TTLG|Thief|Bioshock|System Shock|Deus Ex|Mobile
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Thief 3 Can run on Windows 98

  1. #1
    New Member
    Registered: Jul 2004
    Location: Washington State

    Thief 3 Can run on Windows 98

    After doing some investigation I have found that Thief 3 does run on Windows 98 after installing a 3rd party program. Browse to the link below and follow the instructions TO THE LETTER!

    Considering how easy it is to get it to work, I wonder if Microcrap gave the developers some extra cash to make it officially only work on XP. Nice way to make sure people upgrade to XP.

    The link is from the Eidos web forums and Eidos does not support the 3rd party software which you'll need to install to get it to work.

    I will try it on my wife's Win98 box and see if it does indeed work and will post my results here.

    Here is the link
    http://forums.eidosgames.com/showthr...threadid=41762

    In case the link doesn't work here are the exact instructions copied and pasted from their forums.

    There is a fix now:
    1 Download PE Explorer
    2 Backup "T3Main.exe" and "Default.ini" for patching puposes
    3 Apply any patches
    4 Open PE Explorer
    5 Go to File > Open File > "T3Main.exe"
    6 Go to View > Resources
    7 Select Icon Entry and delete it
    8 Save and exit
    9 Open "Default.ini"
    10 Find the line "LoadFromResourceBlockFiles=False" and change it to "True"*
    11 Save and exit
    12 Enjoy game

    * Only necessary if you get a white screen instead of a loading screen

    ALL credit goes to TBIRDMANN and the others at the following post. I just organized the info
    http://forums.eidosgames.com/showth...&threadid=41019

    This is the website for PE Explorer.
    http://www.heaventools.com/?r1=iNetShortcut&r2=pex195

  2. #2
    Member
    Registered: Mar 2003
    Location: Singapore
    Do we still need pixel shading cards?

  3. #3
    Member
    Registered: Jun 2004
    I love this game, but I hate this policy... make a legacy free game only for a icon... Shit!

  4. #4
    Member
    Registered: Dec 1999
    Location: Black Squadron
    Previous thread. Easy to miss as I can't understand why theBlackman felt the Spoilers forum was a good place for the thread seeing as people with Win98 couldn't play the game and therefore wouldn't visit the spoilers forum.

    And CoK, you do still require a pixel shader-capable card.


    The icon was not the only reason it wouldn't run. Thief 3 ran on Windows 98 during testing, however it was rather unstable so rather than deal with many support requests, they said it wasn't supported and added an icon with a high resource ID to prevent it from running.

    Dunno why they didn't use an OS check though...

  5. #5
    New Member
    Registered: Jul 2004
    Location: Washington State

    It Works!!

    I am pleased to say it does work on Windows 98. I have not tried it however with any of the official patches. I tried it on the 1.0 version. (out of the box)

    Pay special attention to step 10 in the instructions from the first message in this thread. Although I didn't get a white screen while loading it did drop me to desktop after viewing the opening intros. After following step 10, I was able to play without issue, concern, or problem.

    Good luck Win98 users!!

    The specs on the Win98 machine I was running it on are
    AMD AthlonXP 2000+ (1.7GHz)
    256MB DDR RAM
    500MB Swap File
    SoundBlaster Audigy LS
    Nvidia GeForce 5700 w 256MB DDR driver 56.64
    Direct X9.0b
    Win98SE
    Thief: Deadly Shadows ver 1.0


    Hopefully someone will make a multiplayer mod.

  6. #6
    Member
    Registered: May 2000
    Location: North of the equator.
    Quote Originally Posted by David
    Previous thread. Easy to miss as I can't understand why theBlackman felt the Spoilers forum was a good place for the thread seeing as people with Win98 couldn't play the game and therefore wouldn't visit the spoilers forum.
    Obviously this one was even easier to miss as it was posted in this very forum: thief on 98.

    Also, I have tried this fix with the patched version of Thief 3 & I can confirm that it does work. I have had no problems running the game at all after these fixes.
    * Only necessary if you get a white screen instead of a loading screen
    It was actually necessary for me to use this even though I wasn't getting a white screen at all... it just kept on crashing back to the desktop.
    Last edited by Nedan; 2nd Jul 2004 at 20:16.

  7. #7
    Member
    Registered: Jun 2004
    I've got it runing under ME but it is unstable. It will crash back to the desktop at times and now I can't finish the game. I've got the very last thing to do and it crashes when I go from Stonemarket proper to Stonemarket plaza.


    Found a workaround and finished the game.
    Last edited by Ringer; 2nd Jul 2004 at 21:33.

  8. #8
    New Member
    Registered: Jul 2004
    Location: Washington State
    Ringer,

    Tell us Win98 and Me users what you did to work around your problem. It's quite possible many of us will have the same problem close to the end of the game.

    Can you tell us without giving away any spoilers?

  9. #9
    Member
    Registered: Jun 2004
    A direct route for my destination was from Stonemarket Proper through the loading screen to Stonemarket plaza but it crashed when loading the next area. So I went to my destination via the Docks.

    I have also had it crash from leaving a grate open and then walking back over the grate. I shut the grate and it didn't crash in that spot again.

    Hope that helps someone

    See Ya

  10. #10
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2002
    Location: UK
    I'm a 'would have' - I would have used this but had already installed XP on a spare partition just to play TDS while keeping Win98 as my main system.

    It is possible some of the above dropouts might not be related to the fix as I have had one or two dropouts to the desktop even under XP and I think others have too.

    Whoever originally conceived this ought to get a cut of Eidos's profits from the extra sales. If Eidos had any honour at all they'd send him/her a gift (or did they fix it themselves?). There are at least tens of millions of people using Windows 98 - probably hundreds of millions. It is only fairly recently that the MAJORITY of Windows users were Win98. This fix is really valuable.

  11. #11
    Member
    Registered: Oct 2002
    Location: UK
    Just occurred to me that someone might make a patch for this to save having to download and install the $129 PE Explorer. Probably need a different patch for different versions. Eidos should do this, make it available, and re-box and re-issue TDS.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •