos_Y=-15
    Width=640
    Height=30
    PointWidth=15
    NumPoints=16
    LeftAlign=TRUE
    MeterPoint=HealthMeterPoint

    Enjoy

  14. #289
    Member
    Registered: May 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by william
    Using some of the tools mentioned here (DxTex,...) I tried to make a change to the font [...]

    Any idea where?
    The font is a texture in the file 'Kernel_GFXALL'. I guess that if you open that file with the VXI tool, look for the font name and than alter bit 7 of the first letter, it will look for the font dds file in the folder "pctextures\dynamicallyloaded\"

    if you don't know what I am rambling on about check my posts about the arrow trail above.

  15. #290
    Member
    Registered: May 2003
    Location: Germany
    has anyone found the file of the title-menu background yet ?
    it would be great to change this to the old thief1 background !

  16. #291
    Member
    Registered: May 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by cornbolish
    PLEASE PLEASEEEEE!!! Fix garrets attack animations, their different for firstperson and thirdperson, and the firstperson shadow of the attackanimation is terrible
    So I'm not the only one that hates this?

    I've tried to fix it, but the best I've been able to do is for him to whip both of his arms around instead of just one. If I could get it to use the same animation for third and first person, it should work, but everything I've tried causes a problem. I haven't looked at it for a few days, so maybe I'll try again today.

    If you're in third-person mode and switch to first, and hit Attack just before the camera stops moving, you can see what it'd look like in first-person mode with the third-person animation- your view jostles a bit as your head moves. That might be annoying, but until I play like that I won't really know.
    Last edited by Mentalepsy; 1st Jun 2004 at 09:50.

  17. #292
    Member
    Registered: May 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by Omega
    Because it stops the creation of this annoying underline when you read the text and you move your cursor over the text which isn't a hyperlink.
    Oh, I see.

    I'll change that now. What browser are you using?

  18. #293
    Member
    Registered: May 2000
    Location: The Maw of Chaos
    Would it be possible to edit the loading screens' backgrounds? I wish to remove that ass-ugly picture of Garrett. Is it an overlay that's placed over the screencapture for the level, or would I have to edit each individual background image?

  19. #294
    Member
    Registered: Jun 1999
    Location: Sunny place
    Yes, the loading screens are actually several texture layers pasted toghether, and Garrett's face is one of themm. Edit or delete it and he should be gone.

    Look for the layer on one of the T3 texture folders, it's a .dds

  20. #295
    New Member
    Registered: May 2004
    Location: Just behind you.
    Are you sure of it Mr.K?
    I edited the loading textures and I found the face in each loading screen....
    (I run the Demo verion.)

  21. #296
    New Member
    Registered: May 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by BlackThief
    has anyone found the file of the title-menu background yet ?
    it would be great to change this to the old thief1 background !
    thief3\CONTENT\T3\VideoTextures

    LoopTop_01_engl_none_30

  22. #297
    Member
    Registered: Jun 1999
    Location: Sunny place
    Quote Originally Posted by Cobaalt
    Are you sure of it Mr.K?
    I edited the loading textures and I found the face in each loading screen....
    (I run the Demo verion.)
    The textures are there and you have different ones for each mission so i'd guess that's what they're there for. Might have guessed wrong, though.

  23. #298
    Member
    Registered: May 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by Jewels
    How can I get rid of the "blackjack", "flashbomb", etc word from my HUD? I would stilll ike to keep the actual number displaying the arrows if possible.
    No sweat. Open T3UI.ini and find the [ItemCycleWindow]. Comment out the line "ItemDescWindow=ItemDescWindow" (put a ; in front of it). Then find the [WeaponCycleWindow] and comment out "ItemDescWindow=WeaponDescWindow."

  24. #299
    Member
    Registered: May 2000
    Location: The Maw of Chaos
    Looks like his face is present on each loading screen. While annoying, at least I can remove it now. Thanks.

    I'm going to try and replace it with a picture of Garrett's face from the Thief 2/Thief Gold cover (whichever looks best). Failing that, I'll just black it out.

    If anyone could provide me with some extremely high-res scans of the covers for the first two games, it'd be extremely appreciated. And if anyone would like copies of the .dds files after I'm done, I'll be glad to oblige.

  25. #300
    Member
    Registered: May 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by Mentalepsy
    No sweat. Open T3UI.ini and find the [ItemCycleWindow]. Comment out the line "ItemDescWindow=ItemDescWindow" (put a ; in front of it). Then find the [WeaponCycleWindow] and comment out "ItemDescWindow=WeaponDescWindow."
    and the number that shows the amount of arrows you have after choosing? do you know which string that is, I have been looking all over for it?

    thanks

Page 12 of 27 FirstFirst ... 2789101112131415161722 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •